countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more vpcflyout Pets All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports Tools Registry

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
163
4.5 out of 5 stars
Price:$33.26+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 37 reviews(4 star). Show all reviews
on July 12, 2013
Liked the machete, came in handy at the camp and it was a lot cheaper than what was being sold in the stores for a lesser quality.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 27, 2013
I bought this product a few weeks ago, I am fairly impressed with the purchase. Nice grip, it looks deceiving in the thumbnail but it's actually pretty good. The sheath is durable as well. The blade itself is strong it came not that sharp, but it is a machete and doesn't require to be sharpened, I cut about 2 inch thick logs in a few swings. So it is well made, the saw on the blade is half decent, it will get the job done but you will have to put effort into it.

I think the only improvements that can be made is a grip that wraps around my hand, so i don't have to worry about something whipping my fingers, and a better saw for cutting thicker wood.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 16, 2013
This machete is strong, well made and a steal at 24 bucks! The only thing wrong with it is that it is not full tang, if it were I would have given 5 instead of 4/5 and would have gladly paid more to have it that way!

It stood up well on a trail maintenance day and the saw is quite useful, sharp as well. The edge on the machete had to be sharpened but that is not the end of the world especially for the price.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 17, 2016
Used it really hard for 30-45mins clearing cedar branches off the trees and the blade is bent and rolled over. The tip has a huge chunk out of it. Probably a couple hundred + strikes. I created trails out of impassably thick trees and brush that were grown over for 10-15 years. Lots of ivy and dog vine, too. Even though it rolled, I was able to take down a staggering amount of brush.

I like this so much, I returned it and am trying it again. Probably got a dud, which happens.

The price point is excellent, the duality of the blade makes it very attractive; the saw on the backside of the machete saves sharpness on your cutting blade and allows you to take down bigger branches and small trees.

The rubberized handle is very comfortable to the touch and helps reduce vibrations. The tool is well balanced and the lanyard is a useful safety feature.

Replacement update: I received a replacement and it bent within 5 minutes of using it. I've sent both back and bought a different brand.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 3, 2014
Ok so let me start off by saying i have yet to actually take this thing out into the wilderness. that being said gerber offers a lifetime warranty on the blade so for all you people complaining perhaps you should contact them. The handle is super comfortable and grippy. also the saw back on it seems like it would hack up a branch in no time also the sheath is well constructed and durable. The only thing that would make this any better is if the hardware clamping the handle down came tighter, so just give that a crank down before you go out. For the price its a great deal.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Haven't tested it on any brush yet.

However, the machete seems right.

Pros:
- Safety lanyard that when used properly prevents your hand riding up the blade due to a mistake;
- Blade seems solid and sufficiently sharp for light bushes and plants that machetes are designed for;
- Sheath included, seems sufficient for storage;
- Good value;
- No sawtooth on the cutting edge of the blade (thank God);

Cons:
- Nil for now, we'll see when it gets tested on the path.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 18, 2014
Love it but it's not as sharp as I thought it would be. I understand its meant for hacking but I still would like the ability to cut through finer materials other than brush. Anyways, I would buy it again cause it seems very solid and does the job. No real complaints here. Just remember what the purpose of a machete is.. To cut through brush, branches and thicket. As long as you keep that in mind you will be very happy with it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 21, 2016
Not full tang, but still sturdy after heavy use...
I've literally beat the crap out of this thing and take with me on every camping trip I go on.
If your looking for a cheap machete to hack through the bush on weekends you'll be happy with it.
It's gotten a few dings in it over time, so if you are a serious woodsman you might wanna go full tang, but for most summertime campers you won't be dissapointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 26, 2013
I gave it 4 stars, I've used it a fair bit and really like handle, with lanyard and the sheath is very good. The issue with the sheath is that the machete doesn't always go in easily - but that is an easier one to live with. The mahcete also needed sharpening, but that can be understood with shipping a very sharp instrument!!

I have not had the breakage concerns of others posts, and have been using this to de-bark firewood and remove small branches from pine, tamarack and birch trees - no issues. The one thing that would give this machete a 5-star rating would be a d-handle that would protect your hands while using it. Other than that, a very good product at a decent price.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 9, 2015
As others have mentioned previously, the blade is indeed tough. And it does have both a knife side and a saw side.
I found the blade to be sharp, but not overly which could be a bad thing over time.
The saw is VERY handy. I used it for the ginormous weeds in my backyard. Not bad for a garden tool. Sheath is a great touch to keep it protected from elements.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.