Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Plenty of fun and laughs for the entire family
Plenty of laughs and some really impressive animation make Open Season a film that just about anyone, young or old, will enjoy watching. The only problem is the fact that it really has nothing to make it stand out from the crowd. Boog and Elliot are great characters, but they just remind me a little too much of Shrek and Donkey, and Martin Lawrence and Ashton Kutcher...
Published on June 7 2007 by Daniel Jolley

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars 'Open Season' was not so memorable but acceptably funny
The family and I went out to see 'Open Season' in the theaters and thought it was okay. The film was very entertaining for the kids because of the two lead characters but as for my husband and I it was bearable. I have to admit I did doze off a couple of times but only for a few minutes. I have noticed that this is the first completely computer-generated motion picture to...
Published on July 2 2007 by Jenny J.J.I.


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars 'Open Season' was not so memorable but acceptably funny, July 2 2007
By 
Jenny J.J.I. "A New Yorker" (That Lives in Carolinas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Open Season (Bilingual) (DVD)
The family and I went out to see 'Open Season' in the theaters and thought it was okay. The film was very entertaining for the kids because of the two lead characters but as for my husband and I it was bearable. I have to admit I did doze off a couple of times but only for a few minutes. I have noticed that this is the first completely computer-generated motion picture to be created by Sony Pictures Animation (SPA).

Boorg (voiced by Martin Lawrence), is the lovable bear who was rescued by a ranger and raised basically like a pet dog, has gotten too big and is now released into the wild during Open Season, which is the time when the humans come into the forest to hunt the animals. Boorg must now typically adapt to his surroundings, including using the bathroom outside (which is hilarious), finding food, among other things. His side-kick Elliot (voiced by Ashton Kutcher), a down-on-his-luck deer who has been kicked out of his herd and is being hunted by The Big Bad Hunter. Elliot just wants some friends, and wants Boorg to be his friend. The whole time I couldn't help thinking that the character of Elliot was a direct rip-off of the Donkey from Shrek. However, Donkey and Shrek are themselves a rip-off of every buddy-film of all time.

The supporting characters are hilarious, but perhaps a tad underdeveloped. Honestly, the movies' best lines and jokes were in the previews that I've seen many times. I hate when that happens! My main complaint about the film was the pacing of the story. The story itself left something to be desired, because it was very predictable and filled with clichés. However, something was off in the end. For all the build-up, it was a disappointing end, almost like it was too easy. The end needed some tweaking, that's for sure.

The animation was pretty impressive. Boorg the bear was done very well, especially with his fur, which looked completely realistic. When you don't notice the fur and it becomes part of the character that is when you know that you've done a good job.

'Open Season' is not even close to the Pixars of the animated world due to its predictable script. Nevertheless, it's entertaining enough, the animation is of course stellar, and it will definitely entertain the kiddies. I just wish the story would have been more thought out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Plenty of fun and laughs for the entire family, June 7 2007
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Open Season (Bilingual) (DVD)
Plenty of laughs and some really impressive animation make Open Season a film that just about anyone, young or old, will enjoy watching. The only problem is the fact that it really has nothing to make it stand out from the crowd. Boog and Elliot are great characters, but they just remind me a little too much of Shrek and Donkey, and Martin Lawrence and Ashton Kutcher are pale imitations of Mike Myers and Eddie Murphy. I actually had a little trouble with the voices. Sometimes Boog sounded like Martin Lawrence, and sometimes he didn't; on the other hand, Elliot never sounded very much like Ashton Kutcher to me (which is actually a good thing). The two make for a good team, but the chemistry between them doesn't always seem to come naturally. The supporting cast of voice actors is pretty impressive, though. It's always a kick to hear Georgia Engel's unique voice, but Billy Connolly absolutely steals the whole show time and time again as the voice of McSquizzy, the leader of the squirrels (who is always itching for a fight).

Boog is a grizzly bear living the life of an ursine Riley, having been raised by Park Ranger Beth (Debra Messing). Then a deer named Elliot, desperate to escape the clutches of an evil hunter (Gary Sinise) shows up, and he has a rather destabilizing effect on Boog's life. Suddenly, Boog finds himself rooted out of his idyllic, pampered existence and left in the forest to survive on his own. It doesn't go well, as he and Elliot find themselves chastised and laughed at by all manner of woodland creatures (especially McSquizzy and the squirrels). Then things take an even more dramatic turn for the worst, as hunting season officially opens. Eventually, Boog faces the most obvious of moral choices: return home on his own to try and reclaim his old life of leisure or turn around and help the other animals band together and fight the hunters at their own game.

Don't expect any real surprises with the story, as it plays out pretty much according to formula. That's okay; after all, the old formula still works pretty effectively. You won't bust a gut laughing, but you will laugh. The film also imparts good lessons on friendship and teamwork, which is another mark in its favor. I just hope the film helps to inspire at least a few young people not to become hunters when they grow up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good movie, June 5 2014
By 
JY - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I loved it. My kids loved it.

It is funny. There is some violence, if you don't mind your kids watching it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, March 4 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The animation is sharp, well done, no lag issues
Funny movie for all the family & friends!

Highly recommended. Thumbs up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, Feb. 9 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Open Season - Les Rebelles de la forêt [Blu-ray 3D] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
Fun movie the 3D effects are great, overall a great movie for the whole family to watch on a weekend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fun Movie For Everyone, July 20 2014
Loved this movie, it was hilarious!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Seller, Sept. 20 2011
This review is from: Open Season - Les Rebelles de la forêt [Blu-ray 3D] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
Excellent buying experience - fast and efficient delivery. Item is as described. No issues whatsoever. Would definitely buy from again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars solid,very funny animated comedy (3.5/5), Sept. 29 2007
By 
falcon "disdressed12" (canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Open Season (Bilingual) (DVD)
"Open Season" is a very entertaining animated film.i like the eclectic
mix of characters.i really liked the dynamic between the 2 main
characters,A domesticated bear named "Boog"(voiced by Martin
Lawrence)and Elliot(Ashton Kutcher)a displaced mule deer with no
family.i also though the dialogue was very good in this movie.there are
some great one liners.there is also an abundance of action,(some of it
very funny) and there are also some dramatic moments.dare i say it,this
movie treads very close to being hysterical in some scenes.also,the
choice of actors for the voices is brilliant in this movie,especially
Lawrence and Kutcher.for me,"Open Season" gets a solid 3.5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars #1 movie and Totally Satisfied!, Dec 18 2010
This review is from: Open Season - Les Rebelles de la forêt [Blu-ray 3D] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
I found it was a comical, hilarious movie!
We liked it so much, we would watch it again!
I definitely, would rate this movie an A+!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, Sept. 13 2014
By 
Heward Lee (Toronto, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Open Season - Les Rebelles de la forêt [Blu-ray 3D] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
Great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Open Season - Les Rebelles de la forêt [Blu-ray 3D] (Bilingual)
Open Season - Les Rebelles de la forêt [Blu-ray 3D] (Bilingual) by Jill Culton & Roger Allers (Blu-ray - 2010)
CDN$ 26.99 CDN$ 23.98
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews