biss boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage vpcflyout Furniture All-New Kindle Paperwhite Explore the Amazon.ca Vinyl LP Records Store s Tools ca_ty_gno

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars84
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVDChange
Price:$14.88+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 61 reviews(5 star). Show all reviews
on February 25, 2012
The Help did not stay in theatres as long as I expected. It was such a good film that I decided to buy the DVD so that I could share it with friends my age, and several young people as well. It is a good consciousness raiser on how otherwise well-meaning people can be unaware of the life stresses of others with whom they interact. It is interesting to compare the book and the film: because they are different media, there are some variations worth noting. I recommend it to any viewer who cares about building understanding and empathy that lead to positive action.
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2011
This is very poignant film, and one that has a serious subject; but is very well done and has some very moments in the film. It is a film (nowhere related in subject) that I would rate on par for performance and a very good film with "Shawshank Redemption". Anyone who appreciates the characteristics of our human nature, such determination, courage, humour and love of others, will appreciate this film. It is certainly a film that you can watch intermittently over and over again.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2012
This is one of those movies if you read the book you will still love the movie. Ron Howards daughter is fantastic in this movie - talented like her father. My wife remembers travelling to Florida on vacation as young teenager seeing the racism that exisited in the sixties with segregated schools and washrooms for coloureds and whites. Truly a movie everyone should see to understand our history not all that long ago.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2016
I saw his on TV some years ago, and loved it. Then it was on again a month or more ago, and again it was wonderful. So I decided to get the disc in order that I could have a good laugh again whenever I liked: at the final expense of the typical white trash women from the southern United States depicted in the story. They used to treat their black women maids as slaves to do their every bidding and to raise their children from daybreak to dusk, all for peanuts: whilst at the same time in many cases treating them as tenth class citizens, and worse than their animals.
It depicted also the nasty beatings those damned Southern White Police Officers visited on the black women who didn't bow to their totally unreasonable demands. It seemed that beating the women with their night sticks (or whatever they're called) gave these vicious policemen the greatest of pleasure: regardless of the pain or broken bones they might cause.
The best part, however, was the special pie the servant lady made for her employer 'lady,' who didn't give her so much as a thank you for her "kindness."
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 19, 2015
One of the best movies that I have seen lately...

The Help is simply wonderfully made. I could not stop looking at it from the beginning to the end, and it is probably what would also happen if I would have reed the book.

It's a refreshing but emotionaly deep story of the day to day life of black and white womens struggleling in a world and time of no tolerance towards black people. I was touched by the simplicity of the approach of the subjet. The acting of the major roles was really convincing and I did trully enjoied each moment, laughs and cries. It is a strory about self respect, dignity, courage and friendship that did not need special effects to get through the heart.

If you liked To Kill a Mockingbird (1962) or Guess Who's Coming to Diner (1967), this movie will definitively be part of your collection. Well, it is part of mine.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 28, 2015
I really enjoyed this movie, and I cried too. We don't realize how some people were treated back then, and even today, we still have cases of abuse and people who take advantage of some helpless child or adult. And many of the black people were so wrongly looked at as slaves, and so many were so kind , even though they had to obey when told to do something. So many were giving good advice to the children whose parents had no time for them.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 3, 2013
Great cast and wonderful acting. Viola Davis and Octavia Spencer are superb. Working with a well-written script, the actors do an excellent job in bringing to life on the screen an interesting mix of characters. Using humour, they deliver a message that is timeless. You will applaud, laugh and also get your ire up with some characters that you would want to shake up! Watch the film and do read the book and you will not be disappointed.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 5, 2014
Excellent movie, excellent service & excellent condition upon arrival!
One of my favourite movies.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 15, 2012
This product was like new, and was shipped amazingly quickly. The Help is a very touching and well-acted story about the deplorable conditions under which colored maids worked in the deep South under the infamous 'Jim Crow' laws. These women were over-worked and under-paid - and very under-appreciated. Nonetheless, it was a touching story.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon August 23, 2013
It's easy to understand why this movie won awards. This is one to be watched over and over again. A difficult subject, racial discrimination, is met head-on, in a fascinating story with superb acting. This really is a must-see. You won't be disappointed.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$13.99
$9.71