Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars highly recommended
this movie about the creation of the phenomenon Facebook and the aftermath is one well crafted and compelling movie.David Fincher directed it and Aaron Sorkin wrote the screenplay.s.it's not hard to tell Sorkin had a hand din it.the dialogue just pops.the acting is superb all around.the main characters are well drawn.Jesse Eisenberg plays Zuckerberg,and it's hard not to...
Published on May 18 2011 by falcon

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars over rated
Had great expectations for this film, but was underwhelmed. It just seemed to drag and I'd call it overall flat. Don't understand all the Oscar hype. Watching the additional features it's apparent that the screenwriter has a very good opinion of himself. Just didn't care about the characters. I really like the directors other films, however I found that my attention...
Published on April 24 2011 by Dave W


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars over rated, April 24 2011
By 
This review is from: The Social Network / Le Réseau social (Bilingual) (DVD)
Had great expectations for this film, but was underwhelmed. It just seemed to drag and I'd call it overall flat. Don't understand all the Oscar hype. Watching the additional features it's apparent that the screenwriter has a very good opinion of himself. Just didn't care about the characters. I really like the directors other films, however I found that my attention wandered on this flick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars highly recommended, May 18 2011
this movie about the creation of the phenomenon Facebook and the aftermath is one well crafted and compelling movie.David Fincher directed it and Aaron Sorkin wrote the screenplay.s.it's not hard to tell Sorkin had a hand din it.the dialogue just pops.the acting is superb all around.the main characters are well drawn.Jesse Eisenberg plays Zuckerberg,and it's hard not to feel some degree of empathy for the character,though i wouldn't exactly call him sympathetic.Andrew Garfield plays Eduardo Saverin,a co-founder of Facebook.but it's Justin Timberlake who i found really impressive as Sean Parker,founder of Napster.he plays a totally unlikable character and pulls it off perfectly.i would highly recommend this film.for me,The Social Network is a 4/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars disappointing, April 21 2011
By 
P. Worms - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Social Network / Le Réseau social (Bilingual) (DVD)
Unusual to find an Oscar nominee in trouble with us, but this had to be the most boring movie that we have seen in a long time. Probably OK if you are heavy into the high tech world.
Penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remarkable!, Feb. 19 2011
By 
Slipping Away (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Social Network / Le Réseau social (Bilingual) (DVD)
One of those rare movies that you can actually watch multiple times and enjoy it more each time. The pace is so fast it really needs watching twice to grasp all that's going on. Well cast, well written, superbly directed - even Justin Timberlake is great to watch in this movie. And holding it all together is the genius music of Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross - certainly deserving of an Oscar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not Great At All, March 14 2013
A terribly boring film that has people that are shallow, vulgar and without a shred of morality or ethics. The writing is not great and the performances are pedestrian. Perhaps that they should have added a footnote how Facebook also is continually trying to sell people's personal information to third parties, allow free large corporate advertising on people's account (with the consent of the account holder, but without any monetary transfers for having this advertising) and how the design of the web page is so poor that it looks like an old Windows program. Perhaps they should add an alternative title of: "Perverts and Stalkers-Here's Free Information For You". This movie leaves me with the question: "Has Harvard lowered it's standards to let people like these to attend their institution?"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Ordinary, March 21 2011
By 
Russ Crossley "Rusty by the Sea" (Vancouver Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I''ve seen this type of film before. Smart, arrogant young man creates something new that he allegedly stole from someone else. Yeah, yeah seen it done before. There wasn't one major character in the film I liked. I thought they were all greedy, backstabbing, hateful people, and if that's what it takes to make a lot of dough then I'd rather not.

Over all the film was a boring study on dislikable people. I'm so glad it didn't win the Oscar. it definitely didn't deserve it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie, Feb. 4 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I had to add another 5 star review because someone only gave it 3 stars because they found it for 6 cents less at Wal-Mart...

It's a great movie and whether or not it is 100% accurate to the true story of how Facebook was created it was very entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even if it's Not on Blu-Ray It's still a Great Film !, Jan. 29 2011
This review is from: The Social Network / Le Réseau social (Bilingual) (DVD)
This film is one of the youthful films following wizkids and the in's and out's of college parties as they happened,and then along came two people with brains and some compition and all lawers . Its a great tribute to facebook and its batteling through the legal loop holes in the early days agaisnt different ideas when the company was growing and the hardvard brothers who to this day are fighting over money on the shares .. what are they like !..

IT'S A MUST TO HAVE ON YOUR SHELVE !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Social Network, March 19 2011
By 
D. Gail Toop "classic watcher" (New Denvwer , B.C. Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The background music was so loud and invasive that it made it very difficult to follow the dialogue, therefore, to view the picture was annoying.The very fact the movie was predicated on a true story was very disturbing because it depicted what society has become in today's world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie, Jan. 12 2011
By 
A. Curtis (Calgary, Alberta, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Great movie, don't hesitate to buy it, especially on blu-ray. The acting is superb, the soundtrack by Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross is amazing. There's simply nothing to hate about this film.

Yes, sometimes these items are cheaper elsewhere (like Wall-mart), but it's certainly a lot easier to click a couple buttons and have it shipped to my doorstep and not deal with the people, parking lots, etc. Sometimes that's easily worth an extra couple of bucks ("luxury tax"). Also, remember that you're reviewing the item not the seller (Amazon.ca) in this case, so don't give the item lower ratings because you think the item should be cheaper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb0cc4554)

This product

The Social Network / Le Réseau social (Bilingual)
CDN$ 14.99 CDN$ 14.77
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews