Customer Reviews


614 Reviews
5 star:
 (419)
4 star:
 (57)
3 star:
 (25)
2 star:
 (18)
1 star:
 (95)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


116 of 121 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Lord Of The Rings Trilogy: Extended Edition (blu ray)...another prized possession, almost perfect
VIDEO:

The Fellowship Of The Ring (Extended Edition)(blu ray):

The AVC/1080p picture is housed on two BD-50 discs (Part 1: 105 minutes; Part 2: 123 minutes). I personally appreciate what Warner Brothers/New Line is doing, in order to minimize compression defects. Changing disc also gives people a chance to visit the washroom. The previous theatrical...
Published on July 1 2011 by Dr. Joseph Lee

versus
336 of 386 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This does not contain the Extended Versions of the films!
Be warned that this BD release is the original theatrical versions of the film, not the extended editions! The studio pulled exactly the same stunt for the DVD releases of the LOTR trilogy and declined to release both the theatrical and extended versions of the film at the same time to provide fans with a choice. This can only be viewed as attempt to sell the movie...
Published on Feb. 7 2010 by Watchmann


‹ Previous | 116 17 1862 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING SERVICE, Jan. 21 2014
By 
Superstyler (North Vancouver B.C.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The Motion Picture Trilogy - Extended Edition [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
There really isnt anything to say about The Lord of the Rings other than I love it and am happy to at last have the full version However, originally the package arrived with a faulty disc. I advised Amazon yesterday and the new set arrived this morning. I just love amazing service more than anything, THANK YOU, THANK YOU THANK YOU AMAZON.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good basic set, Jan. 13 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The Motion Picture Trilogy - Extended Edition [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
Pretty basic set but it gets the job done. Doesn't come with any bonus content just the movies in plain blurry boxes. Would have liked to see some maps included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Purchase, Great Value, Jan. 12 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The Motion Picture Trilogy - Extended Edition [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
Sure, the HD picture quality is not up to that of the Hobbit. These are 10-13 year old films. Still, picture and sound quality is better than regular DVD. It was also fantastic to watch the extras in the Appendices at a much higher resolution. This was the most pleasing part of my purchase. The extra DVDs of random behind the scenes stuff (non Appendices) were obviously filmed on a lower quality camera but are better than nothing. I also really like the new case covers. I had reservations at first, but now I think they're rather classy. Oh, and a super great price too here on Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great movie set, Jan. 9 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great movies of course, extras aren't that extraordinary. I wish I'd bought a cheaper set without the extra dvds - just the movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great value for a great trilogy, Jan. 8 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The Motion Picture Trilogy - Extended Edition [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
All 3 movies in HD glory packed with plenty of bonus content and commentary. You get all this inside of a neatly packaged box. Doesn't take up much space. Looks great on the shelf! No cons to add. You know what you're getting with this purcahse. The quality is absolutely great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The full Lord Of The Rings Experience, Jan. 8 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The Motion Picture Trilogy - Extended Edition [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
This is the way the LoTR movie experience was meant to be seen. This is the extended version, so each movie is well over 3 hours. The quality is excellent of course. There are also a ton of extra features that give you all you could ever need to fill your desire to know everything about the movie, how it was made, and a lot on the Tolkien universe.

If you are a Tolkien fan, this is a must add to your library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazingly well done films!, Jan. 7 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The Motion Picture Trilogy - Extended Edition [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
Had never watched these films until recently purchasing this trilogy. The films are highly entertaining. The different lands in the movie are stunning. The plot is captivating, gripping, thrilling, even humorous at times. The characters are well established and actors were dynamic. Amazing! There are hours and hours of great entertainment in these videos. Be prepared that they are highly addicting! Once you start you will need to watch the rest which takes up lots of free time. Very much enjoyed them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome movie!, Jan. 7 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The Motion Picture Trilogy - Extended Edition [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
I love this movie, and I especially love the extended edition. Some people have complained that the extended editions make the movies too long, but I disagree. They are long books, and it is nice to see more of the stuff that was cut out of the theater releases added in. Not to mention that the extra footage is fully edited into the films, as opposed to being stuffed in as extras you have to access from a menu.

And of course, seeing in in Blu-Ray high def makes it that much more visually specatular
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars not for me, Jan. 5 2014
By 
George Jones - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
My husband wanted to watch The Lord of the Rings, so I bought it for him for Christmas. I'd heard about it from others who really enjoyed this series and found the symbolism fascinating. I decided to watch it with my husband, but the movie had barely begun when I realised that it's far too violent for me. Perhaps it's because I have a vivid imagination and knew that the images would stay with me for a long time. My husband, on the other hand, thought it was great. I'm probably among the few who are content with not watching this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing feeling just owning them all in such great quality!, Jan. 4 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The Motion Picture Trilogy - Extended Edition [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
Definitely a satisfying purchase. It's really nice owning all these amazing movies, full extended editions, in BLU-RAY. I've wasted a tremendous number of hours watching and re-watching them already. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 116 17 1862 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lord of the Rings: The Motion Picture Trilogy - Extended Edition [Blu-ray] (Bilingual)
CDN$ 76.99 CDN$ 38.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews