Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage giftguide Kitchen Kindle Black Friday Deals Week in Music SGG Home, Kitchen and Garden Gift Guide

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars89
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-rayChange
Price:$39.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon March 31, 2011
Finally Disney makes a new family classic!

With all of the sequels that Disney has been producing in recent years, I was losing hope for the company. Tangled however has given me fresh hope! It will be a classic that we will all fondly remember many years from now much like we fondly remember Disney's originals like Snow White and Cinderella.

I love the spin they put on the Rapunzel story. Flynn Ryder's character development is also quite endearing. There are some unexpected twists, some suspense, some romance... basically everything a good Disney movie truly needs!

I highly recommend this movie, especially if you are a fan of the old Disney movies.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on May 28, 2012
I loved this movie from beginning to end! The story line is old school Disney with a modern twist with random outbursts of song that made the older films so enjoyable. The voice talents were perfect for their given characters! This is what new-age Disney should be.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
Tangled (animation, comedy, family, musical)
Directed by Nathan Greno and Byron Howard
Starring the voices of Mandy Moore, Zachary Levi and Donna Murphy

Disney / Buena Vista | 2010 | 100 min | Rated PG | Released Mar 29, 2011

Video codec: MPEG-4 AVC
Video resolution: 1080p
Aspect ratio: 1.78:1

English: DTS-HD Master Audio 7.1
French: DTS-HD HR 7.1
Spanish: DTS-HD HR 5.1
English: Dolby Digital 2.0

English SDH, French, Spanish

50GB Blu-ray Disc
DVD copy

The Film 4.5/5

Disney has been responsible for some wonderful films since releasing Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs in 1937. I remember being taken to the cinema as a child to see Bambi and The Jungle Book, and anxiously awaiting holiday specials showing classic Disney clips. What's more, all of Disney's releases are suitable for family viewing.

While I appreciate all of the above, many of Disney's classic titles are formulaic. It seems like there's a princess in every story, although there are only nine official Disney princesses. The movies feature numerous songs and often start with the image of a storybook which is used to set the scene. All of those things work, but it's a little too predictable for my liking.

Tangled is different.

Instead of using a storybook for the exposition, it uses a narrator. The narrator is Flynn Rider, our hero, and he's sarcastic and genuinely funny. There are songs, but they are short, infrequent, and also funny. There's a princess, but she doesn't act like one. This is a story that doesn't take itself too seriously. It feels fresh and contemporary. Quite frankly, I was surprised and delighted with the whole thing.

We learn during the opening scenes that an old woman, Mother Gothel (Murphy), possesses a golden flower with the power to heal and reverse the effects of aging. The queen is sick and needs the flower to heal her, so a party of soldiers is sent to find it. It works and newly-born princess Rapunzel (Moore) is infused with the plant's powers. Mother Gothel wants to appear young so she kidnaps the princess and keeps her in a tower. The king and queen release floating lanterns each year on Rapunzel's birthday and hope that she will eventually be found.

Rapunzel thinks that Mother Gothel is her real mother and that she's being kept in the tower to protect her from the dangers of the real world. Her main wish is to see the lights that appear on her birthday. Her only friend is Pascal, a chameleon. He doesn't speak, but does a good job of expressing his feelings through body language.

Flynn Rider is a notorious thief who stumbles across Rapunzel's tower while evading capture from the king's soldiers. Rapunzel hits him over the head with a frying pan and locks him in her closet. She's convinced that the outside world poses no threat to her.

We learn that her hair has many uses. It's one way into the tower, but she also uses it to pick things up and to tie Flynn to a chair. The two enter into a bargain; he'll take her to see the floating lanterns and she'll give him back the tiara he stole. She sends Mother Gothel on an errand and leaves the tower with Flynn.

Flynn takes Rapunzel to the Snuggly Duckling inn which is supposed to represent a sort of biker pub. The patrons aren't what they seem and end up liking her. Mother Gothel tracks the pair down and Flynn is also found by one of the king's horses, Maximus. The horse doesn't speak either, but is one of the funniest characters in the movie. He feels that he isn't appreciated, but Rapunzel wins his loyalty.

There's plenty of action during the ensuing chase scenes, and the pair are forced to use their wits to escape all kinds of peril. Mother Gothel is the most evil character in the story, although her selfish actions are understandable when you consider that she'll die without the effects of Rapunzel's magic hair.

There's considerable character development in the story and, being Disney, it has a happy ending. The mix of humor, action and romance works well. The characters are easy to like and there's always something interesting happening.

Video Quality 5/5
I recently reviewed Megamind and mentioned that, as well as aliasing, the backgrounds appeared unfinished. Watching Tangled, the difference is easy to spot. There is so much detail and depth in each frame. Take a look at the background shots and you'll see what I mean. Leaves rustle in the breeze, clouds drift and water ripples. This image is comparable to Bolt or the recent Pixar releases. It's another perfect transfer from Disney.

Audio Quality 5/5
The DTS-HD Master Audio 7.1 mix also receives a perfect score. There's a lot happening at times, and every little sound is heard. Background noises such as hooves or running water enhance the experience and you'll hear things coming at you from all directions. Dialogue and music also receive the correct treatment. It's hard to fault anything in the presentation.

Special Features 3/5

Deleted Scenes (13 minutes) - Directors Nathan Greno and Byron Howard introduce this segment and explain how and why certain scenes were changed. The scenes are unfinished and appear as storyboards or partially animated.

Original Storybook Openings (8 minutes) - These are early versions of what may have been and are similar to the deleted scenes.

50th Animated Feature Countdown (2 minutes) - Tangled is Disney's 50th animated feature. See a brief glimpse of them all, in release order.

Extended Songs (8 minutes) - Full versions of two songs from the movie.

Untangled: The Making of a Fairy Tale (12 minutes) - A light-hearted feature with actors Mandy Moore and Zachary Levi, talking about the movie and the history of Disney.

Tangled Teasers (9 minutes) - Amusing fake ads featuring characters from the movie.

Discover Blu-ray 3D With Timon and Pumbaa

Learn How to Take Your Favorite Movies on the Go


DVD copy

Tangled was a nice surprise with its fresh take on traditional Disney themes. There's plenty here for children to enjoy. The characters are cute and friendly and the action is never far away. Adults will enjoy it too. Disney's 50th animated feature is one of the best releases the studio has made and its modern animation style is a pleasure to watch.

Overall score 4.5/5
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
Video: Rapunzel was a princess with long blond hair who lived alone in a tower. Essentially, Disney has taken that basic frame, molded a heartwarming tale that appeals to all ages, added some fun characters, and given us "Tangled". The picture was a stunning 1080p/ AVC MPEG-4 transfer framed at 1.78:1. The strong points of this release are the colors and textures. Colors burst off the screen with rich greens, deep blues, and bright yellows. Even more impressive are the textures. Character animation is spectacular. I personally think the horse "Maximus" is a real character that steals the spotlight. Skin tones are rich, fabric in clothing is realistic, and even better is the animation of hair. The animation process of her hair features over 100,000 individual strands, each reacting incredibly realistically to the surroundings. Picture was razer sharp. (5/5)

Audio: The excellent DTS-HD Master Audio 7.1 track does the wonderful score justice. The music is presented perfectly. Dialogue was clear and center. All the songs, composed by Alan Menken and Glenn Slater, were beautifully sung by Mandy Moore and Zachary Levi. The song "I See The Light" was nominated for Academy Award Best Original Song for 2010, but lost to Randy Newman's "We Belong Together" in Toy Story 3. (4.5/5)

Trivia: The bandit-hero's name, Flynn, and character pays homage to the classic actor Errol Flynn in the title role of The Adventures of Robin Hood (1938). One of the thugs plays the piano (invented in the 18th century) and refers to Mozart (1756-91), whereas the film is set centuries earlier, in the Middle Ages.

Continuity: When Rapunzel and Flynn flee from soldiers in the tunnel, Pascal is sitting on Rapunzel's shoulder. However, when they reach the dam outside, Pascal cannot be seen anywhere. And as "Mother" stabs Eugene after he climbs the tower to rescue Rapunzel, the knife comes out clean, no blood.

"Tangled" has an estimated budget of $260 million. Total gross in US was only $198 million. However, world gross of $559 million, would bring a lot of smiles to the Disney studio.

I saw "Tangled" 3D in local theatre, and was not impressed with the clarity and focus. This 2D version of "Tangled" was much superior in every aspect, with superb video and wonderful music and songs. Most of all, this movie does have an interesting story with wonderful characters. It is a totally enjoyable movie for young and old. Highly recommended.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 30, 2014
What a fantastic movie! Seriously! Before watching, I had this pigeon holed in my mind as another Disney Princess movie that would only appeal to little girls. Wow, I was so wrong!

First let me start off with the visuals. The eye candy in this movie is incredible, and for those with 3DTV's its definitely worth paying the extra for this 3D version. The artists have created a truly detailed world that pops out the screen. The characters are obviously cartoon, but I have never seen this level of attention to detail done before in a 3D animated film.

And speaking of characters, these are truly interesting characters, that properly develop as the plot progresses. Tangled broke away from the now cliche formula of having a strong female character juxtaposed against a bumbling idiot male character. The story is wonderful mix of betrayal, romance, adventure and action. This also broke away from the double entendre type of humour that has been in Disney movies of late. The humour is truly funny to all ages, and the interpretation of the humour is the same whether you are young or old. In a lot of ways, this feels like a truly modern Disney movie, with the "magic" I remember growing up.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon January 7, 2015
This movie single handedly brought me back into the Disney fold in my adult life. I sat down and watched this movie and really enjoyed the humour and music that was in it. Then when the duet song "At last I see the light" came on I got goosebumps and thought to myself "This reminds me of classic Disney".

The movie felt so classic Disney and yet at the same time felt so very new, like they evolved in the right way. I immediately went out after watching it to buy the Lion King and Toy Story and start building my Disney collection again. A great and huge step for Disney in the animated movie world. They're taking steps in the right direction (clearly with the results Frozen has brought in) and I hope they keep the course.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on April 30, 2011
I was a bit unsure of how this movie would rate, but was pleasantly surprised with it and am delighted that we bought it. We've watched it a few times now and it stands up to repeated viewing - a good sign in my book.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 18, 2011
i thought this was a great cg animated film from's one of the
best animated film i have seen in a long time.the colours are
vibrant,the animation is excellent.i liked all the characters.the songs
were all good.i liked the story.i thought it was well's also
a fast paced and adults alike should enjoy this's
basically about Rapunzel the girl with the really long golden blond's rated PG for some brief mild violence,so it might be a bit
too much for the really young kids.parents should use their discretion
of course.generally,though it's a movie the family can enjoy.for
me,Tangled is a 5/5
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 11, 2013
This was just an excellent film: one of the best of Disney's though certainly not for children. Kids will like the action. Adults will appreciate the characterization and the variety of subtle humorous exchanges and inventive slapstick.

Rapunzel was a delight. She was an innocent, but hinted at not being so – very unusual for a Disney Heroine. The Horse (Maximus) was the very soul of honor and righteousness without being the least bit dull, and Flynn Rider ("Prince Charming") one of the best representations of wit and charm without being a caricature
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on May 2, 2011
If all you want is the basic Tangled DVD, this is by far the best deal! It only has 1 disc but there's lots of special features.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed

The Princess and the Frog (Blu-ray + DVD) (Bilingual)
The Princess and the Frog (Blu-ray + DVD) (Bilingual) by Anika Noni Rose (Blu-ray - 2011)
CDN$ 19.96

The Little Mermaid: Diamond Edition [Blu-ray + DVD] (Bilingual)
The Little Mermaid: Diamond Edition [Blu-ray + DVD] (Bilingual) by Rene Murat Auberjonois (Blu-ray - 2013)
CDN$ 22.99