Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Film Noir Classic, April 22 2014
By 
Keith Little - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This film is a true classic, I used to watch it when it came on tv once in a while but I hadn't seen it in years and bought this dvd. The print is fantastic and really allows me to appreciate this film all that much more. If you like film noir you should definitely give this movie a viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kansas ask for any thing more?, Dec 24 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kansas City Confidential [Blu-ray] [Import] (Blu-ray)
This is one of the best tough guy movies ever, with a real hard boiled cast,John Payne ,Preston Foster ,Jack Elam ,Lee Van Cleef ,Neville Brand. It also has great muscular direction by Phil Karlson. For years this film has been in the public domain so the copies available for purchase were often not that good. This is however is a good transfer. It comes with a Blu-ray,dvd, and a post card of the movie poster. All this for a very reasonable price,so I'm very happy with my purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Film Noir, Nov. 6 2013
By 
Ed Duplissie (North Vancouver, British Columbia Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This movie is well worth having in your film noir library. Always been a fan of Jack Elam and he does not disappoint in this film. All the acting and action is first rate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good one!, June 14 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Kansas City Confidential (DVD)
Excellent noir. The cinematography is classic noir, with assured useage of shadow and light, foreground and background and tight close-ups. The action is gritty and realistic, with the slapping around looking positively brutal and much more frightening than the current movie industry standard of blood splattered gore fests. Mr Elam, in fact, was probably cast because of how pathetic he looked being beaten up! The story revolves around two set-ups, one intended and one a secondary effect. "This is America?" my husband queried as our innocent hero is "worked over" in the Kansas City jailhouse. The action moves south to Mexico where our hero pursues the true criminals in order to clear his name. The extent of the crime and the reasons for it as well as the set up are all eventually revealed in the small Mexican fishing village that is too small to hold all these hot tempered men. The pace slows down noticeably in the village, the only major flaw in this otherwise crackerjack film noir which must have influenced every current young urban crime-film director. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Kansas City Confidential (1952) ... John Payne ... Phil Karlson (Director) (1952)", Jan. 31 2011
By 
J. Lovins "Mr. Jim" (Missouri-USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
United Artists presents "KANSAS CITY CONFIDENTIAL" (11 November 1952) (99 min/B&W) (Fully Restored/Dolby Digitally Remastered) -- A hard-hitting film noir about a bitter ex-cop who arranges an armored car robbery with a phony florist's delivery truck -- Framed for the robbery, the driver of the real florist's truck, a hero in the war, hunts down the men who set him up to get his share of the loot, revenge or, if possible, a combination of the two -- It is generally agreed that Quentin Tarantino must have seen this movie before scripting Reservoir Dogs.

Here's part of the plot - Tim Foster (Preston Foster) recruits three criminals to help him rob an armored truck- Pete Harris (Jack Elam), Boyd Kane (Neville Brand), and Tony Romano (Lee Van Cleef) --- All star "Noirish" cast of characters and it's right up there with some outstanding dialogue film noir style.

One of the best John Payne noir films -- Definitely entertaining and you can watch this over and over again, catching some scenes you may have missed for full enjoyment -- In many of his films he was an ordinary-guy protagonists in the noir cycle -- Payne is tough, all right, but still shows the flop-sweat of fear; and he's smart, too, but because he's forced to be - what he's trying to hang onto is all he's got, that's gotta be noir at it's best.

Under the production staff of:
Phil Karlson [Director]
George Bruce [Screenplay]
Harry Essex [Screenplay]
Harold Greene [Story]
Rowland Brown [Story]
Edward Small [Producer]
Paul Sawtell [Original Music]
George E. Diskant [Cinematographer]
Buddy Small [Film Editor]

BIOS:
1. Phil Karlson [Director]
Date of Birth: 2 July 1908 - Chicago, Illinois
Date of Death: 12 December 1985 - Los Angeles, California

2. John Payne
Date of Birth: 28 May 1912 - Roanoke, Virginia
Date of Death: 6 December 1989 - Malibu, California

the cast includes:
John Payne - Joe Rolfe
Coleen Gray - Helen Foster
Preston Foster - Tim Foster
Neville Brand - Boyd Kane
Lee Van Cleef - Tony Romano
Jack Elam - Pete Harris
Dona Drake - Teresa
Mario Siletti - Tomaso
Howard Negley - Scott Andrews
Carleton Young - Martin
Don Orlando - Diaz
Ted Ryan - Morelli

Mr. Jim's Ratings:
Quality of Picture & Sound: 5 Stars
Performance: 5 Stars
Story & Screenplay: 4 Stars
Overall: 4 Stars [Original Music, Cinematography & Film Editing]

Total Time: 99 min on DVD ~ United Artists ~ (07/10/2007)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ALPHA/GOTHAM QUALITY?, April 11 2004
By 
This review is from: Kansas City Confidential (DVD)
No need to comment on the story, it is engrossing. For a Gotham/Alpha release the sound and image quality is good, suprisingly good. Don't misunderstand, there is no crispness here. It's probably worth the money to purchase the Image version if the quality is better. There are some extras on Image version and none on the Gotham/Alpha version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Film Noir - Great DVD Transfer, Feb. 22 2011
By 
From the Musician's Pen (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I originally had this movie, along with many others, on a couple cheap film noir collections that I picked up at Wal-Mart. Of the 20 or so movies in those collections, I thought 4 were really great films that I'd like to have a good DVD transfer of. This movie is among my favourite film noir and when the price finally went down (around $10 or less) I ordered it. The picture and sound quality is far superior on this DVD, compared to the cheapie collections I had. Oddly enough, I did find and order the other 3 films as well... and one transfer was actually WORSE than on my cheapie collection. Highly recommended for film noir fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Noir..., April 26 2002
By 
"skipmccoy" (Los Angeles, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kansas City Confidential (DVD)
A great, great noir film starring John Payne(HELL'S ISLAND, 99 RIVER STREET). But the cast doesn't stop there! It also stars Lee Van Cleef, Jack Elam and Neville Brand. This really is a gritty little crime caper flick. If you watch it, it will be difficult to ignore how the film might have influenced a guy like Quentin Tarantino in the conception of RESERVOIR DOGS. Great dvd!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kansas City Confidential [Blu-ray] [Import]
CDN$ 17.63
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews