biss Up to 40% Off CBC's Canada Reads 2016 Shortlist boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage vpcflyout Furniture All-New Kindle Paperwhite Own the 2016 GRAMMY Nominee Album featuring the Biggest Hits from Music's Biggest Night Exercice Tools ca_ty_gno

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars118
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-rayChange
Price:$7.96+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 31, 2014
It's another -fly into my head and join me in my dreams- movie. Lavish, eye popping CGI but not worth the twenty bucks you paid to see it.
0Comment2 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2016
Good quality product and exactly how it was described. Thank you.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2013
I just watched the movie and it blew me away! The story is just great. From the beginning to the end, there is no slowdown as we often see in movies. At the same time, it is not an action packed movie without a good story. It is the kind of movie that you can predict the ending, but that you have to watch to let the producer and actors blow you away.

I read the other reviews and I give it a 5 star because I don't care much about the packaging as long as everything is in there. What matters is the movie. The story, the production and the actors are just amazing.
0Comment1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 23, 2014
I guess every body would like this movie but unfortunatly I did not like it that much, too long for me
0Comment2 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 3, 2012
Yes, the case is just the blueray case so it can be a little scary when you first receive your package but don't worry everything is all in it. When you open the case there will be 3 disks, The full blueray movie, the full DVD movie, and a bonus features disk. Have faith and open the package before returning.
The second item that is going to scare you is the expiry code on your digital copy will say May 6, 2011. Once again don't worry about this and just follow the instructions on the card and claim your digital copy. I entered my code on July 3rd, 2012 and it worked completely fine with no issues, all you need to do is try.
Step 1 - Order.
Step 2 - Don't panic, just open your package as it is all there even if it doesn't appear so.
Step 3 - Grab your towel and enjoy the movie.
0Comment5 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 19, 2013
The Type of Film one can watch MANY times and if
you;lve ever seen a BAD or Low Resoltion copy?
GET THIS BLU-RAT one!
It;s Mind Blowingly amazing!

And Fast Delivery too!

Amazon,ca - You've done it Again! - Bravo!

-= KaptainCanada =-

-= K C =-
0Comment1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Outstanding actor selection coupled with a mesmerizing, twisting plot make for an excellent, chilling, mind-blowing, haunting experience. We've watched this DVD several times and have always noticed something new with each viewing. We ENTUSIASTICALLY recommend this DVD!
0Comment1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 2, 2014
I love the story and Leonardo is still very impressive. This movie require you to have all you attention to the story because it is complicated. The concept of be able to slow down the time by going into dreams are interesting.
0Comment1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
There seems to be an increasing interest in mainstream film-making in creating movies that deal with the mind and its relative-subjective constructs of reality. Writers and directors are now mining a very rich realm of possibility in doing stories that layer multiple levels of consciousness. Christopher Nolan, the director of the "Batman" trilogy reboots, the incredibly good "The Prestige" and 2014's "Interstellar", is one of those directors and he is taking on this theme with a passion. "Inception" is his latest offering in a genre he is becoming very adept at.

Earlier films that really broke the ground which made this film possible are works like "Memento", "Fight Club" and the indispensible "Matrix" Trilogy. In fact its hard not to think of the Wachowski brothers while watching Nolan's latest outing.

As undeniably tied to the "Matrix" Trilogy as "Inception" is, it is still a good film and a real bang-crash crowd pleaser to boot. The action is fast-paced and nail-biting, the pacing relentlessly building and yet the film also has a very simple but profound human psychological truth in its core - at the very centre of our psyches, in the deepest part of our hearts, there is in each of us an extremely pure truth, a hurt really, that is so innocent and vulnerable that we create the most formidable defences to protect it.

Leonardo DiCaprio, doing a great turn here, plays Dom Cobb the ace "Extractor" in a team of dreamtime navigators, who specialize in a form of psychic espionage with a very special difference. Extractors actually get into the minds of people that have secret information hidden within their subconsciousnesses, by entering their dreams, discovering it and then leaving with that knowledge as their own. As the mind works so much faster and extends time in that realm, it is in the dreamstate where all of this is achieved. "Extracting" then, is the active engagement, with multiple consciousnesses jacking in, of lucid dreaming as a tool for high level psychic sleuthing. But dreamtime is not as benign nor as simple and nebulous as it might seem ...

This particular story in the team's repertoire begins with the demand that instead of "extracting" a key piece of information from a subject they, instead, need to plant an idea IN. And ideas, we are told at the beginning of "Inception" are the most powerful and resilient of all "infections" or "viruses" that have ever been. Once the mind receives an idea, Cobb tells us, especially at it's deepest levels, it never forgets it, graduallly growing and developing it into full expression.

Cillian Murphy, a Nolan alumnus of the "Batman" films and Danny Boyle's "Sunshine" plays the multi-millionaire son of dying energy magnate, Pete Postlethwaite, who is the one man who holds the key to the domination of the world through one last corporate move. Murphy, by inheriting his father's corporation is the man destined to carry this out. It is pretty much de facto that if the last steps are put into place, the young Fischer ( Murphy ) becomes a global superpower in himself. It is up to the team of extractors, led by DiCaprio and the excellent Joseph Gordon-Levitt, to somehow get to Fischer, enter his mind and instead of retrieving something from him, PLANT an idea that will eventually lead to his deciding NOT move the corporation forward into world domination. Planting this idea is called "inception".

As the story develops we find that our "super hero", Cobb, a man on the run with a broken family behind him, has something very secret deep in his own subconscious that he is grappling with, which keeps spilling into the dreams of others that he enters. This disturbance of his own consciousness is actually a danger when he enters the minds of others. For once the "extractors" "jack in" to someone's dreamtime that subconscious can send some very nasty "projections" forward to meet them when it senses a disruptive, foreign presence. Therefore those projections act as an immune system that detects and attacks those that don't naturally belong in that consciousness. So once inside another person's dreamtime, it is crucial NOT to cause undo disturbance. In Cobb's case it is the "still living" projection of his dead wife ( played with chilling menace by Marion Cotillard ), who wants him to remain in his subconscious with her "forever", that threatens the safety of Cobb himself AND his team.

Once they get to Fischer, jack him in and then themselves, the story gets very layered and complex as different levels of dreamstates are entered and navigated. Cobb's and Fischer's seem incredibly complex and defended with exceptionally violent "projections" - Cobb's by his deceased and dangerous wife and Fischer by crack swat teams of para-military forces. Herein lie the keys to the two subconsciousnesses. Fischer's is wrapped around his deeply conflicted, unhappy and unresolved relationship with his dying father, and Cobb's with the guilt feelings surrounding his wife's real time death in a tragic suicide. Here is where the main action sequences of "Inception" are played out, in the deepest levels of the subconscious minds of Cobb and Fischer. And that action is unlike anything you've seen in films before: nail-biting, fantastic, disorienting, violent and quite disturbing.

"Inception" is indeed a complex action film that has, despite all the often confusing reality levels, a pristine message that redemption and forgiveness are the resolution of all our extremely complicated and often violent defenses. Love, forgiveness and acceptance, in the end, are what saves the day. This is one film, like the "Matrix" Trilogy, that requires repeated viewing if one is going to get the most out of it. It can be merely taken as an action film and it works VERY well on that level, but it is, again like the Wachowski brothers, ultimately a thinking persons action film.

The cinematography is truly fantastic and while it is mindblowing in itself, it never really distracts from the momentum of the story line or its underlying themes. All of the actors are committed to the script and their performances are sincere and delivered with that committment. This is one of the best films Leonardo DiCaprio has ever done. He is somewhat subdued but smoldering with hidden undercurrents that are developed with perfect credibility and power. "Inception" is one of his most emotionally satisfying films yet.

The soundtrack is excellent and very dramatic, propelling the mood and atmosphere forward with power and momentum. The direction is excellent, Nolan really coming into his own here as never before. Although I must say I still prefer "The Prestige" over all his films. If any of the other above-mentioned other films have been of interest to you and you really enjoy films with challenging themes and ideas, couched in pulse-pounding action and cinematographic awe, then "Inception" is one you're going to want.
0Comment15 of 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 17, 2013
No need to take any psychotropic drugs before you watch this mind-bender. Killer concept, masterfully executed, and it's not surprising that this is the brain behind Memento. Highly recommended.
0Comment1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse