summer boutiques-francophones Learn more vpcflyout Furniture All-New Kindle Explore the Amazon.ca Vinyl LP Records Store sports Tools

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars26
3.9 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 18, 2011
this movie about the creation of the phenomenon Facebook and the aftermath is one well crafted and compelling movie.David Fincher directed it and Aaron Sorkin wrote the screenplay.s.it's not hard to tell Sorkin had a hand din it.the dialogue just pops.the acting is superb all around.the main characters are well drawn.Jesse Eisenberg plays Zuckerberg,and it's hard not to feel some degree of empathy for the character,though i wouldn't exactly call him sympathetic.Andrew Garfield plays Eduardo Saverin,a co-founder of Facebook.but it's Justin Timberlake who i found really impressive as Sean Parker,founder of Napster.he plays a totally unlikable character and pulls it off perfectly.i would highly recommend this film.for me,The Social Network is a 4/5
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 19, 2011
One of those rare movies that you can actually watch multiple times and enjoy it more each time. The pace is so fast it really needs watching twice to grasp all that's going on. Well cast, well written, superbly directed - even Justin Timberlake is great to watch in this movie. And holding it all together is the genius music of Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross - certainly deserving of an Oscar.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 23, 2016
A good film on what happened before social networks ever mattered in our lives and how they came to be. A good story based on facts.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 14, 2015
Fun little movie to watch, not too deep and the acting and script were very good to excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 29, 2011
This film is one of the youthful films following wizkids and the in's and out's of college parties as they happened,and then along came two people with brains and some compition and all lawers . Its a great tribute to facebook and its batteling through the legal loop holes in the early days agaisnt different ideas when the company was growing and the hardvard brothers who to this day are fighting over money on the shares .. what are they like !..

IT'S A MUST TO HAVE ON YOUR SHELVE !
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 24, 2011
Had great expectations for this film, but was underwhelmed. It just seemed to drag and I'd call it overall flat. Don't understand all the Oscar hype. Watching the additional features it's apparent that the screenwriter has a very good opinion of himself. Just didn't care about the characters. I really like the directors other films, however I found that my attention wandered on this flick.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 24, 2014
Item delivered in very good condition, thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2011
I had to add another 5 star review because someone only gave it 3 stars because they found it for 6 cents less at Wal-Mart...

It's a great movie and whether or not it is 100% accurate to the true story of how Facebook was created it was very entertaining.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Talk about delayed response: this movie has been on my to-watch list since early last year, and I only got around to watching it this week when Mark Zuckerberg finally took Facebook public. Though "The Social Network" attempts to set this amazing story of how the digital form of social networking went viral in the irrepressibly zany atmosphere of Harvard fraternity life, it is so much more than just another "Animal House" spoof with an improbable ending. Strip away the sophomoric dimensions of campus living where individual exploits are often larger than life - from brains to looks to sex - and we have a very colourful tale of how friendships were made and broken in an enterprise meant to bring people together in the largest social context possible. There are some complications along the way before this idea started to become a reality. Only when Zuckerberg and his partners go through the maze of legal challenges does art start to imitate life. The audience gets to see a young Zuckerberg's vision mature from a limited, self-serving means for ranking dates to a cooperative, commercial venture meant to revolutionize the world. Along with Zuckerberg's learning curve goes some humorous moments when irony creatively jolts the senses. The scene in President Larry Summer's office is one example of how the academic establishment surprisingly weighed in on the whole hot-button issue of how to define intellectual property. I found the parallel story format that looks at both the genesis of the idea and its fallout to be a very useful comparative device that brought much-needed cinematic discipline to a production that could have easily derailed with all its character intersections.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 22, 2011
A movie about Facebook? Come on.....

But, yes it's good. Not a terribly good story on its own (boy invents thing, gets sued by his friends, who claim to have also invented thing), but hugely elevated by the writing of Sorkin and the direction of Fincher.

It's always sort of problematic when Sorkin writes characters who are NOT sympathetic. I found this with Charlie Wilson's war. I didn't really like Wilson or the Julia Roberts' character. Still made for a good movie, but you didn't root for them the way you rooted for the pure-hearted characters in his three TV series.

Same with this thing. The Facebook founder is an acknowledged genius and an acknowledged a**hole (he's told so in the first 5 mins, by his girlfriend). It's his best friend, who ultimately gets ditched, that you eventually sort of cheer for. But even he is just the incompetent partner, who gets fired (and probably deservedly so) and then successfully sues for a giant settlement, which he probably did not deserve.

Anyway, it's slick. And it's some sort of accomplishment for Sorkin to make me believe that Facebook really was revolutionary. Doesn't make me want to use it (or Sorkin either, who cancelled his page upon completion of the screenplay). But it's an acknowledgement of a societal shift. Facebook was initially meant as a way to help Harvard students meet girls, basically. The genius of it is that where it was initially hard to find out anything about girls you wanted to date (this was the case when I was in university anyway), Facebook actually got them to post everything about themselves for the world to see. The lightbulb moment comes when a friend asks Zuckerburg if a girl in his class is single, and Zuckerburg realises that's THE thing users will really want to know. In an age where privacy laws are becoming stronger, Facebook flaunts that, by getting people to willingly waive any rights to privacy at all. Yes, it's stupid, but it has changed society.

They parallel the Facebook thing with Napster. Shawn Parker, the Napster founder (and supposed free-speech advocate) plays a key role in Facebook too. Whether you like Napster or not, it changed the music industry. Having Justin Timberlake, a musician, play the Napster founder is actually a pretty ironic move. But he plays him as an anarchist and a jerk. Revenge? Either way it works.

All in all, it's a movie about smart people made by smart people. And it's a smart movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse