Customer Reviews


69 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent utility tool.
I'm extremely happy with my purchase - the grip is comfortable and rubberized so it won't slip, the sheath is rugged and seems durable, and the blade itself has stood up to the work admirably. We've had some bad wind storms this year and I've used this tool to clear and limb 15-20 trees and large branches that have come down. No signs of giving up so far and I expect it...
Published 23 months ago by Barmp

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars good for small size vegetation, but go easy on trees
The blade came dull, you'll have to sharpen it. If you don't know how, just don't buy a machete please. The saw also required some sharpening before it could be very usefull. Got this machette for about 2 weeks now. Used it on 3 occasions. Works well on small plants and soft wood up to 2" thick. I later tried to chop down a small fir tree and the blade chipped...
Published 20 days ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent utility tool., Oct. 7 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gerber 31-000758 Gator Machete with Sheath (Tools & Hardware)
I'm extremely happy with my purchase - the grip is comfortable and rubberized so it won't slip, the sheath is rugged and seems durable, and the blade itself has stood up to the work admirably. We've had some bad wind storms this year and I've used this tool to clear and limb 15-20 trees and large branches that have come down. No signs of giving up so far and I expect it will be my go-to tool on these jobs for some years to come.

I see some reviews here that comment on the blade arriving dull - it's not intended to be a sharp instrument. The weight of a machete is what gives it it's cutting power, it need only be thin enough to sheer the target at impact. I haven't sharpened mine at all and it's been excellent for limbing everything I've had to cut down this season, just chop at the thinner limbs and saw through the thick ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh wow!, Dec 2 2011
By 
René Bélanger "~Rock forever~" (Sudbury, ON CAN) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gerber 31-000758 Gator Machete with Sheath (Tools & Hardware)
This thing is great! Awesome grip (won't slip from your hand) and the blade is absolutely amazing! It gets to your place not sharp so you'll need to sharpen it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Decent quality for the price., March 27 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gerber 31-000758 Gator Machete with Sheath (Tools & Hardware)
I bought this product a few weeks ago, I am fairly impressed with the purchase. Nice grip, it looks deceiving in the thumbnail but it's actually pretty good. The sheath is durable as well. The blade itself is strong it came not that sharp, but it is a machete and doesn't require to be sharpened, I cut about 2 inch thick logs in a few swings. So it is well made, the saw on the blade is half decent, it will get the job done but you will have to put effort into it.

I think the only improvements that can be made is a grip that wraps around my hand, so i don't have to worry about something whipping my fingers, and a better saw for cutting thicker wood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, needed to be sharpened..., Feb. 26 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gerber 31-000758 Gator Machete with Sheath (Tools & Hardware)
I gave it 4 stars, I've used it a fair bit and really like handle, with lanyard and the sheath is very good. The issue with the sheath is that the machete doesn't always go in easily - but that is an easier one to live with. The mahcete also needed sharpening, but that can be understood with shipping a very sharp instrument!!

I have not had the breakage concerns of others posts, and have been using this to de-bark firewood and remove small branches from pine, tamarack and birch trees - no issues. The one thing that would give this machete a 5-star rating would be a d-handle that would protect your hands while using it. Other than that, a very good product at a decent price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice blade, good handle and good quality sheath, Sept. 13 2012
By 
Salem (Vancouver) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gerber 31-000758 Gator Machete with Sheath (Tools & Hardware)
With the low price there is no complaint on this product, good grip on the handle and the sheath is semi-hard plastic which is better than the original machete with just a cloth sheath. In some of the review I read the packaging there is a metal stud holding the blade, the one I received do not have the metal stud. In general I like this machete.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars decent., July 31 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gerber 31-000758 Gator Machete with Sheath (Tools & Hardware)
Seems very well built and comfortable in your hand, blade is sharp and will take a chunk out of anything you hit with it. I would not trust the saw as your primary saw, after a few fairly thin cuts, it seems dull already, but as a back up saw it works. For the price you cant go wrong, needed a sharpening out of the box, but sturdy in use and when you're done with it, it has no real dings or dents in the blade. For the price it cannot be beat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good item, July 12 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gerber 31-000758 Gator Machete with Sheath (Tools & Hardware)
Liked the machete, came in handy at the camp and it was a lot cheaper than what was being sold in the stores for a lesser quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great machete, Feb. 11 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gerber 31-000758 Gator Machete with Sheath (Tools & Hardware)
I go this a week ago and started clearing brush and trees. It is light, the grip on the handle is great and it holds its edge. I'm able to easily cut through 2 inches of wood in one stroke, very nice item. The saw also works quite well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars good for small size vegetation, but go easy on trees, Aug. 8 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gerber 31-000758 Gator Machete with Sheath (Tools & Hardware)
The blade came dull, you'll have to sharpen it. If you don't know how, just don't buy a machete please. The saw also required some sharpening before it could be very usefull. Got this machette for about 2 weeks now. Used it on 3 occasions. Works well on small plants and soft wood up to 2" thick. I later tried to chop down a small fir tree and the blade chipped. Probably due to a bad quenching.

Amazon replaced the chipped machete, now I have to sharpen it all again. Works pretty well apart from that previous incident. good grip, good weight, the sheath is ok. If you're in more heavy stuff, I'd recommend the fiskar brush axe instead
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Product, Nov. 16 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gerber 31-000758 Gator Machete with Sheath (Tools & Hardware)
This machete is strong, well made and a steal at 24 bucks! The only thing wrong with it is that it is not full tang, if it were I would have given 5 instead of 4/5 and would have gladly paid more to have it that way!

It stood up well on a trail maintenance day and the saw is quite useful, sharp as well. The edge on the machete had to be sharpened but that is not the end of the world especially for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gerber 31-000758 Gator Machete with Sheath
CDN$ 40.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews