Customer Reviews


189 Reviews
5 star:
 (109)
4 star:
 (36)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crystal Clear Encounters
I loved this movie in the theatre and this Blu-Ray is as clear as my memory of the opening night at the wide screen cinema. If you have always been less than impressed with the video quality of the older versions of this classic, you will be very pleased with the sparkling clarity of this Blu-ray disc.
All of the fine details that Stephen Spielberg included in the...
Published on March 23 2008 by Brian Smith

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent movie - deleted scenes must be added back in
I would really rate this as 3.5 stars but not 4, so I'm forced to give it a 3.
First off, the movie overall is excellent. Heck, I was 11 years old when this came out and I LIVED in Muncie, Indiana when it was released. The theater went nuts when the subtitle came on, saying "Muncie, IN", and then seeing Roy wearing a Ball State University shirt, well that...
Published on June 13 2002 by Ivan Samuelson


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crystal Clear Encounters, March 23 2008
By 
Brian Smith (Orillia, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I loved this movie in the theatre and this Blu-Ray is as clear as my memory of the opening night at the wide screen cinema. If you have always been less than impressed with the video quality of the older versions of this classic, you will be very pleased with the sparkling clarity of this Blu-ray disc.
All of the fine details that Stephen Spielberg included in the original movie to convince you that "this is as real as a Close Encounter could be" are beautify revealed.
It is so much fun to watch Richard Dryfess literally "tear up the scenery" while he tries to deal with a UFO encounter that leaves him feeling that "something important" is going to happen! This disc is a perfect 10 of 10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Several version floating around, Nov. 25 2006
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
The basic story is of a line repairman who encounters a UFO and has trouble relating this to his wife that is in denial. There are parallel stories of others encountering UFO's. Eventually the government is also contacted and sets up a meeting. The encountered have also been compelled to attend to the government's consternation. Will the other invitees make it to the rendezvous point? What trials and tribulations must they endure on the way?

The lighter version (ASIN: 0767827031) of the film. This is closer to the original but still not the one shown on TV. I bought this after I realized I had the darker version. Amazon.com did the research for me

The dark version (ASIN: 0800198395) that cut out all the comic scenes like throwing all the dirt in the window. And added some Mother gets disturbed scenes. I bought the dark version first because I thought it had the special ending where the inside of the ship is shown. But I did not know that it was completely remade. Some of the Gas mask scenes are missing also.

If this review ends up on another version you will have to check for your self how complete it really is and what has been cut out.

Other than that if you did not see the original or the third version that is shown periodically on TV you would like this movie and it is worth the purchase price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars *The* Classic UFO Film! Awesome Suspense & Climactic Ending, June 15 2006
By 
Richard Dreyfuss and Teri Garr portray the average Midwestern family living in rural Indiana. The mystery and suspense of the film contrasts well with the ordinairy lives of this couple. Roy Neary (Dreyfuss) sees unusual lights in the sky as he drives home one night, his truck is engulfed by light, the radio goes beserk and the clock on his car is affected. He is bafflied and awestruck by this event. He sees a huge object overhead in the sky ... It has bright blinking lights on its underside. The size is monumental as it floats off. This event changes his life forever ... He begins to draw and paint a flat-topped mountain which becomes an obsession. He does not know what it means but the desire to understand becomes all consuming. People who witnessed this event are interviewed on TV. The local authorities try to maintain calm and order ... The national government gets involved ... It becomes clear - we are not alone in the universe. Something is about to happen ...

The mysterious events are not only confined to Midwestern America ... A scientist interviews a poor Mexican farmer who saw the bright lights over the Mexican desert which he describes as the sun singing to him ... Roy Neary and many of his neighbors go out into the fields where the sky is the darkest and wait to see the phenomenon again. He meets Jillian Guiler and her son Barry who is fascinated by the lights and object ... The child runs off and is taken up into the UFO. Many other people have disappeared after encountering the object ... Roy's wife is fed up with his obsession. She leaves with the children to stay with her family. Roy discovers the meaning behind the flat-topped mountain ... He and Jillian partner together to visit Devil's Tower in Wyoming.

Government agents are everywhere claiming an environmental hazardous waste was spilled making the location unsafe for inhabitants ... everyone was evacuated. Roy and Jillian believe this is a hoax and evade detection as they pursue their quest to discover the secrets behind the evacuation ... They climb over a mountain and see a huge landing field. They hear musical tones played which were familiar, as the sounds were heard when the UFO was overhead ... They know the moment for the "First Encounter" is about to arrive. The film has a fantastic climax and conclusion which unravels certain mysteries from the past and is completely satisfying to the viewer. The ending is exciting ... yet many questions remain unanswered. Steven Spielberg created an all time favorite masterpiece which still keeps the mystery alive ... Erika Borsos [pepper flower]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Close Encounters of the Third Kind [1997] [Limited Edition SteelBook] [Blu-ray] [UK Release], Aug. 5 2014
By 
Andrew C. Miller - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Close Encounters of the Third Kind [1997] [Limited Edition SteelBook] [Blu-ray] [UK Release] Steven Spielberg's classic film is back on this Blu-ray Disc, which includes all three versions of the sci-fi blockbuster. Richard Dreyfuss stars as cable worker Roy Neary, who along with several other stunned bystanders experiences a close encounter of the first kind - witnessing UFOs soaring across the sky. After this life-changing event, the inexplicable vision of a strange, mountain-like formation haunts him. He becomes obsessed with discovering what it represents, much to the dismay of his wife and family. Meanwhile, bizarre occurrences are happening around the world. Government agents have close encounters of the second kind - discovering physical evidence of extra-terrestrial visitors in the form of a lost fighter aircraft from World War II and a stranded military ship that disappeared decades earlier only to suddenly reappear in unusual places. Roy continues to chase his vision to a remote area where he and the agents follow the clues that have drawn them to reach a site where they will have a close encounter of the third kind – contact.

FILM FACTS: Since Close Encounters was filmed anamorphically, the visual effects sequences were shot in 70 mm film to better conform with the 35 mm film used for the rest of the movie. The small aliens in the final scenes were played by local girls in Mobile, Alabama. That decision was requested by Steven Spielberg because he felt "girls move more gracefully than boys.”

Cast: Richard Dreyfuss, François Truffaut, Teri Garr, Melinda Dillon, Bob Balaban, J. Patrick McNamara, Warren J. Kemmerling, Roberts Blossom, Philip Dodds, Cary Guffey, Shawn Bishop, Adrienne Campbell, Justin Dreyfuss, Lance Henriksen, Merrill Connally, George DiCenzo, Roy E. Richards, James Keane, Dennis McMullen, Cy Young, Tom Howard, Bennett Wayne Dean Sr., Basil Hoffman, J. Allen Hynek, Monty Jordan, Shay McLean, Stephen Powers and Howard K. Smith

Director: Steven Spielberg

Producers: Julia Phillips and Michael Phillips

Screenwriters: Steven Spielberg, Jerry Belson, John Hill, Hal Barwood, and Matthew Robbins

Composer: John Williams

Cinematography: Vilmos Zsigmond

Resolution: 1080p

Aspect Ratio: 2.35:1 [CinemaScope]

Audio: English: 5.1 DTS-HD Master Audio and English: 5.1 Dolby TrueHD

Subtitles: English, English SDH, Arabic, Bulgarian, Croatian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, Finnish, Greek, Hebrew, Hindi, Hungarian, Icelandic, Norwegian, Polish, Romanian, Slovenian, Swedish and Turkish

Running Time: 135 minutes

Region: All Regions

Number of discs: 1

Studio: Sony Pictures Home Entertainment

Andrew’s Blu-ray Review – When ‘Close Encounters of the Third Kind’ was first released, Steven Spielberg asked Ray Bradbury, the legendary author of such works The Martian Chronicles and Fahrenheit 451, "How do you like your film? Close Encounters wouldn't have been born if I hadn't seen It Came from Outer Space six times when I was a kid." Bradbury had written the original treatment for that 1953 film. Indeed, Close Encounters and other Spielberg works would seem to owe a lot to author Ray Bradbury. According to film historian and critic Joseph McBride, Jean Renoir compared Spielberg's storytelling in this picture to Jules Verne and Georges Meliés. At its heart, ‘Close Encounters of the Third Kind’ is a simple fantasy that depicts the first formal meeting of humans and aliens. Although the film certainly features the global point of view and shows how governments might respond to this event, Spielberg wisely took the more intimate approach to tell the story.

All three versions are presented in brand new 1080p transfers in the movie's 2.35:1 CinemaScope aspect ratio. The transfer is splendid to say the least and is richer in colour than ever. The black levels and contrast are simply amazing and will leave you speechless, while the colours are incredibly rich and saturated. The vibrant lights of the alien spaceships have never been so lucid. It is an incredible feast for the eye adding a completely new dimension to the film.

‘Close Encounters of the Third Kind’ was Steven Spielberg’s first film after the enormous success of 1975’s ‘Jaws’ and it represents a more personal project. While he clearly made Jaws his movie, he still functioned as a “hired hand” for the film. He could take some liberties with the tale, but since the book had been so successful in its own right, there was only so much he could do to give Jaws his own stamp.

Roy Neary [Richard Dreyfuss] works as a technician for an Indiana power company and lives with his wife Ronnie [Teri Garr] and three kids. He seems like a nice enough guy, but clearly the bloom is off the rose and he’s living a fairly drab existence. All of that changes when some force causes electricity to cut off all across his area. After he’s sent to work on the situation, he comes quite close to some alien vehicles, and the experience leaves him changed, to say the least. From then on, he feels a nagging urge to find meaning in odd shapes, a desire that eventually leads him to apparent semi-madness.

However, that’s not the case, and before too long Roy Neary and others – including Jillian Guiler [Melinda Dillon], whose son Barry [Cary Guffey] has been kidnapped by the aliens - figure out what it is they need to do, and he heads out west for… well, he’s not sure what. Nor are we, but it’s a terrific ride as Roy and Jillian have to evade oppressive government forces to reach their ultimate goal.

Is ‘Close Encounters of the Third Kind’ a flawless movie? No, it has its own problems at times. For example, I always thought the aggressive way in which the aliens came to get Barry seemed to be at odds with their apparently-gentle nature; the abduction makes sense within the tone of the movie because it adds excitement and intrigue, but it didn’t really seem logical to me.

Nonetheless, the film functions at a consistently high level from start to finish and offers an extremely well-executed fantasy. The acting is top-notch from Richard Dreyfuss down the line. Through movies like Jaws and ‘The Goodbye Girl’ - another 1977 offering, and one for which he earned an Academy Award – Richard Dreyfuss became moderately pigeonholed as a sarcastic, self-centred sort of character. Close Encounters of the Third Kind showed that he could easily portray other roles, and he brings off the middle-class dreamer in Roy Neary very nicely.

Steven Spielberg paced the film extremely well, and though the effects have aged, they still hold up after almost a quarter of a century. It achieves a level of beauty and tenderness rare in the genre, and it also combines well-integrated humour, drama and action. As a whole, Close Encounters of the Third Kind remains a totally fabulous piece of work that deserves to be included along with the greatest films ever made.

Steven Spielberg reworked the movie again in 1998. This 137-minute “Director’s Cut” combines different aspects of the 1977 and 1980 versions. Many think this is the best edition of the movie, and I might agree, but some good bits from the 1977 film fail to appear. The introduction to the Roy Neary's uses the scene from the 1980 cut, which is more abrupt but it adds some nice exposition to the family, so it’s a draw. Other 1980 snippets are integrated, such as “Roy’s shower” and the expedition to the Gobi Desert.

The 1998 version cuts some segments that appeared in both the 1977 and 1980 versions, and these are the least positive changes. We lose the cool scene in which Roy looks at a pillowcase and states, “That’s not right”. We also don’t get some shots of Roy at the power plant; I liked these, but I can’t say they’re as painful to lose as the pillowcase. The alterations don’t hurt the movie terribly, but I wish Spielberg had kept these scenes in the movie. When I consider the three versions, I find it hard to choose between the Theatrical edition or the Director’s Cut.

Blu-ray Video Quality – ‘Close Encounters of the Third Kind’ appears in an aspect ratio of approximately 2.35:1 on this Blu-ray Disc. Very few concerns emerged during this terrific transfer. Sharpness usually seemed to be excellent. A few wide shots presented some very slight softness, but that was about it, and those tended to occur either due to effects or depth of field issues. The vast majority of the film offered strong delineation and clarity. No issues with jagged edges or shimmering occurred, and I noticed no signs of edge enhancement. I also found no source flaws. The source material could be grainy at times, but no artificial defects appeared.

Colours looked quite natural and distinct. The film didn’t feature a particular bright palette except for the hues generated by the alien crafts themselves, and I felt these tones appeared clear and vivid. Black levels occasionally looked a little too pale, but they usually appeared appropriately deep and dense, and shadow detail seemed clean and nicely heavy without excessive opacity. The smattering of slightly soft shots created my only minor complaints here, and they weren’t enough to knock my grade below an “A“. I felt very pleased with this transfer, as it often looked absolutely exceptional.

Blu-ray Audio Quality – The soundtrack of ‘Close Encounters of the Third Kind’ displayed some minor problems but they nonetheless worked quite well for a film of this vintage. Close Encounters offers both 5.1 Dolby Digital TrueHD and 5.1 DTS-HD Master Audio surround soundtracks. The track featured a surprisingly broad and engaging sound-field. The front speakers offered a nice sense of ambience; in addition to John Williams’ score, they added a great deal of unique effects, all of which seemed to be well placed within the environment. The elements also blended together neatly and smoothly. Some directional dialogue occurred, and while it could seem somewhat tentative at times, for the most part I felt that the speech appeared to come from the appropriate locations.

There is a compressed feel to the film's dynamic range that, while not crippling, is definitely noticeable. There's never that truly expansive feel to the mix you get with a modern soundtrack. Dialogue sounds constrained, and if still understandable, it's never as distinct in the mix as I would have liked. Likewise, John Williams' score is nicely spread out in the sound field, but never quite soars in terms of fidelity. Surrounds are generally active, though again that's only usually when a UFO appears. Sounds in the rears are usually pretty easy to localize, so there is never that seamless "wall of sound" that you usually get with the best high-res audio presentations. That said, even if 'Close Encounters' is not consistently demo material, when it delivers, watch out. There are moments in the film that genuinely rattle the rafters.

Blu-ray Special Features and Extras:

A View from Above: Replicating the printed version of the technical timeline outlined above, activate this feature and, depending on which version of the film you're watching, color-coded notations will appear that describe the various changes made to that particular cut. Again, very cool and another nice addition to this brilliant Blu-ray disc.

Finally, 'Close Encounters of the Third Kind' is still so etched in the popular consciousness that it's hard to believe that it's been thirty years since it first hit theatres. Although the film has been released in a myriad of different versions, which are all presented in full on this Blu-ray, whichever version you personally prefer, and the film remains an uplifting experience that's an absolute landmark of the science fiction genre. I've never seen the film look or sound better, and the extras are a bit of a disappointment with this Limited Edition SteelBook. But to top it all, this Limited Edition SteelBook packaging design is very impressive, and you've got a great release that easily earns its brilliant price tag. Mr. Spielberg, I'm ecstatic that you've finally jumped into high-definition with 'Close Encounters,' and I can't wait to see what's next. But until then, I am so honoured to have this in my Blu-ray Collection as the Limited Edition SteelBook that again is so beautifully designed looking and despite the lack of extras, it was still my preferred choice. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Andrew C. Miller – Your Ultimate No.1 Film Fan
Le Cinema Paradiso
WARE, United Kingdom
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars They're HERE!, July 30 2007
I will always love this movie What do they want? Who are they? The questions, the fear, the immense intimidation, the complications and the implications come through in brilliant manner through all the characters that parade through this classic film.But what still impresses is that "Close encounters" manages to remain intelligent even if you see it today. That might sound like a moot point to those that love this film but it's a legitimate point. Spielberg doesnt ridicule the issue, doesnt attempt to offer some laughable debunking, doesnt dismiss it, but instead takes it full-on with the seriousness it demands. And even when the film has its funny moments the focus isnt lost for a single second.All the more wowing is the fact that effects still look pretty damn good and i saw it in my small living room TV. Sure, it might reek of that 70s aura all along but that's inevitable and it really doeasn't come across as annoying, if anything that even adds to the charm.Funny and certinaly bizzare that I havent seen a good film with this theme in a long, long while, unless we consider braindead disasters like "Independence day" contenders.This is why i picked up to the DVD and the reward factor was immense.The extra features on this limited edition disc are seriously interesting as well. Way up there with the cinematic classics regardless of genre. If you havent seen this check it out.
Timeless stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars When you wish upon a star, Nov. 6 2004
Director Steven Spielberg's classic 1977 follow-up to "Jaws," "Close Encounters of the Third Kind" stars Richard Dreyfuss as Roy Neary. Neary's just an ordinary blue collar guy, a bit of a dreamer with a taste for Disney films and miniature railroads... until he witnesses a spectacular UFO appearance. Haunted by mental images of a mountain he's never seen before, Neary risks his job, his marriage, his sanity and, eventually, his life to uncover what it all means.
"Close Encounters" also marks the first appearance of the Spielberg formula. You know, the messy suburban house, the mouthy kids, the whole "just plain folks involved with something magical" storyline. And while he gets a lot of knocks, both justified and unjustified, for inflicting this on American movies in the 80s, Spielberg's use of documentary-like elements throughout (as the space people play some Burmuda Triangle-related tricks on what's apparently an international investigation team) and some funky casting (Teri Garr, French director Francois Truffaut, Bob Balaban and others) combine to lend this one a veracity some of his later films- and those of his imitators- sometimes lack. This is a very fresh and original take on sci-fi subject matter, completely without physical violence (although there is some of the emotional kind). Seeing decades later after so many heartless, bombastic, noise and light CGI fests, one can't help but admire Spielberg's ability to get to the emotional core of this material.
Plus, it helps that the cutesy elements are kept to a minimum. There's Melinda Dillon as a single mom whose oh-so-adorable-with-his-big-eyes kid gets kidnapped by the UFOs; the scene is played for scares, rather than laughs and it is genuinely terrifying. Neary's kids are mostly unpleasant, and gone after the halfway point. Dreyfuss downplays Neary's potential drippyness and plays up his frustration and rage as circumstances overwhelm him. And Garr is very believable as Neary's doubtful wife; she keeps the character from becoming a one-note shrew. You actually sympathize with her as she deals with what she thinks is her husband's selfish midlife crisis.
The film ends with an amazing sequence of events and actually takes on an epic scope without losing the human element that makes it all so enjoyable. This DVD release follows the format from the recent "Jaws" disk: a gorgeous widescreen print, a few deleted scenes, some documentaries. A handsome release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars "Toys!", May 29 2004
By 
D. Knouse (vancouver, washington United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
4.5 stars. This is easily one of my favorite early films from living, legendary filmmaker Steven Spielberg. This film and "Jaws" are two incredible, remarkable achievements from the 1970s. In 1977 all I really remember was the release of another science fiction film by the name of "Star Wars," and it wasn't until the early eighties on cable television that I began to appreciate "Close Encounters of the Third Kind." One of the aspects that sets his early films apart from most was his subtle, yet effective sense of humor. There are many scenes in this film that are just plain hilarious. This is a great story with some excellent acting, most notably from Richard Dreyfuss who won the Oscar for Best Actor in the same year for "The Goodbye Girl." I can't help feeling that his work in this film added to the Oscar voting. Apart from the magical Spielberg touches, which are everywhere, there is another force in this film in the score by composer John Williams. John Williams also won the Oscar for Best Score that same year for "Star Wars." As for the Special Features section on the DVD they finally have the deleted scene showing the inside of the Mother Ship. Steven Spielberg mentions in the documentary that he wishes he had never filmed the sequence, leaving the inside of the ship a mystery. But I love the scene, and I think it adds even more majesty to the ship seeing how huge it is from the inside. This is a Sci-fi gem from the 1970s. I highly recommend buying this DVD. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Close Encounters of the Third Kind (1977), May 22 2004
By 
Director: Steven Spielberg
Cast: Richard Dreyfuss, Francois Truffaut, Teri Garr, Melinda Dillon.
Running Time: 137 minutes.
Rated PG for mild language and some intense situations.
Fresh off the outrageous success of his first hit "Jaws", Steven Spielberg creates the extra-terrestrial epic "Close Encounters of the Third Kind". While obviously a film about aliens, Spielberg uses star Richard Dreyfuss as a chess piece to how the mystique and mystery of a foreign being can not only cause a man to go crazy, but can ultimately influence mankind as a whole.
Dreyfuss is extremely under-rated in his performance as a man driven to the brink as he experiences an otherworldy encounter with extra-terrestrials while inside of his vehicle. Not knowing the affect this would later have on his life, he returns home as if nothing happened. Dreyfuss's behavior grows stranger and stranger (he first makes a mountain out of mashed potatoes at the dinner table, then creates an even larger model of this mysterious mountain out of his yard while still inside his house), he realizes that he most confront this incredible feeling that has overcome his mind and search for answers. What he encounters is magical and unbelievable.
Spielberg's direction is top-notch and sincere, proving that his previous sucess was not a fluke. Much like his other alien film, "E.T", "Close Encounters..." provides a symbolic theme that is far more significant than what the aliens look like or what planet they came from. With the peformance of Dreyfuss, Spielberg is able to to show that it is okay for all of us to return to the kid we once were, and to explore all of the questions that we all want answers for. A true spectacle of a film with superb special effects, a wonderful musical score by John Williams, and a child-like charm that is for the whole family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Snore factor is in orbit!, Jan. 27 2004
By 
Hated it when it came out, still feel the same. Pure fantasy, not to be confused with real science fiction. "The Burbs" of UFO movies. Hard to take this one seriously. And with all due apologies to Mr.Spielberg, who has made a number of great movies, but this ain't one of em'.
There's nothing compelling, or intriguing about this flick and it's quite silly actually. I doubt that was the intent. Impossible to muster any sympathy for Richard Dreyfuss' character. He appeared to be having a little too much fun with his "obsession." Either that or he was warming up for his part in "What About Bob." Melinda Dillon was quite good though in a contrasting role. And please people, escaping from the grasp of the military on a top secret installation and actually allowed to get away so they can take a peek at that horrible giant Fisher-Price synthesizer and watch the pretty UFO's dart about all dressed up in their finest Christmas season trim! I don't think so. If you're ever out in Vegas, take a run up to Groom Lake where you will likely be greeted very rudely if you trespass the signs that read "Lethal Force Authorized." That basically means shoot first and ask questions later. Good alternative to Disney for the kiddies. 2 boxwoods
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Withstood the test of time...And who said this is sci-"fi"?, Jan. 19 2004
By 
It had been years since I had watched this film and i wanted to see whether it would have the same impact on me as it when i saw it almost 20 years ago.
Perhaps unsurprisingly it was every bit as intimidating, eerie, and tremendously entertaining as it was back then.
Ask any UFO buff and he/she'll tell you that when it comes to films about the "objects in the sky" there are very few, extremely few, that can demand good notes from the audiences.
"Close encounters" is definately one of them, a film that despite a near 30 yrs after its release it still jumps at you (small screen or big) and is at the same time thought provoking.
Spielberg has some tremendous (especially at the box office) hits under his belt but in the minds of many this might be one of his very best films. If not the best.
As "they" arrive with lightning-speed craft that cruise the skies of a small american town, scanning and patroling while getting the attention of every local in sight it seems like a collective obsession takes over the residents and the viewers together.
What do they want? Who are they?
The questions, the fear, the immense intimidation, the complications and the implications come through in brilliant manner through all the characters that parade through this classic film.
But what still impresses is that "Close encounters" manages to remain intelligent even if you see it today. That might sound
like a moot point to those that love this film but it's a legitimate point. Spielberg doesnt ridicule the issue, doesnt attempt to offer some laughable debunking, doesnt dismiss it, but instead takes it full-on with the seriousness it demands.
And even when the film has its funny moments the focus isnt lost for a single second.
All the more wowing is the fact that effects still look pretty damn good and i saw it in my small living room TV. Sure, it might reek of that 70s aura all along but that's inevitable and it really doeasn't come across as annoying, if anything that even adds to the charm.
Funny and certinaly bizzare that I havent seen a good film with this theme in a long, long while, unless we consider braindead disasters like "Independence day" contenders.
This is why i picked up to the DVD and the reward factor was immense.
The extra features on this limited edition disc are seriously interesting as well.
Way up there with the cinematic classics regardless of genre. If you havent seen this check it out.
Timeless stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Close Encounters of the Third Kind / Recontres du troisième type (Bilingual) [Blu-ray]
Used & New from: CDN$ 9.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews