Customer Reviews


160 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (36)
2 star:
 (18)
1 star:
 (37)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Woman's Day
A pretty young novelist rents a secluded cabin in the woods in order to have a nice, quiet place in which to hunker down and start writing the great American novel. But instead of peace and serenity, she ends up as the victim of brutal rape and torture at the hands of a band of semi-literate rednecks. She somehow survives the ordeal, though, and after regaining her...
Published on June 30 2004 by Michael R Gates

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Attention all Joe Bob Briggs Fans!
I bought this DVD for one reason and one reason only: Joe Bob Briggs. As an avid watcher of Monstervision, my Saturday nights have been dull and barren without my weekly Joe Bob fix (and yes, I know that makes me a geek and a loser -- ask me if I care!). So when I saw that he does a full-length commentary on this particular DVD, I really had no choice but to buy it. I...
Published on March 7 2004 by Blue Ridge Book Lover


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Woman's Day, June 30 2004
By 
Michael R Gates (Nampa, ID United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A pretty young novelist rents a secluded cabin in the woods in order to have a nice, quiet place in which to hunker down and start writing the great American novel. But instead of peace and serenity, she ends up as the victim of brutal rape and torture at the hands of a band of semi-literate rednecks. She somehow survives the ordeal, though, and after regaining her physical and emotional bearing, she finds the inner strength to return to the scene of the crime and confront her attackers.... Thusly winds the plot of 1978's infamous and controversial revenge flick I SPIT ON YOUR GRAVE (originally titled DAY OF THE WOMAN).
In the uncut version of this soupçon-budget flick--which is the version offered on the DVD from Elite--the gang-rape and torture sequence consumes an inordinate amount of screen time. Though this sequence has sometimes been compared to the sodomy scene in Boorman's DELIVERANCE (1972), it is more often criticized as being merely gratuitous and subliminally misogynistic. Unlike Boorman, who only slyly and skillfully SUGGESTS the sodomy and torture in his famous film, the director of I SPIT ON YOUR GRAVE, Meir Zarchi, is unflinchingly graphic in his depiction of rape. He doesn't want to do anything that might candy-coat this bitter pill, because he wants the audience to see just how abhorring such personal violation actually is.
Lauded by loyal fans as a simple film that makes an important and abstruse point, I SPIT ON YOUR GRAVE is admittedly neither complex nor deep. Yes, the plotting is rudimentary and subtext is virtually nonexistent. Yes, the film lacks a musical score. And, yeah, a few of the characters are trite, shallow, and one-dimensional, and some of the dialogue is hokey. To certain aesthete filmgoers, this raw simplicity may come across as banal, sophomoric cinema. But aesthetics is only a secondary concern with this film. The primary purpose is to declare a particular message or two and to declare them as in-your-face as possible. The film DOES indeed have a couple of staunch points to make regarding the repugnance of rape and misogyny, an individual's rights regarding their body, and the justification for exacting eye-for-an-eye revenge. And it proclaims these points in a graphically straightforward manner that, if nothing else, certainly grabs the audience's attention.
The Elite DVD version of I SPIT ON YOUR GRAVE offers a surprisingly clear, clean anamorphic transfer of the film in its original aspect ratio of 1.85:1. The sound, while not as impressive as the digital video, is available in Dolby Digital 5.1, DTS Surround Sound 5.1, or the original mono. The disc's extras include a feature commentary by the director, as well as a hilarious commentary track by cult-film aficionado and critic Joe Bob Briggs, the stage persona of actor/writer John Bloom. (Joe Bob's articulate, knowledgeable, and extremely humorous commentary is itself worth the disc's purchase price.) Also included are the theatrical trailers--some of which promote the film under its original title--various interviews, and press-coverage items that include the merciless repudiation of the film by some famous critics. For a film that has generated such negative publicity over the years, this is quite meritorious bonus material.
True, I SPIT ON YOUR GRAVE is an exploitative splatter film with a plot that is often dismissed by critics as a tale of one city girl and handful of sadistic hayseeds traipsing through a series of grisly scenes. It's definitely not for the squeamish, but anybody who views the film is certain to walk away with a firm pathos for rape victims and a strong disdain for rapists. And since that is what the filmmakers were aiming for, I SPIT ON YOUR GRAVE must be regarded as a highly successful film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not what you'd expect!, March 22 2003
By 
ashkashtin (we dont smoke marijuana in muskokee) - See all my reviews
This review is from: I Spit on Your Grave (VHS Tape)
A friend of mine and I watched this movie, expecting a cool horror movie, we had heard about the scene where she cuts off an attackers penis, and thought it would be a fun movie. well, we were about as wrong as we've ever been.
THE STORY: Jennifer, rents a cabin to work on her novel, she meets this cute but dorky guy who instantly falls for her beauty and charm. Later in the film, the dorky guy and his friends attack her and rape her brutally. The treat her cruelly like an animal, and the dork loses his virginity to her. She gets away, and plots her revenge. Each man gets his own, and she brutally murders each one.
This movie isnt a horror, and it certainly isnt an erotic film. the directing was cool, the acting could have been MUCH better. Though, Camille Keaton did a fairly good job. I think this movie is great because, it empowers women. I believe it says "sure you can knock us around, but you'll pay for it". And Jennifer definitely makes them pay for it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the most infamous exploitation movies ever made, July 5 2004
By 
Lawrance M. Bernabo (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: I Spit On Your Grave-Mille (DVD)
When movies first came out on video there were two legendary exploitation films I had to track down. One was "The Texas Chainsaw Massacre" and the other was "I Spit on Your Grave," which is actually the more memorable film of the pair overall (although I do grant the highest place to the "hook" scene in TCM). Director Meir Zarchi's 1978 film has become rather infamous, since critics hated it, audiences were outraged, and the film was banned in Germany and Great Britain. The story, such as it is, finds Jennifer Hill (Camille Keaton, Buster's grand-niece) out in the woods of Connecticut to work on a novel when she crosses the path of some local boys who decide she should be the first sexual partner for their mentally-disabled friend. When he cannot complete the rape, his friends do it for him. Then they decide that they are not done with Jennifer.
At issue are not Jennifer's specific acts of revenge, including the infamous bathroom scene, but rather the series of brutal rapes that precede them. I do not want to meet anyone who is not disturbed by these rape scenes and I think it is fairly obvious that Zarchi intended to make audiences uncomfortable. In retrospect you have to wonder about all those movies with rape scenes that do NOT upset the audience (the current obvious exception that proves the rule would be what happens in "Monster" right before the first murder). But Zarchi certainly pours it on thick, absolutely assuring that things go beyond the tolerance level of anyone who watches this film. So the bottom line is that this film will upset you and it is therefore effective at doing exactly what it wants to do. I have always considered this an "X" rated movie although I would not consider it pornographic in the traditional sense. But it is a very disturbing film and I do not think I would want my kids to see it until after they graduate college (if ever). Anyone renting this film for cheap thrills is in for a shock.
As I now understand it, this 1978 film was originally released as "Day of the Woman," but that rather innocuous title was replaced by the well known "I Spit on Your Grave," although the film was also screened as "I Hate Your Guts" and "The Rape and Revenge of Jennifer Hill." All of this is interesting since it seems the producers were trying to pass off this film with both higher and lover levels of pretention. The cult status here is more for the shock value than any cheap artistic pretentions, that is for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Attention all Joe Bob Briggs Fans!, March 7 2004
I bought this DVD for one reason and one reason only: Joe Bob Briggs. As an avid watcher of Monstervision, my Saturday nights have been dull and barren without my weekly Joe Bob fix (and yes, I know that makes me a geek and a loser -- ask me if I care!). So when I saw that he does a full-length commentary on this particular DVD, I really had no choice but to buy it. I was, of course, not disappointed with Joe Bob -- he was as incisive, informed, and funny as ever (and that's really saying something when it comes to a movie like this). As for the film itself, I found the rape scenes as brutal and offensive as anything I have ever seen...and that, again, is really saying something. The horror in this movie is that of man's inhumanity to man -- or in this case, to woman. The pain that one human being can inflict on another is what makes this movie shocking and offensive. The movie does NOT glorify rape -- quite the reverse. It shows rapists as what they are: mindless, stupid, brutal thugs. And in this movie, they get what they deserve. As I woman, I found the rape victim's revenge to be very satisfying, indeed. At the same time, however, this movie is not at all for the faint of heart. My suggestion: if you like Joe Bob, watch the movie and enjoy his commentary. If you are not a fan, choose another film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Original I Spit on Your Grave (1978) BD [Blu-ray], Dec 1 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: I Spit on Your Grave (1978) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Not as shocking or gruesome as the recent re-make, but with a good degree of tension. Worth watching to compare.
From a purely superficial level, the lead actress is "plain" from some angles, yet from others, has an eerie, luminiscent beauty.
The main "thugs" are a real hoot, almost caricatures. Entertaining viewing on a cold Saturday.
The Blu-Ray DVD picture quality is surprisingly quite good, considering this is from the late 1970's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Exploitation at its worst, March 5 2004
By 
It was 6 years ago and i had finally purchased my first DVD player for 250 dollars. Pretty good bargain back then. I was staying with my Pops back then and he had brought home his first DVD purchase, It was "I spit on your Grave". Imagine my chagrin. "Its got a hot chick on the cover with a knife" he said. Then we sat down and watched one of the most horrific Rape and Murder movies ever. First the acting is atrocious, the story is so silly and the Director really got his jollies off of overextending the softcore rape scenes that were more laughable then horrific. Not that rape is in anyway laughable but if you plan on tackling a serious subject then have some class. If you want to see a brutal and TOTALLY realistic Rape and revenge flick then track down the French film "Irréversible". Now that film will make you squirm, cry, scream or a combination of all three. Just stay far away from this trash unless of course silly violent sex flicks are your cup of tea. If so, watch away!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific for this movie to be on Blu-Ray, Sept. 17 2010
By 
Kevin Barton (Whitby, ON Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I love this movie so much, I want to have this on Blu-Ray to see the full high definiton version of the movie. That Camile Keaton is one revengful woman. The remake of this movie is comming soon to theaters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars you can spit on my grave anytime you want, Oct. 5 2005
I'm not sure one could truely describe I Spit as "good" persay, I mean it's not something you sit down and enjoy, it's more like something you endure. like that time you stumbled into that scat-porn site, or typed "hotmale" instead of "hotmail", it's amazingly unexpected. I Spit shocks you, pulls you into this loathsome vengful world, and whats more, it sticks with you, and that's a hard task for a B movie to achieve.
this is eye for an eye at it's most bloody. Pick it up if you're into seeing lethal handjobs and freshly lynched retards... oh, and 30mins+ of brutal and sadistic buggery.
Meat
Also check out "Thriller a cruel picture" and "Irreversible"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice and simple, July 19 2004
I dig this movie. I remember seeing it for the first time back around 1979. It is perhaps the oldest movie I ever vividly remember seeing. Watching it nowadays is not as shocking as the movie was when I was pre-teen, wathing it on HBO after hours. The story is pretty simple. A girl gets abused by 3 dudes and she goes back and kills them all. Just the way it should be in real life. Even to this day, some of the scenes would be considered graphic so don't let the kids watch it....the way I did I guess. Definately worth the time to watch it. Even to this day I found myself pinned to the screen watching it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Extreme Cinema, June 22 2004
This film may be regarded as sick, vile, and disturbing... which is exactly what it is in the minds of most. I enjoyed it. Its a film that wasn't afraid to take risks and show the public acts of extreme (...) on the silver screen. It had redeeming values for women as well. Even though it showed Keaton being raped and tortured, she got hers. A classic tale of revenge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

I Spit on Your Grave (1978) [Blu-ray]
I Spit on Your Grave (1978) [Blu-ray] by Meir Zarchi (Blu-ray - 2011)
CDN$ 21.99 CDN$ 10.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews