Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Breath of Fresh Air
This was the first movie I saw in theatres twice since Nolan's previous film, The Dark Knight. The man certainly knows how to make a movie and is undoubtedly the hot director of the moment. It's refreshing to see a movie that at least tries to be original and creative, however I have a feeling that Nolan could be more if he had less pressure to dominate the box office...
Published on Dec 17 2010 by Jimbo Jones

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars While this film had its moments - as lucid dreaming ...
While this film had its moments - as lucid dreaming involved, how could it not? - for my taste far too much rushing about and violence. Presumably this is what the market demands.
Published 11 months ago by Siusaidh


‹ Previous | 14 5 611 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Mind-bending and exciting, Dec 29 2011
Great plot, great action, great acting. Occasionally can be a bit hard to follow all the logic but it's worth trying :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worlds within worlds within worlds, Dec 26 2013
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This is not quite the inoculate inception you would expect but it holds your attention. This is an action packed thriller with plenty of CGI, blood and guts and a mystery to boot.

We already know the formula and this will not be the last movie to use it. Yet it is the execution that is on trial here. Is lots of action and noise the reason to watch the movie or is it actually the distraction. Take away the CGI and the obligatory car chase and what is left?

Cobb (Leonardo DiCaprio) just wants to get on with life and be with his kids once more. He is offered that opportunity in exchange for his skill in changing people's minds while entering their dreams. This is the simple explanation for the movie. But Cob and his team must go down several levels of dreams in dreams in dreams to accomplish the mission. With each level new problems are revealed as we are also dissecting Cobb's mind at the same time.

Will the team complete their mission or like "The Man from the MTA?" be lost forever in limbo.

The Thirteenth Floor
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Movies can be both entertaining and intellectually stimulating., Jan. 23 2011
By 
Andre Farant (Ottawa, Ontario) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Inception / Origine (Bilingual) (DVD)
One of the many great things about Inception was its trailer. It told me absolutely nothing. I loved that. Good movie trailers only hint at the advertised film's content, themes and storyline. There should be no need for teaser trailers--they should all be teaser trailers. Based on those first few images, we couldn't even tell what kind of film the director and writer, Christopher Nolan, would eventually be unleashing upon us. We saw Leonardo DiCaprio with a silenced pistol; was it a crime thriller? We saw people running, fighting, jumping; was it an action movie? We saw people flying through the air, a street curling up like a tongue; so was it a science-fiction film?

We didn't know and had no way of knowing and we liked it that way.

Who would have guessed it would be all those things; thriller, action, sic-fi, and more?

It's the true beauty of a film like Inception. It manages to be a heist movie, a spy movie, an action movie, a sci-fi noire film, a psychological drama, a suspense movie, a crime film, all with, at its centre, a well-defined little love story. It includes all of these elements without one overshadowing the other. The film is in perfect balance. Oh, and did I mention it's got some pretty massive special effects, as well? True, it's not terribly funny, but it does offer a few laughs--just enough to keep the dark from getting too dark, the noire from getting too noire.

Nolan's gift for blending genres, without ever alienating his audience or making them feel that he is striving to recreate the wheel, is what makes him such an exciting filmmaker. He knows when to show restraint, when to let the effects hang off the story rather than the other way around.

Other filmmakers have done it before. Ridley Scott did it with Blade Runner, crafting a film that is equal parts science fiction and crime thriller. Alex Proyas mixed sci-fi and a murder mystery in Dark City. But I would argue that Nolan has taken the practice to a new level. He manages to bring life and energy into material that, on paper, might have appeared tired.

Inception is, in a real sense, a perfect film. Its script is solid, with an interesting story and believable characters. The premise is farfetched and certainly doesn't fit what little we do know about dreams, but it is strong on verisimilitude, sucking us in with its possibilities and potential. Technically, Inception is flawless, with music that sets the scene without overwhelming it; with special effects that command attention without demanding it; with actors who are good enough to know that they are performing in a film that will not net them an Oscar nomination, and they're perfectly okay with that.

In many ways, what makes Inception so great, is not simply what it is and does, but what it isn't and does not . . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dreamscape, Dec 12 2010
By 
Alan Rivière "Maggie's Dad" (Southwest, USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Inception / Origine (Bilingual) (DVD)
When you watch this 2010 sci-fi thriller, you need to pay close attention. You may want to turn on the subtitles to help follow the conversation, or you may get lost in the twists and turns of the plot. This was what happened to me at my first viewing, but the pieces started to fall into place when I watched the movie for the second time. The story is about a group of people who steals secrets from corporate leaders by entering into their dreams in operations dubbed "extraction". They push the boundary further by trying to plant an idea into the subconscious mind of the heir of an industrial magnate. The operation is called "inception". I can see why some viewers would throw up their hands on this movie, given the complexity of the plot, but they should give some leeway to the writer-director-producer of this film, Christopher Nolan, who is well known for experimental film making. This film is not your run-of-the-mill sci-fi and it requires certain amount of effort from the viewers to follow Nolan's thoughts. Lead actor Leonardo DiCaprio is great as usual, but the one to watch is the Japanese actor Ken Watanabe, who is famous as Lord Katsumoto Moritsu in "The Last Samurai".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Movie!!!, Feb. 12 2012
By 
Shaun Mccready (Montreal, Quebec Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great Movie!! Well worth the purchase! Ive watched it many times over and would still continue to. Original story.
Leo does an amazing performance in this. All actors I found were incredible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NOT TRUE 1080p, Dec 13 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you can't tell the difference between widescreen and fullscreen, this review isn't for you.

What you won't see in the description is that the aspect ratio is 2.4:1. That might be confusing to you if you thought your TV was 16:9 (1.77:1). The way they format this "true HD" movie is by compressing the original super-wide image, resulting in those lovely black bars on the top and bottom (like when you accidentally bought a widescreen DVD back in 2000). Unfortunately, the movie is actually formatted so that the black bars ARE PART OF THE MOVIE - so if you watch this on a 2.4:1 TV, the image will be upscaled, not native.

If you're looking for the best picture quality, you should think twice before choosing this blu-ray. Consider yourself warned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Parfait /perfect, Oct. 16 2014
This review is from: Inception / Origine (Bilingual) (DVD)
Meilleur film à voir!
Best movie ever must see!
Expéditeur parfait !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars DIGITAL COPY EXPIRED!!, June 3 2011
By 
Ray (Toronto, ON) - See all my reviews
I bought this because it was a better price than what iTunes is for the digital copy ($19.99).

BUT I received it yesterday (June 2) and tried to redeem the digital copy and it is expired as of May 26/11. DISAPPOINTING that it isn't noted on the description.

On the flipside, fantastic movie. BluRay played without any problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Had to buy it, July 4 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Inception / Origine (Bilingual) (DVD)
This pic is so great that I felt honor bound to pay for it.
It's done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, Dec 12 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great movie !!! Weird but SO good !!! Must have in your movie library
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 611 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Inception / Origine (Bilingual)
Inception / Origine (Bilingual) by Christopher Nolan (DVD - 2010)
CDN$ 18.70 CDN$ 4.88
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews