Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Masterpiece
I read Les Miserables de Victor Hugo many, many years ago; the movie made recently which was given great reviews, has given me the wish to read it again. It will remain a classic in every sense of the word; it is beautifully written. However, one has to be patient, and simply enjoy what each chapter is about. Very long with descriptions of all sorts, so that the...
Published 14 months ago by Huguette Gauthier

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Les Miserables
Basically, Les Miserables is a good story made difficult by rather poor translation from eighteenth/nineteenth century French into English. The translator leaves many French terms untranslated and her grasp of colloquial English is also poor, making reading of the text rather stilted. For example, she translates: "he/she left the scene.." as he/she quitted the...
Published 14 months ago by elfungo


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Masterpiece, Feb. 6 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Les Misérables (English language) (Kindle Edition)
I read Les Miserables de Victor Hugo many, many years ago; the movie made recently which was given great reviews, has given me the wish to read it again. It will remain a classic in every sense of the word; it is beautifully written. However, one has to be patient, and simply enjoy what each chapter is about. Very long with descriptions of all sorts, so that the story develops in a very slow manner.I am glad I read it again; being more mature now, i can appreciate it for what it is : a masterpiece !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous read!, March 12 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Les Misérables (English language) (Kindle Edition)
I am really enjoying reading this book. Lots more background information on all the characters really helps you to understand them. Still reading - its a big book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Free book for Kindle, Feb. 26 2013
By 
D. Dallaire (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Les Misérables (English language) (Kindle Edition)
This is one of the free classics available on Amazon.ca. It's so easy to have books delivered to my Kindle and I'm glad the Canadian site now sells Kindle books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, Feb. 25 2013
This review is from: Les Misérables (English language) (Kindle Edition)
This is a must read. It's very long which I don't usually get into but you get so absorbed into the characters so deeply that you can never forget them. This is going to be an all time classic for centuries to come. It's one of those books that makes you feel proud that you finished reading it. I highly recommend it to anyone looking for a memorable book to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Les Miserables, Feb. 21 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Les Misérables (English language) (Kindle Edition)
Basically, Les Miserables is a good story made difficult by rather poor translation from eighteenth/nineteenth century French into English. The translator leaves many French terms untranslated and her grasp of colloquial English is also poor, making reading of the text rather stilted. For example, she translates: "he/she left the scene.." as he/she quitted the scene..." There are many other example of a rather quaint style of translation. In summary - the story is great - but the English translation is poor. Regrettably, my French is inadequate to enjoy what Hugo originally wrote.
Noel Funge
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Les Miserables, Feb. 2 2013
By 
Boyko Ovcharov (Sofia, Bulgaria) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Les Misérables (English language) (Kindle Edition)
This a really great book about social and political life in 19th-century France. I would not dare to compare Hugo with Dickens, but somehow that idea might creep into the mind of the reader. The story is poignant, dramatic, raising some important ethical and universal questions on human development and societal justice. Hugo's talent is undeniable, although his narrative may be classified as a bit historically slanted, allegedly. The English version is worth applauding indeed, as it reveals the challenges of interpreting from French; whereas both languages boast their long history, a lot in common in terms of Latin origin, notwithstanding their own unique development and evolvement. For a linguistic researcher, such parallels need noting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Long, long, long..., Jan. 27 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Les Misérables (English language) (Kindle Edition)
This is a very long book. If you are coming to this from the musical, be prepared for a LOT more stuff. Victor Hugo's portrait of 19th century life in France is very detailed. While not uninteresting, you are constantly wishing he would just GET ON WITH IT. Definitely worthwhile if you want to learn more about where the musical came from or to understand life in post-revolutionary France. Just don't expect the fast-paced plot line of the musical varsion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Les Miserables eBook Review (English language), Jan. 29 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Les Misérables (English language) (Kindle Edition)
An excellent book with far more background than one receives from the movie or stage versions. Particularly enjoyed the added explanations of the main characters and their stories (esp the kind humble Bishop) and learned much more about the Battle of Waterloo than I'd ever known about this historical event.

Main drawbacks were that, since it is written in the 1860's the author references a lot of then contemporary people, places, events, politics, terminology, mythology, etc. that often mean nothing too me in 2014. Sort of a double vision effect too since I'm in 2014 reading a book written in 1860's that is looking back to the time periods from late 1700's to 1830's. Also he tends to go into laborious detail at times on certain aspects that seem obscure and unrelated to the main flow of events and characters (perhaps just my bias to more fast action movies). Some untranslated songs/poems (left in French) would have benefited from side-by-side English translation too -- my knowledge of French isn't very good.

All in all though an excellent and highly recommended read, especially for those who enjoyed the movie and stage versions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If there is no justice there will be no peace, Jan. 12 2014
This review is from: Les Misérables (English language) (Kindle Edition)
Les Miserables has a message which is as vital to the 21st Century world as it was to 19th Century France. "Les Miserables" refers to the outcasts of society. The poor, demonised in the media as scroungers and ne'er-do-wells.

The central character, Jean Valjean, is imprisoned for five years for stealing a loaf of bread, then another 14 for trying to escape (not an exaggeration of the penal code of the period). On release he is condemned to carry a yellow passport - an ID card which is as effective as a brand. Even outside the prison he is not free.

A priest seeks to redeem him with an act of kindness and (without retelling the whole story) the narrative rests on the consequences of that act of kindness.

Perhaps the most shocking aspect of the original story is the casting of a policeman, a perfectly respectable upholder of the law with no sympathy for the poor, as a villain. We are accustomed to seeing "crooked cops" but Javert isn't crooked; he is as straight as he can be according to his lights. He simply enforces an unjust law because it is not his place to change it.

The most powerful scenes involve the street fighting in Paris during the 1830 revolution and the idealism of students and young people who are depicted as simply and selflessly fighting for the poor of their own city.

It is worth comparing the revolutionaries in Les Miserables with those other revolutionaries in a 19th Century novel - the bloodstained monsters depicted in Dickens' "A Tale of Two Cities." Although the revolution of 1830 was defeated, Victor Hugo sees the revolutionaries as human beings and evokes sympathy for the cause for which they are fighting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Detailed but Worth It, Nov. 23 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Les Misérables (English language) (Kindle Edition)
This book took me awhile to read but thoroughly enjoyed it. Going to read more Victor Hugo in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xadd6b0e4)

This product

Les Misérables (English language)
CDN$ 0.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews