Customer Reviews


86 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worlds within worlds within worlds
This is not quite the inoculate inception you would expect but it holds your attention. This is an action packed thriller with plenty of CGI, blood and guts and a mystery to boot.

We already know the formula and this will not be the last movie to use it. Yet it is the execution that is on trial here. Is lots of action and noise the reason to watch the movie or...
Published 11 months ago by bernie

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars While this film had its moments - as lucid dreaming ...
While this film had its moments - as lucid dreaming involved, how could it not? - for my taste far too much rushing about and violence. Presumably this is what the market demands.
Published 3 months ago by Siusaidh


‹ Previous | 14 5 69 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, Oct. 29 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Nice movie!! Perfect package and price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Christopher Nolan Mindbender, Oct. 25 2010
By 
Richard S. Warner "Saraswati-Son" (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: INCEPTION (Widescreen) (DVD)
There seems to be an increasing interest in mainstream film-making in creating movies that deal with the mind and its relative-subjective constructs of reality. Writers and directors are now mining a very rich realm of possibility in doing stories that layer multiple levels of consciousness. Christopher Nolan, the director of the two recent "Batman" reboots and the incredibly good "The Prestige", is one of those directors and he is taking on this theme with a passion. "Inception" is his latest offering in a genre he is becoming very adept at.

Earlier films that really broke the ground which made this film possible are works like "Memento", "Fight Club" and the indispensible "Matrix" Trilogy. In fact its hard not to think of the Wachowski brothers while watching Nolan's latest outing.

As undeniably tied to the "Matrix" Trilogy as "Inception" is, it is still a good film and a real bang-crash crowd pleaser to boot. The action is fast-paced and nail-biting, the pacing relentlessly building and yet the film also has a very simple but profound human psychological truth in its core - at the very centre of our psyches, in the deepest part of our hearts, there is in each of us an extremely pure truth, a hurt really, that is so innocent and vulnerable that we create the most formidable defences to protect it.

Leonardo DiCaprio, doing a great turn here, plays Dom Cobb the ace "Extractor" in a team of dreamtime navigators, who specialize in a form of psychic espionage with a very special difference. Extractors actually get into the minds of people that have secret information hidden within their subconsciousnesses, by entering their dreams, discovering it and then leaving with that knowledge as their own. As the mind works so much faster and extends time in that realm, it is in the dreamstate where all of this is achieved. "Extracting" then, is the active engagement, with multiple consciousnesses jacking in, of lucid dreaming as a tool for high level psychic sleuthing. But dreamtime is not as benign nor as simple and nebulous as it might seem ...

This particular story in the team's repertoire begins with the demand that instead of "extracting" a key piece of information from a subject they, instead, need to plant an idea IN. And ideas, we are told at the beginning of "Inception" are the most powerful and resilient of all "infections" or "viruses" that have ever been. Once the mind receives an idea, Cobb tells us, especially at it's deepest levels, it never forgets it, graduallly growing and developing it into full expression.

Cillian Murphy, a Nolan alumnus of the "Batman" films and Danny Boyle's "Sunshine" plays the multi-millionaire son of dying energy magnate, Pete Postlethwaite, who is the one man who holds the key to the domination of the world through one last corporate move. Murphy, by inheriting his father's corporation is the man destined to carry this out. It is pretty much de facto that if the last steps are put into place, the young Fischer ( Murphy ) becomes a global superpower in himself. It is up to the team of extractors, led by DiCaprio and the excellent Joseph Gordon-Levitt, to somehow get to Fischer, enter his mind and instead of retrieving something from him, PLANT an idea that will eventually lead to his deciding NOT move the corporation forward into world domination. Planting this idea is called "inception".

As the story develops we find that our "super hero", Cobb, a man on the run with a broken family behind him, has something very secret deep in his own subconscious that he is grappling with, which keeps spilling into the dreams of others that he enters. This disturbance of his own consciousness is actually a danger when he enters the minds of others. For once the "extractors" "jack in" to someone's dreamtime that subconscious can send some very nasty "projections" forward to meet them when it senses a disruptive, foreign presence. Therefore those projections act as an immune system that detects and attacks those that don't naturally belong in that consciousness. So once inside another person's dreamtime, it is crucial NOT to cause undo disturbance. In Cobb's case it is the "still living" projection of his dead wife ( played with chilling menace by Marion Cotillard ), who wants him to remain in his subconscious with her "forever", that threatens the safety of Cobb himself AND his team.

Once they get to Fischer, jack him in and then themselves, the story gets very layered and complex as different levels of dreamstates are entered and navigated. Cobb's and Fischer's seem incredibly complex and defended with exceptionally violent "projections" - Cobb's by his deceased and dangerous wife and Fischer by crack swat teams of para-military forces. Herein lie the keys to the two subconsciousnesses. Fischer's is wrapped around his deeply conflicted, unhappy and unresolved relationship with his dying father, and Cobb's with the guilt feelings surrounding his wife's real time death in a tragic suicide. Here is where the main action sequences of "Inception" are played out, in the deepest levels of the subconscious minds of Cobb and Fischer. And that action is unlike anything you've seen in films before: nail-biting, fantastic, disorienting, violent and quite disturbing.

"Inception" is indeed a complex action film that has, despite all the often confusing reality levels, a pristine message that redemption and forgiveness are the resolution of all our extremely complicated and often violent defenses. Love, forgiveness and acceptance, in the end, are what saves the day. This is one film, like the "Matrix" Trilogy, that requires repeated viewing if one is going to get the most out of it. It can be merely taken as an action film and it works VERY well on that level, but it is, again like the Wachowski brothers, ultimately a thinking persons action film.

The cinematography is truly fantastic and while it is mindblowing in itself, it never really distracts from the momentum of the story line or its underlying themes. All of the actors are committed to the script and their performances are sincere and delivered with that committment. This is one of the best films Leonardo DiCaprio has ever done. He is somewhat subdued but smoldering with hidden undercurrents that are developed with perfect credibility and power. "Inception" is one of his most emotionally satisfying films yet.

The soundtrack is excellent and very dramatic, propelling the mood and atmosphere forward with power and momentum. The direction is excellent, Nolan really coming into his own here as never before. Although I must say I still prefer "The Prestige" over all his films. If any of the other above-mentioned other films have been of interest to you and you really enjoy films with challenging themes and ideas, couched in pulse-pounding action and cinematographic awe, then "Inception" is one you're going to want.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another review about excellence., Feb. 4 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The multi-layered narrative Nolan directs is a masterpiece of intelligence. The movie is a total treat for both sci-fi enthusiasts, thriller addicts, and Di Caprio' admirers. One of my favourite part of the movie: The G.I. Joe-esque northern sequence. The white-everything-from-ski-doos-to-snow-suits is funny and compelling. Nolan's directing grasps the viewer from the very first images, and he doesn't let us go until the final unresolved mystery. Kept my girlfriend and I discussing for hours after we got out of the movie theater. Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I like it, Oct. 4 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Inception / Origine (Bilingual) (DVD)
A very strange but good movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, Aug. 4 2011
By 
Amazon Customer (London, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
An amazing movie that will have you thinking twice before going to sleep. Blu-ray makes it so much better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Despite Plot Flaw, brilliant., Aug. 10 2014
Di Caprio's character whole MO is to return to the US to be with his kids, especially after the death of their mother.

Why then, would they chose to spend a simulated lifetime together lasting 50+ years without their children? I understand in realtime it was only a few hours but in that dimension it was a lifetime, so real his wife, on waking, cannot reconcile reality and commits suicide. That does not fit at all with parents who actually want to be with their children. Unless Nolan is making the ultimate parents need time alone sci fi statement?

Please correct me if I have got it wrong.

Otherwise a deep, layered slightly too long masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beau voyage déroutant., July 12 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Que voilà un film fascinant mais qui peut facilement devenir mêlant pour un non-habitué de la science-fiction. Les fins-finauds essaieront de prendre le réalisateur en défaut dans l'articulation des 4 niveaux de rêve de ce film, tant pis pour eux. C'est astucieux, c'est intelligent, c'est très bien joué. En salle, sur grand écran, c'est magnifique. Voir cette rue de Paris se replier sur elle-même provoque un orgasme visuel Il règne une atmosphère superbe, enveloppante et inquiétante provenant d'un amour qui doit cesser et d'une drôle d'équipe qui doit bien travailler. Un grand film, peut-être trop complexe pour être un grand succès populaire.
S. Mercier
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Different from anything I've ever seen, Dec 3 2010
I have to confess that it took a while for me to understand what was going on in the movie because it is far from obvious. It literally took my breath away until the very end. The good thing about having the Blu-ray is that I can watch over and over again, paying attention to all the little things that I've missed the first time I watched. This is not a movie that follows the normal pattern of beginning, middle, end, it "messes" with your mind and you will end up loving every minute. Totally worth buying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best!!!, Nov. 27 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
One of the best!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mind-bending and exciting, Dec 29 2011
Great plot, great action, great acting. Occasionally can be a bit hard to follow all the logic but it's worth trying :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 69 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Inception / Origine (Bilingual)
Inception / Origine (Bilingual) by Christopher Nolan (DVD - 2010)
CDN$ 18.70 CDN$ 4.88
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews