Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent film; Do yourself a favour & watch this :-)
5 reasons to love RED:
1. Excellent cast that obviously got along well, from younger studmuffin Karl Heinz Urban (Lord of the Rings), to Bruce Willis and Helen Mirren. No one disappoints.
2. Excellent action scenes, from gunfire battles (including some lovely big guns, grenades, and a missle launcher) to hand-to-hand combat featuring actors doing many of their...
Published 4 months ago by R3aLiTY_bYt3s

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not too bad
fairly good movie. Funny scenes. Kept you interested for sure.
Published 10 months ago by pam5858


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent film; Do yourself a favour & watch this :-), Jan. 1 2015
By 
R3aLiTY_bYt3s "R3aLiTY_bYt3s" (Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
5 reasons to love RED:
1. Excellent cast that obviously got along well, from younger studmuffin Karl Heinz Urban (Lord of the Rings), to Bruce Willis and Helen Mirren. No one disappoints.
2. Excellent action scenes, from gunfire battles (including some lovely big guns, grenades, and a missle launcher) to hand-to-hand combat featuring actors doing many of their own stunts.. and they have the real-life scars to prove it.
3. Solid script and great directing and editing.
4. Some Hilarious situations and antics, including John Malkovitch's character (ticked at being called an old man) going up against a blonde with a missle launcher, a "first date" from hell, a novel way to get a CIA squad on their knees (the elevator scene), and many, many others.
5. Believability. Some, if not a lot, of the script is based on facts from now-declassified CIA files, and this version offers a special feature describing some of these facts in greater detail as well as an optional audio commentary by a retired CIA agent. Much of the dialogue seems "real", from
"I can't believe you broke into my home! Wait... did you... VACUUM in here?!"
"A little bit. Ya. It was kinda messy in here, and I was waiting for you for a while." to
"Wow, he's paranoid."
"He thought he was being dosed with drugs. Turns out the CIA was giving him daily doses of LSD for eleven years."
"Oh, in that case he's doing great!"
"Ya, I know."
◇Frank (Bruce Willis), a retired "CIA analyst", has been marked for death, but he doesn't know why. Or, more appropriately, why NOW. He races to find out why, and reunites with some old frenemies to get to the heart of the matter. But he has an action-packed, often hilarious trip from point A to point B, and when he and his team find out why several of them have been targeted, they clean things up in classic RED (Retired. Extremely Dangerous) style.◇
I've bought several copies of RED and RED 2 to give as gifts, and no one has had anything but praise for either film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars R.E.D. (Special Edition) (Bilingual [Blu-Ray], June 23 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: R.E.D. (Special Edition) (Bilingual [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Love this one better than the second one funny with action Bruce Willisl and his gang, worth owning I have 1+2 RED.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The right combination of humor and action., May 22 2014
By 
Len the Sound Guy (Montreal) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Bruce Willis, what more can I say? How about John Malkovitch? I think he steals the show! His understated humor is great! The other actors are great as well, I can't think of a single scene I didn't like. There are enough plot twists and unexpected moments to keep you guessing, I never predicted anything, I was surprised at every turn. The best thing? Nobody dies! (at least no good guys) Get this movie, then get RED2, you'll love them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars R.E.D. (blu ray)...Retired, Estremely Dangerous, or should it be Really Elegant Diva (Helen Mirren)!, March 1 2011
By 
Dr. Joseph Lee (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(#1 HALL OF FAME)    (#1 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: R.E.D. (Special Edition) (Bilingual [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Video: This 1080p AVC 2.40:1 picture is terrific. Contrast is excellent, with deep and solid blacks. Colour is rich and saturated, with natural skin tones. The blue colour of Morgan Freeman's general uniform really popped off the screen. Resolution is excellent, with sharp and well-defined detail. (5/5)

Audio: The DTS-HD 5.1 Audio is dynamic, with aggressive sound effects, like gunfire, rockets and explosions. Bass is very deep. (5/5)

The movie's starpower is undeniable, with Bruce Willis, Morgan Freeman, John Malkovich and Helen Mirren. Ernest Borgnine and Richard Dreyfuss were also present. You have to wait until the very end to find out why Willis was being hunted down and the identity of the "bad" guy.

R.E.D. stands for Retired, Extremely Dangerous. But to watch Helen Mirren, starring down the CIAs, powering the machine gun in the underground parking garage, was well worth the price of the admission. In my opinion, R.E.D. should stand for Really Elegant Diva = Helen Mirren. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie!, March 1 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: R.E.D. (Special Edition) (Bilingual [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
IT WAS GOOD! took me a few times to watch it all though once over, as I'm presently sick and sleepy, but it was good! loved it when bruce kicked a hole in the wall to open a locked door by reaching inside the wall…creative!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth every Penny, Feb. 27 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you dont have this buy it when it is on sale. Fantastic movie. All my kids will ask ' can we put on RED' and that is boy and girls. Typical shoot the S out of things but there is humor through it all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars quality and delivery all excellent!, July 2 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Price, quality and delivery all excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Again a great movie!, May 24 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The cast was perfect, another hilarious movie and well done! Worth watching again, totally love John Malkovich in this movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fun movie!, May 3 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: R.E.D. (Special Edition) (Bilingual [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
yes a very fun movie, quite unpredictable, lots of older actors, grab a bag of popcorn and have fun! relax and kick back
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Reds, April 4 2014
By 
Shirley Lafbery (Chilliwack, British Columbia Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Wonderful cast, Very witty, great fun to watch all the stars, can not wait to see Reds 11. Everyone was in fine form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

R.E.D. (Special Edition) (Bilingual [Blu-ray]
R.E.D. (Special Edition) (Bilingual [Blu-ray] by Robert Schwentke (Blu-ray - 2011)
CDN$ 12.99 CDN$ 5.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews