Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage SmartSaver Countdown to Black Friday in Home & Kitchen Kindle Music Deals Store SGG Home, Kitchen and Garden Gift Guide

Customer Reviews

3.1 out of 5 stars162
3.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-rayChange
Price:$17.83+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 31, 2015
A woman's revenge! Best served cold or by any other manner.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 8, 2014
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on December 1, 2012
Not as shocking or gruesome as the recent re-make, but with a good degree of tension. Worth watching to compare.
From a purely superficial level, the lead actress is "plain" from some angles, yet from others, has an eerie, luminiscent beauty.
The main "thugs" are a real hoot, almost caricatures. Entertaining viewing on a cold Saturday.
The Blu-Ray DVD picture quality is surprisingly quite good, considering this is from the late 1970's.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 17, 2010
I love this movie so much, I want to have this on Blu-Ray to see the full high definiton version of the movie. That Camile Keaton is one revengful woman. The remake of this movie is comming soon to theaters.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 5, 2005
I'm not sure one could truely describe I Spit as "good" persay, I mean it's not something you sit down and enjoy, it's more like something you endure. like that time you stumbled into that scat-porn site, or typed "hotmale" instead of "hotmail", it's amazingly unexpected. I Spit shocks you, pulls you into this loathsome vengful world, and whats more, it sticks with you, and that's a hard task for a B movie to achieve.
this is eye for an eye at it's most bloody. Pick it up if you're into seeing lethal handjobs and freshly lynched retards... oh, and 30mins+ of brutal and sadistic buggery.
Also check out "Thriller a cruel picture" and "Irreversible"
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 19, 2004
I dig this movie. I remember seeing it for the first time back around 1979. It is perhaps the oldest movie I ever vividly remember seeing. Watching it nowadays is not as shocking as the movie was when I was pre-teen, wathing it on HBO after hours. The story is pretty simple. A girl gets abused by 3 dudes and she goes back and kills them all. Just the way it should be in real life. Even to this day, some of the scenes would be considered graphic so don't let the kids watch it....the way I did I guess. Definately worth the time to watch it. Even to this day I found myself pinned to the screen watching it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
When movies first came out on video there were two legendary exploitation films I had to track down. One was "The Texas Chainsaw Massacre" and the other was "I Spit on Your Grave," which is actually the more memorable film of the pair overall (although I do grant the highest place to the "hook" scene in TCM). Director Meir Zarchi's 1978 film has become rather infamous, since critics hated it, audiences were outraged, and the film was banned in Germany and Great Britain. The story, such as it is, finds Jennifer Hill (Camille Keaton, Buster's grand-niece) out in the woods of Connecticut to work on a novel when she crosses the path of some local boys who decide she should be the first sexual partner for their mentally-disabled friend. When he cannot complete the rape, his friends do it for him. Then they decide that they are not done with Jennifer.
At issue are not Jennifer's specific acts of revenge, including the infamous bathroom scene, but rather the series of brutal rapes that precede them. I do not want to meet anyone who is not disturbed by these rape scenes and I think it is fairly obvious that Zarchi intended to make audiences uncomfortable. In retrospect you have to wonder about all those movies with rape scenes that do NOT upset the audience (the current obvious exception that proves the rule would be what happens in "Monster" right before the first murder). But Zarchi certainly pours it on thick, absolutely assuring that things go beyond the tolerance level of anyone who watches this film. So the bottom line is that this film will upset you and it is therefore effective at doing exactly what it wants to do. I have always considered this an "X" rated movie although I would not consider it pornographic in the traditional sense. But it is a very disturbing film and I do not think I would want my kids to see it until after they graduate college (if ever). Anyone renting this film for cheap thrills is in for a shock.
As I now understand it, this 1978 film was originally released as "Day of the Woman," but that rather innocuous title was replaced by the well known "I Spit on Your Grave," although the film was also screened as "I Hate Your Guts" and "The Rape and Revenge of Jennifer Hill." All of this is interesting since it seems the producers were trying to pass off this film with both higher and lover levels of pretention. The cult status here is more for the shock value than any cheap artistic pretentions, that is for sure.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on July 4, 2004
I was intrigued by the synopsis of "I Spit on Your Grave", because I love movies about women getting revenge, like "Kill Bill", and "Sleepaway Camp 2". I had been contemplating on weather renting this or not, beucase it's soppousedly soppoused to be so shocking and graphic, that you can't bare to watch it. Well, I was able to watch the whole thing with my eyes open. And it's only sort of shocking. The death scenes are no gorier or violent than those in the "Friday the 13th" movies. Now, even tho I love films with women getting revenge, I did not love this. I only sort of liked it. The problem is is that it just didn't have enough to it. It felt like there was something missing. And it's shown in such a monotonous slide-show way. Like, okay, lets see her get raped. Now she cleans herself. Now she kills this guy. Now this guy. Now this guy. Now this guy. It makes the film feel so much shorter, and uncomplete. Now, Camille Keaton; I real liked her acting in this movie. She says everything in a really cool way, but at the same time somehow makes everything she says funny, mostly when she's talking to the guys before she kills them. Overall, I don't reccomend this unless you have to see every horror film on the shelves.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on June 30, 2004
A pretty young novelist rents a secluded cabin in the woods in order to have a nice, quiet place in which to hunker down and start writing the great American novel. But instead of peace and serenity, she ends up as the victim of brutal rape and torture at the hands of a band of semi-literate rednecks. She somehow survives the ordeal, though, and after regaining her physical and emotional bearing, she finds the inner strength to return to the scene of the crime and confront her attackers.... Thusly winds the plot of 1978's infamous and controversial revenge flick I SPIT ON YOUR GRAVE (originally titled DAY OF THE WOMAN).
In the uncut version of this soupçon-budget flick--which is the version offered on the DVD from Elite--the gang-rape and torture sequence consumes an inordinate amount of screen time. Though this sequence has sometimes been compared to the sodomy scene in Boorman's DELIVERANCE (1972), it is more often criticized as being merely gratuitous and subliminally misogynistic. Unlike Boorman, who only slyly and skillfully SUGGESTS the sodomy and torture in his famous film, the director of I SPIT ON YOUR GRAVE, Meir Zarchi, is unflinchingly graphic in his depiction of rape. He doesn't want to do anything that might candy-coat this bitter pill, because he wants the audience to see just how abhorring such personal violation actually is.
Lauded by loyal fans as a simple film that makes an important and abstruse point, I SPIT ON YOUR GRAVE is admittedly neither complex nor deep. Yes, the plotting is rudimentary and subtext is virtually nonexistent. Yes, the film lacks a musical score. And, yeah, a few of the characters are trite, shallow, and one-dimensional, and some of the dialogue is hokey. To certain aesthete filmgoers, this raw simplicity may come across as banal, sophomoric cinema. But aesthetics is only a secondary concern with this film. The primary purpose is to declare a particular message or two and to declare them as in-your-face as possible. The film DOES indeed have a couple of staunch points to make regarding the repugnance of rape and misogyny, an individual's rights regarding their body, and the justification for exacting eye-for-an-eye revenge. And it proclaims these points in a graphically straightforward manner that, if nothing else, certainly grabs the audience's attention.
The Elite DVD version of I SPIT ON YOUR GRAVE offers a surprisingly clear, clean anamorphic transfer of the film in its original aspect ratio of 1.85:1. The sound, while not as impressive as the digital video, is available in Dolby Digital 5.1, DTS Surround Sound 5.1, or the original mono. The disc's extras include a feature commentary by the director, as well as a hilarious commentary track by cult-film aficionado and critic Joe Bob Briggs, the stage persona of actor/writer John Bloom. (Joe Bob's articulate, knowledgeable, and extremely humorous commentary is itself worth the disc's purchase price.) Also included are the theatrical trailers--some of which promote the film under its original title--various interviews, and press-coverage items that include the merciless repudiation of the film by some famous critics. For a film that has generated such negative publicity over the years, this is quite meritorious bonus material.
True, I SPIT ON YOUR GRAVE is an exploitative splatter film with a plot that is often dismissed by critics as a tale of one city girl and handful of sadistic hayseeds traipsing through a series of grisly scenes. It's definitely not for the squeamish, but anybody who views the film is certain to walk away with a firm pathos for rape victims and a strong disdain for rapists. And since that is what the filmmakers were aiming for, I SPIT ON YOUR GRAVE must be regarded as a highly successful film.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 22, 2004
This film may be regarded as sick, vile, and disturbing... which is exactly what it is in the minds of most. I enjoyed it. Its a film that wasn't afraid to take risks and show the public acts of extreme (...) on the silver screen. It had redeeming values for women as well. Even though it showed Keaton being raped and tortured, she got hers. A classic tale of revenge.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
I Spit on Your Grave - Unrated [Blu-ray]
I Spit on Your Grave - Unrated [Blu-ray] by Sarah Butler (Blu-ray - 2011)
CDN$ 21.00

I Spit On Your Grave 2 [Blu-ray + DVD]
I Spit On Your Grave 2 [Blu-ray + DVD] by Jemma Dallendar (Blu-ray - 2013)
CDN$ 19.99

Last House On Left [Blu-ray]
Last House On Left [Blu-ray] by Sandra Peabody (Blu-ray - 2011)
CDN$ 14.99