Customer Reviews


167 Reviews
5 star:
 (152)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


58 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I hope this one runs for years!
If you can imagine Upstairs, Downstairs meets The Buccaneers, you will pretty much have this gem from ITV. Surprisingly, not from the BBC (which is doing an update of Upstairs, Downstairs set in the 1930s) it is every bit as good as a BBC production and much prettier than the new Up/Down.

Maggie Smith will definitely get a BAFTA for this if not an Emmy. "What...
Published on Jan. 11 2011 by Jenny Allworthy

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Real Problems
The series is terrific, but the quality of the disc is unacceptable. The tracking function is such that all movement on the screen is very jerky and hence, almost unwatchable. I tries the disc on several Blue Ray machines - same result. You might be better off getting the DVD edition, I'm not sure
Published 18 months ago by Wayne Johnson


‹ Previous | 14 5 617 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Best Ever!, March 8 2014
By 
Adee1 (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Masterpiece: Downton Abbey Season 1 (U.K. Edition) (DVD)
The most wonderfully entertaining series, we have ever watched. Best acting, best everything!! We're enjoying it, just like millions of others around the world.
So glad I bought the series,1 through 3, as will surely watch it through again and again.
Great price through Amazon and fast delivery!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, Feb. 24 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Masterpiece: Downton Abbey Season 1 (U.K. Edition) (DVD)
Great. I loved that Mary and Matthew got it together but was so saddened when Matthew was killed. I wondered why you would do that to we avid watchers. I didn't speak to anyone who didn't agree with me. However, I had to get into it in Season 4 and wasn't disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Writing, Feb. 7 2014
By 
Eddie Nguyen (Toronto Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Masterpiece: Downton Abbey Season 1 (U.K. Edition) (DVD)
This is the beginning season of a marvelous series. The storyline is super & beautifully complex of a time gone by.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Downton Abeey season 1, Feb. 1 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Masterpiece: Downton Abbey Season 1 (U.K. Edition) (DVD)
I just loved this and all of the actors. As soon as I watched it I could hardly wait until the next season
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Problem with one disc, Jan. 20 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Masterpiece: Downton Abbey Season 1 (U.K. Edition) (DVD)
The second disc did not work. I know Amazon has a great return policy so there is no blame there. It was a gift and not that convenient to get it back and request a return. It was just disappointing that the product was not perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars There are still some people who haven't seen it!, Jan. 14 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Masterpiece: Downton Abbey Season 1 (U.K. Edition) (DVD)
This was my choice of a Christmas present for my parents who still haven't seen it. Everyone already knows its reputation for wit and entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Dowtown Abbey Seauson 1 (UK Edition) Blu Ray, Jan. 7 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Very good. However, would have been great to have it with at least subtitles in French as available for many tv series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A classic, Dec 15 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Masterpiece: Downton Abbey Season 1 (U.K. Edition) (DVD)
These were available a the public library but I was number 72 in line! My husband and I live this series and are now left hanging waiting for the final series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Downton, Dec 13 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Masterpiece: Downton Abbey Season 1 (U.K. Edition) (DVD)
Fantastic series. Very addictive.You will want to watch them all. Awesome value for the price. Will also be purchasing season 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Downton One, Dec 10 2013
By 
M. K. SMITH (THUNDER BAY ONTARIO CANADA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
What can you say...this is Downton!!! Everyone is hooked on this series. The cast is captivating and the scenery is breathtaking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 617 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Masterpiece: Downton Abbey Season 1 (U.K. Edition)
CDN$ 36.99 CDN$ 16.52
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews