biss boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage vpcflyout Furniture All-New Kindle Paperwhite Own the 2016 GRAMMY Nominee Album featuring the Biggest Hits from Music's Biggest Night Exercice Tools ca_ty_gno

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars737
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 4, 2011
With so many (deserved) critical accolades heaped on this franchise the question is not 'is this set any good?' it's 'is it worth it?' The answer is, unequivocally, YES. I could rave about the new transfer along with everyone else (it's great) but, in practical terms, the films look much better. Upconverting was never a friend to the DVD releases, seeming to bring out the flaws as much as the detail. The Blu-Rays resolve that problem and (for the most part) make these films look like the visual masterpieces they were in the theatre.

All of the 'Appendices' of the DVD release are here, along with the Costa Botes 'Making of'' documentaries that were previously only available in the limited edition DVD sets. Grittier than the other extras, these feature-length documentaries offer a different perspective on the films and are a nice treat for the LotR fan who thinks they've seen everything.

Masterful as this set is, there are a few things people may quibble over. The films are each spread over two Blu-Rays, a necessary concession for the quality of the transfer but some people might find it annoying. The features are all presented in SD, though I personally don't think remastering them would've added much value. Finally, there's the infamous 'green tint' some people note on Fellowship; I can't see it, even when I look for it, but some people might feel differently.

Rumours persist about some mythical 'Extended-Extended Edition' of the films, containing even more deleted scenes and extras that have never seen the light of day. Personally, I call shenanigans on such talk but, even if you believe it, such a boxed won't see the light of day until well after The Hobbit Extended Editions have been released (2015 or later). Given that fact, there's no reason for a Lord of the Rings fan not to pick this set up.
0Comment19 of 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 19, 2005
This 12 disc set is amazing. 2 discs each for the 3 movies, and 2 discs each for preproduction/production/post production information.
I used to think buying movies with special features (i.e., movie in the making peeks) was just a waste of money, but being a LOR fan I just had to have the extended edition set, and, Lo and Behold! ..I had as much fun watching the special features and it made me appreciate the movie more. My husband wasn't much into LOR (he isn't a 'reader'), but now he's a fan as well. We found everything else on TV boring after watching it when we got it for Christmas.
Plus, you can watch the movie 4 times more with different audio commentaries from cast and crew. It was worth it!
0Comment31 of 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 8, 2010
Its one thing to double dip by re-releasing on a differnt format but to hold off on the extended editions again?? after they are alread available anyways? No way waste of money especially with this hype about bluray's having soo much capacity yet they release everything with less features then a dvd ? come on. Lord of The rings is awesome but this set is a waste of money wait for the extended.
0Comment81 of 95 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 18, 2010
So I too rate this greatest movie trilogy of all time a 1 star in this product release.
We are rating the product here - not the movie.
I too have been waiting to buy this for, what is it - 2 or 3yrs and now I am being asked to waste my hard earned cash by buying this twice??
This is consumer viral marketing at its best - the only way your dissaude the behemoths from this type of behavior is hitting them where it hurts - in the revenues.
Realize that someone in the marketing team is following this alright thread - and taking note.
Hear the sound of 1 star marching
0Comment68 of 80 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 20, 2011
There are a lot of bad reviews of this item due to the fact that they are the original theatrical releases and not the extended versions. The fact of the matter is that these are excellent films as they are. The blu-ray versions of these movies have great picture quality; when you see the Witch King on his fell beast you'll be amazed!

Unless you have your heart set on owning the extended versions on blu-ray, I'd recommend buying this set.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 23, 2015
Sadly I am one of the few who thinks Peter Jackson is a complete tool. This idiot pursued his own vision of what he thought the Lord of the Rings should be instead of creating a faithful adaptation of J.R.R. Tolkien's masterpiece. No Tom Bombadil for God sakes! Because of the big budget we'll be at least 30 years before anyone thinks to make a true movie. Too bad Christopher Tolkien is a sell out that cares more about a fast buck than preserving his father's legacy.

The movies tarnish the nobility of both Aragorn and Faramir. Aragorn NEVER wavers in is love for Arwen, and Faramir NEVER tries to take Frodo back. Then Dr. Claw from Inspector Gadget cartoons shows up as the chief orc in Return of the King making Sauron's army look comically stupid. The only masterful character is Gollum, kudos to Andy Serkis and the team behind Gollum. Gimli and Frodo are horribly done. These actors especially sucked in portraying their character. Legolas was also done well. I could go on for pages pointing out things not done in a way that would make the series truly awesome.

That being said, 90% of why this series is bad is PETER JACKSON. His perversion of the Tolkien vision has ruined this saga for an entire generation. Now he's done the same with the Hobbit.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 1, 2009
the box set came in perfect condition within 5 days of ordering, which is great speedy delivery considering im an international customer residing in Singapore thru standard shipping. im in love with the box set, everything about it is excellent - from the movie to the extras. Only thing that stopped it from becoming a perfect buy was the missing pamphlet in the two towers set, but no big loss there since it merely states what're the contents inside the discs.

the extras in this set is worth mentioning, as the director in charge of it made sure it did not feel like the additonal featurettes were simply added on for the sake of it. these extras actually complement the trilogy extremely well. try watching the appendices from the 1st disc to the last, it'll make you feel as though the making of LOTR is a lot like the movie itself, from the beginning where the cast and crew all came together to form a fellowship, to the end of an era when they all had to part after years of working and living together. the reunion of the cast and crew for the 2004 oscars is reminiscent of the good times they had, and a poignant reminder of the fact that they have all gone on separate paths now.

it's epic and monumental, and considering that it only could so because of the sheer brilliance of the source material, it's sad that something of this scale will probably never be achieved ever again.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 5, 2011
I've been waiting for this since the extended editions first came out on DVD. I held off on getting a DVD set or the Blu-Ray Theatrical editions because I knew this would be the definitive set to get. Needless to say I'm a bit disappointed. Don't get me wrong, it's not BAD per se; it just could have been better.

It's great that FOTR got a new transfer for this release (compared to the theatrical editions), but in getting that new transfer the infamous green tint issue popped up. I know some people say that it's supposed to be like this because Peter Jackson said that the new transfer looks really good and how he intended for it to look - but he said that at the time that the transfer went out for an HDTV broadcast. That statement was made well before this Blu-Ray set came out, so he couldn't have seen what they did to the Blu-Ray. If you compare screenshots with the DVD versions, you can see that the colours are pretty off in this tinted version, especially inside the Hobbit dwellings where it causes everything to appear unnaturally yellow and other colours to be dulled out. The colours on the DVD version are much more vibrant. The detail on the BR version is much better, sure, but the colours really mar what could have been a great release. The colour shift back to "normal" is noticeable when you go from the first movie to the second.

Secondly, one could say that it's really cool that this set includes so many discs of extras, but that actually shows the relative laziness of the studio, because the extras come on DVD discs and unnecessarily bulk up the set. Even if the extras are in SD, we're buying a Blu-Ray set so they could have fit those 9 DVDs of extras onto one or two Blu-Ray discs and saved some space and plastic. It's great to have so many extras, just not great to keep having to switch discs in and out when the technology is there not to have to do so.

Lastly, the Canadian version is an Alliance release and has forced trailers that the American version doesn't have.

All in all, I don't regret buying this set and it's be best available version of the LOTR trilogy, but it's not the definitive set that the fans could have had. It's unlikely the studios are going to do anything about it though, since plenty of people still bought it and lined the execs' pockets with their hard earned cash, so we'll just have to live with it for now.
0Comment16 of 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 24, 2010
As a lover of fantasy since childhood, I first read the Lord of the Rings novels in 1968, and many times since. Tolkien's Lord of the Rings, though derived from Norse, Icelandic, and Anglo-Saxon legends/sagas, is the basis for the current popular literature of fantasy. The first set of movies set in New Zealand were marvelous. But there were several things missing. The Two Towers was disjointed. The section with the Ents was a bit short. The Return of the King underplayed the secondary romance with Faramir and the Rohan princess. This extended series sets it right. (Most of it. I do miss Tom Bombadill.)

The extended Lord of the Rings is truly astounding. This is and will be for a long time, the definitive movie of a definitive novel, the underpinning of all modern fantasy.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 8, 2015
Well the box set I got is not the same as the picture shown. It is the extended edition and it comes with 15 discs which is great and they are all excellent quality. The movie is nicely retouched to look like it came out the same time as the hobbit trilogy.

My big problem with this set is when I got the package, all three blu ray cases were pretty smashed up. The spines we're completely broken and as I opened each case up blue pieces came falling out. I'm surprised none of the discs are damaged. The box does not have the side cover like the picture shows and if you've seen any review we're the box has a magnetic flap to reveal a map it's not here.

This is my first experience of subpar quality from amazon and I hope to not experience it again.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse