Customer Reviews


77 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect 11n for Win7, FIXED Problem with Mint 17/Ubuntu 14.04
Tiny, great price, shipped free and very quick with another item. Plugged into the back of a Lenovo desktop box, excellent 72mb/s 11n reception with W7 with modem/router ten feet away. Required the CD/Rom, driver installed without a hitch. Can't tell from the ethernet cable on Windows.

Adapter was immediately recognized by Linux Mint 17 (Ubuntu 14.04) but...
Published 5 months ago by J$B

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not good further than 2 metres from wireless router.
And even at 2m mark, it receives poorly. I haven't tried sitting with it very close to the router, but then I would just use an ethernet cable, won't I?

The only reason I bought this was my longer USB wireless adapter broke by bending and that risk is recurring due to the nature of a 3-inch protrusion from the laptop's USB side. So I figured a smaller sized USB...
Published on Feb. 8 2012 by F. Khan


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not good further than 2 metres from wireless router., Feb. 8 2012
By 
F. Khan (Toronto, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Micro Mini USB Wireless B/N/G 802.11n WiFi LAN Adapter Windows Vista/XP/7/MAC
And even at 2m mark, it receives poorly. I haven't tried sitting with it very close to the router, but then I would just use an ethernet cable, won't I?

The only reason I bought this was my longer USB wireless adapter broke by bending and that risk is recurring due to the nature of a 3-inch protrusion from the laptop's USB side. So I figured a smaller sized USB adapter will not pry so easily, and be all the better especially when marketed as 802.11 G (which is supposed to mean fast!).

I can only confirm this adapter will not break easily. If you're looking for something that downloads at reasonable speeds, this is not for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars BAD. Slow speeds, cheap build, hassle to set up., March 20 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Micro Mini USB Wireless B/N/G 802.11n WiFi LAN Adapter Windows Vista/XP/7/MAC
I purchased this adapter as a temporary solution for a spare computer I had laying around. It was most likely a junker, so I didn't want to spend too much money getting it connected. I found this and thought "Internet connection for $6, how can I go wrong?"

Well let me tell you.

The only thing that this adapter has going for it is its size factor.

The drivers come on a mini-CD which are a pain to deal with, especially if your CD drive doesn't work. After searching around the internet on a different computer, I could not find a compatible driver set from the Realtek website. I ended up having to copy the disc image to USB and mount it virtually... absurd.

The connection is terrible. Once I got the drivers installed I tried to browse some sites. It took the pages so long to load, I thought I was on dial-up. Then I tried to download a file. Estimated download time was 1h58m... That simply wouldn't do (it was not a large file). I plugged in the other adapter I purchased for my 'good computer' and the time dropped to under 2 minutes.

I did not expect blazing speeds or a rock solid connection out of this USB adapter at the $6.00 price point, but I was hoping it would at least get the job done for now.

I would recommend you spend a little more money and buy something that won't give you buyers remorse! Into the junk drawer you go!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect 11n for Win7, FIXED Problem with Mint 17/Ubuntu 14.04, July 21 2014
By 
J$B (Toronto, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Micro Mini USB Wireless B/N/G 802.11n WiFi LAN Adapter Windows Vista/XP/7/MAC
Tiny, great price, shipped free and very quick with another item. Plugged into the back of a Lenovo desktop box, excellent 72mb/s 11n reception with W7 with modem/router ten feet away. Required the CD/Rom, driver installed without a hitch. Can't tell from the ethernet cable on Windows.

Adapter was immediately recognized by Linux Mint 17 (Ubuntu 14.04) but only performed at half speed, including half-speed DSL performance. Deducting a Star for obsolete driver. However the fix for the problem is neatly provided here:

sites.google.com/site/easylinuxtipsproject/reserve-7

The wi-fi adapter is now working identically on Linux and Windows, and the DSL speed is the same as over ethernet. It requires use of the Terminal and installation of some packages along with the updated driver. I always test bright Linux ideas on a Live USB before risking my hard drive installation, and advise the same here.

Update: I've ordered a second one for a Dell laptop with preinstalled 11g Broadcom adapter that was slowing the LAN. I've now installed the Windows 10 Techical Preview on this machine - the adapter was immediately recognized during the install and runs perfectly without installing a driver. (On that basis I'd expect it to be compatible with Windows 8/8.1 also.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor reception quality under Windows and Linux, April 30 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Micro Mini USB Wireless B/N/G 802.11n WiFi LAN Adapter Windows Vista/XP/7/MAC
I chose this adapter based one some of the positive feedback over here. Although it worked as promised under Ubuntu 14.04 with the default driver however beware of the fact that the provided driver is outdated and is not compatible with newer Linux kernels like that of Ubuntu 14.04. The main issue with this item is not the installation though, it is the very fact that it provides poor reception quality. I am 15-20 feet away from my wireless router divided by walls. My own laptop's wireless adapter can handle this situation perfectly with full signal strength. This USB wireless adapter on the hand reached a download rate of 2 Mbps poor with an unreliable connection both under Ubuntu and Windows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Installed fine but after testing speeds I'm literally getting Dial-Up speeds ..., Nov. 18 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Micro Mini USB Wireless B/N/G 802.11n WiFi LAN Adapter Windows Vista/XP/7/MAC
I bought 2 of these as my wireless adapter stopped working. Installed fine but after testing speeds I'm literally getting Dial-Up speeds from only about 15 feet away. WTF IS THIS? If it's is the case DO NOT BUY these little pieces of crap. Unless there is something else I need to do to 'unlock the speeds' these things are worthless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars USB Wireless adapter, May 16 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Micro Mini USB Wireless B/N/G 802.11n WiFi LAN Adapter Windows Vista/XP/7/MAC
shipped fast didnt care for the packaging could of been shipped with smaller packaging having the issue of it automatically disconnecting alot thought it was the router replaced it still disconnects tried it at a home and work still disconnects from whatever computer its plugged into
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Its ok but some time I need to replug it in another USB port to get it working well, Feb. 14 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Micro Mini USB Wireless B/N/G 802.11n WiFi LAN Adapter Windows Vista/XP/7/MAC
Its ok but some time I need to replug it in another USB port to get it working well, I did it a couple of time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars NOT GOOD FOR MOST MACS - WONT WORK WITH OS 10.7 or LATER, Sept. 24 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Micro Mini USB Wireless B/N/G 802.11n WiFi LAN Adapter Windows Vista/XP/7/MAC
They don't advertise it and it doesn't say this on the packaging, but if you're running an updated Mac OS then it won't work. Anything past OS 10.6 isn't supported by their software. This makes it almost a useless product for Mac users.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!! dont bother fixing your wifi cards, add this USB wifi key to your life right away!, Oct. 27 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Micro Mini USB Wireless B/N/G 802.11n WiFi LAN Adapter Windows Vista/XP/7/MAC
very fast shipping, considering where it left! getting better signal reception than a new laptop sitting right beside it. Installation on super old XP computer went without any issues, computer had internet before XP even realized it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great value, July 14 2014
By 
Max Entropy (British Columbia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Micro Mini USB Wireless B/N/G 802.11n WiFi LAN Adapter Windows Vista/XP/7/MAC
Great value - you can spend a lot more before getting any better performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews