Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage giftguide Cyber Monday Deals Week in Home & Kitchen Kindle Music Deals Store SGG Home, Kitchen and Garden Gift Guide

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars699
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
TOP 500 REVIEWERon January 18, 2015
This is a must have collection for any LOTR aficionado. They have an excellent Bluray quality (video and sound) rendition of the films. The extras (DVD quality) are plentiful and interesting to follow.

I personally don't mind the fact that each part of the trilogy is split in 2 discs, as they each are long enough to require a bathroom/snack break in between.

The one thing I really dislike about this particular package is the amount of previews (a.k.a. garbage) at the beginning of each part. And the fact that there is no way to jump from there to the main disc menu (only by means of pushing the skip scene button many times). I can accept previews and other uninteresting material in rental discs, but not in a movie collection set like this one. A huge disappointment for this reason.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
82 of 95 people found the following review helpful
on March 18, 2011
So many reviews here are people complaining about the set they purchased not being shipped. However, these reviews are all for the DVD set, not the Blu-ray. So why on Earth is Amazon listing all those reviews on the Blu-ray product's page? It's bound to get confusing for customers. I know I was wondering what these people were talking about at first until I saw another review clarifying the others were referring to the DVD.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
345 of 402 people found the following review helpful
on February 7, 2010
Be warned that this BD release is the original theatrical versions of the film, not the extended editions! The studio pulled exactly the same stunt for the DVD releases of the LOTR trilogy and declined to release both the theatrical and extended versions of the film at the same time to provide fans with a choice. This can only be viewed as attempt to sell the movie series multiple times to fans. If you want the extended versions of the films, wait and do not purchase this set.

That being said, if you do not want the extended theatrical versions, then by all means, purchase this set instead.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
137 of 160 people found the following review helpful
on February 15, 2010
Hugely disappointing that the extended edition boxset is being released at a later date (and possibly as late as 2012 if the rumors are true) I love the LOTR series but once you've watched the EE versions, the theatrical versions (although very good) are just not up to the same level of enjoyment and fulfillment as the EE release. Sorry Mr Jackson, but I'll be holding off until the EE set is released no matter how long it takes. I'll rent this to see some LOTR Blu-ray eye candy 'til then.

Shame on you Warner Bros

Edit: March 29....1 week prior to release.

Well....looks like there's even more reason to wait now. The early reviews are coming in now from some of the respected Blu-ray review sites and the reviews have not been glowing. This is not going to be anywhere near the "hi-def demo material" release everyone expected it to be. Numerous complaints of sub par picture quality, excessive use of digital noise reduction and edge enhancement editing are coming in. So now the question is......will Warner hear those complaints, take heed and redo the transfer for the EE release (whenever that is) as is being done for for the noted 2009 sub par blu-ray "Gladiator"? Only time will tell.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
on August 4, 2011
With so many (deserved) critical accolades heaped on this franchise the question is not 'is this set any good?' it's 'is it worth it?' The answer is, unequivocally, YES. I could rave about the new transfer along with everyone else (it's great) but, in practical terms, the films look much better. Upconverting was never a friend to the DVD releases, seeming to bring out the flaws as much as the detail. The Blu-Rays resolve that problem and (for the most part) make these films look like the visual masterpieces they were in the theatre.

All of the 'Appendices' of the DVD release are here, along with the Costa Botes 'Making of'' documentaries that were previously only available in the limited edition DVD sets. Grittier than the other extras, these feature-length documentaries offer a different perspective on the films and are a nice treat for the LotR fan who thinks they've seen everything.

Masterful as this set is, there are a few things people may quibble over. The films are each spread over two Blu-Rays, a necessary concession for the quality of the transfer but some people might find it annoying. The features are all presented in SD, though I personally don't think remastering them would've added much value. Finally, there's the infamous 'green tint' some people note on Fellowship; I can't see it, even when I look for it, but some people might feel differently.

Rumours persist about some mythical 'Extended-Extended Edition' of the films, containing even more deleted scenes and extras that have never seen the light of day. Personally, I call shenanigans on such talk but, even if you believe it, such a boxed won't see the light of day until well after The Hobbit Extended Editions have been released (2015 or later). Given that fact, there's no reason for a Lord of the Rings fan not to pick this set up.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
31 of 36 people found the following review helpful
on January 19, 2005
This 12 disc set is amazing. 2 discs each for the 3 movies, and 2 discs each for preproduction/production/post production information.
I used to think buying movies with special features (i.e., movie in the making peeks) was just a waste of money, but being a LOR fan I just had to have the extended edition set, and, Lo and Behold! ..I had as much fun watching the special features and it made me appreciate the movie more. My husband wasn't much into LOR (he isn't a 'reader'), but now he's a fan as well. We found everything else on TV boring after watching it when we got it for Christmas.
Plus, you can watch the movie 4 times more with different audio commentaries from cast and crew. It was worth it!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
80 of 94 people found the following review helpful
on February 8, 2010
Its one thing to double dip by re-releasing on a differnt format but to hold off on the extended editions again?? after they are alread available anyways? No way waste of money especially with this hype about bluray's having soo much capacity yet they release everything with less features then a dvd ? come on. Lord of The rings is awesome but this set is a waste of money wait for the extended.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
68 of 80 people found the following review helpful
on March 18, 2010
So I too rate this greatest movie trilogy of all time a 1 star in this product release.
We are rating the product here - not the movie.
I too have been waiting to buy this for, what is it - 2 or 3yrs and now I am being asked to waste my hard earned cash by buying this twice??
This is consumer viral marketing at its best - the only way your dissaude the behemoths from this type of behavior is hitting them where it hurts - in the revenues.
Realize that someone in the marketing team is following this alright thread - and taking note.
Hear the sound of 1 star marching
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on February 20, 2011
There are a lot of bad reviews of this item due to the fact that they are the original theatrical releases and not the extended versions. The fact of the matter is that these are excellent films as they are. The blu-ray versions of these movies have great picture quality; when you see the Witch King on his fell beast you'll be amazed!

Unless you have your heart set on owning the extended versions on blu-ray, I'd recommend buying this set.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on April 23, 2015
Sadly I am one of the few who thinks Peter Jackson is a complete tool. This idiot pursued his own vision of what he thought the Lord of the Rings should be instead of creating a faithful adaptation of J.R.R. Tolkien's masterpiece. No Tom Bombadil for God sakes! Because of the big budget we'll be at least 30 years before anyone thinks to make a true movie. Too bad Christopher Tolkien is a sell out that cares more about a fast buck than preserving his father's legacy.

The movies tarnish the nobility of both Aragorn and Faramir. Aragorn NEVER wavers in is love for Arwen, and Faramir NEVER tries to take Frodo back. Then Dr. Claw from Inspector Gadget cartoons shows up as the chief orc in Return of the King making Sauron's army look comically stupid. The only masterful character is Gollum, kudos to Andy Serkis and the team behind Gollum. Gimli and Frodo are horribly done. These actors especially sucked in portraying their character. Legolas was also done well. I could go on for pages pointing out things not done in a way that would make the series truly awesome.

That being said, 90% of why this series is bad is PETER JACKSON. His perversion of the Tolkien vision has ruined this saga for an entire generation. Now he's done the same with the Hobbit.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed