Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A sequel that outdoes the original!
The sequel for Pirates of the carrabean was long awaited after the succes of The Black Pearl and the wait was well worth as the second movie of what is to become a trilogy is better than the original.More action,humour,this movie is great in each point but my only complaint is that its way too long at 2:30 minutes but its a fantastic movie that you have to see...
Published on Dec 13 2006 by Tommy Skylar

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Bon film
Bon film d'Action avec un peu de suspense
Drole et cocasse avec un soupson d'aimour ...
je vous conseille de voir la serie en ordre
Déconseillé aux jeune enfants
Published 7 months ago by pat shir


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A sequel that outdoes the original!, Dec 13 2006
By 
Tommy Skylar (The Great White North) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
The sequel for Pirates of the carrabean was long awaited after the succes of The Black Pearl and the wait was well worth as the second movie of what is to become a trilogy is better than the original.More action,humour,this movie is great in each point but my only complaint is that its way too long at 2:30 minutes but its a fantastic movie that you have to see.

The movie again features the characters of Jack Sparrow,Elizabeth Swann and Will Turner.The movie is complex enough,especially if you havn`t seen the first movie of the serie.Pirates Of The Carrabean was actually based on a theme park ride but its hard to beleve.This time the ennemy is Davy Jones who has a sea creature they call `The Krakken`wich is a sort of giant octopus(reminescent of Star Wars`s Sarlaac)and Will meets someone he tought he would never see(and no,its not elizabeth),i won`t say anymore for those who havn`t seen the movie...

Lots of action,like the 3 man fight,chases,monsters the movie may be long but its full of suspense.A bit two long but again a good movie they shot Pirates of the cabbean 2 and 3 at the same time but it clearly doesn`t affect the movie in any bad ways.Any way you put it you got a winner here,a great movie and after you see it you already want to see the third one!

Overral a must see for everyone definatly a must-have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars "You know you can't read.", Dec 31 2006
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
"It's the Bible, you get credit for trying."

Captain Jack Sparrow is back. He has a secret (or two) and a limited time to keep from becoming a permanent fixture of the deep. All are seeking a key however the key means different things to different people. Will jack succeed? We shall see (or not.)

Over the top, every pirate pun available and non-stop. This movie can be fun if you have plenty of patients. It can be complex with overlaying purpose of many of the characters. There are plenty of one liners and sight gags.

My only suggestion is to wait until the next "installment" or movie in the "series" is produced before viewing this one. Hold your breath.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than the original, Nov. 7 2006
With the sequel geared more towards action and less towards the little ones, this isn't a good sequel for the younger ones. However, if you are a true fan of the action/adventure genre, this movie will blow you away, especially the exciting character twist at the end. This movie throws you fastballs out of left field that you never see coming, and will leave you with "Whoa" as the only word in your vocabulary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Would have been better if it ended., Feb. 11 2007
Quickly: pretty good, overly humourous, don't expect a complete movie.

The Good: the characters and effects were actually better then the first. Davey Jones and his crew were amazing. Really made me think Call of C'thulhu. Coolest Sea Zombies ever. The plot had enough things going on for at least 2 movies (see the ugly) and that definately kept you interested. Very dark actually, which I like in some movies. Much darker then I expected. I would call this the Empire Strikes Back of Pirates, which can be a good thing.

The Bad: I found this too over the top and too humourous. There was just to much. As Montey said, it starts with something pretty outrageous adn funny and just keeps building on it. This was great the first time, but then near every scene did that. It was just too over the top. I know I can't complain about realism in a movie about Pirates and sea zombies but it was so unralistic that it completely killed the suspension of disbelief. This like many newer movies I found too long. I don't expect to go to a 7:00 show and get home after 10:00. Going with the long running time and over the top effects that took me out of the movie, this is the only thing I have seen recently that actually had me looking at my watch during the show.

The Ugly: In the good I alluded to multiple plots and the fact this is the Empire Strikes Back episode of Pirates. The reason for this is that the movie doesn't end. Really not a single plot line is resolved. That drove me nuts. I knew it led to the next one pretty heavily, but I at least expected some resolution. There was pertty much none. Heck some of the threads were only introduced in the last 1/8 of the movie (the love triangle for example).

Overall: the effects were good, the characters were amazing, the story was convoluted and it all just didn't end. This will probably be a great movie for when you have all 3 and sit and watch them in a row. On it's own though it just didn't wrap enough stuff up, and it took 2.5 hours to not wrap anything up. I much prefered the first mainly just because it was a complete movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Bon film, Jan. 21 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Bon film d'Action avec un peu de suspense
Drole et cocasse avec un soupson d'aimour ...
je vous conseille de voir la serie en ordre
Déconseillé aux jeune enfants
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Total fun..., July 8 2013
By 
Nikolay N. Anastasov (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
...for all ages. It still is one of the most amusing movies I've ever watched. I like the fact I have it and can watch it at whim. The 4th sequel sucked though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, May 21 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Definitely a good watch for people who enjoy gentle comedy and lots of adventure! There are some excellent graphics and who doesn't love Johnny Depp?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fun movie!, April 26 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great movie, fun and full of adventure!
Kids of all ages will love this pirate romp with Johnny Dep and Orlando Bloom!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kids loved it., Feb. 21 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I bought the whole set for my grandchildren. We all found the movie to be interesting and funny all at the same time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars pirates, Dec 29 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man's Chest (Blu-ray + DVD) (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
nice efforts, but seen better from these actors. i would recommend this movie to rent only, not to buy. ok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man's Chest (Blu-ray + DVD) (Bilingual)
CDN$ 14.99 CDN$ 11.99
Usually ships in 3 to 5 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews