Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great router
This unit was recommended by a number of technical sites I researched as the number one choice for routers. Having used it for a month now wired to my main desktop and wireless to second desktop, laptop, tablet, iPhone and two wi-fi enabled Sharp televisions; not one dropped signal throughout a three-storey house with unit located in basement office. Can only say that...
Published on Nov. 25 2011 by Charles P. Miller

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Beware Compatibility Issues
When it's working, this router is great. It handles traffic well and the USB sharing functions work well once configured. When first owning the router I experienced daily disconnects from the internet (WiFi never dropped) until finally the WAN port became totally unresponsive.

Google searches found that often people with certain cable router brands had...
Published 12 months ago by Javin DeVreede


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great router, Nov. 25 2011
By 
Charles P. Miller "ChuckPM" (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ASUS RT-N56U Black Diamond Dual-Band Wireless-N 600 Router (Personal Computers)
This unit was recommended by a number of technical sites I researched as the number one choice for routers. Having used it for a month now wired to my main desktop and wireless to second desktop, laptop, tablet, iPhone and two wi-fi enabled Sharp televisions; not one dropped signal throughout a three-storey house with unit located in basement office. Can only say that the reviews I read were right; this is a teriffic router.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very satisfied, Jan. 6 2012
This review is from: ASUS RT-N56U Black Diamond Dual-Band Wireless-N 600 Router (Personal Computers)
Pro's:
Very easy to configure web interface
Very stable
Real N speed, extremely fast
Very good signal range and the boost configurable option works at perfection for large home
Nice design

con's:
Poor static IP adress interface, you can't name a device for wich you assign an IP, you can only see the MAC
slow refresh of the web interface when making changes to the configuration file
poor log file, not enough levels of details

bought 3 yet, one for my home, one for my mother and a third for a friend. I used to work with Linksys products but the Asus RT-N56U is way better than any other linksys AND DLink consumer product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Router, July 10 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ASUS RT-N56U Black Diamond Dual-Band Wireless-N 600 Router (Personal Computers)
Linux out of the box always a good thing! Router can be used to replace ISP supplied Fibre to the home solution routers, assuming your TV receivers can do Cat5E/6 for their connections. Used this to replace the Bell-Aliant Action Tech router that has the worse put together firmware I have ever scene. Go Bell Canada...

With the custom WAN interface options, for a Fibre to the home solution, all you need to know is what VLANs that your TV, Internet, and Phone run on. Ports 1 and 2 will be internet, 3 for phone and 4 is for your TV. Easiest router by far to use to replace the ISP solution's. Highly recommend as other solutions are not as easy to setup.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Reliable, May 17 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ASUS RT-N56U Black Diamond Dual-Band Wireless-N 600 Router (Personal Computers)
Use router for three weeks now and have not encountered any issue especially on movies download, Really consistent and reliable would have given it a five star if not for the slowness of my laptop. May not be the issue on the router but rather the lapt0p itself. Happy to purchase the router and quick delivery from AMAZON.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing router, April 21 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ASUS RT-N56U Black Diamond Dual-Band Wireless-N 600 Router (Personal Computers)
I work for a major IT company and I do a lot of research before making any purchase for my home office/network. This router was rated very highly and all the reviews were excellent so I purchased it for my home. The unit was simple to use, easy to set up and was working n minutes. The wireless range is amazing and far better then my last d-link unit. I would recomment this unit to novices and experts alike. Great unit that meets or beats all expectations
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ASUS RT-N56U, March 11 2013
By 
P White (Toronto, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ASUS RT-N56U Black Diamond Dual-Band Wireless-N 600 Router (Personal Computers)
I ordered this to replace my D-link DIR-615. i've had it for about a month and so far so good. Streaming to Apple TV is much better and smartphones connecting well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works Great, no issues yet, Jan. 6 2012
This review is from: ASUS RT-N56U Black Diamond Dual-Band Wireless-N 600 Router (Personal Computers)
I bought this to replace my old DIR-625. Immediately noticed greater speeds when surfing. No problems setting it up. Took all of 5 minutes to have the basic network going. Wireless signal is very good. iPad's run on the 5ghz side and ipods/iphones/laptop run on 2.4 no conflicts. I would recommend this product for sure over the current Linksys or Cisco items for home users.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent router, May 3 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ASUS RT-N56U Black Diamond Dual-Band Wireless-N 600 Router (Personal Computers)
One of the best routers I've used. Excellent quality and very easy to set up. The web GUI to manage the router is also very good and intuitive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Flawless performance, no complaints at all., Dec 1 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ASUS RT-N56U Black Diamond Dual-Band Wireless-N 600 Router (Personal Computers)
First off, routers need to be tested long term. Tons of routers work for a month then die out. I've had this for 18 months, and it has yet to drop the connection or disconnect EVEN ONCE.

Works beautifully. I wanted to set up wireless printing and wireless access to an external hard drive at home - does the job perfectly. Speed is excellent too. The dual band actually comes in pretty useful as I'm in an apartment and the walls sometimes don't let signals through that well, so I can choose the better frequency for shorter distances.

The black diamond look with a thin vertical structure is excellent too - doesn't take up that much space. A definite "would recommend!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good performing router, July 7 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ASUS RT-N56U Black Diamond Dual-Band Wireless-N 600 Router (Personal Computers)
Easy to setup and configure. The quick internet setup will automatically detect your network. Simply enter a few configuration parameters and your internet is up and running. Average WIFI range when using the 2.4GHZ band. With no other 2.4GHZ devices interfering, I would of expected a little better range. Plenty of advanced administration tools and features. I have 4 people in our household that stream from internet and private network and I have noticed very little lag. The router has not let me done yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

ASUS RT-N56U Black Diamond Dual-Band Wireless-N 600 Router
CDN$ 133.99 CDN$ 103.50
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews