Customer Reviews


140 Reviews
5 star:
 (88)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alice In Wonderland (60th Anniversary Edition)(blu ray)...the original and definitive version of this beloved classic
Video: This 60th Anniversary Edition of `Alice in Wonderland' debuts on Blu-ray with a 1080p AVC/MPEG-4 video presentation. The film can be viewed in its original aspect ratio or with DisneyView, a feature which allows you to fill the black bars with beautiful and unique borders by veteran Disney artist Michael Humphries. The film looks absolutely beautiful in...
Published on Feb. 2 2011 by Dr. Joseph Lee

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No widescreen!
My low rating is for the DVD, NOT the movie content. I will say that if you are a narrow-minded hypocrite, this movie is not for you. Grandparents might want to buy it to watch with their grandchildren because the parents won't let them watch it. Did it cause you to grow up wrong because you watched it as a child? Well, judging by some of the remarks, I'll say "Yes."...
Published on Feb. 24 2004 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alice In Wonderland (60th Anniversary Edition)(blu ray)...the original and definitive version of this beloved classic, Feb. 2 2011
By 
Dr. Joseph Lee (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (#1 HALL OF FAME)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Alice in Wonderland (60th Anniversary Edition) [Blu-ray + DVD] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
Video: This 60th Anniversary Edition of `Alice in Wonderland' debuts on Blu-ray with a 1080p AVC/MPEG-4 video presentation. The film can be viewed in its original aspect ratio or with DisneyView, a feature which allows you to fill the black bars with beautiful and unique borders by veteran Disney artist Michael Humphries. The film looks absolutely beautiful in high-definition. The animation quality is amazing and it is even more incredible when you realize the film is now sixty years old. Colors are also top notch, rich and vibrant throughout. Disney has done a great job restoring the film to its original glory. (5/5)

Audio: The DTS-HD 5.1 Master Audio was also wonderful (although no 7.1 like the more recent releases). It was nicely recorded and remastered. (4.0/5)

This is simply amazing that Alice in Wonderland is already 60 years old. I still have the original VHS tape, plus the laser disc, plus two versions on DVD (Gold Collection and the Masterpiece 2-disc edition). But this blu ray release is without a doubt THE definitive edition of this wonderful film. This film demands repeated viewings with the whole family. If you have forgotten about the film, you will fall in love with it all over again. It will bring back many happy memories from years gone by. Also, some young viewers may think that Tim Burton's version is the original version of Alice In Wonderland. Viewing this film will introduce a new generation of young viewers to appreciate and enjoy this ORIGINAL evergreen classic. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Disney-ized, July 15 2004
By 
Lotus Scrum (Phoenix, Az United States) - See all my reviews
One of my fav children's books gets Disney-ized. I find that this version is simply AMAZING! Yes, there are LOTS of drugged out images (ie..the caterpillar is smoking an opium pipe, she eats mushrooms to get bigger or smaller etc) but its a magical story and its told VERY well by the Disney guys. Not to be missed, grab it before its out of print.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Follow the white rabbit Neo - no sorry, I mean Alice, July 18 2004
By 
Amanda Richards (Georgetown, Guyana) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
I just spent a couple of hours looking at this wonderful movie and the extra features. The aptly named Masterpiece Edition is worth every penny, and like The Matrix, should be included in any movie collection, whether you have a child to hide behind or not.
Beautifully adapted and animated from Lewis Carroll's highly imaginative, high-trippin' classic, the imagery and illustrated puns amaze and amuse, especially the little things like the rocking-horse fly, the bread-and-butter flies, the vultures, the pencil and hammer birds, the momeraths, and the bird in the tree (Queenie Leonard) yelling "Ser-pennnnnt !"
The animators drew each frame based on the portrayals by the actors voicing the parts, and the stand-outs are Kathryn Beaumont as Alice, Ed Wynn as the Mad Hatter, Verna Felton as the Queen of Hearts, Bill Thompson as the White Rabbit, and the very flexible and versatile J. Pat O'Malley as Tweedle Dum, Tweedle Dee, the Walrus AND the Carpenter, in one of the best scenes in the movie.
With fourteen songs, this is the most musical Disney around, but unfortunately, the songs are not very easy to sing along to, making me sound like William Hung every time I try to impress people with my thorough knowledge of the lyrics.
There are lots of interesting tidbits in the extras, such as the discarded Cheshire Cat song, and the fact that one of the songs was later re-worded for Peter Pan. There are other links between Alice in Wonderland and Peter Pan, but you'll have to watch the extras to find out just what, cause I'm not telling.
For those who don't want to watch the previews at the beginning of the DVD, just press "Menu" and get plugged directly into Wonderland.
Amanda Richards, July 18, 2004
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alice in Wonderland, Feb. 15 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Alice in Wonderland (60th Anniversary Edition) [Blu-ray + DVD] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
Good movie, good case. I know lots of girls when I was little was scared of this movie cause it is kind of all over the place but I didn't mind. I love the visuals. As a parent, maybe watch it first and then decide if your child should watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great film!, Feb. 6 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Alice in Wonderland (60th Anniversary Edition) [Blu-ray + DVD] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
I bought this for my little girl, she absolutely loves it. You can say what you want about this film and it's underlying tones but it's a brilliant disney film with some absolutely incredible artwork and talent on display. The image quality is perfect. Just buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars alice & wonderland, Jan. 3 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Alice in Wonderland (60th Anniversary Edition) [Blu-ray + DVD] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
Alice and wonder land was a really good movie the family really enjoyed watching it . came on time for when I expected
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, Jan. 3 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Alice in Wonderland (60th Anniversary Edition) [Blu-ray + DVD] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
Came next day of ordering can't believe how fast that was. It great to have both the DVD and the Blu Ray Edition. Great to watch with any kid
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, Jan. 2 2014
By 
Sweetpea (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This has always been one of my favourite Disney films. I used to own it on VHS so buying this version on DVD has made me fall in love with the film all over again. It looks beautiful and sounds great. Excellent quality and totally worth it for any disney fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A classic., Dec 19 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Does it get any better than these classic beauties. I love them all. I am making a Disney collection for my grandchild and grandchildren to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Classic, Oct. 12 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The classic Alice in Wonderland seems timeless. My mother watched this as a child, I loved it as a child, and now my three year old daughter loves it.- The exactly same film!

It arrived quickly and exactly as described.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb37b2420)

This product

Alice in Wonderland (60th Anniversary Edition) [Blu-ray + DVD] (Bilingual)
CDN$ 26.50 CDN$ 18.75
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews