Customer Reviews


187 Reviews
5 star:
 (108)
4 star:
 (36)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally,the Original Theatrical Version comes to DVD!
Here it is folks in all its' wonderful glory,the original theatrical version of "Close Encounters of the Third Kind".It seems Mr.Spielberg changed his mind about releasing it,and I for one am very thankful he did!
This release also goes to show what one of the "big boys" can do if they put their minds to it.That is that this release which contains the original...
Published on Feb. 11 2008 by Robert Badgley

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Yeah it's in Blu-Ray... but already needs a remaster
I have loved this movie since I was a child, having seen the many variations and special editions on TV, VHS and Laserdisc;

I bought the Criterion Laserdisc 3 CAV discs (extended edition) and watched it like the Zapruder film, which is why I am so disapointed;

I was surprised to see some shots (3-4) have very soft focus, and visible edge distortion...
Published on Aug. 29 2010 by Martin Bigras


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Yeah it's in Blu-Ray... but already needs a remaster, Aug. 29 2010
By 
Martin Bigras "Martin B." (Montreal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have loved this movie since I was a child, having seen the many variations and special editions on TV, VHS and Laserdisc;

I bought the Criterion Laserdisc 3 CAV discs (extended edition) and watched it like the Zapruder film, which is why I am so disapointed;

I was surprised to see some shots (3-4) have very soft focus, and visible edge distortion as if they used a plastic lens, yet I do not remember these shots from the Criterion Laserdisc... It occurs to me that Columbia (Tristar/Sony) somehow used incorrect sources, or shots that have been reprocessed from bad inter-positives to replace lost bits of film... It's a bit technical, but these mistakes have happened before and ruined other masters, and only by complaining do the studios acknowledge the mistakes and remaster the titles again.

As Speilberg's own hand appears absent from this and many other of his BR/DVDs; he never does more that a fleeting interview to note the 'special-ness' of the edition, I would be surprised if he took the time to OK this transfer.

The overall image is acceptable, the Blu-Ray brings out details. The source material is grainy/very grainy to be sure, but these soft and distorted shots bother me a great deal. Per chance I didnt pay full retail, if you see it at 15$, it's worth it.

"Mr Neary, what do you want?" - - - I want a remaster of this title...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally,the Original Theatrical Version comes to DVD!, Feb. 11 2008
By 
Robert Badgley (St Thomas,Ontario,Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Here it is folks in all its' wonderful glory,the original theatrical version of "Close Encounters of the Third Kind".It seems Mr.Spielberg changed his mind about releasing it,and I for one am very thankful he did!
This release also goes to show what one of the "big boys" can do if they put their minds to it.That is that this release which contains the original theatrical version,the special edition and the directors cut released by Columbia Pictures,is one that is on a level with a Criterion video release and that is no small praise.All three movies have been lovingly transferred and despite the graininess visible(depending on the contrast in the scene)they are for the most part beautifully crisp and clean in their 2:35:1 widescreen ratio with their Dolby 5:1 sound.
The set(three discs)sit firmly in a bi-folding sectional contained within a handsome box with a cloth lifter for its extraction.Along with the discs is an approximately 62 page colour booklet and a colour chart showing the differences between each version.On the reverse side of the chart is a repro of the original theatre advert card for the movie.The set also contains a making of documentary which spans each disc in a three part format and the trailers for each movie are also included.
Now everyone I am sure is going to have their favourite versions of the film so I guess I had better put my hat into the ring,so to speak.In my oppinion there can be only one choice and that is the original theatrical version.It has always had all the basic elements of what made this movie great to begin with.The Special Edition slashed key elements from the first,turned sequences around and made additions along with,in my mind,the totally unnecessary ending inside the spaceship.The Directors Cut again slashes like the Special Edition but returns to more elements from the original.The latter two just don't have the impact of the first.
Mr.Spielberg would have been better off combining the elements of the original edition with the special edition.Wait....he did! ABC television ran just such an edition in the early 80s and I must admit I did like that version very much(it is quite worthy of general release.....Columbia?!)and it would be my second choice with the original version coming in first.
Close Encounters was a Sci-Fi benchmark of sorts for its day.Previous Sci-Fi outings involving aliens in the 1950s and onward usually pitted weird looking ray-using creatures bent on earths' destruction against its' frightened and trigger happy occupants.All of these shows derived their themes from the then current UFO phenom in the papers and exaggerated it(to sometimes bizarre proportions!)as Hollywood often does.Some could be quite sophisticated like "The Day the Earth Stood Still",some might even mention actual UFO cases like the interval at the observatory in"Invasion from Mars"to give itself a further jolt of "realism" to the audience.Still others would take on a documentary form like "UFO" which showed actual film footage and told stories of real UFO incidents(now that is a film I would like to see released!).
But not until Close Encounters did Sc-Fi see a film which took its' subject matter so seriously and thoughtfully and showed that in reality these things were indeed real and not as malevolent as previously described in other films that had come before.We were shown not only were these aliens as curious about us as we were of them and their appearance was not as horrifying as we might have thought but it also left us with the wonderment and untold and exciting possibilities ahead of humanity should we one day make actual contact with them.It was the attention to Ufology detail that made and still makes this film so unique and which still holds up extremely well over 30 years later.
In conclusion I highly recommmend this set to everyone.It is a joy to finally see the original theatrical version out there for all to enjoy and in such a glorious transfer.It is to me the definitive and best version of the three.Buy this set and see which version YOU like!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A classic!, June 1 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great movie when it first came out and still enjoy it. This Ultimate Edition makes it even better with all the extras. Recommended for all "Close Encounters" fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of Spielberg's best, Feb. 29 2012
By 
Steven Aldersley (Oshawa, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Close Encounters of the Third Kind (1977)
Science Fiction, Drama, 137 minutes
Directed by Steven Spielberg
Starring Richard Dreyfuss, Melinda Dillon and Teri Garr

Close Encounters works so well because of the way Spielberg slowly increases the suspense. This is not a movie that relies on special effects; it succeeds because of a strong script and good acting. Although we learn of the alien presence at the start of the movie, most of the story consists of people's reactions to those early events.

Why is Roy (Dreyfuss) behaving oddly and causing his wife and children to freak out? Chicken wire and mud in the living room is not normally a recipe for a good marriage, but it soon becomes clear why Roy thinks it's necessary. The idea is pretty simple, with an image being placed in the minds of selected people. Jillian (Dillon) has reasons of her own to pursue something and teams up quite believably with Roy. I like that there's no forced romance between the two and that they are merely acting on instinct.

One refreshing thing about the movie is that the aliens aren't portrayed as invaders. There's no hostility in their actions, they just want to know and understand us. What a contrast to most science fiction movies up until that point.

Spielberg keeps you interested for over two hours as two people journey across the country. That's quite an achievement. Notice too that the conclusion resists the temptation to show us too much about the aliens. Close Encounters is great cinema and has wide appeal to audiences of all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crystal Clear Encounters, March 23 2008
By 
Brian Smith (Orillia, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I loved this movie in the theatre and this Blu-Ray is as clear as my memory of the opening night at the wide screen cinema. If you have always been less than impressed with the video quality of the older versions of this classic, you will be very pleased with the sparkling clarity of this Blu-ray disc.
All of the fine details that Stephen Spielberg included in the original movie to convince you that "this is as real as a Close Encounter could be" are beautify revealed.
It is so much fun to watch Richard Dryfess literally "tear up the scenery" while he tries to deal with a UFO encounter that leaves him feeling that "something important" is going to happen! This disc is a perfect 10 of 10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars They're HERE!, July 30 2007
I will always love this movie What do they want? Who are they? The questions, the fear, the immense intimidation, the complications and the implications come through in brilliant manner through all the characters that parade through this classic film.But what still impresses is that "Close encounters" manages to remain intelligent even if you see it today. That might sound like a moot point to those that love this film but it's a legitimate point. Spielberg doesnt ridicule the issue, doesnt attempt to offer some laughable debunking, doesnt dismiss it, but instead takes it full-on with the seriousness it demands. And even when the film has its funny moments the focus isnt lost for a single second.All the more wowing is the fact that effects still look pretty damn good and i saw it in my small living room TV. Sure, it might reek of that 70s aura all along but that's inevitable and it really doeasn't come across as annoying, if anything that even adds to the charm.Funny and certinaly bizzare that I havent seen a good film with this theme in a long, long while, unless we consider braindead disasters like "Independence day" contenders.This is why i picked up to the DVD and the reward factor was immense.The extra features on this limited edition disc are seriously interesting as well. Way up there with the cinematic classics regardless of genre. If you havent seen this check it out.
Timeless stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Several version floating around, Nov. 25 2006
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
The basic story is of a line repairman who encounters a UFO and has trouble relating this to his wife that is in denial. There are parallel stories of others encountering UFO's. Eventually the government is also contacted and sets up a meeting. The encountered have also been compelled to attend to the government's consternation. Will the other invitees make it to the rendezvous point? What trials and tribulations must they endure on the way?

The lighter version (ASIN: 0767827031) of the film. This is closer to the original but still not the one shown on TV. I bought this after I realized I had the darker version. Amazon.com did the research for me

The dark version (ASIN: 0800198395) that cut out all the comic scenes like throwing all the dirt in the window. And added some Mother gets disturbed scenes. I bought the dark version first because I thought it had the special ending where the inside of the ship is shown. But I did not know that it was completely remade. Some of the Gas mask scenes are missing also.

If this review ends up on another version you will have to check for your self how complete it really is and what has been cut out.

Other than that if you did not see the original or the third version that is shown periodically on TV you would like this movie and it is worth the purchase price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars *The* Classic UFO Film! Awesome Suspense & Climactic Ending, June 15 2006
By 
Richard Dreyfuss and Teri Garr portray the average Midwestern family living in rural Indiana. The mystery and suspense of the film contrasts well with the ordinairy lives of this couple. Roy Neary (Dreyfuss) sees unusual lights in the sky as he drives home one night, his truck is engulfed by light, the radio goes beserk and the clock on his car is affected. He is bafflied and awestruck by this event. He sees a huge object overhead in the sky ... It has bright blinking lights on its underside. The size is monumental as it floats off. This event changes his life forever ... He begins to draw and paint a flat-topped mountain which becomes an obsession. He does not know what it means but the desire to understand becomes all consuming. People who witnessed this event are interviewed on TV. The local authorities try to maintain calm and order ... The national government gets involved ... It becomes clear - we are not alone in the universe. Something is about to happen ...

The mysterious events are not only confined to Midwestern America ... A scientist interviews a poor Mexican farmer who saw the bright lights over the Mexican desert which he describes as the sun singing to him ... Roy Neary and many of his neighbors go out into the fields where the sky is the darkest and wait to see the phenomenon again. He meets Jillian Guiler and her son Barry who is fascinated by the lights and object ... The child runs off and is taken up into the UFO. Many other people have disappeared after encountering the object ... Roy's wife is fed up with his obsession. She leaves with the children to stay with her family. Roy discovers the meaning behind the flat-topped mountain ... He and Jillian partner together to visit Devil's Tower in Wyoming.

Government agents are everywhere claiming an environmental hazardous waste was spilled making the location unsafe for inhabitants ... everyone was evacuated. Roy and Jillian believe this is a hoax and evade detection as they pursue their quest to discover the secrets behind the evacuation ... They climb over a mountain and see a huge landing field. They hear musical tones played which were familiar, as the sounds were heard when the UFO was overhead ... They know the moment for the "First Encounter" is about to arrive. The film has a fantastic climax and conclusion which unravels certain mysteries from the past and is completely satisfying to the viewer. The ending is exciting ... yet many questions remain unanswered. Steven Spielberg created an all time favorite masterpiece which still keeps the mystery alive ... Erika Borsos [pepper flower]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars When you wish upon a star, Nov. 6 2004
Director Steven Spielberg's classic 1977 follow-up to "Jaws," "Close Encounters of the Third Kind" stars Richard Dreyfuss as Roy Neary. Neary's just an ordinary blue collar guy, a bit of a dreamer with a taste for Disney films and miniature railroads... until he witnesses a spectacular UFO appearance. Haunted by mental images of a mountain he's never seen before, Neary risks his job, his marriage, his sanity and, eventually, his life to uncover what it all means.
"Close Encounters" also marks the first appearance of the Spielberg formula. You know, the messy suburban house, the mouthy kids, the whole "just plain folks involved with something magical" storyline. And while he gets a lot of knocks, both justified and unjustified, for inflicting this on American movies in the 80s, Spielberg's use of documentary-like elements throughout (as the space people play some Burmuda Triangle-related tricks on what's apparently an international investigation team) and some funky casting (Teri Garr, French director Francois Truffaut, Bob Balaban and others) combine to lend this one a veracity some of his later films- and those of his imitators- sometimes lack. This is a very fresh and original take on sci-fi subject matter, completely without physical violence (although there is some of the emotional kind). Seeing decades later after so many heartless, bombastic, noise and light CGI fests, one can't help but admire Spielberg's ability to get to the emotional core of this material.
Plus, it helps that the cutesy elements are kept to a minimum. There's Melinda Dillon as a single mom whose oh-so-adorable-with-his-big-eyes kid gets kidnapped by the UFOs; the scene is played for scares, rather than laughs and it is genuinely terrifying. Neary's kids are mostly unpleasant, and gone after the halfway point. Dreyfuss downplays Neary's potential drippyness and plays up his frustration and rage as circumstances overwhelm him. And Garr is very believable as Neary's doubtful wife; she keeps the character from becoming a one-note shrew. You actually sympathize with her as she deals with what she thinks is her husband's selfish midlife crisis.
The film ends with an amazing sequence of events and actually takes on an epic scope without losing the human element that makes it all so enjoyable. This DVD release follows the format from the recent "Jaws" disk: a gorgeous widescreen print, a few deleted scenes, some documentaries. A handsome release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Neary Family is as impressive as the light show, June 27 2004
By 
ScooterJ "scooterjm" (Kansas City, MO United States) - See all my reviews
For me the portrayal of the Neary family is equally as stunning as the portrayal of the spacecraft throughout the movie. The acting in any scene involving the Nearys is astounding. Even though that family doesn't end up the way we might hope, they behave exactly like a real family might when faced with their situation. Pay special attention to the children. Their reactions are dead on.
The special effects are breathtaking and continue to prove, as have so many other great films, that the old way of doing effects is far more spectacular and convincing than today's cartoonish CGI effects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Close Encounters of the Third Kind / Recontres du troisième type (Bilingual) [Blu-ray]
CDN$ 19.99 CDN$ 11.99
Usually ships in 2 to 3 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews