Customer Reviews


172 Reviews
5 star:
 (155)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


58 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I hope this one runs for years!
If you can imagine Upstairs, Downstairs meets The Buccaneers, you will pretty much have this gem from ITV. Surprisingly, not from the BBC (which is doing an update of Upstairs, Downstairs set in the 1930s) it is every bit as good as a BBC production and much prettier than the new Up/Down.

Maggie Smith will definitely get a BAFTA for this if not an Emmy. "What...
Published on Jan. 11 2011 by Jenny Allworthy

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Real Problems
The series is terrific, but the quality of the disc is unacceptable. The tracking function is such that all movement on the screen is very jerky and hence, almost unwatchable. I tries the disc on several Blue Ray machines - same result. You might be better off getting the DVD edition, I'm not sure
Published 20 months ago by Wayne Johnson


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

58 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I hope this one runs for years!, Jan. 11 2011
By 
Jenny Allworthy (WATERLOO, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
If you can imagine Upstairs, Downstairs meets The Buccaneers, you will pretty much have this gem from ITV. Surprisingly, not from the BBC (which is doing an update of Upstairs, Downstairs set in the 1930s) it is every bit as good as a BBC production and much prettier than the new Up/Down.

Maggie Smith will definitely get a BAFTA for this if not an Emmy. "What is a week-end?" Bwahahahah!

Season one starts with the sinking of the Titanic and ends just as war has been declared in 1914. Season two is now in the works and I hope it goes even longer.

Makes me want to go back to England to see the filming location, Highclere Castle. Deep sigh!

N.B. Just a note about the editing by PBS. The reason that the ITV episodes were longer was mostly due to commercials (2 hours worth). PBS has edited their version a little but not much was removed. In any case, this version is the original UK version, so fear not!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real masterpiece, June 15 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Masterpiece: Downton Abbey Season 1 (U.K. Edition) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
One of the best series I've seen in years. Superb cast and acting, witty dialogues, wonderful setting, gripping story. Can't wait for season two
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, Oct. 9 2011
By 
Avid Reader "Avid Reader" (Toronto, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
Thankfully there is a sequel to be released soon! For those of us who cannot bear to watch any of the constant stream of utter junk and "reality TV"-nonsense on the seemingly endless number of completely inconsequential TV-channels, shows like "Downton Abbey" are few and far inbetween. Yet again I have to thank the Brits for affording me the pleasure of splendid entertainment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of British, June 3 2011
Downton Abbey is one of the most engaging and charming TV dramas to come out of the UK in a long time. It took the audience in the UK by storm. It was the talk in every office as everyone anticipated the next episode. It left the British public begging for more and with luck, there will be a second series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Real Problems, Jan. 5 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Masterpiece: Downton Abbey Season 1 (U.K. Edition) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The series is terrific, but the quality of the disc is unacceptable. The tracking function is such that all movement on the screen is very jerky and hence, almost unwatchable. I tries the disc on several Blue Ray machines - same result. You might be better off getting the DVD edition, I'm not sure
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intelligent & addictive watching!, March 28 2011
I first watched Downton Abbey on PBS and enjoyed it so much I could hardly wait for a continuation of the story. I ordered this first series from Amazon, and proceeded to watch it all over again! That's how good it is. It's an 'Upstairs Downstairs' kind of story, set in the period just before World War 1, with the implications of all the changes that will bring to people's lives, both above and below stairs. War has just been announced at the end of this series, so presumably in Series 2 the implications will become realities. The characters are terrific - you really care about them in both walks of life. The acting is wonderful. There are no weak links. I would single Maggie Smith out in particular - but they're all first class. Costumes, furnishings etc all beautifully in period and the dialogue of course is what gives us such great characterisations. The story grabbed me from the first moment - it's positively addictive!! Watch it, you won't regret it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't disappoint, March 4 2011
Downton Abby presents a view of the world just before the Great War. In fact it is the last look at a society and way of life that was on the verge of great and catastrophic change. It is reminiscent in some ways of "Upstairs,Downstairs" in it's portrayal of life above and below stairs. Although some of the situations seem to have been taken from other movies such as Mrs. Miniver (when the Dowager Duchess, hands the trophy for best flower to a villager) still Downton Abbey does what it should, that is present an initmate view of the lives of all the occupants and the values of that era. It is visually rich and the ensemble cast is wonderful. I look forward to the next installment and recommend this to anyone interested in period English drama.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 47 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GET THE DVD RATHER THAN WATCH ON PBS, Jan. 12 2011
PBS will be editing out over 3 hours of Downton Abbey when broadcast in North America as viewers allegedly will be unable to follow the inheritance laws pertaining to country estates in the UK. Well I expect 90 per cent of British viewers aren't au fait with the ways of the landed gentry in Edwardian England either - but the explanation is in the drama and it forms a key part of that drama and the choices facing major characters. How patronising to Americans that PBS has taken this high-handed attitude. Buy the DVD collection I would say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it! Can't wait until season 2!, Nov. 11 2010
Fantastic series that just aired in the UK. If you like costume dramas you'll LOVE this one. AND for those who don't, this one actually has substance and great characters as well as nice clothes. Can't wait until season 2!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars NOT UK Edition, Jan. 7 2013
By 
Kate Lindsay - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I was very disappointed when I realized that this is NOT THE ORIGINAL UK EDITION. It is the PBS edition as shown on TV. I had heard that the UK edition was longer and more detailed than what was shown on the shorter edited PBS edition. I thought since this said it was the original UK Edition, it would be inclusive. Unfortunately it was not. This season 1 package has 6 DVDs. I suspect that the full UK version will have about 9 DVDs.

http://www.amazon.ca/gp/product/B0047H7QD6/ref=cm_cr_rev_prod_title
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Masterpiece: Downton Abbey Season 1 (U.K. Edition) [Blu-ray]
CDN$ 41.99 CDN$ 24.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews