Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The magic of Fellini
Fellini's theme of coming of age memoir works as a beautiful nostalgic piece. The film resonates from an earlier film of his 8 1/2 showing the director's flashes to his seaside hometown. I've watched this film several times and on every occassion find something new. Here's a tip to enjoy watching a foreign film - Do NOT watch the English dubbed version if there is any...
Published on Aug. 26 2000 by Miko

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fellini Puts On The Charm!
"Amarcord" is a "plot-less" movie, that goes from one story to another. There brief episodic scenes, that when they're all added up you have a movie that made you laugh, had a little heart, and perhaps maybe made you relive your past as well. In my opinion "Amarcord" is Fellini's most charming film. Even though films like "8 1\2" ,...
Published on July 6 2001 by Alex Udvary


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The magic of Fellini, Aug. 26 2000
By 
Miko (Jersey City, NJ United States) - See all my reviews
Fellini's theme of coming of age memoir works as a beautiful nostalgic piece. The film resonates from an earlier film of his 8 1/2 showing the director's flashes to his seaside hometown. I've watched this film several times and on every occassion find something new. Here's a tip to enjoy watching a foreign film - Do NOT watch the English dubbed version if there is any - so much is lost in the film. Fellini's films work with subtitles because they make you forget you're reading them at all and as always, Fellini pleases both eye and ear and subsequently the heart. The musical score by Nino Rota is something one looks forward to in every scene. His music perfectly sets the tempo of each image, and I mean each and every one. What a duo of artistic genius these two men are! Watching the film on its excellent Criterion-restored DVD version, one can only wonder what the cinema world would be without Fellini.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fellini in a nostalgic mood., July 7 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Amarcord (VHS Tape)
"Amarcord" finds Fellini in a nostalgic mood, and attempting to create a highly stylized world (in this case, 1930's Italy), as opposed to his more realistic early films such as "La Strada." Whether this stylization dilutes the overall power of Fellini's film is for each viewer to decide, but it is worth noting that the director would only make two more films of "Amarcord's" quality - "Casanova" and "City of Women" - before directing the less memorable films like "Intervista" and "Voice of the Moon" which ended his career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fellini Puts On The Charm!, July 6 2001
By 
Alex Udvary (chicago, il United States) - See all my reviews
"Amarcord" is a "plot-less" movie, that goes from one story to another. There brief episodic scenes, that when they're all added up you have a movie that made you laugh, had a little heart, and perhaps maybe made you relive your past as well. In my opinion "Amarcord" is Fellini's most charming film. Even though films like "8 1\2" , "La Strada", and "The White Sheik" are great movies, this one carries something special with it. Nearly everything about this movie is a delight. Fellini's directing is great. The music by Nino Rota has to be my favorite thing about the whole movie! Maybe this sounds odd to some, to actually say you enjoyed the music in a movie more than the movie itself, but, if you've ever seen this movie, you'll understand. The cinematography by Giuseppe Rotunno is very good as well. Fellini has been quoted as saying this movie is not autobiographical, but, does relate to some moments in his childhood. Well, whether the movie is or isn't autobiographical it's still a pleasure to watch. The movie for the most part follows Titta (Bruno Zanin) and his family. We see the way his family is, the scene at the dinner table makes me laugh everytime, unfortunately it's like watching my own family, and how sad is that! lol. We see his friends at school, and we even get to hear his confession, which was providing a little bit more information than I really needed to know lol. Look, there's not much more I could add that other's haven't already. If you've never seen a Fellini movie, this would be a good place to start. If your already a Fellini fan, why have you waited to see this? Again, not Fellini's best film, but, his most charming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SOUP ! giggle giggle, Nov. 12 2000
By 
Lovely nostalgic film, absolutly classic for those with an honest sense of humor and a non-american concern for political correction. A film that manages to illustrate the ridiculous pettyness of life, simultaneously and successfully existing within a culture firmly set in its old ways - This is something that everyone is trying to achieve. Bread and Butter!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Criterion English dub, April 15 2001
By 
RON A ZAJAC (Princeton, TX United States) - See all my reviews
Love this movie, and do want to make one observation about this release.
If you don't know Italian, I would recommend viewing the English dub; I was very very impressed with it. And I don't take doublage lightly. For instance, I won't listen to the Criterion dub of Cabiria; I'd rather read the subtitles. I'm sort of curious if this is really the original Fellini soundstage English dub, or one put together later; I found the voice acting and use of idiom nuanced (a la Fellini), still fresh, and worthy of this movie.
Upshot; if you're not sure whether to get this movie because you don't know what you hate more, subtitles or dubbing, fear not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Watch it and learn!, May 15 2000
By A Customer
On the surface, a very messy and vulgar film with no apparent narrative. Watch it more closely and you will see that Fellini is attempting to make a very good point about the oppressive years of fascism. Many think it is an autobiographical film, but Fellini himself denies this fact, stressing how the name Amarcord is the name of a local aperitif. The sexual repression of the young boys, the constantly foggy surroundings, Titta's suffocation by the buxom tobacconist lady - all trying to say something, don't you think? Please don't be put off at face-value, because much more lies under the surface. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars TITLE ?, Sept. 21 2001
By 
BRIAN W. BRODY (detroit, michigan) - See all my reviews
Why do I like this movie, in 1000 words or less without sounding pretentious? Bicycle seats, Mussolini's floral bust conducting an imaginary wedding ceremony, Uncle Tio in the tree screaming,
"I need a woman", the preist and the young boy philosophizin' about masterbation, etc., etc. I swear, buy this movie which is much better than Roma or Satyricon or hell even La Dolce Vita for that matter and you won't be disappointed, and after you've enjoyed this fine, fine, film you might as well enjoy The City of Women.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Fellini's greatest films, Sept. 3 1999
By A Customer
Fellini is truly one of the greatest film makers of all time. "Masterpiece" can be used to describe so many of his films and "Amarcord" can surely fit that descriptive word. The atmosphere of his films is enhanced by Nino Rota's classic music scores. This Criterion Collection is a perfect print. The quality of this Criterion Collection is sheer perfection on every aspect. A must for every lover of great films. I definitely hope all of Fellini's films will be released on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amarcord, Dec 9 2001
By 
Mirko Djuric (Lisle, IL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Amarcord (VHS Tape)
An amazing movie. All members of my family are "addicted" to this Felini's masterpiece. Even more, I've bought this video several times and gave it as a prezent to my friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars masterpiece doesnt even cut it, Jan. 16 2002
By A Customer
fellini is a filmmaking god. filmmakers arent really gods but hes really really good. this film, amarcord, i havent even seen but im sure to watch it tomorrow. la strada was so great because of gelsomina and when she smiles. the score is great too. i have very high expectations for this film. if its no good, i will be beyond letdown. after all, it did cost 35 dollars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Amarcord (The Criterion Collection) [Blu-ray]
Amarcord (The Criterion Collection) [Blu-ray] by Federico Fellini (Blu-ray - 2011)
CDN$ 42.99 CDN$ 34.52
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews