Customer Reviews


108 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Jim Carrey's best movies
Fletcher Reed is a lawyer who always wins his cases by lying. But unfortunatly the judge isn't the only person he makes a habit of lying to. His constant promises to spend time with his son Max never come through at the last minute.
So when Max makes a wish that for 24 hrs that his dad cannot tell a lie, he never expected it to actually come true. Unfortunatly in the...
Published on July 6 2004 by Robin M Goffinet

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars TRUTH ABOUT LIER
Coke-a-Cola makes alot of money and they only sell one product. It's sugar and water. Hollywood makes alot of money selling one product over and over again too, only they change the title each time.
Lovable kid character seeks parent's affection - parent obsessed with work instead - Family about to break up ( oh no )- Parent charmed by power of inocent child -...
Published on Feb. 23 2004 by JohnK


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Jim Carrey's best movies, July 6 2004
By 
Robin M Goffinet (Richmond, IN United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Liar Liar (VHS Tape)
Fletcher Reed is a lawyer who always wins his cases by lying. But unfortunatly the judge isn't the only person he makes a habit of lying to. His constant promises to spend time with his son Max never come through at the last minute.
So when Max makes a wish that for 24 hrs that his dad cannot tell a lie, he never expected it to actually come true. Unfortunatly in the affected 24 hours, Fletcher has a HUGE divorce case to settle and his fabricated story cannot be told.
At the same time, Max's mother Audrey has been offered a marriage proposal from her boyfriend and plans to take Max to Boston with them. Now Fletcher must deal with not being able to lie and try to change Audrey's mind before he loses Max forever.
One of Jim Carrey's best movies, it made me lol the whole time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars TRUTH ABOUT LIER, Feb. 23 2004
By 
This review is from: Liar Liar (DVD)
Coke-a-Cola makes alot of money and they only sell one product. It's sugar and water. Hollywood makes alot of money selling one product over and over again too, only they change the title each time.
Lovable kid character seeks parent's affection - parent obsessed with work instead - Family about to break up ( oh no )- Parent charmed by power of inocent child - Realizes he has put ambitions before child - Parent transformed (by Love!!) - "Is it too late?" scene - At last minute family does not break up - Whew!
Hollywood template-teers trace Jim Carey onto their boiler plate
and - Hey Presto! - instant money. No problem. The LAST thing I expect when I push over my eight dollars nowadays is a good script. It was disapointing however to see Jim Carey's potential capped again.
His antics are redundant by the middle of the movie. Are people realy that easy to please?
THE GRINCH proves Carey can be top of the line with a better script and a better director. I thought Carey would be the next real movie star but this picture broke the back of that idea. His body of work is starting to look like Elvis Presley's.
Tasteless jokes and gratuitous sex, as usual, make it totaly unsuitable for traditional families.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lighthearted hilarity, April 5 2003
By 
This review is from: Liar Liar (VHS Tape)
Jim Carrey is a love or hate character. I like him a lot. Although his humor is seen as stupid, it is extremely physical, and he uses that to his advantage. I gave it four stars out of five for it's sharp humore, and it's heart (that's right, this film deals with parents and kids). I don't think I have laughed as hard as I did in a while when I saw a scene towards the end where Carrey sticks his face in people's airplane windows. You need to see it, but the scene leading up to it is funny, too. The courtroom scene is also funny. Carrey works physically tirely to get a laugh, one time slamming his head on a toilet seat. Carrey is likable and sympathetic, in a movie that will play for the whole family, entertaining each member on a different level (he's a master at combining slapstick for the kids with innuendo for the grownups). The premise has Carrey, a hardcore liar, not be able to tell a lie for 24 hours. You get to see how he takes on all sorts of people, but not mean-spiretly, like the dull "Me, Myself, & Irene." Thank you for taking the time to read my review and feel free to leave me a helpful/not helpful feedback. God Bless America.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pants on fire, Oct. 20 2002
By 
Dennis Littrell (SoCal/NorCal/Maui) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Liar Liar (VHS Tape)
Jim Carrey puts so much energy and pure comedic brilliance into this movie that we hardly noticed how corny and hackneyed was the plot or how wearily didactic was the moral lesson for all fathers who neglect their children for the goddess of success. And really we didn't care. What we loved almost as much as Carrey's rubber mouth and oral blockage (like an overheated boiler fighting not to explode) was the premise: a lawyer that can't lie. Now there's an oxymoron! As Carrey tries to explain to his son Max, lawyers need to lie. Actually he says grownups need to lie, which is a truth that we really do not need to exam too closely here. To laugh at something deeply troubling in our nature is a way of dealing with it.
So the genius of this movie is first the talent of Jim Carrey, but second, for kids who come to the realization of adult mendacity for the first time, it is the discovery of comedy as a way to cope. Why do adults need to lie? is a question that a kid can never figure out, and then by the time he is an adult himself (or actually a teenager), he can no longer comprehend how important the question once was. Call it innocence lost, or the socialization process.
My favorite part of the movie is the courtroom scene with Jennifer Tilly dressed oh so sluttily and her adulterous beaux looking like a model for the cover of a romance novel and Carrey in tatters in his [expensive] suit. Second would be the bathroom scene in which Carrey tries to tear himself apart (and seems to almost succeed). His flapping mouth between the toilet seat and the bowl was inspired. Give some credit to director Tom Shadyac, who managed to steer the vehicle with Carrey at the controls, and to writers, Paul Guay and Stephen Mazur, who wrote some funny lines.
The great comedians totally let themselves go. They are totally on. They go to extremes and beyond. It's like transcending not just the ordinary, but even the imagined. See this obviously for Jim Carrey, one of the great comedic talents of our time, an original who would have delighted Charlie Chaplin with his extraordinary muggings, his blatant audacity and his suburb timing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly Carrey's Funniest Film. I LOVED it!!!!!, July 19 2002
By 
Michael Crane (Orland Park, IL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Liar Liar (Widescreen) (DVD)
No lie: this movie is outrageously hillarious. I've never laughed so hard at a Jim Carrey flick. This is, without a doubt, his funniest film ever. There was nothing wrong with the movie. I just wished that it would never end.
Jim Carrey plays a liar.....Oops! I mean a "lawyer." Phew! Saved myself on that one. Ahem. Anyway, his son is sick of being lied to by his devorced father, so he makes a wish on his birthday....that Carrey cannot lie for one whole day. As it turns out, the wish comes true. Now he can't lie about anything and is forced to tell all to anyone who is asking. How the hell is he going to be a lawyer if he can't lie?!?! The results are all too funny to mention.
The acting is great. I really enjoyed everybody who was in this film. Jim Carrey does a lot of his physical comedy that made him famous in his "Ace Ventura" films, and his facial expressions are funnier than before. The movie also had a very good plot, for it being a comedy. Usually when I go see a comedy, I don't expect too much from the plot department, but "Liar Liar" had one and a great story to back it up.
I'm glad they decided to re-release this in widescreen. Let's hope Universal does that to others. "Ahem...hint hint: 'Happy Gilmore.' Hint hint." Also, they added lots of special features that could not be found on the previous full-screen version. The picture and sound quality was really something to see and hear.
"Liar Liar" is a hillarious movie that is bound to have you laughing until it hurts. If you like Jim Carrey, or a just a good comedy that'll make you laugh, see this movie. It's a great movie on a great DVD. A very worthy purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lie detector, June 2 2002
By 
T. Lobascio (New Jersey United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Liar Liar (Widescreen) (DVD)
Fletcher Reede (Jim Carrey) gets more than he bargains for in LIAR LIAR. When he gets caught telling a lie to his son, Max, (Justin Cooper), The young boy makes a wish that his dad never lie again. The next morning the wish comes true and Carrey is off and running. This comedy is a rare breed in that it is very funny, while at the same time, it has a soft side as well. Sure, there are plenty of moments where Carrey is let loose to do his thing, but slapstick aside, that's not all there is here. The scenes with Fletcher and son contain some great moments of "reality" Actress Maura Tierney, as the estranged wife, and the late great Anne Haney, as Greta (Fletcher's Office Assistant) both have fun playing it straight to the lunacy. Directed by Tom Shadyac, he knows how to make funny comedies, and keep things on track when that is what's needed. The film is one of Carrey's funniest and best roles. Considering his track record, that is, no small feat.
There are 2 versions of the DVD to choose from. First, there is the less exspensive, "movie only" disc. While the Collector's Edition has a higher cost, the film, and also includes a number of extras. I prefer the disc with the extras over movie only DVDs. There is an "exclusive" featurette with cast and crew. Of course, it's nothing but a bit of fluff, but did you expect otherwise? The commentary track with Shadyac works better. The disc also includes a deleted scene and a hilarious gag reel. Rounding it all out, are the usual production notes and theatrical trailer.
LIAR, LIAR is a fine showcase for the man with the "rubber" face. Despite my preference for the Collector's Edition, the DVD is recommended, no matter which version is chosen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The truth hurts, but lies hurt worse., Aug. 10 2001
This review is from: Liar Liar (VHS Tape)
...But then along came LIAR LIAR, and then I remembered why I thought Carrey was talented.
Carrey plays a lawyer who will do and say anything to further his career. He doesn't care how he wins as long as wins. The truth is just another hurdle that can be easily be jumped over. His son, whom he has lied to one too many times, wishes out loud that the lawyer will never be able to lie again.
And so, when Carrey's character opens his mouth only the truth will come out. Although this causes a lot of humorous complications that must be resolved, the lawyer becomes a better person because of it. One example is how he is forced to honestly represent a sleazy, abusive golddigger in a custody case against a loving father. It is also interesting to see him try to regain the respect of his ex-wife. His ex-wife has a new boyfriend who turns out to be a nice guy.
But this movie isn't about a jerk who gets his just desserts - even though there is a little of that. It is about a liar who has to endure the hardship of seeing where his lies get him and the people he loves. Once he sees the harm he inflicts, he sets about making himself a better person.
Even though my review seems serious, LIAR LIAR is great for its laughter value. It is unforgettable when Carrey beats himself up in the restroom. Carrey is not as obnoxious in LIAR LIAR as he is in ACE VENTURE, but he's a lot funnier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Carrey comedy that isn't blatantly over the top., May 24 2001
By 
"thaeral" (Brunswick, Ohio United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Liar Liar (Widescreen) (DVD)
Jim Carrey plays a unscrupulous lawyer who lets his son down repeatedly to the point that, upon missing his sons birthday party, his boy uses his birthday wish to force his father to speak only the truth for a 24 hour period.
I was really glad to see Jim Carrey in a more serious role than what he'd been in up to this point from the point where he became popular with Ace Ventura. He still does facial contortions and silly humour in Liar Liar, but he also gets to play a serious side as well.
The real fun in this movie is when Jim's character wakes up the morning after his son makes the wish. From that point on it's almost just one laugh after another till the end. And the writer(s) did a good job of presenting situations in real life that most of us do tell lies.
As for the morality of the film, I think that's silly. I don't think it advocates lying and deceit, but even if it did, so what. I don't live my life through films nor do I pattern my actions by their example. I watched this movie to be entertained and to laugh, and I did so in copious amounts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, March 25 2001
This review is from: Liar Liar (DVD)
It mainly makes fun of how lawyers lie. That's a good part. And he isn't allowed to lie. That's the best part
The beginning is hilarious: The teacher asks everyone what their parents do. She asks, "And what's your dad?" He replies, "a liar." I thought that was the funniest part ever. And his wife even cheats on him. Because of always lying. And she likes this other guy, and she almost divorces her husband (the one Carrey does) and it's the only way that he left the court.
Here's another funny thing: He can't EVEN write what color the pen was. Then he had a bunch of "BLUE" on his face.
And this girl asks him for advice to breaking the law. I'm gonna have to not say anything about that. Because it's the best part of the movie.
And the son's wish: That his dad can't lie for a full day. The sad part: He breaks a promise in part of it. And he was about to make him "un-wish" that.
Then it was time his wife was on the airport, but he REALLY wanted to stay with her. She got real nervous whenever she saw him. You shoulda seen what she did whenever she took that wrapper off.
And the deal with 'the claw.' She talks about how it impresses the kid. And how it's one quality of him. For anyone wanting to see the making fun of lawyers, this is for you.
The only flaw: The bathroom humor whenever he beats himeself up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My favorite Jim Carrey movie, March 6 2001
This review is from: Liar Liar (VHS Tape)
Liar Liar has only one fart joke. For Carrey, this is what's known as "admirable restraint". Not nearly as juvenile as his earlier comedies like The Mask, the Ace Ventura movies and the dreadful Dumb and Dumber and certainly not as downright wierd as his sort-of serious efforts like Truman, The Cable Guy and Man on the Moon. In Liar Liar, Carrey seems to have found a comfortable, albeit one movie, middle ground in his career. Carrey is like Robin Williams, in a way. Both have tremendous comedic talent but the talent has to be harnessed and directed in just the right way for the movie to resonate. Not unsurprisingly, Liar Liar features the most normal Carrey character in his career and about as normal a character as we can possible hope for from him. Fletcher Reed is a lying sleazebag at the beginning of the movie. His ONLY good grace is how much he loves his little boy. One day of enforced honesty teaches Fletcher the error of his ways. Enforcing honesty on a fundamentally dishonest person is a great "what-if" gag and the results are hilarious, thanks to Carrey's ability to turn any situation into spasmodic lunacy. Jim Carrey movies are about Jim Carrey. All of them. Completely, obviously and unashamably. Even the one supposedly about Andy Kaufman. He is a one man band and you'd better just sit still and watch. Doubly so if you're actually in the movie. If you don't like Carrey, you won't like any of his movies at all. If you do, you can't do any better than Liar Liar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Liar Liar [Blu-ray] [Import]
CDN$ 12.31
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews