Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars YOU FUNDAMENTALISTS MAKE ME SICK
I just got done watching my newly acquired dvd of KING OF KINGS.So I decided to go online to write a review.And like always I read other reviews as not to repeat what others have already said.To my shock and disgust I'm hit with one berating after another.READ THE NEXT SECTION LIKE A WHINEY FIRST GRADER: ("That didn't happen in the bible" "This didn't...
Published on May 15 2004

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Dated but entertaining
It is an older film but it was enjoyable non the less. A Hollywood approach to the life of Christ.
Published 15 months ago by Brian


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars YOU FUNDAMENTALISTS MAKE ME SICK, May 15 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: King of Kings (Widescreen) (DVD)
I just got done watching my newly acquired dvd of KING OF KINGS.So I decided to go online to write a review.And like always I read other reviews as not to repeat what others have already said.To my shock and disgust I'm hit with one berating after another.READ THE NEXT SECTION LIKE A WHINEY FIRST GRADER: ("That didn't happen in the bible" "This didn't happen in the bible"I'm gonna tell!) That's what you fundamentally retarded people sound like.I can care less about SO CALLED SCRIPTURAL ACCURACIES.If that's so important to you watch your lame copy of JESUS W/Brian Deacon.Wow! badly portraying word for word what's in the bible. You're absolutely right! That is the way to go. Conveying a message and emotional connection are far more important to me.All 4 gospels total approximately 200 pages (give or take the size of the print).Hardly a dent in the life of a 33 year old man.I sure am glad you stopped the movie as not ruin your childrens' thinking. They'll make great document lawyers.I'm done with likes of you. NOW I WRITE TO THE TRUE CHRISTIANS,The ones that believe with their hearts, not a KING JAMES six gun.I bought this disc about a week ago.While (Jesus of Nazareth) is my favorite and (The Greatest Story Ever Told) is a close second,this movie has an untouchable magic of it's own.Sure they spent a little too much time on Barabbas,and Robert Ryan's portrayal of John the baptist is no better than a cold reading, as if he's seen the script for the first time.Or any thing else you want to nitpik about.But the score is wonderful and so many moments will force tears from your eyes,if you only relax yourself into movie.If you contemplate getting this DVD I strongly suggest that you do.The picture is remastered nicely and the sound is very fulfilling,bonus features;not much, total less than 10 minues.Even if you have a personal recording from TCM like I do. Get the disc.It offers you an even more panoramic view not shown on Turner Classic Movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good movie, July 31 2013
By 
Diane Edwards - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: King of Kings [Blu-ray] (Sous-titres français) [Import] (Blu-ray)
Jeffrey Hunter did a great job in this movie. The story was great as was the acting. Will watch this one many more times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Dated but entertaining, Dec 29 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: King of Kings (1961) (DVD)
It is an older film but it was enjoyable non the less. A Hollywood approach to the life of Christ.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hunter is an Understated but Stirring Jesus, May 1 2002
By 
Louis Barbarelli (San Francisco, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: King of Kings (VHS Tape)
Jeffrey Hunter's good looks were a metaphorical enhancement to his portrayal, not a drawback. There is nothing wrong with representing Jesus as a beautiful man, though Hunter's piercing blue eyes and blonde hair were blasted by many critics and were a factor in keeping this film from being taken seriously. After all, a movie communicates its message visually and one look at Hunter in this role evokes perfectly the physical image of Jesus that millions of the faithful, influenced by Renaissance paintings, have formed in their minds. Though I agree that the Barrabas subplot is distracting, the film is well-paced, reverent, and moving. It is Nick Ray's "Rebel WITH a Cause."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The best one in its genre., May 21 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: King of Kings (Widescreen) (DVD)
I'm positive that a lot of people have turned back their gazes to former versions of Jesus's life and death in view of the huge acceptance of Mel Gibson's recent film. Revisiting some of the classic titles is a good exercise in hindsight. How things have changed? To the worse, to be sure.
"King of Kings" is an excellent film, one of the best epics ever -alongside the also painfully underrated "The Fall of the Roman Empire"-. The film tells the story straightforwardly, mixing in it a little of historic and political speculation. It has a good rhythm, high visual artistry, admirable sets, genuine multitudes... Of course, Jesus is the wisest and most benevolent of men, and it is but right that he be also the most handsome of all: Jeffrey Hunter at his physical best and with bizarre -but culturally right- characterization.
Miklos Rosza's score is precisely one of its major assets. I think that he hit the target when it came to produce grandiloquent but available music, apt to bring up a sense of the religious or the military, not forgetting some passages of a sweet beauty, like that one with the Wise men in Bethelem.
The film treats Jesus as an all-out hero, on the terms set by his followers: he is a superman, compassionate, able of working miracles, godlike as God's son should be. He delivers his teachings unashamedly and boldly. We are spared ridiculous moments that could issue from clinging too close to the letter of the Gospels. Nicholas Ray is clever enough to offer tactfully the blind man's recovery of sight, the lame walking again, etc
Most of the cast is ideally suited, although I find Hurd Hartfield too strained and joyless as Pilate.
The battle scenes are amazing, and so are the initial images with Pompey breaking into the Sanctum of the Temple.
Whatever your actual feelings about Christianity and Jesus be, you can go back happily to a world of certainties and security ("suspension of disbelief") with a fine work of arte like "King of Kings", very enjoyable. After all, and in the worst of cases, you'll get back your childhood's hero in style.
And praise Samuel Bronston, the producer and the man behind half a dozen of the last and best epics from the sixties. He got the money and contributed much more than that. Gen. Franco, by the way, contributed the masses, since the film was shot in Spain and the Spanish Army was put at the team's disposal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Visually interesting but terribly inaccurate, Oct. 27 2003
By 
Louis Aguinaldo "Louie Aguinaldo" (Pasig, Metro Manila Philippines) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: King of Kings (Widescreen) (DVD)
I just watched the King of Kings a few moments ago. Unfortunately I was disappointed. Visually, its re-issued version is awesome - the colors and tones are sharp and brilliant. The cinematography was superb. In terms of the production value, it is impressive. Unfortunately, it is so inaccurate in terms of details - culturally and historically. Sadly, there are so many elements that are fictional, they are not found in either scripture nor any historical sources. The large scale attack led by Barabas against the romans, Jesus' visiting of John the Baptist in Prison, are just a few of the things that have been fictionalized. Even the portrayal of the political landscape of the time is so inaccurate. The whole movie is so very theatrical in its presentation that it just lacks a sense of realism. As a movie from the 1960's it is entertaining to watch. But as a religious or biographical film it did not inspire me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CLASSIC REVERANCE FROM HOLLYWOOD!, Feb. 13 2003
This review is from: King of Kings (Widescreen) (DVD)
The 1961 classic telling of the life of our Lord and Saviour captures the pathos for all to witness and actually live within the story. The brilliant portrayal of Jeffery Hunter as Christ holds the audience spellbound and the charactor actors complement the ambiance of the rich deccor and lavish sets. When you look at this film, you cannot help but to yearn for the good old days when epics were concrete and fulfilling. The Musical soundtrack is hauntingly mesmorizing and the climactic ending of this true story stays in ones memory for weeks and months to come. This is the Greatest Story EVER told and it is one you can never forget! You must experience this movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Transfer!, April 21 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: King of Kings (Widescreen) (DVD)
Whatever Warner's is doing to make their 'classic' films pop bigger and brighter than their current releases - should definitely put Fox and ESPECIALLY Universal on notice.
This transfer is simply gorgeous. Forget about the snap cases, it's the contents that count. A beautiful film that has been given the royal treatment. This one must be added to your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars King of Kings on Bl-ray looks terrific, June 19 2011
By 
John Chandler (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: King of Kings [Blu-ray] (Sous-titres français) [Import] (Blu-ray)
Considering the age of the film this restored release is really very good. The colors are rich and vibrant and the darker scenes especially come up much better than I expected. The sound is very clear and although excellent English subtitles are provided, I, who am hard of hearing, almost did not need them. Very good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gift, Sept. 27 2010
This review is from: King of Kings (Widescreen) (DVD)
Le délai de livraison était très rapide, le produit très bien emballé. La personne à qui j'ai offert ce cadeau était vraiment très contente.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xad02db70)

This product

King of Kings [Blu-ray] (Sous-titres français) [Import]
CDN$ 22.45 CDN$ 22.28
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews