Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars highly recommended
this movie about the creation of the phenomenon Facebook and the aftermath is one well crafted and compelling movie.David Fincher directed it and Aaron Sorkin wrote the screenplay.s.it's not hard to tell Sorkin had a hand din it.the dialogue just pops.the acting is superb all around.the main characters are well drawn.Jesse Eisenberg plays Zuckerberg,and it's hard not to...
Published on May 18 2011 by falcon

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars over rated
Had great expectations for this film, but was underwhelmed. It just seemed to drag and I'd call it overall flat. Don't understand all the Oscar hype. Watching the additional features it's apparent that the screenwriter has a very good opinion of himself. Just didn't care about the characters. I really like the directors other films, however I found that my attention...
Published on April 24 2011 by Dave W


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars over rated, April 24 2011
By 
Had great expectations for this film, but was underwhelmed. It just seemed to drag and I'd call it overall flat. Don't understand all the Oscar hype. Watching the additional features it's apparent that the screenwriter has a very good opinion of himself. Just didn't care about the characters. I really like the directors other films, however I found that my attention wandered on this flick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Wanted to see information, June 21 2014
By 
Nancy Cooley (Campbell River) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Did not like Mark that well, but saw how Facebook developed which was why I wanted to see it so ordered it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars highly recommended, May 18 2011
By 
falcon "disdressed12" (canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Social Network / Le réseau social (Bilingual) (2-Disc Collector's Edition) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
this movie about the creation of the phenomenon Facebook and the aftermath is one well crafted and compelling movie.David Fincher directed it and Aaron Sorkin wrote the screenplay.s.it's not hard to tell Sorkin had a hand din it.the dialogue just pops.the acting is superb all around.the main characters are well drawn.Jesse Eisenberg plays Zuckerberg,and it's hard not to feel some degree of empathy for the character,though i wouldn't exactly call him sympathetic.Andrew Garfield plays Eduardo Saverin,a co-founder of Facebook.but it's Justin Timberlake who i found really impressive as Sean Parker,founder of Napster.he plays a totally unlikable character and pulls it off perfectly.i would highly recommend this film.for me,The Social Network is a 4/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remarkable!, Feb. 19 2011
By 
Slipping Away (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
One of those rare movies that you can actually watch multiple times and enjoy it more each time. The pace is so fast it really needs watching twice to grasp all that's going on. Well cast, well written, superbly directed - even Justin Timberlake is great to watch in this movie. And holding it all together is the genius music of Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross - certainly deserving of an Oscar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars disappointing, April 21 2011
By 
P. Worms - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Unusual to find an Oscar nominee in trouble with us, but this had to be the most boring movie that we have seen in a long time. Probably OK if you are heavy into the high tech world.
Penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even if it's Not on Blu-Ray It's still a Great Film !, Jan. 29 2011
This film is one of the youthful films following wizkids and the in's and out's of college parties as they happened,and then along came two people with brains and some compition and all lawers . Its a great tribute to facebook and its batteling through the legal loop holes in the early days agaisnt different ideas when the company was growing and the hardvard brothers who to this day are fighting over money on the shares .. what are they like !..

IT'S A MUST TO HAVE ON YOUR SHELVE !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good, Aug. 24 2014
This review is from: The Social Network / Le réseau social (Bilingual) (2-Disc Collector's Edition) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Item delivered in very good condition, thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie, Feb. 4 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Social Network / Le réseau social (Bilingual) (2-Disc Collector's Edition) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I had to add another 5 star review because someone only gave it 3 stars because they found it for 6 cents less at Wal-Mart...

It's a great movie and whether or not it is 100% accurate to the true story of how Facebook was created it was very entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not Great At All, March 14 2013
This review is from: The Social Network / Le réseau social (Bilingual) (2-Disc Collector's Edition) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
A terribly boring film that has people that are shallow, vulgar and without a shred of morality or ethics. The writing is not great and the performances are pedestrian. Perhaps that they should have added a footnote how Facebook also is continually trying to sell people's personal information to third parties, allow free large corporate advertising on people's account (with the consent of the account holder, but without any monetary transfers for having this advertising) and how the design of the web page is so poor that it looks like an old Windows program. Perhaps they should add an alternative title of: "Perverts and Stalkers-Here's Free Information For You". This movie leaves me with the question: "Has Harvard lowered it's standards to let people like these to attend their institution?"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Facething on the interweb, Feb. 22 2011
By 
Paul Mackinnon (halifax, nova scotia, canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Social Network / Le réseau social (Bilingual) (2-Disc Collector's Edition) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
A movie about Facebook? Come on.....

But, yes it's good. Not a terribly good story on its own (boy invents thing, gets sued by his friends, who claim to have also invented thing), but hugely elevated by the writing of Sorkin and the direction of Fincher.

It's always sort of problematic when Sorkin writes characters who are NOT sympathetic. I found this with Charlie Wilson's war. I didn't really like Wilson or the Julia Roberts' character. Still made for a good movie, but you didn't root for them the way you rooted for the pure-hearted characters in his three TV series.

Same with this thing. The Facebook founder is an acknowledged genius and an acknowledged a**hole (he's told so in the first 5 mins, by his girlfriend). It's his best friend, who ultimately gets ditched, that you eventually sort of cheer for. But even he is just the incompetent partner, who gets fired (and probably deservedly so) and then successfully sues for a giant settlement, which he probably did not deserve.

Anyway, it's slick. And it's some sort of accomplishment for Sorkin to make me believe that Facebook really was revolutionary. Doesn't make me want to use it (or Sorkin either, who cancelled his page upon completion of the screenplay). But it's an acknowledgement of a societal shift. Facebook was initially meant as a way to help Harvard students meet girls, basically. The genius of it is that where it was initially hard to find out anything about girls you wanted to date (this was the case when I was in university anyway), Facebook actually got them to post everything about themselves for the world to see. The lightbulb moment comes when a friend asks Zuckerburg if a girl in his class is single, and Zuckerburg realises that's THE thing users will really want to know. In an age where privacy laws are becoming stronger, Facebook flaunts that, by getting people to willingly waive any rights to privacy at all. Yes, it's stupid, but it has changed society.

They parallel the Facebook thing with Napster. Shawn Parker, the Napster founder (and supposed free-speech advocate) plays a key role in Facebook too. Whether you like Napster or not, it changed the music industry. Having Justin Timberlake, a musician, play the Napster founder is actually a pretty ironic move. But he plays him as an anarchist and a jerk. Revenge? Either way it works.

All in all, it's a movie about smart people made by smart people. And it's a smart movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Social Network / Le réseau social (Bilingual) (2-Disc Collector's Edition) [Blu-ray]
CDN$ 19.99 CDN$ 14.83
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews