Customer Reviews


587 Reviews
5 star:
 (400)
4 star:
 (53)
3 star:
 (23)
2 star:
 (18)
1 star:
 (93)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


113 of 118 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Lord Of The Rings Trilogy: Extended Edition (blu ray)...another prized possession, almost perfect
VIDEO:

The Fellowship Of The Ring (Extended Edition)(blu ray):

The AVC/1080p picture is housed on two BD-50 discs (Part 1: 105 minutes; Part 2: 123 minutes). I personally appreciate what Warner Brothers/New Line is doing, in order to minimize compression defects. Changing disc also gives people a chance to visit the washroom. The previous theatrical...
Published on July 1 2011 by Dr. Joseph Lee

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bought it BEFORE knowing Extended Scenes NOT INCLUDED!!
I purchased this set without knowing it didn't have the extended editions! It didn't even dawn on me that they would release a blu-ray set that didn't include the extra scenes. I literally just watched FOTR and was wondering where the extra content was. I checked the menu to see if there was an option to enable them (of course found nothing). Then I had a look at the...
Published on May 9 2010 by Rand Maclin


‹ Previous | 1 2 359 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Extremely dissapointing!, March 17 2010
I completely agree with the other '1 star' posts - don't buy this. Wait for the Extended Edition. This is a blatant attempt to mislead consumers. It's one thing to release both versions at different times just after the movies have gone through the theatres. But to try this as part of a format change when both versions have been out on DVD for years shows complete disregard for consumers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I guess the Money factor outweighs the pre-rewiews to this ripoff., March 6 2010
By 
Peter Browne (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Despite the Negative publicity over the Studio releasing a STANDARD version of the LOR in Blu-ray instead of the Extended Version, some greedy little whanabe has decided `Why Not give it a Go, after all, there's money to be made!' Hope it goes down in flames, and to get rid of the excess inventory, they have to sell off the STANDARD Blu-ray version at $9.95!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Make this special extended edition trilogy,your own "precious"!, Dec 28 2008
By 
Robert Badgley (St Thomas,Ontario,Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is another of my retro reviews on products that have been out for awhile but I have never written on.I am happy to be writing this one as, so far as DVD box sets go, there are very few past and present that can come up to the standards set by this special platinum series extended edition of the Lord of The Rings Trilogy of movies.
The discs themselves sit in trays in a fold out folder,that extend two folds per side.Each movie has four discs to each pack.The first two discs are for the movies themselves and the second two are for the special features.There are hours upon hours of special features in these packs,many of which are new.You learn everything from the smallest detail from the production of the movie,to the special effects to interviews with cast and crew.Just a phenomenol range of information.
The first film "Fellowship of the Ring" contains 30 extra minutes of footage to extend it to a running time of roughly 208 minutes.The second film"The Two Towers" contains 43 minutes of extra footage which extends its' running time to about 223 minutes.And the third film"Return of the King" has an extra 50 minutes worth of footage which extends its' run to about 250 minutes.
It is easy at first glance to think that the extra time/footage is just culled from deleted scenes and/or other extraneous footage left out in the original theatrical versions.Director Jacksons' approach,so we are told,was to reconstruct the films as if there was no original version and without time constraints.The end result are these wonderful films.It might also be tempting to think that extra footage will equal extra boring.Surprisingly but happily I must say such is not the case and in fact had there been more footage I would have been glad of it.It is a credit to director Jackson and crew that reassembled these new versions that they never strayed from Tolkiens' books and/or their own original thrusts from the first pictures,but instead expanded and fleshed out many back stories,characters,plots and sub plots that take these films to a whole new level.The extra footage and the fleshing out they give us along with the ingenious re-editing here and there of scenes is a plus and NEVER a minus throughout all of the new versions.Along with the new footage comes a new orchestral score and both are integrated seamlessly throughout.
In conclusion I cannot recommend this set enough to all lovers of Tolkien,fantasy and for all of the fans of these films.Each extended film takes itself and the entire series to an entirely new level of creativity from Peter Jackson and his crew and to a higher and better level of understanding for us,the audience.Therefore the impact of each film is just that much greater and more rewarding.A magnificient achievement off screen and off and a credit and standard for good filmmaking everywhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Third "re-purchase" as Blu-Ray, from existing DVD version, July 5 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The Motion Picture Trilogy - Extended Edition [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
If you have the DVD version I wouldn't recommend purchasing this box set as there is little benefit. Even with a high end 5.1 HD sound system and picture, I found the difference from the DVD to be less intensive compared to other such examples I have "re-purchased" as Blu-Ray while already having the DVD version (i.e. Serenity, JFK, Underworld)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Low Quality, Cash-grab Release, April 7 2010
By 
By now, everyone is aware that this release of The Lord of The Rings Trilogy contains only the theatrical versions of the movies. That, in and of itself, might be disappointing to those who prefer the Extended Editions, but it is no reason to pan this release. No, the real reason to pan this release is because of the low quality of the video transfer, the complete lack of ANY high definition special features and the utter disdain that has been shown towards the fans of this great trilogy.

Let's put aside the fact that Blu-ray makes it easy to include both the theatrical and extended versions on a single disc using seemless branching. Let's put aside the fact that fans would gladly pay a little extra to have the full compliment of special features in high definition. Let's put aside the obvious cash-grab mentality of this sub par release that is sure to see a "double dip" with the release of the Extended Editions right around the time that The Hobbit hits theatres. Let's set ALL of that aside and focus only on the quality of this particular release:

The video quality sucks!

Rather than give us a pristine, high definition version of the movies, what we have here is a horribly edge-enhanced, film-grain-removed travesty of a video transfer. The picture is soft; not because of the age of the film, but because the video transfer engineers have decided to remove all of the original film grain and thus, completely soften the image. In a failed attempt to make the image look sharper again, they have resorted to disgusting amounts of edge-enhancement that make these movies look like an amateur production that was thrown together on some kid's Mac.

This is a horrible, horrible release. It is completely undeserving of your money. And, in all honesty, if you buy this rubbish, you are only encouraging studios to release sub-par, cash-grab versions of your favourite films!

Do not let the studios get away with this crap! Demand better. And show them, by NOT buying the trash, that you demand better and will not be tricked into wasting your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


68 of 79 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Get WB's attention - you're rating the release not the movie, March 18 2010
So I too rate this greatest movie trilogy of all time a 1 star in this product release.
We are rating the product here - not the movie.
I too have been waiting to buy this for, what is it - 2 or 3yrs and now I am being asked to waste my hard earned cash by buying this twice??
This is consumer viral marketing at its best - the only way your dissaude the behemoths from this type of behavior is hitting them where it hurts - in the revenues.
Realize that someone in the marketing team is following this alright thread - and taking note.
Hear the sound of 1 star marching
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


80 of 93 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Double Dipping, Feb. 8 2010
By 
Its one thing to double dip by re-releasing on a differnt format but to hold off on the extended editions again?? after they are alread available anyways? No way waste of money especially with this hype about bluray's having soo much capacity yet they release everything with less features then a dvd ? come on. Lord of The rings is awesome but this set is a waste of money wait for the extended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Do Not Support Studio Greed, March 27 2010
By 
Fulvio (Montreal, Canada) - See all my reviews
Please boycott this release and do not buy. This double-dipping by studios has got to stop and it will only stop if people talk with their wallets.

WAIT FOR THE EXTENDED EDITIONS LATER THIS YEAR AND DO NOT SUPPORT STUDIO GREED.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


79 of 92 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Reviews are getting mixed up?, March 18 2011
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The Motion Picture Trilogy - Extended Edition [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
So many reviews here are people complaining about the set they purchased not being shipped. However, these reviews are all for the DVD set, not the Blu-ray. So why on Earth is Amazon listing all those reviews on the Blu-ray product's page? It's bound to get confusing for customers. I know I was wondering what these people were talking about at first until I saw another review clarifying the others were referring to the DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not the Extended Edition? Not BUYING!, March 13 2010
By 
M. Fazeli - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I share the sentiment of other reviewers here. This is not an extended edition copy, so why should I pay the studio twice to get the film I actually want? This feels like a cash grab and doesn't serve the fan base.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 359 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lord of the Rings: The Motion Picture Trilogy - Extended Edition [Blu-ray] (Bilingual)
CDN$ 76.99 CDN$ 52.35
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews