Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Feast on Piranha!
This movie was lots of fun... Spring Break with lots of angry moster piranha's, gratuitus nudity and violence. It's a "fun" horror movie, don't go in taking it seriously, just roll with it. BTW, the 2D version is much better than the 3D version, as the 3D is not true 3D, it's post converted.
Published on Feb. 16 2011 by Summer_Nights

versus
13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Movie - not bad, 3d - not good. shame on them.
Firstly, I am reviewing the 3D blu ray version of this movie, therefore the 3D quality, NOT the movie. You watch the movie and decide if you like it or not.
I wanted to review the 3D because those of us who have dropped the dough for the sets, and the equipment, expect quality in the 3d content released on blu ray. I chose the Panasonic Plasma REALD 3D HDTV (65")...
Published on Jan. 12 2011 by B. McFarland


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Feast on Piranha!, Feb. 16 2011
This review is from: Piranha (2010) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This movie was lots of fun... Spring Break with lots of angry moster piranha's, gratuitus nudity and violence. It's a "fun" horror movie, don't go in taking it seriously, just roll with it. BTW, the 2D version is much better than the 3D version, as the 3D is not true 3D, it's post converted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Movie - not bad, 3d - not good. shame on them., Jan. 12 2011
By 
B. McFarland "Blu-Ray Addict" (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Piranha 3D (2010) [3D Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Firstly, I am reviewing the 3D blu ray version of this movie, therefore the 3D quality, NOT the movie. You watch the movie and decide if you like it or not.
I wanted to review the 3D because those of us who have dropped the dough for the sets, and the equipment, expect quality in the 3d content released on blu ray. I chose the Panasonic Plasma REALD 3D HDTV (65") because after carefully reviewing and watching various manufacturers' LED's, LCD's, etc, this was the only one, where 3D looked like it should, crisp, clear, no image overlapping, and looked like what you would see in IMAX 3d. There have been some good 3d releases so far (Disneys Christmas Carol, IMAX Under The Sea 3D, Coraline to name a few) and some not so good ones (Avatar which you can get only from Panasonic for purchasing their unit - sucks, the biggest let down ever...they've done almost nothing with the 3D - it looks nothing like the quality of the 3D version we saw in theatres.) Well this is right up there in the crappy department with Avatar 3D in that I cannot believe the suits behind the studios releasing this 3d bluray let it ship as a quality product. The 3d is terrible through 3/4 of the movie, either almost non existent at all, or terrible image overlapping, blurriness etc (and i know my equipment and how to manipulate settings). The last quarter of the movie appears like suddenly in post production on the 3D version they realized that they had been doing the first 3 quarters wrong, corrected the mistake (the last quarter of the flick's 3D content is quite good) but left the rest before it, to avoid taking a bath on the money required to go back and fix it all. Not sure what the deal is. But for the price we are paying to enjoy the new 3D in our homes, better quality must be demanded if studios are just going to release garbage. It will be the death of 3D if they dont clean up their collective acts.

At any rate, I hope this helps someone save almost $40 of their hard earned money. Oh and as another precautionary measure - when you are purchasing 3D blurays, ensure that you are getting bluray 3D not just the version of something on bluray, in 3d. THERE IS A DIFFERENCE. One requires your new battery operated / rechargeable glasses, the latter uses the old school blue and red lens style. If you purchase Final Destination 3D on blu ray, you will cry when you open the package, two tiny pairs of cardboard blue and red lens glasses drop out - and youve already opened the package, so congrats you own a crappy movie, thats even crappier on 3D. buyer beware.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Set your expectation accordingly and you'll have a good time., June 24 2013
By 
FilmFan2010 "Ron" (Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Piranha (2010) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
French director Alexandra Aja did this version of the film to entertain - with lots of young, good-looking bodies, nudity, and some ferocious, man-eating fish. If the combination of these element is your cup of tea you will have a good time. This is totally nonsensical stuff. Once you are at ease with this fact, relax with your popcorn and have light-hearted fun for a couple of hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun B movie, April 18 2014
By 
Keith Little - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Piranha (2010) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Fun film if you don't have expectations beyond an entertaining B movie.
Video - anamorphic widescreen 2.40:1
Audio - English 5.1 DTS-HD master audio, French Dolby Digital 5.1 Subtitles- English SDH, English, Spanish
Includes scene selection
Extras - commentary by director & producers (there are English subtitles for this commentary), deleted scenes, featurette - Don't Scream, Just Swim: Behind-The-Scenes Of Piranha 3D, deleted storyboard sequences, trailer & TV spots
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A blast of blood and boobies, Jan. 4 2011
By 
This review is from: Piranha (2010) (DVD)
Piranha is pure exploitation, with no redeeming qualities, just as it should be. It never makes the mistake of taking itself too seriously. There is enough boob shaking and bum jiggling from scantily clad hotties to keep even the most attention deficit audience member's eyes glued to the screen. Alexandre Aja relishes in over-the-top gore effects, and definitely wasn't stingy with the buckets of fake blood that are thrown about on screen. The reason why this movie really delivers, however, is that it retains the same high level of humour as the original did. Fans will appreciate the opening cameo of Richard Dreyfuss as a homage to the greatest killer fish movie of all times: Jaws. Gratuitous, crass, it's a mindless B movie extravaganza.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars one big fun fest, April 18 2011
This review is from: Piranha (2010) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
this is one movie that's not for the squeamish or the faint of heart.there's tons of gore and blood in this one.lots of severed bodies.lots of nudity too.and a fair amount of strong language.the whole movie is over the top,including the acting.i'm pretty sure it was intentional.it's not meant to be taken seriously.if you try and view it as a serious film,you will be disappointed.there are some thrilling,nail biting moments though.but really it just a one big fun fest.there are some funny lines through the movie.it's like Jaws on steroids,the fun version.i wouldn't recommend it to everyone though.for me,Piranha (2010)is a 4/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars many ghosting on this one!, Jan. 15 2011
By 
F. Bidrangi "Sammy" (München) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Piranha 3D (2010) [3D Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
i own the UK (not from sony) 3D blu ray and must say that this 3D blu ray title suffers from many ghosting problems, right from the beginning with the dimension logo, i have the brand new full HD 3D pojector from JVC (X3) and on many films like AVATAR or ALICE ON WONDERLAND have none ghosting effects at all, i think the US 3D blu ray from sony has the same problems, now i live in germany and will hope that the upcomming german 3D blu ray is well produced and it will hopefully ghostingfree 3D blu ray as it sould be. and what is about the canadian blu ray 3D version?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Exactly what you think it is, Jan. 14 2011
By 
Bill F. Armitage (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Piranha (2010) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This movie is Exactly what you think it is... no better, no worse. It's a spring break party gone mad with prehistoric piranha. Pretty girls and lots of decent up-to-date gory effects. If you like this kind of movie, get it... if you don't, don't. No surprises here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars it is a pitty that you cannot give 0 stars, March 1 2011
This review is from: Piranha (2010) (DVD)
I made the mistake to see this film in the movies. it was by far the worst film i have ever seen. yes it was that bad. i even thought the twilight movies were better and when i say that this actually pretty sad.
the actors perform very poorly, the storyline is horrible and predictable. the film is pretty much focused on violence and tries to fulfill the bloodthrist of the audience. do not missunderstand me, i actually dump violent action thriller, yet those scences have to fit in the movie. just have violent scences for the violent scences' sake does not make sense and makes a film retarded just as this one. the negative "highlight" was when a men whose legs were eaten by the fish tried to make it on a boat for 5 minutes or something.
the screenwriter left the ending wide open for another movies. let us just all hope, they are not gonna make another one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Piranha 3D (2010) [3D Blu-ray]
Piranha 3D (2010) [3D Blu-ray] by Alexandre Aja (Blu-ray - 2011)
CDN$ 31.99 CDN$ 24.83
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews