Customer Reviews


672 Reviews
5 star:
 (603)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (16)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Modern Classic
The Movie itself: The Shawshank Redemption is not just another movie, its not another movie adaptation either. Its a tale of hope & redemption. Its rated No.1 on IMDB by users, and often ranks amongst top 5 movies on other internet ranking sites. Often dubbed as a modern classic, this movie has developed a cult following and is considered as best on screen adaptation of a...
Published on Jan. 11 2009 by Toast

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One of the best movies ever deserves a better DVD.
If I were to rate this based on the movie alone, it would get 5 stars, no contest. But the fact that the DVD is so unremarkable drags the rating down much lower than the movie deserves. Keep reading and you'll see my reasons.
I cannot praise the movie well enough, since it is one of my all time favorites. It tells the story of Andy Defresne (Tim Robbins), a banker...
Published on Sept. 30 2002 by Ben Rowland


‹ Previous | 1 268 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Modern Classic, Jan. 11 2009
By 
Toast (Vancouver, BC Canada) - See all my reviews
The Movie itself: The Shawshank Redemption is not just another movie, its not another movie adaptation either. Its a tale of hope & redemption. Its rated No.1 on IMDB by users, and often ranks amongst top 5 movies on other internet ranking sites. Often dubbed as a modern classic, this movie has developed a cult following and is considered as best on screen adaptation of a Stephen King story. I can go on typing pages about how good this movie is and how absorbed I am in it every time I see it, but I think you all get the point, so let's move on to the fun stuff.

Video: I have owned this movie in all the formats ever released, the original DVD, the 10th Anniversary Edition and now this one. Yes this one by far is the best. The helicopter shots of the prison and its yards are simply gorgeous. I found the picture to be a little too smooth in some close up shots but sitting 6-10 feet away I doubt if anyone will notice that. The colors pallet is very consistent and gives us very little to complain. Warner's 1080p/VC-1 encode presented in 1.85:1 aspect ratio is a wonderful upgrade for the previous owners of the movie who have upgraded to HDTV sets.

Audio: Dolby TrueHD 5.1 is perfectly balanced. From the dialogue to sobbing, screams & whispers the sound is crystal clear. There are no action sequences and Bourne Trilogy type chases in this movie, so the soundtrack and the level of its loudness leaves very little to be desired.

Final Words: From "When those bars slam home, you know its for real" to "Get busy livin' or Get busy Dyin'" this movie is what true Hollywood cinema is all about. From being a box office failure to a moderate success (when it got 7 academy nominations) this epic has turned in to a must watch movie in Home Video history. Blockbuster and Netflix still rank this movie as one of the most rented movies in their database and there is a good reason for it........ its a brilliant movie with a huge replay value, one never gets tired of it. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Limited Edition blu-ray Steelbook is fantastic, Jan. 3 2014
By 
C. Denison (Hamilton, Ont.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Just wanted to comment on the limited edition blu-ray steelbook version. This is one nice steelbook! The front (as you can obviously see) has Tim Robbins in the rain, the back has Tim Robbins and Morgan Freeman playing checkers in the prison yard, and the inside artwork shows the prisoners scattered around the prison yard. It looks really nice. Colours are nice. Great build quality.
This steelbook only contains the blu-ray version of the film (no DVD copy, no digital copy, etc). The 1080p picture quality is superb and the 5.1 Dolby TrueHD track is excellent. This release also contains a strong amount of special features (director's commentary, making-of features, interviews, etc.).
Overall, I can easily recommend this blu-ray steelbook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Human Spirit Triumphant, June 30 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Narrated by Morgan Freeman this is a well scripted, well cast, drama ultimately about the triumph of the human spirit over the very worst of circumstances. Tim Robins, a middle class banker, is wrongfully convicted in the 1940s of murdering his wife. Nothing has prepared him for the brutal realities of prison life, As the years roll by Robins becomes close friends with Morgan Freeman, a fellow inmate also serving a life sentence, and ultimately both rise above the cruelty of their fellow inmates, and a corrupt administration. While the very happy ending is predictable nevertheless it is a great movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, April 13 2014
By 
Shaun Fraser "rock on" (Saskatchewan, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Shawshank Redemption / └ l'ombre de Shawshank (Bilingual) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Morgan Freeman at his best. One of my favorite movies of all time. Very good depiction of prison life in that era
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great flick, April 6 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Shawshank Redemption / └ l'ombre de Shawshank (Bilingual) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Awesome movie. Such a classic. Everyone who watches this will be blown away at the superior quality and feel satisfied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic movie, March 26 2014
By 
James Yee (Toronto, ON Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A timeless classic and a "must see" movie! There's a reason why this movie has been rated #1 by almost 1.2 million people on IMDB's Top 250 list. Just a quick note: this dvd is just the 10th anniversary two-disc special edition packaged inside an aluminum "steel" slipcase. I was hoping that it would be a steelbook but it's just a metal slipcover. This version has extra features not seen in the single disc version but if you If you already own this movie on DVD or Blu-Ray, it's really not worth double-dipping unless you're an extreme fan of the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Shawshank Redemption, Jan. 22 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Purchased as a gift for Son-In-Law. He was overjoyed, as had been wanting it for some time. I am sure he and his family will enjoy watching it time and time again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good quality, better price and best movie!!!, Dec 31 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Good quality, better price and best movie!!!
The steelbook quality is better than Amazon.com.
And the movie touches my soul.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Shawshank, Dec 27 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I got 4 copies for the male members in my family and they were all excited as 3 had already seen it but claimed it is a movie they would never get tired of watching. The 4th member was very keen to watch it !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent film, Dec 3 2013
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Sorry for such a late review of this film however this is not my type of movie. I shy away from any kind if institutionalized films. Never being institutionalized I can only assume that it is the way the films they picked it and do not normally want to waste my life watching this sort of thing. However the opportunity arose and I have great respect for the main actors including Tim Robbins and Morgan Freeman. I was surprised at how well acted this movie is. Even the period costumes in the background music matched so well that you forgot you were watching the movie. Now I guess the only thing left to do is to read the book.

Barring the twists and turns and subplots of this story is basically about two imprisoned men and how they bond over a number of years, surviving the many institutional foes. The question is not will they, but how they find redemption.

I'm glad that I watched this movie till the end and I suggest that you do the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 268 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa9e93888)

This product

Shawshank Redemption / └ l'ombre de Shawshank (Bilingual) [Blu-ray]
CDN$ 24.99 CDN$ 7.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews