march boutiques-francophones Unlimited cloud storage vpcflyout Furniture Introducing Kindle Oasis Music Deals Store sports Tools ca_ty_gno

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars9
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
1
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$20.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 26, 2011
From the birth of a lengthy passion beginning at the age of 10 with he and his brother Duane hearing the magic of BB King for the first time to a lifetime of love and loyalty to the Blues Gregg Allman shares genuine from the heart songs. His songs on this new CD, Low Country Blues, are a true reflection of a life passionately devoted to his exceptional talent and love for the Blues. Low Country Blues finds him putting his own imprint on classics by some of the Blues pioneers whos work has undoubtedly long influenced his own.
Allman does not put out new albums often so fans can bank on a quality release that has been well worked whenever a new CD is offered. This is Gregg's first album since 1997's Searching for Simplicity.
Any fan of old time original style of roots and blues music will know right away that Low Country Blues will be something that should definitely be added to their collection. Fans of Gregg Allman's previous work will surely enjoy this CD from beginning to end.
These are genuinely enjoyable covers as well as Allman's new work which seem to naturally fit right in with the classics. Low Country Blues delivers true Blues satisfaction.

Read more at Suite101: Gregg Allman, Low Country Blues [...].
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 20, 2011
This is the BEST Gregg Allman album, not a bad cut on the entire album. Everytime I hear Floating Bridge I get up and dance to it. In my opinion he has never sounded better, so much more maturity and depth to his vocals. Would highly recommend it.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon February 15, 2014
It's great to hear new material from Gregg Allman, one of the greatest artists with an eternal early 70s vibe to him. When some people say (and I heard it said) "white people can't sing the blues", they obviously has missed out on Gregg Allman and The Allman Brothers Band.

I love music production, but I still don't know what to think about Producers who come with a sound of their own. Examples: Phil Spector, Daniel Lanois and in this case T-Bone Burnett (among a few others).
Is it good to have a strong stamp on the sound of records they produce, regardless the artist they are working with, or not? Because you can tell who the producer is by just listening to the sound of the album, but in doing this, you don't get a 100% of the sound that the artist has built in itself.
So I haven't made up my mind on that one.

In this particular case, T-Bone Burnett's production fits Gregg Allman's old country blues vibe like a glove.
The material is strong, performed and sang amazingly well for a singer who went through liver transplant just months prior.
Gregg's not only a soulful and great singer, but he is also a great Hammond organ player, with exquisite taste to know when to manipulate the Leslie speaker speed and when to change the drawbars tonalities during a song, which brings me to the one flaw I found in this record, and that is the noticeably absence of Gregg's organ.... and only because it is there in most of the tracks, if you pay close attention, but way down in the mix.... To me, a Hammond organ player, it's the equivalent of burying in the mix BB King's Lucille.
I do think that the sound of Gregg's organ doesn't complement T-Bone Burnett's production-stamp, and that is why I commented on it earlier, and that's why I think it was turned down during the final mixing stages. So was T-Bone Burnett more concerned with his own sonic trademark than Gregg's?

Hammond organ fanaticism aside, this record deserves 5 stars. I only hope Gregg will surprise us with more great music sooner than later.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon June 9, 2011
Gregg Allman pours his heart out all over this album with an urgency like the world is going to end tomorrow! His voice is great, the instrumentation is phenomenal. I'm not a huge blues guy, but this is a fantastic album from start to finish. Gregg Allman lays it all down on this one, a little sad, soulful, maybe even a hint of regret? Either way, it all comes together as a thing of beauty. Highly recommended!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 7, 2014
Greg goes deep into his locale to find the pain and joy of being an aging artist. He is closer to the bone on this album than I have ever known him to be. He is really one of the greatest unsung blues musicians of our time and it all comes home on this recording. If you like true southern blues, this is a must hear.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 31, 2011
I loved this song from a singer many consider to be country. He is a multi-faceted performer capable of blues, rock and country. The sounds were beautiful and the songs meaningful. Loved it.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 9, 2011
I found this to be a pretty good recording overall and I'm certainly glad to see that Gregg Allman has gotten it back together. I find the tone a bit mournful(it is a blues album) but Allman's voice is solid and the band is good. Sure to please long-term Allman Brothers fans!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 29, 2012
Great solo album from Gregg Allman. Super piano work from Dr. John, the ever reliable Doyle Bramall is on guitar, and the rest of the musicians are top shelf too. If you like your blues with a traditional flavor, but with modern sound quality, you'll be pleased with this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 2, 2011
This is an excellent country blues CD; great driving CD. Can't wait to see Gregg Allman perform tracks from this CD this year at a local blues festival.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$10.83