countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more vpcflyout Pets All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports Tools

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
780
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon January 18, 2015
This is a must have collection for any LOTR aficionado. They have an excellent Bluray quality (video and sound) rendition of the films. The extras (DVD quality) are plentiful and interesting to follow.

I personally don't mind the fact that each part of the trilogy is split in 2 discs, as they each are long enough to require a bathroom/snack break in between.

The one thing I really dislike about this particular package is the amount of previews (a.k.a. garbage) at the beginning of each part. And the fact that there is no way to jump from there to the main disc menu (only by means of pushing the skip scene button many times). I can accept previews and other uninteresting material in rental discs, but not in a movie collection set like this one. A huge disappointment for this reason.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VIDEO:

The Fellowship Of The Ring (Extended Edition)(blu ray):

The AVC/1080p picture is housed on two BD-50 discs (Part 1: 105 minutes; Part 2: 123 minutes). I personally appreciate what Warner Brothers/New Line is doing, in order to minimize compression defects. Changing disc also gives people a chance to visit the washroom. The previous theatrical versions were mired in controversy due to the digital noise reduction (DNR) used on Fellowship of the Ring. The video has been completely remastered from the film's 2K digital files, and the result is a vast improvement in details: beards never get blurry, not once, and facial features remain pure. Blacks are inky. The new controversy is the greenish tinge, because the colour timing was redone. Thus, the picture looked different from the original DVD version. But according to the studio, this colour timing was approved by Peter Jackson and cinematographer Andrew Lesnie. Overall, the picture was very pleasing. But don't be surprised when future prequels (The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey, due in theatre December 2012, and The Hobbit: There And Back Again, due in theatre December 2013) are out that the studios may triple dip with another "newly remastered" version of the film. (4/5)

The Two Towers (Extended Edition)(blu ray):

The AVC/1080p picture is housed on two BD-50 discs (Part 1: 107 minutes; Part 2: 129 minutes). The presentation was magnificent, with great details and strong black levels. Contrast is excellent. (5/5)

The Return Of The King (Extended Edition)(blu ray):

The AVC/1080p picture is housed on two BD-50 discs (Part 1: 128 minutes; Part 2: 135 minutes). Fine detail is abundant, with lovely contrast and accurate color. The image is delicately textured and highly dimensional. The sweeping shot as King Théoden and his Rohirrim charge the advancing line of Mûmakil on the fields of Pelennor looks almost three-dimensional. (5/5)

AUDIO:

The audio in all three films is in DTS-HD MA 6.1. In one word: perfect!! All three tracks are nothing short of splendid, with pitch perfect dynamics, wonderful directionality, constant and appropriate localization effects, superb clarity, impeccable prioritization, wonderful volume spikes, and plenty of down and dirty bass to keep the entire experience engaging, no matter how thoroughly worn out you are by the length of the material. The soundstage is constantly filled, putting you in the middle of the experience throughout the entire affair. This trilogy, with three powerful DTS-HD Master Audio 6.1 mixes, is one reason why this release may rule them all. (5+/5)

There are a total of 15 discs with extensive supplements. This extended blu ray edition will provide many hours of enjoyment for the whole family for years to come: like a Lord Of The Rings marathon during a long weekend. Although it is not perfect, it is still considered the ultimate, definitive Lord Of The Rings for now. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 142 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 24, 2016
I love the visuals and the Blu Ray presentation does not disappoint! The sheer tonnage of extras can take longer to watch than the extended movies themselves, a wonderful treat for people who like to see all the ins and outs of movie making behind the scenes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 24, 2011
Just a quick note that i took the risk to order this canadian boxset (zone A) for use here in Belgium (zone B players) as i had read here & there that normally these blurays could also be played on european players. Got it delivered within 4 days (so-called 'slow' delivery, fantastic !) and tried it immediately: i can confirm it's also zone B.
Packaging is slightly different to european (french) version, box is narrower (good news too for gain of space in your collection) but french subs are there and for those who wonder about french language it's proper french too, not canadian dubbing.
So: all's fine, great !

PS I've only given it a 4-star because there are those logos & presentations you can't skip at every new vision.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 19, 2016
I purchased this as a gift and discovered that the very anticipated "The Mouth of Sauron" scene does not play - in effect, the box set is defective. This was only discovered after the 30 day return policy expired - so, when you purchase this box set, please check the third movie - starting at chapter 62 and make sure your copy is not defective. If I could have caught this before the return policy expired I would be completely satisfied with my purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 1, 2011
Great Blu-Ray Set. Excellent video quality and packaging all around. My only issue is the ridiculous amount of previews before the first menu. I'm sorry, I think when you pay for a physical media you shouldn't be subjected to movies you don't care about...
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 29, 2012
Just to say, there are both english AND FRENCH audio option!

Pour les francophones, il y a la version anglaise ET la version française dans ce coffret blu-ray! :)
0Comment| 106 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 18, 2011
The video quality of these 3 movies is amazing. Even on a large projection screen, the detail of the images and the colors far surpass the DVD versions. The extended editions content definitely adds to the understanding of the story. I don't always replace DVD's with Bluray's because with up-conversion they don't necessarily look that much better, but in this case I couldn't be happier. We will watch these again and again.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 28, 2007
As much as I love Star Wars, this is definitely the best trilogy ever made.

Do I really need to say everything you probably read or heard somewhere already? Yes, all three films are equally great. They were all shot together after all.

Fellowship of the Ring is about as strong an opening chapter as

you could ask for. Two Towers makes you forget it's just a middle chapter

because it's just as brilliant and... Return of the King sets a new standard for the finale of an epic trilogy.

As if owning the best trilogy ever made wasn't enough, these extended editions are superior to the original theatrical versions. They make the films feel more complete. Oh yeah and all those extras are so detailed you'll want to check out everything though you probably will never find the time to do so. Basically, this set may look expensive but it's worth every

dollar.

By the way, if you love the movies, I highly recommend the books. They're

absolutely wonderful as well and I'm not a big reader.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 3, 2016
Excellent, like adding a fourth movie to the series, loved more background, sub character roles filled in...brilliant use of cutting floor material...seamless additions and remaking the entire soundtrack to accommodate the additional footage...brilliant
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse