Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars I'm happy with my purchase - a minor complaint regarding aesthetics, but nothing more.
3D version is surprisingly good - little to no ghosting/crosstalk (Sony 3D LED HDTV).

However, Warner Brothers and/or whoever was responsible for packaging this release could have done a much better job with it, as the labeling quality of one of the two included discs (one 2D and one 3D Blu-ray) was completely monochrome, with a low DPI. Not cool, but if you...
Published 1 month ago by Sam

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Has all the highlights and dialog of a Hallmark movie
Perseus (Sam Worthington) picked up from the sea by a fisherman, has no idea where he came from or where he is going. He just has distaste for gods, especially one that dispatch his adopted family. Now he is out to even the playing field and put Hades (Ralph Fiennes) down, way down. He has many assistants as Io (Gemma Arterton) and many adventures in the process. Three...
Published on July 23 2010 by bernie


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Has all the highlights and dialog of a Hallmark movie, July 23 2010
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Clash of the Titans (Blu-ray)
Perseus (Sam Worthington) picked up from the sea by a fisherman, has no idea where he came from or where he is going. He just has distaste for gods, especially one that dispatch his adopted family. Now he is out to even the playing field and put Hades (Ralph Fiennes) down, way down. He has many assistants as Io (Gemma Arterton) and many adventures in the process. Three witches keep an eye on him. Someone may lose his or her head and there is more than one bad person. Will Perseus take Hades (Ralph Fiennes) down a peg or is Perseus doomed. In any event, he must get Kraken.

This presentation shows that CGI and 3D do not a film make. It helps to have dialog, pacing and a little better knowledge of antiquity. As far as CGI is considered, some things can look scary and others like cartoons. This film falls somewhere in the middle but not as bad as it could have been. They only used what was needed to tell their story in today's action packed terms. I saw this movie in the theater for the 3D experience. I wanted to see if it was an improvement over the red and green or red and blue glasses.
So far, I will hold judgment. Some 3D can be eye popping and make you duck as it is coming at you. In the case of this movie, it was more like looking through a stereoscope or View Master. The third dimension was behind the front plate. Combining the CGI fast action with the 3D technology created a hairy mess and you had to wait until it was over to guess what happened. In any event, I now have a new set of glasses to add to my collection.

I am slightly prejudice because I saw the original Clash and know what the movie could have been. However, it was not as bad as it could have been and has all the earmarks of a Hallmark special. The original film took a few liberties with the story but this version was out of the ballpark. See it once to help appreciate the original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I'm happy with my purchase - a minor complaint regarding aesthetics, but nothing more., Aug. 31 2014
By 
Sam - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Clash of the Titans [Blu-ray 3D] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
3D version is surprisingly good - little to no ghosting/crosstalk (Sony 3D LED HDTV).

However, Warner Brothers and/or whoever was responsible for packaging this release could have done a much better job with it, as the labeling quality of one of the two included discs (one 2D and one 3D Blu-ray) was completely monochrome, with a low DPI. Not cool, but if you don't mind that sort of thing, then please disregard my quip.

If you like Greek Mythology, and this item is on sale, then it's definitely recommended, especially if you'd like to see the likes of Medusa in 3D (an impressive transfer in my opinion - again, little to no crosstalk, and some deep 3D effects all around).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Clash of the Crappy CGI Images, July 28 2010
By 
Dewey Finn (School Of Rock) - See all my reviews
Perhaps my original review was a tad harsh, so I have re-written much of it.

I saw this movie theatrically in 3D, which was an awful, headache-inducing experience. Lesson learned: Movies filmed in 3D look great. Movies converted to 3D look like there is a fine layer of mud on the screen. Then I saw it on blu, during a movie night where my choice (District 9) was voted down.

At least the 2D blu-ray disc looks better than the 3D. However, that can't save this movie, which is over-reliant on CG creatures and settings; all action, no pacing, no story, no character, no emotion. Let's face it, there was never a legitimate reason to remake Clash of the Titans. There was never anything wrong with the original, except perhaps a lil' too much homage to Star Wars (robotic owls and young men looking to escape the doldrums of their isolated lives).

When this project was first announced, I knew it had the potential to be a disaster. The only thing that could have saved it would have been going deeper back into the original Greek mythology, which the original film used only sparingly. I mean, there was no robotic owl in Greek mythology. But no, this film is even more loosely based on the source material, while continuing to use made-up characters from the original (Calibos), and let's face it...the script sucks. The CG is hit and miss, with some things looking great and others look just awful. The direction leaves something to be desired, and character development isn't even in this movie's vocabulary. It's a shame, because while Sam Worthington does nothing for me, Liam Neeson and Ralph Fiennes are not too bad. The rest of the performances are like cardboard, with only the odd cameo (Pete Postlethwait's comes to mind) having any sort of spark.

I do think it it's funny that we always hear the same argument: "It's a summer action movie, it doesn't need a good script." Why not? You see that same argument in defense of numerous action movies on Amazon. Action and script are not mutually exclusive. But it's your brain cells you're killing, not mine. And it's not just just the script in this case. It's the crappy acting, the generic CG, the fact that it's an unoriginal remake of a classic movie, etc. Rotten Tomatoes readers have spoken: a 29% rating. Near universal bad reviews everywhere? Action movies don't have to be stupid. I don't want to turn my brain off when I'm being entertained. I don't know about you, but just looking at action on the screen without any sort of raison d'etre puts me in a coma.

Bonus features: Deleted scenes on the blu-ray are actually better than a lot of the movie itself.

Take a stand against Hollywood remakes. Don't buy this. Hell, don't even rent it. Just avoid it. Go get the original. It's available on a really nice blu-ray. Burgess Meredith, Sir Lawrence friggin' Olivier, Maggie Smith...and, of course, the brilliant animation of Ray Harryhausen. I met Harryhausen once. This remake was in the works even then, and he didn't even want to talk about it. He knew it would be not only a disaster, but would tarnish the reputation of the name Clash of the Titans. He was right.

The only way to stop Hollywood from making dumb, brainless remakes is to vote with your wallet. I got chills when I heard this was the first of a trilogy. Lord, no.

No stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, especially after that cool trailer..., July 28 2010
By 
Despite a promising cast this is little more than a hollow popcorn flick, heavily laden with CGI effects. To me there is nothing more tiresome than the overuse of computer effects, but I know there are plenty of people who could easily have their whole film done in this manner so it's a personal preference. The various creatures are amazing, to be sure. But the plot does little than rush from one battle to the next with little room from any developments. There is little to engage the audience beyond the momentum of getting to the next surge of adrenaline. There is also no room for character development. Pete Postlethwaite was a breath of fresh air, but his appearance was brief. Either way you can decide how to take it. As pure fun, an epic spectacle of man battling gods and monsters. Or if you're feeling more critical and looking for something to engage you, you'll probably see it more as Greek mythology aimed at an increasingly attention deficient audience.
Special note: the only bonus feature on the DVD is deleted scenes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars sam worthington mmmm, June 16 2014
By 
Lorelei Lee (So.Cal originally) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
So this a reasonably good remake though slightly altered from the original, and the Greek myth that inspired it. CG animation has made my dreams come true.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great mythical action, June 6 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you like the Greek mythology stuff you'll enjoy this. I enjoyed it for the action. And, Sam Worthington is a great actor!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not a shade on Harryhausen, Feb. 10 2014
If you are looking for entertainment this will do, although it is annoying at times. Io comes over as somewhat of a know it all.

However if you want something of some quality & merit you can't go wrong with Harryhausen's original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It was cool, Jan. 20 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I like this type of movie as did my husband. I would recommend the purchase of this movie to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars All right, but could be better..., Dec 18 2013
By 
Simon Bergeron - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Louis Leterrier wasn't satisfied with his cut of "Incredible Hulk"... I wonder what he would say about this one... running just under 110 minutes, the vaguely epic spectacle delivers on some fronts and manages to have a few interesting scenes (one of the only movies where Liam Neeson's character's still "alive" at the end). But the action is very strong and the creature designs are quite powerful, but for some reason, you can't help but think about the actor against a big blue background and a script supervisor rather than feel like he's in any kind of danger. Nevertheless, it's a fun light movie to watch.

Special feature-wise, it's absolutely uninteresting and definitely far from in-depth, so watch, but it's mostly EPK press material (what's the point of selling a movie you're about to watch or already did watch?).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Still same experience, Dec 5 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Clash of the Titans [Blu-ray 3D] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
I found the 3D experience make it more visually impressive but it did not improve the story any. Was good but not great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Clash of the Titans [Blu-ray 3D] (Bilingual)
Clash of the Titans [Blu-ray 3D] (Bilingual) by Louis Leterrier (Blu-ray - 2010)
CDN$ 29.99 CDN$ 15.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews