Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars What a movie..
I have always enjoyed this movie...if you enjoy musicals, it is a must Garland/Astaire....what a combination. I love it and know you will to...
Published 14 months ago by Joan Black

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Loses something over the years
Don Hews (Fred Astaire), a song and dance man gets a new contract, he finds out the he is being jilted by the girl he had an understanding with Nadine Hale (Ann Miller); she decides to go off on her own with a different contract and more than willing to also go with their mutual friend Johnny Harlow (Peter Lawford). In an effort to replace his dance partner and save face,...
Published on July 24 2007 by bernie


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars A great Astaire/Garland vehicle, June 2 2013
By 
Robert Badgley (St Thomas,Ontario,Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Easter Parade (DVD)
Easter Parade(released June/48)stars,among others,Fred Astaire,Judy Garland,Ann Miller and Peter Lawford.It is just by accident that Mr.Astaire agreed to do the film in the first place.Gene Kelly had injured himself during a football match on his property and it was he who phoned Fred to suggest he do it.Fred has been on a self imposed "retirement" and was eventually persuaded ...happily for us.This was to be Judy Garland's second picture with Gene,which it didn't turn out to be.Her first was The Pirate.Judy had only been out of a psychiatric sanitarium for a short time when she was signed for this.Judy pulled through the filming like a trooper and Fred was pleased with his working relationship with her.Easter Parade proved to be one of the highest grossers of 1948.What would have been Fred and Judy's second pairing,right on the heels of Parade,was The Barklays of Broadway.Rehearsals began but Judy became totally erratic in behaviour,turning up late consistently and becoming short tempered and lost a great deal of weight.Fred was beside himself and so were the producers,who fired her off of the picture.That film saw,of course,the reuniting of Fred and Ginger(their last).Let's look at the plot of Parade.
The story finds Fred as half of a famous dancing team,with Ann Miller his other half.The film's first boffo number is with Fred of course and it is called Drum Crazy.He arrives back at Anns apartment with some haberdashery only to find out Ann wants to go solo.Even a plaintive dance with Fred doesn't change her mind.She is in love,it appears,with their good friend Peter Lawford,who will come and go throughout the film as needed.Peter hasn`t that much of interest in Ann,if any. Fred walks out to the local bar,claiming to the bar tender he can make a dancer out of anyone.In a small chorus line at the bar there is Judy.He picks her out of the line up and starts her on a long path of grooming her for his show.He at first changes her name to an exotic one in order,he thinks,to up the intrigue factor.After a while he realizes it is not working and Judy reverts back to her old name with a more relaxed dancing and singing style.Their act slowly but surely now takes off.
Peter and Judy accidentally bump into each other during a rain storm and Peter falls heavily for her.However Judy has since fallen for Fred.Fred still has feelings for Ann,but won`t admit it.When rehearsal for a chance to join the Ziegfeld Follies comes up,Fred turns the engagement down, knowing his ex partner Ann is also in the show.Shortly after Fred and Judy get an invitation to join a show by Dillingham,made especially for them.They accept and they become a giant attraction.One night they celebrate by going to the Follies,and after Ann does her number,she asks Fred,purposely,to come up and dance one of their old famous numbers for the audience.He unfortunately is put on the spot and gives in.Judy isn`t impressed and leaves.
Judy arrives home where Fred is waiting but she will not see him.He waits outside but is forced to leave because of a detective.Peter Lawford arrives the next day,having been at Fred`s.Getting a heads up on the situation,he plays it coyly.Peter has since realized that it is Fred who Judy really loves,and Peter is there to make sure she and Fred get back together,and he succeeds.Next day Fred is at home and receives a top hat with a pink bow,a rabbit and some flowers.Thinking they are mistakes Judy suddenly appears and he realizes then who sent them.Judy and Fred sing Easter Parade and as they walk in the actual parade outside,Fred gives Judy an engagement ring.
I am sure one of the inducement`s to come back and do this picture,besides Gene Kelly`s recommendations,was the musical score.It was by Fred`s old friend Irving Berlin, tune smith supremo;how could it go wrong? Fred showed no signs of rustiness in his routines or singing and was,as always,on top of his game.After all,Moaning Minnie,as his sister Adele used to call him,would have it no other way.The supporting cast was a good one.There is a wonderful turn from Jules Munshin as François the waiter.He has a beautiful moment when he describes,in grand gestures,the restaurants famous salad.The only weak link is Lawford,who comes and goes as a love interest for Ann and Judy(which could have been handled by any good looking dude),but his `singing` is totally pedestrian to say the least.
Technically speaking the film is in its full screen ratio and the print here is a good one,with some slight colour fading periodically. Extras include commentary by Ava,Fred`s daughter.
All in all a great vehicle for Mr Astaire and Judy Garland.There are some unforgettable numbers here with A Couple of Swells being one of the best.Highly recommended.4 1/2 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a movie.., April 30 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Easter Parade (DVD)
I have always enjoyed this movie...if you enjoy musicals, it is a must Garland/Astaire....what a combination. I love it and know you will to...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars How can you beat Judy in an Easter Bonnet!, April 15 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Easter Parade (DVD)
Very good quality DVD. The Blu-Ray is just coming out now but this one has all the bells and whistles you can ask for at a much lower price point. Good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's wonderful !!, Dec 20 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Ce film est tout simplement extraordinaire. Il m'a aussi été livré rapidement et conforme a la description du produit. Je recommeande ce film a tous els cinéphiles !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest musicals ever made, April 10 2004
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Easter Parade (VHS Tape)
If I could design my own musical, it would come out looking and sounding a lot like Easter Parade. After all, my perfect musical would absolutely have to star Judy Garland, I would want the two best dancers of the world in it - Fred Astaire and Ann Miller, Irving Berlin would supply all of the music, I would pack as much singing and dancing as possible into it, and there would have to be a significant degree of comedy alongside a wonderful romantic plot. I would not, however, include Peter Lawford in my cast, although Lawford isn't too terribly irritating in Easter Parade (and even seems to stay sober throughout the whole film). Gene Kelly was supposed to star opposite Judy Garland here, but an injury prevented him from making the movie. I do not mean to slight Gene Kelly at all, but I just can't imagine anyone other than Fred Astaire, who came out of retirement to take Kelly's place, in the role of Don Hewes. There are only a handful of stars talented enough to share the spotlight equally with Judy Garland, and Astaire is definitely in that select group. His presence is felt immediately, as he sings, dances, and drums his way through the opening scenes, and never fades throughout the entire 104 minutes of the film.
Hewes is in love with his dance partner Nadine Hale (Ann Miller), so he is distraught when she tells him that she has signed a contract to star in her own show. Hewes seeks comfort at a local club, where he drowns his sorrows and swears that he can take any young lady and turn her into a magnificent dancer, even someone like Hannah Brown (Judy Garland), one of the club's chorus girls. The following morning, he regrets asking Hannah to be his new partner, but when she shows up saying she quit her job to accept his offer, he has little choice but to fulfill his promise to her. Things don't go smoothly at first, as Hannah sometimes struggles to remember her left from her right, and Hewes tries to make a ballroom dancer out of her. Eventually, he figures out that he is trying to turn Hannah into another Nadine, and once he lets Hannah be Hannah the duo quickly becomes quite successful. Hannah, of course, falls in love with Hewes, and she is greatly troubled when Hannah & Hewes cross paths with the celebrated Nadine Hale. When Hannah learns that Nadine was Hewes' former partner as well as a woman he loved, she fears for her happiness as well as her career. Hewes did indeed start out hoping he could use Hannah to make Nadine jealous and thus win her back, but Hannah becomes more than his partner as the months go by. This romance doesn't come easy for either party, for a number of reasons, but their story is really quite wonderful.
Easter Parade is a joyous and uplifting film that showcases Garland's incredible acting ability and talent. The story is great, but the songs and dances are the most memorable aspects of the film. Astaire makes everything look easy, and the man can do more with a cane than I would ever have thought possible. Aside from his numerous routines with Garland, Astaire knocks the viewer dead with his solo "Steppin' Out With My Baby" number - famous for its "slow motion" dance which is still mighty cool no matter how unreal it looks in this day and age. Judy Garland is delightful through and through and lends her voice to many a beautiful song over the course of the film. She was not born to be a dancer, but she more than holds her own beside Fred Astaire, and one can only admire the level of commitment she brought with her to this film. "A Couple of Swells" is a particularly unforgettable number featuring the tandem of Astaire and Garland. Lest we forget Ann Miller, I have to say her two big dance numbers are amazing, especially the highly energetic "Shakin' the Blues Away." I wish I could describe all of the amazing performances in this movie, but I would need much more time and space to do so.
Easter Parade is, quite simply, one of the most impressive and entertaining movie musicals ever made. Garland and Astaire are magical in this, the only movie they made together, and the age difference between the two stars completely disappears when they are together, thus making the romantic aspect of this film work very well indeed. I've seen Easter Parade a number of times, and I think my level of enjoyment actually increases with each and every viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding Musical, Nov. 22 2011
By 
Jan Crawford (Scarborough, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Easter Parade (DVD)
How can you go wrong with Judy Garland and Fred Astaire? Excellent film and one I am glad I added to my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Loses something over the years, July 24 2007
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Don Hews (Fred Astaire), a song and dance man gets a new contract, he finds out the he is being jilted by the girl he had an understanding with Nadine Hale (Ann Miller); she decides to go off on her own with a different contract and more than willing to also go with their mutual friend Johnny Harlow (Peter Lawford). In an effort to replace his dance partner and save face, Don finds a quick replacement Hannah Brown (Judy Garland) from his local bar. Can she fill the bill and does Don really know what he wants?

Lots (17) of great Irving Berlin songs. Lots of tap dancing.

Can't tell you of all the years I enjoyed this and similar movies. As with many things you can not go home again. Now I see the mechanics and the mismatch of characters to story. Now the film takes effort to get through. They seem to be straining to stay in formula as the story was originally designed for Gene Kelly and Cyd Charisse not much too old Fred Astaire and too young Judy Garland.

One redeeming thing about the Special edition DVD is that the voiceover commentary by Astaire's daughter gave the film meaning and made it easer to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Musical, June 20 2004
This review is from: Easter Parade (VHS Tape)
A fantastic musical. A sure-fine collectable that they couldn't ever make a remake of. This has many classic songs I once sung in choir; unforgettables such as "Stepping Out with My Baby" and more. The plot is one about a dancer who just lost his partner to another. He decides to show her how he really did turn her into a star by taking any girl--and doing just that. He picks Judy Garland, a nightclub singer, and turns her into a dancer, sure enough. She falls in love with him, but he still wants to get his old partner back. In the end, though, he realizes how in love he is with her and takes her out for the "Easter parade," singing the title song. You should see it if you love Judy's singing and Fred Astair's wonderful 5 star tap dancing! Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Movie Ever!, March 19 2004
This review is from: Easter Parade (VHS Tape)
I absolutly LOVE this movie! I watched it daily for about 2 weeks straight and still love it. I love the chemistry between Garland and Astaire, the upbeat songs and dance numbers. It had me humming the tunes all day especially "Steppin Out with my Baby" and "Easter Parade". Maybe it was because it was the first movie I had seen with Fred Astaire, but I think that this is my all time favorite movie with him in it, and I absolutly love Judy Garland. A magnificent team and it shows in the quality of the film. It is a must see for people of all ages and not just at Easter Time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Judy and Fred at their best, Nov. 25 2003
By 
This review is from: Easter Parade (VHS Tape)
I watched this film weekly, sometimes daily, when I was a kid. This is the Judy Garland I remember. I love her comic timing, I think she's genuinely funny and doesn't take herself too seriously.
My favorite, most dashing Fred Astaire is in Top Hat, but I kinda like this friendly, more asexual rapport he establishes with Judy. They look very comfortable together, like they really like each other and are having fun with their scenes. Everything runs so smoothly they make it look easy.
I always liked Ann Miller's in your face attitude, but I learned to admire her even more when I heard that while doing the "Shaking the Blues Away" number she was recovering from an accident that had resulted in a miscarriage and an injury to her back. Such courage and resilience!
It's a bit dated, but still great fun and all the musical numbers are unforgettable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Easter Parade
Easter Parade by Charles Walters (DVD - 2011)
CDN$ 9.93 CDN$ 5.00
Usually ships in 1 to 4 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews