Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very nice little camera!
I bought this camera to take video and pictures of my coral reef aquarium and it does a very nice job at it. The photo mode produce a 5mp image but there is no option for the compression or the quality of the image. It is not the best camera for making still images as there is no white balance. The camera render the orange a little off but the rest of the colours seem...
Published on Dec 3 2011 by D. Theoret

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars This product was crap for me
I purchased this Kodak Playsport camera in Feb 2104. The issue is that I bought this camera to take with me on vacation. Last march or so I went to Jamaica with the camera and used it. The pictures and video were a bit blurry at time but I figured I didn't know how to use it so I never reported it. Now this year I took the camera with me to Panama for a second try...
Published 6 months ago by Mike Mayer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very nice little camera!, Dec 3 2011
By 
D. Theoret "daniella" (usa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kodak PlaySport (Zx5) HD Waterproof Pocket Video Camera - Black (2nd Generation) NEWEST MODEL (Discontinued by Manufacturer) (Camera)
I bought this camera to take video and pictures of my coral reef aquarium and it does a very nice job at it. The photo mode produce a 5mp image but there is no option for the compression or the quality of the image. It is not the best camera for making still images as there is no white balance. The camera render the orange a little off but the rest of the colours seem to be quite accurate. I did have some freezing issues but that has been resolved after installing the new firmware. Overall I am very pleased with this camera and for the price it is awesome to be able to photograph and take video of my coral underwater in my aquarium. I have been using it for 6 months on regular basis and never had any leakage.

This camera does not do a great job in low light and the images can become a bit grainy then. With good light, the video in HD quality is great and the color are nice and well saturated. I paid 150$ for this camera, and honestly I don't think I can get that much for so little from another camera. Plus it looks really cool in blue :) Battery life is very good and the provided software although basic, still does the job nicely. For reference, here are a few of my video with this camera: [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars This product was crap for me, Jan. 7 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kodak PlaySport (Zx5) HD Waterproof Pocket Video Camera - Black (2nd Generation) NEWEST MODEL (Discontinued by Manufacturer) (Camera)
I purchased this Kodak Playsport camera in Feb 2104. The issue is that I bought this camera to take with me on vacation. Last march or so I went to Jamaica with the camera and used it. The pictures and video were a bit blurry at time but I figured I didn't know how to use it so I never reported it. Now this year I took the camera with me to Panama for a second try. Everything was ok until I took it with me in the water. A few minutes went by and then I could see bubbles coming from the water. The camera flooded and no longer works and I lost all my videos and photos due to water every ware in the camera. For me, this product was bad, do not purchase unless you like to gamble. Total waste of my money.

I'm now trying to get a replacement from the seller... we will see. I sent them a note, but so far no reply.

:-(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars This is junk!, July 4 2013
I got to use this camera only 3 or 4 times. It was great while it worked! Photos and HD video were excellent! Then one day on vacation in the Bahamas it filled with water. Not like I was diving or anything, I was just bobbing in waste deep water talking with a friend and I noticed the cam was filled with water! I dried it out for several days but the thing was toast. Luckily I was able to get the vacation photos of the video card. I contacted Kodak but they just brushed me off saying there was nothing they could do. Too bad because I bought two extra batteries and a bag. No hope for the cam so I tossed it. anyone want to buy some slightly used Kodak batteries? Cheap? All said this camera is Kodak cam is junk!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Leaked and died after 2 uses ... worthless!, Feb. 6 2013
By 
This review is from: Kodak PlaySport (Zx5) HD Waterproof Pocket Video Camera - Black (2nd Generation) NEWEST MODEL (Discontinued by Manufacturer) (Camera)
We used the previous version of this camera twice ... first time under water was fine ( not a great underwater camera but ok) ... just had it in Mexico for holiday and in my pocket in 3 feet of water EVERY compartment leaked!

Was able to save memory card (rinsed everything and put in bag of rice for 2 days) but camera is dead!

Kodak tech support was useless ... no help at all

WILL NEVER BUY ANY KODAK PRODUCT AGAIN!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Lets in water, Aug. 31 2013
I got my camera and it was great I used it lightly and then about a year after buying it started letting in water. the camera still works and takes pictures but i can not take it under water i contacted kodak and they said it would cost around 70 dollars to fix and that was very close to the price i had paid for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars perfect for travel and sport, June 5 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I just love this camera it can film about 2 hours on one charge and can record more then 6 hours of hd on a 32 gb card and it fits in your Pocket and is water proof. Just awsome
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good, Sept. 27 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Pretty good, video undersea is vrey clear and high quality. Also photo is good as well. used it to record the fishes and sea, very impressive memory which it made. like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Wrong color, May 18 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I ordered a red camera and was sent a blue one .I would have liked to have been informed before it was sent so I could of ordered the product I wanted from another dealer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars failed on first use, March 5 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
watertight doors open when you hold the camera by the sides.Drying according to instructions did no good.
Camera became an expensive paperweight
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Playsport, June 30 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is an excellent camera. I love the size is easy to hold, the minimum of buttons, and the large screen make it easy to use one handed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews