Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars They will never FADE!!!! Fantastic!!! movie
This movie is, as always, fantastic and extremely enjoyable. Whitney Houston and Kevin Costner will be eternally remembered for years to still come for their outstanding performances and of course Whitney Houston's unbelievable voice. May she RIP.
Published 5 months ago by Lynn Shane

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "ESSENTIAL" VIDEO?!?!?!
Are the people from amazon.com NUTS? Since when was this movie considered "essential"? (along with cough cough, Titanic) First off, no doubt the music is great (classic Whitney!) and as Much as I love some Whitney Houston, she can't really act very well. The "chemistry" between Kevin "Robot Man" Costner and Whitney is just awful. The only...
Published on Nov. 15 2003 by Eric Smith


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "ESSENTIAL" VIDEO?!?!?!, Nov. 15 2003
By 
Eric Smith (Pittsburgh, PA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Bodyguard (Full Screen) (DVD)
Are the people from amazon.com NUTS? Since when was this movie considered "essential"? (along with cough cough, Titanic) First off, no doubt the music is great (classic Whitney!) and as Much as I love some Whitney Houston, she can't really act very well. The "chemistry" between Kevin "Robot Man" Costner and Whitney is just awful. The only thing which makes this movie good is the music (A la "glitter") because Whitney is an incredibly talented singer. Other then that, I'd suggest "The Preacher's Wife" instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Warning: This movie is full-screen format w/ a bad transfer, Sept. 1 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Bodyguard (Full Screen) (DVD)
Most of the DVD review Web sites blasted this release for the lousy quality of the transfer. Somewhat odd for Warners to give it so little attention when you consider what a hit it was. But I guess they are doing the usual "double-dipping" of releasing a lousy version first and then making fans purchase a new edition that is cleaned up down the road. Most strange of all is that it's a full-screen cropped pan and scan transfer. I guess there are some people who will consider buying full-screen movies with part of the image chopped off (not to mention what they'll be stuck with when HD wide-screens come into wide use by 2006. But it's a real shame that they don't offer a widescreen alternative. Though to be honest, until they produce a less grainy version, I won't be buying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I sorta like it, but I don't respect it..., Nov. 28 2003
This review is from: The Bodyguard (Full Screen) (DVD)
You're going to see "The Bodyguard" spoofed a lot. Just two days ago I saw an episode of "The Simpsons" with Homer saving Mark Hamill from a horde of geeks. As the song "I Will Always Love You" swelled in the background, the image of Homer carrying an animated Mark in his arms filled the screen.
Of course, the film itself isn't a good movie. "The Bodyguard" is, in fact, a very bad movie. But I like it, in an odd sort of way. It's one of those likable but stupid movies that make the time fly by on a Friday night -- unless, of course, you have something better to do than waste your time watching Kevin Costner attempt to act and Whitney Houston attempt to love him.
The movie stars Kevin Costner as Frank Farmer, a bodyguard who blames himself for events from the past that come back to haunt him. Whitney Houston basically plays Whitney Houston (though the character's name is different in the film), a famous singer like herself who falls in love with her newly-aquired bodyguard and sparks an interracial romance that threatens her career almost as much as the death threats she has been receiving in the mail.
Frank's mission is to protect her at all costs from the assassinator, who is not a metallic cyborg and who does not bear an uncanny resemblance to Arnold Schwarzenegger (though it would have helped market the film). The surprise at the end is that the killer is not who we think it is throughout -- so don't think at all! Just watch. I hope I didn't ruin any part of the movie for you. But don't tempt me -- I'm about to give away the rabid fan's identity to you.
"The Bodyguard" is a big, mushy mess, filled with bad acting and bad scriptwriting. The entire movie is bad. It's way too long for its own good -- especially when it is broadcast on network television and stretched to a near three-hour showing. (Do they really provide fifty minutes of commercials these days on CBS?) I've seen the movie numerous times, on network television and unedited, and it always seems too long. But, despite its (extremely) bad traits, the movie is a lot of fun to watch.
I don't like Kevin Costner. I think he is, what I call, a *blah* actor. He talks with such a lightweight mumble that it often induces sleep. If Costner wants to make money after his film career is depleted (that's happening, folks), he should market Costner Sleep Cassettes. Insert a cassette tape/CD of Kevin Costner reading your least favorite book, and you're guaranteed to fall asleep in less than five minutes -- or your money back!
I found one great role that Kevin Costner has played over the years, and it was the role he played in "The Untouchables," opposite Robert De Niro's Al Capone. Brian DePalma directed that movie, and it worked because the role for Costner fit his dull acting talent. Watching him attempt to *really* act is quite sad. Remember his interpretation of Robin Hood? Some people liked it, but I thought it was a disgrace to Robin Hood.
For what it's worth, Costner is good here, mainly because he acts like a dull bodyguard who is required to show absolutely no feelings whatsoever. His character basically walks around with a single expression on his face throughout the film, including while he's on a date with Whitney and the night after (if you know what I mean).
The movie sparked a lot of controversy because the couple embrace in a passionate kiss at the end of the film. If you don't mind sitting through bad acting, bad directing, bad scriptwriting, all stretched out to two and a half hours...then this is the movie for you. I, personally, sorta like it. But I don't respect it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars They will never FADE!!!! Fantastic!!! movie, Nov. 2 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This movie is, as always, fantastic and extremely enjoyable. Whitney Houston and Kevin Costner will be eternally remembered for years to still come for their outstanding performances and of course Whitney Houston's unbelievable voice. May she RIP.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Loved it., June 17 2013
By 
Reader21 "scary1" (Edmonton AB Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I've always really loved this movie. I had the movie on Video Tape and wanted to upgrade. The price was right to do it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellant achat, Feb. 21 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Bodyguard [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
service rapide. Le film est toujours aussi bon à voir et à écouter même si il date de plusieurs années. Ça reste, sans être un grand film , un film que fait du bien au coeur.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars body guard dvd rev., Jan. 30 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
super good, hd quality. colector item. saw movie over 5 times still like it. recomend.
have a great day !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A must, Dec 27 2012
By 
Marion Harper (Calgary, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Perhaps not quite a classic... I knew the movie well, and just had to have a copy. Maybe one of Costner's best performances?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Bodyguard, Dec 10 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
On dira que c'est un film plus vieux que d'autres mais je l'avais aimé la première fois que je l'ai vu et je pourrai maintenant le regarder chaque fois que j'en aurai envie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The bodyguard, Dec 7 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I liked the movie. The only thing I would change would be the french translation. Since the translation is from France, the vocabulary isn't the same as the canadian french.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa6aeeb4c)

This product

NEW Costner/houston/kemp - Bodyguard (Blu-ray)
CDN$ 25.19
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews