march boutiques-francophones Unlimited cloud storage snsflyout Introducing Kindle Oasis Music Deals Store Furniture sports Tools ca_ty_gno

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars46
4.3 out of 5 stars
Color: White|Change
Price:$34.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 3, 2013
This is my 6th slow cooker, I love them and cannot seem to have enough! This one performs admirably, I just made Polenta in it, and it turned out fantastic. Perfect size for making apple butter or a cooking a whole chicken. Just a piece of advice though, if you are cooking small meals this isn't the right size for you. Slow cookers work best when they are cooking a meal that fits them. You might need something smaller if you are having an issue with overcooking or heat. The plus side of that is, if you have more than one slow cooker (in different sizes) you can cook your main part of the meal and the side separately. My only beef with slow cookers is that the food cooked within all takes on the same taste. I routinely make slow cooked roast beef in a large one, and slow cooked carrots with a maple-butter glaze in a smaller one.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2013
I bought this for my father as well as the cook book that goes along with it, He wanted a bigger one to fit bigger cuts of meat in and this 7 quart crock pot does just the trick. Also is great for heating up leftovers of any sorts! Great gift for Christmas and the cost was very afordable as well.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 31, 2013
This crock-pot will fit a large chicken or roast, and makes enough soup to feed six people. There are only two shortfalls to this product: the heat control goes from off-low-high-warm, which can be confusing, and it could really use a 'power on' light so you know if it is working.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 11, 2014
Beware of this Crock-Pot or 'Slow' Cooker. There is nothing slow about it. If you want to be able to place an average sized pot roast, or something similar, in it and let it cook for 8 or 9 hours, forget it! Said roast will be well done and ready to serve within about 4 hours. That is the LOW setting. God knows what happens if you set it on high. I love slow cooking meat while I'm at work. That means that this thing is useless to me.
If you want a 'fast' cooker then go for it.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 8, 2016
This is as simple as it gets but is (almost) everything you really need in a Slow Cooker. The Crock-Pot brand invented this class of kitchen appliance and it's clear they haven't forgot what it takes to do one right. The 7 Quart (about 6.5 litres) in the oval shape holds a lot of food while still being reasonable for liquids and soup / stews, compared to round slow cookers which need to be much larger to hold the same sized chicken or roast.

With the exception of turkeys, this one will hold almost anything you would normally want to cook at home. Often overlooked is the height of the cooking container and again the 7-quart size allows you to cover your typical meal with liquids, an important factor in many slow-cooker recipes.

Controls are as straightforward as it gets: one rotary dial for off, low heat, high heat, and keep warm settings. When I said " (almost) everything" I was thinking of a pilot light to let you know the unit was on, as with any slow cooker the heat can vary from barely noticeable to a potential contact burn when all you have to go on is by touching the ceramic urn.

I understand that when you are designing an item for maximum utility at minimum cost the secret is knowing what to put in and what to leave out, but I think a lamp, which would probably have raised the retail price by about $5 to $8 would have been a worthwhile design decision. Having said that, the Crock-Pot people have definitely created a functional appliance at a great price, so it's hard to complain too much about something they got so many other details spot-on with.

The rest: the ceramic crock is a bit heavy so not for unsupervised cooking with kids, but on the other hand it holds the heat well, which is what you want in a slow-cooker, and it has a good quality glaze that makes it easy to clean. The lid doesn't fit as tightly as I would like and I would suggest cleaning the lid by itself in the sink (you would not want to drop it onto other dishes when it was slippery from dish detergent suds) to make sure it doesn't break when you are cleaning it, but like the crock itself, is very easy to clean.

The cord is quite short, and this might be an issue with some kitchens. I understand that long power cords are a safety hazard and with a slow cooker that might contain a few quarts of boiling liquid, having a child pull on a too-long cord has scary potential consequences, but I felt I did need to mention it in a review.

Ideally, if needed at all, the cook should use an extension cord of exactly the required length to allow connection from your desired cooking position on the counter to the outlet without any of the cord hanging over or near the edge of the countertop.

A few dollars worth of parts at a hardware store for the handy, or someone who knows a friend or family member handy enough to build a safe extension cord would be ideal, as it's hard to find extension cords that would not be too long and therefore dangerous as described above.

And that's about it. In summary it's everything you need and nothing you don't need in a slow cooker. Because it's a 100% manual operation device and has the power to get to a full boil on the high setting, this would also work perfectly with a Sous Vide controller. I'm happy with mine.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 12, 2013
this is a perfect Slow cooker for the price!
I have used it on a number of occasions and i got my boyfriend one as well he also loves it!

its really big, I love cooking my roast dinners in it, last night i cooked 2 pork tenderloins with potatoes and vegetables i threw it all in the pot and covered it all in gravy it is so easy and so delicious!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 14, 2013
Bought this unit for my wife who had just lost her older Crock Pot. She was delighted with the size but complained the unit became very hot on the outside and didn't appear to be cooking as well as her other slow cookers she had in the past. She sold it used for $20 and will keep looking. In the meantime she has an older slowcooker her Mum lent her.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 30, 2014
Although I did not purchase this primarily as a slow cooker, I did want the capability to use it as such in the future. Sadly, when it arrived, the lid did not seat on the pot at all. This resulted in a 1/4 inch gap along the length of the cooker. My rough math figured this to be almost equal to a 2 square inch hole in the lid. I contacted the manufacturer who felt this was an acceptable flaw. This was contrary to everything I have read about slow cooking and the need to keep the lid closed throughout the cooking process. So, I asked for and rapidly received a replacement from Amazon. The new crock lid fits perfectly and I am happy with it. Paired with a Dorkfood DSV Temperature conroller it makes for a relatively cheap and viable sous vide cooker. But due to the poor quality control in manufacturing and the equally lame customer support from the manufacturer, this only gets 4 stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 27, 2013
Works exactly as expected...I like this size better than our 4 quart one, even just for a family of 4.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 11, 2014
I have a large extended family and this crock pot is big enough to cook enough food for everyone. The Crock pot is easy to clean and the two large handles on either side make it easy to transport. The ceramic pot is very heavy. This is a great product, but takes time to get used to the different temperatures it functions at. High is pretty hot and will burn the food if left on for too long without enough liquid and the warm setting will not just keep food warm, but cook it at a slow rate. The low is in between these two temperatures. Aesthetically this isn't a nice looking crock pot, but it is functional and practical.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.