Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Great music, story and acting
Love this movie -- had been given as a gift in regular DVD but I like it so much and play it so often I bought it again in BluRay.
Published 11 months ago by L. Thieson

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Despite a weak script, the show must (and does) go on for Burlesque
A waitress (Christina Aguilera) leaves her small hometown in Iowa and heads to Los Angeles to follow her dreams of becoming a star. Upon arriving in the big city, she snags a job at a struggling nightclub (owned and run by a veteran dancer played by Cher), and sets her sights on landing a part in the clubs racy stage show.

Burlesque features some great singing...
Published 17 months ago by Jamie MacDougall


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Fun and Campy, Dec 4 2013
By 
Brent Josef (Thunder Bay, ON) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Burlesque (Bilingual) [Blu-ray + DVD] (Blu-ray)
When all is said and done - Burlesque is a fun and campy movie - plain and simple. Those who recognize that before they hit the play button before they start watching should be able to enjoy the film for all that it is!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great music, story and acting, May 13 2013
By 
L. Thieson "Zimm" (Edmonton, Alberta, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Burlesque (Bilingual) [Blu-ray + DVD] (Blu-ray)
Love this movie -- had been given as a gift in regular DVD but I like it so much and play it so often I bought it again in BluRay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good movie!, Feb. 1 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Burlesque (Bilingual) [Blu-ray + DVD] (Blu-ray)
Cher.... Oscar worthy! Christina Agulera.... Amazing!
I love musicals!
A worthy addition to anyone's collection. And for those who need a little culture in their life, this can help with that as they perform many old tunes... Love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Despite a weak script, the show must (and does) go on for Burlesque, Nov. 4 2012
By 
Jamie MacDougall "Film/TV Addict" (Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Burlesque (Bilingual) [Blu-ray + DVD] (Blu-ray)
A waitress (Christina Aguilera) leaves her small hometown in Iowa and heads to Los Angeles to follow her dreams of becoming a star. Upon arriving in the big city, she snags a job at a struggling nightclub (owned and run by a veteran dancer played by Cher), and sets her sights on landing a part in the clubs racy stage show.

Burlesque features some great singing and sexy dance numbers and successfully captures the dark neon lit nightclub atmosphere quite well. Cher and Aguilera both turn in fine performances, as does the supporting cast, which includes Stanley Tucci, Peter Gallagher, Kristen Bell, Eric Dane and Alan Cumming.

Unfortunately, the same thing cannot be said about the predictable and at times boring script, which is essentially just a retelling of dozens of other tired musical films. It sometimes feels like a bland version of ‘Showgirls’ mixed with ‘Coyote Ugly’ with a dash of ‘All About Eve’ thrown in. Lackluster dialogue and lazy writing causes the movie to be unable to find an energy or spirit of its own. It’s simplistic plotting also leads the whole experience to feel drawn out and a bit overlong. Again this is not the fault of the talented cast, but the just plain lousy screenplay.

With all of that being said, there are still some standout scenes and show-stopping stage performances. Divas Cher and Aguilera’s powerful voices are worth the price of a rental alone. The soundtrack is also very strong and includes a touching solo by Cher that may possibly mirror real life.

Burlesque offers up both solid video & audio quality and a collection of extras that includes: an audio commentary by writer/director Steven Antin, an alternate opening (7 min), five mini-featurettes (totaling about 35 min), Burlesque Jukebox feature, and a short blooper reel (5 min).

With strong stage numbers, a decent collection of extras, and good performances by Cher and Christina, Burlesque is at least worth a rental. And even though the story fails to offer up anything new or original, fans of the two leads (and musicals in general), may want to add this one to their collections permanently.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Burlesque Blue Ray, March 26 2011
This review is from: Burlesque (Bilingual) [Blu-ray + DVD] (Blu-ray)
It was an amazing movie when we saw it at the theatre and the blue ray is excellent. Both my husband and I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fun Musical Ride, March 25 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Burlesque (Bilingual) [Blu-ray + DVD] (Blu-ray)
A definite popcorn movie. From the moment the film starts you get the feeling that it doesn't take itself seriously. Antin doesn't strive for a groundbreaking musical achievement, instead he pays tribute to all the great musicals before it. Aguilera once again confirms why she is quite often referred to as the "Voice of a Generation". ...and guess what? She can act too! Definitely check it out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Movie - Best Entertainers, March 19 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Burlesque (Bilingual) [Blu-ray + DVD] (Blu-ray)
Can I ever say enough that Amazon ROCKS?! I had pre-ordered this Blu-ray and when it became available, it arrived within a couple of days - fast, efficient, easy check-out, incredible service! Now, the movie - I LOVE this movie - Cher is amazing, a real shining star, Christina is not only stunningly beautiful, but has an incredibly amazing voice. The music in this movie rocks! The burlesque scenes are tastefully performed, and the movie had a good story line from beginning to end. This is a movie I would watch repeatedly, which is why I purchased it. It's the kind of movie that makes a girl want to learn burlesque! Did I say I LOVED it?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Burlesque is great entertainment!, Feb. 23 2011
By 
D. Landry (Ottawa) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Burlesque (Bilingual) [Blu-ray + DVD] (Blu-ray)
This is a great musical movie with the perfect cast members. Christina Aguilera is a very good actrice/entertainer in this movie and Cher still has what it takes after all these years! I was extremely impressed with the superb costumes and excellent performance of each cast members. Burlesque is a fun, daring, and sexy treat from the beginning to the end. Loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb3e106d8)

This product

Burlesque (Bilingual) [Blu-ray + DVD]
Burlesque (Bilingual) [Blu-ray + DVD] by Steve Antin (Blu-ray - 2011)
CDN$ 19.99 CDN$ 11.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews