Customer Reviews


558 Reviews
5 star:
 (377)
4 star:
 (50)
3 star:
 (21)
2 star:
 (18)
1 star:
 (92)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


112 of 116 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Lord Of The Rings Trilogy: Extended Edition (blu ray)...another prized possession, almost perfect
VIDEO:

The Fellowship Of The Ring (Extended Edition)(blu ray):

The AVC/1080p picture is housed on two BD-50 discs (Part 1: 105 minutes; Part 2: 123 minutes). I personally appreciate what Warner Brothers/New Line is doing, in order to minimize compression defects. Changing disc also gives people a chance to visit the washroom. The previous theatrical...
Published on July 1 2011 by Dr. Joseph Lee

versus
332 of 381 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This does not contain the Extended Versions of the films!
Be warned that this BD release is the original theatrical versions of the film, not the extended editions! The studio pulled exactly the same stunt for the DVD releases of the LOTR trilogy and declined to release both the theatrical and extended versions of the film at the same time to provide fans with a choice. This can only be viewed as attempt to sell the movie...
Published on Feb. 7 2010 by Watchmann


‹ Previous | 116 17 1856 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2.0 out of 5 stars Expired digital copy, Jan. 27 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The digital copy was expired and there was information that it was expired so I have a expired digital copy extra money no reason pretty mad
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not obsessed with the series, so does the job for me!, Jan. 27 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I've not devoted my life to the fantasy of Lord of the Rings, so don't really care about additional wealth of background and lore that seems to draw the aficionados of the genre... I just wanted to watch the movie series and this was an excellent price for the set. While I have a Blu-Ray player, this DVD set was also quite acceptable for my 32" set. I do have an excellent surround sound set-up, and the 5.1 channel sound on this set fills the room with an impressive background that pulls you into the experience. There is additional bonus material on one of the DVD's--- I may look at that, I may not bother. Excellent price. Good movie experience. Good purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing view into LOTR, Jan. 27 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The Motion Picture Trilogy - Extended Edition [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
This trilogy gives you 5 discs into each of the epic LOTR movies. Each movie has extended scenes, commentaries from cast/production team/peter jackson & writers, behind the scenes, and very cool transforming the book into a movie.
If you're an LOTR fan like me, watching this trilogy in DVD was not good enough. Although all the special feature discs are in DVD, the films are on Blu-Ray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LOTR Trilogy, extended edition blu-rays, Jan. 25 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The Motion Picture Trilogy - Extended Edition [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
Recommended for anyone who enjoys the Lord of the Rings trilogy; the extended version adds more character development and depth to the already intricate story written by JRR Tolkein. A magnificent extension to all three films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best GIft Ever, Jan. 24 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The Motion Picture Trilogy - Extended Edition [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
I love it all the extra contet a fan can wish for.

All movies are around four hours long and include a tonn of extras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Parfait, Jan. 24 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The Motion Picture Trilogy - Extended Edition [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
La trilogie du seigneur des anneaux à toujours été mes films préférés,et maintenant encore plus grâce a la perfection du 1080P,excellent achat!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gift, Jan. 23 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The Motion Picture Trilogy - Extended Edition [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
I bought it as a christmas present and it met all the expectations , was a great and precious gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Très bon, Jan. 22 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The Motion Picture Trilogy - Extended Edition [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
Les versions longues ajoutent vraiment des scènes intéressantes à une trilogie qui est déjà parmi les meilleures de l'histoire !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Golden Standard for Modern Use of the Word "Epic", Jan. 18 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The Motion Picture Trilogy - Extended Edition [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
It doesn't need to be said for the umpteenth time how great this series is. My only complaint about the Extended Edition is that it really is too long and cumbersome. I say that as a film lover, and more importantly, as a devout Tolkien admirer. I am a fellow academic, a lover of language, and the themes and motifs of these stories resonate as deeply with me as they do with anyone. Many of the added scenes are a fascinating treat to watch if you're someone who loves Tolkien's lore, and I'm glad I've seen them.

Unfortunately, there are also too many additions that offer too little substance to warrant including. I'm thinking of the scene where Merry and Pippin drink the enchanted water in Fangorn Forest and it makes them grow, or the part in the caverns beneath the Dwimorberg where Gimli spends a long time trying frantically to blow away the wispy spirits. The former gives the forest and the Ents a bit more depth, showcasing more magical qualities of that realm, and also that not all tree-like things are as benevolent as Treebeard, but none of this is significant to the overall story, nor is it a rich and compelling footnote. It's just fluff. And the latter scene involving Gimli is meant to be comic relief, but it just isn't funny, and goes on for far too long.

Additions like these, and even better additions like the extended Lothlorien sequence, make the movies too immense and unwieldy. The three films are split into six discs, which you can choose to think of as six ~2 hour movies. The trouble is, looking at them that way, the first halves don't reach satisfying, logical endings, so you feel compelled to keep watching, but then regret it afterward. The theatrical versions are tighter, more cohesive, (yes, even though we don't see most of the Fellowship get their gifts from the elves,) and probably a better choice if you're wanting to gift your grandparents, for example, with the majesty of these films.

Having said all that, I still have to give the product 5 stars because it's The Lord of the Rings, and overall, still incredible. The blu-ray version is so crisp and lush that you'll find yourself wanting to pause so you can look at the way someone's hair looks in the sunlight. It is more than worth the extra cost over DVD. The hours of extra features are entertaining for anyone and informative for those people interested in working in film or television production.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars The Product Description is misleading, Jan. 17 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I am going to say what's been said before. My criticism is not directed at the movie itself, because it is fantastic. What I find the problem is, is that the description promises all these extra features and footage, but the actual product I received is a shell of what we saw years ago in the movie theatre. I say "shell" because not only does it not provide these extra features, the quality of the movie is actually reduced. I was also promised 12 dvds, but I only received 3. This is utter deception and leaves a stain on the reputation of Amazon. I hope that Amazon updates this product's description as it promises much more than it delivers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 116 17 1856 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lord of the Rings: The Motion Picture Trilogy - Extended Edition [Blu-ray] (Bilingual)
CDN$ 76.99 CDN$ 52.35
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews