Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars "Wait!..." Not your average romance film
Wow...This movie is the best I've ever seen. It was supposed to go to Diana Ross and some other guy. I'm glad the roll went to Whitney. Diana would not fit this roll. Wow, three lines into the review and I'm already off task. Okay. Why should you give this movie a chance? Because it's amazing. Whitney proves she is a great actress and singer. Her voice makes this movie...
Published on Nov. 4 2003 by thrillernite

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "ESSENTIAL" VIDEO?!?!?!
Are the people from amazon.com NUTS? Since when was this movie considered "essential"? (along with cough cough, Titanic) First off, no doubt the music is great (classic Whitney!) and as Much as I love some Whitney Houston, she can't really act very well. The "chemistry" between Kevin "Robot Man" Costner and Whitney is just awful. The only...
Published on Nov. 15 2003 by Eric Smith


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "ESSENTIAL" VIDEO?!?!?!, Nov. 15 2003
By 
Eric Smith (Pittsburgh, PA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Bodyguard (Full Screen) (DVD)
Are the people from amazon.com NUTS? Since when was this movie considered "essential"? (along with cough cough, Titanic) First off, no doubt the music is great (classic Whitney!) and as Much as I love some Whitney Houston, she can't really act very well. The "chemistry" between Kevin "Robot Man" Costner and Whitney is just awful. The only thing which makes this movie good is the music (A la "glitter") because Whitney is an incredibly talented singer. Other then that, I'd suggest "The Preacher's Wife" instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "Wait!..." Not your average romance film, Nov. 4 2003
This review is from: The Bodyguard (Full Screen) (DVD)
Wow...This movie is the best I've ever seen. It was supposed to go to Diana Ross and some other guy. I'm glad the roll went to Whitney. Diana would not fit this roll. Wow, three lines into the review and I'm already off task. Okay. Why should you give this movie a chance? Because it's amazing. Whitney proves she is a great actress and singer. Her voice makes this movie even better. The songs fit perfectly. And Kevin Costner, this movie alone makes me a fan, and I haven't seen his other work. It leaves you in suspense, as a mysterious stalker is following Rachel Marron (Whitney Houston) step by step, waiting for the time to attempt in killing her. This movie has a dark atmosphere, which is something I love about it. It's not like most love stories. I was very unsure about trying this movie, because I get bored easily, and I'm not a big romance movie fan, but this movie is so different from a typical romance film. It doesn't just focus on the romance, it focuses on Rachel's career, the stalker, Frank's resistance to grow close to his client. That's what makes this movie so special. I'm thrilled Kevin talked Whitney into this film, although it took her over a year to decide, it was worth it. No one could have done the roles better than Kevin and Whitney.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT, Aug. 7 2003
By 
andrea (Barranquilla, Atl Colombia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Bodyguard (Full Screen) (DVD)
This blockbuster hit stars two of the greatest in Hollywood with her amazing voice and talent and his incredible eyes make a wonderful movie that is a must see. Whitney Houston outshines herself in this amazing role. She plays pop singer Rachel Maroon. When she starts getting threatened by a nasty and obsessive fan. Without knowing her manager hires Frank Farmer a secret service agent the is the best of the best in protection played by Kevin Costner. At first she dislikes the idea of having a bodyguard and having to do what he says. But as they say their is only a thin line between love and hate. They start to fall madly for each other but he knows it is not right to fall for her because he may not perform his job well that is to protect her. After a disturbing incident in Miami she decides to let him make the decisions from now on. While staying in a cabin the killer that is after Rachel kills her sister and almost kills Rachelï¿s son. Frank is determined to protect her during the night of the Oscars in which he thinks the killer will make a move. ï¿I will always love youï¿, ï¿I wanna run to youï¿ and ï¿Queen of the nightï¿ make this the best soundtrack for a movie ever made in 1992. As I said this is a must see movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Movie With a Few Minor Flaws, May 23 2001
This review is from: The Bodyguard (Full Screen) (DVD)
First off I'd like to mention that even though it lists the remastered soundtrack as one of the special features, it doesn't mean that it is has the actual soundtrack included, it just means the scenes of the movie with music are remastered. This DVD isn't really good as far as special features, but the movie is as good as it was 10 years ago. Whitney is excellent in her film debut, and Kevin is no worse than he usually is. The only big problem with this movie is that Whitney's character, Rachel, curses more than half the time. If you have a child that you don't think is old enough to listen to Whitney Houston saying the F word, I suggest you tape this off TV (it's always on) and watch that copy when with your child, as they always edit the curses out. Other than these things, this movie is excellent, suspenseful, romantic, and gives you insight into the dangerous life of a superstar. If you like these things, or just like Whitney, or, umm, Kevin, you will love this movie, just don't expect "I'm Every Woman" to show up anywhere, it doesn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A GREAT MOVIE, July 28 2000
This review is from: Bodyguard, the (VHS Tape)
This is a brillient film with 2 great talents coming together to play the main characters. Actor Kevin Costner plays Frank Farmer, The Bodyguard & singer Whitney Housten,plays famous popstar Rachel Marron. She starts being pestered by an obsessive fan who has turned nasty and started sending threatening letters, so Frank farmer is employed to protect her, against her wishes. But she finds herself falling in love with him, & after a lot of nasty incidents is glad that he is there to look after her. Kevin Costner & Whitney Housten both play their parts very well, with great chemistry between them. There are great Whitney songs such as, her no. 1 single "I Will Always Love You" & "I Have Nothing" & "Queen Of The Night" There is also a good supporting cast. Its a film I have seen many times & never get tired of & I`m sure if you buy it you will feel the same. One of the best films of the 90`s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Ultimate Date Movie, July 6 2002
By 
Kona (Emerald City) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bodyguard, the (VHS Tape)
Kevin Costner stars as a stoic ex-FBI agent who becomes the bodyguard for rock diva/good Mom Whitney Houston. He finds her lifestyle a bit much at first, but thanks to her cute son, he starts to like her (a definite no-no in the bodyguarding business). Someone is trying to kill her and there are very some intense moments as the stalker gets very close. But who hired the killer? That's the real question.

Whitney has a perfect voice and she sings many memorable songs. You'll rock to "Queen of the Night," and could there be a more bittersweet lovesong than "I Will Always Love You"? Their one romantic encounter is much too brief, but the chemistry is palpable. He's icy, she's hot; what a combination. Costner and Whitney are very sexy and also quite vulnerable. Credit goes to the excellent script as well as the stars' talent. This is a real chick flick: it's got romance, action, suspense, music, and a two gorgeous stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Warning: This movie is full-screen format w/ a bad transfer, Sept. 1 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Bodyguard (Full Screen) (DVD)
Most of the DVD review Web sites blasted this release for the lousy quality of the transfer. Somewhat odd for Warners to give it so little attention when you consider what a hit it was. But I guess they are doing the usual "double-dipping" of releasing a lousy version first and then making fans purchase a new edition that is cleaned up down the road. Most strange of all is that it's a full-screen cropped pan and scan transfer. I guess there are some people who will consider buying full-screen movies with part of the image chopped off (not to mention what they'll be stuck with when HD wide-screens come into wide use by 2006. But it's a real shame that they don't offer a widescreen alternative. Though to be honest, until they produce a less grainy version, I won't be buying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WHITNEY AND KEVIN'S CHEMISTRY WAS FABULOUS!, July 17 2002
By 
This review is from: The Bodyguard (Full Screen) (DVD)
Whitney did a fabulous job acting, especially for her first role, particularly when she had to play a famous singer and really be different from the persona we see Whitney in. Rachel Marron was TOTALLY different. I also saw a new side of Whitney in this movie, and I am thrilled Kevin Costner chose her, GOOD TASTE! He wanted a real singer for his love interest and picking someone as gorgeous as Whitney wasn't bad.
I did love the entire movie, I loved Kevin and Whitney's characters, they both had annoying flaws and yet they drew you into their lives in such an amazing way. It was wonderful to see the lifestyle more closely of both a bodyguard and an entertainer.
Whitney and Kevin's romance was beautiful, and I did cry at the end, wow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good, April 1 2003
This review is from: Bodyguard, the (VHS Tape)
When I first watched "The Bodyguard" I loved it. It was filled with suspense, drama, romance, and the beautiful voice of Whitney Houston. I think Whitney did such a good job in the role because she was basically playing herself and didn't have that far to stretch acting-wise. The chemistry between Whitney Houston and Kevin Costner seemed pretty good, but Costner seemed so dry much of the time, but maybe that suited his character more - someone who doesn't let his feelings show. I heard that this movie was originally going to be made with Steve McQueen and Diana Ross. I'm sure that would have been an interesting and good pairing, but I can't imagine anyone else but Whitney Houston playing the role of superstar singer, Rachel Marron.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars "I don't want to have this conversation again!", Dec 16 2002
By 
This review is from: The Bodyguard (Full Screen) (DVD)
The best of the "haunted by his past government agent is hired to protect a famous spoiled female singer doting mother from a mysterious crazed stalker killer type dude" genre.
Costner makes a great modern day tough guy. Worth watching alone for his portrayal of a retired Secret Service agent with an attitude consigned to protect superstar Whitney Houston. As far as romantic thrillers go, this is one of the best. Highly watchable, you'll forgive the glitz if you're a fan of the genre.
The DVD is quite good and the soundtrack is awesome. Whitney demonstrates her amazing talent on stage and her performances will bring goosebumps everytime, so what if she can't act. 4 Limos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

NEW Costner/houston/kemp - Bodyguard (Blu-ray)
CDN$ 21.72
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews