Customer Reviews


71 Reviews
5 star:
 (56)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant production
After seeing The Kings Speech in the theatre, I cannot wait to own it.
A remarkable piece of work...from script, to director, to photography and music,
this film is not to be missed. One doesn't have to be a Royalist, nor indeed,
a history buff, to appreciate the production.
Headed by the inimitable Colin Firth, as King George VI, (Bertie)...one is...
Published on Feb. 8 2011 by Gwenneth N. Steward

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The King's Speech
We think this movie was a good movie to watch as you began to realize how difficult their lives actually were. This, to my husband and I, is just more proof that they were just as 'normal' as the rest of us, and that they were not the 'infalable' type of people that we and the media like to portray them as. Bertie having a difficult time dealing with his stuttering and...
Published on Jan. 5 2012 by Duchess


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant production, Feb. 8 2011
By 
Gwenneth N. Steward "wideopenwords" (Wallacetown, ON, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The King's Speech (DVD)
After seeing The Kings Speech in the theatre, I cannot wait to own it.
A remarkable piece of work...from script, to director, to photography and music,
this film is not to be missed. One doesn't have to be a Royalist, nor indeed,
a history buff, to appreciate the production.
Headed by the inimitable Colin Firth, as King George VI, (Bertie)...one is drawn into
the deep frustration of a solidly good man, adored by his wife and daughters,
who suffers from a debilitating speech impediment, which worsens as he finds
himself faced with the unexpected weight of becoming King, thrust onto his
shoulders. As an actor, Colin Firth keeps getting better and better, from Mr. Darcy
in 1999's Pride and Prejudice, to varying roles across the years, to last year's heart
wrenching, Oscar nominated role, as The Single Man.
Again,the tight facial close-ups, convey a myriad of palpable emotions, which the director
can rely on from Firth, who delivers in spades.
With a fine, talented supporting cast...The brilliant, Geoffrey Rush as King George's
dependable, speech therapist, who becomes his friend...The always amazing Helena
Bonham Carter, as Bertie's loving and supportive wife and Queen...Guy Pearce, excellent
as the self-absorbed, spoiled Edward, who changes history by tossing over the throne for
"the woman I love" and the always solid Derek Jacobi, as the Archbishop.
This is a beautifully crafted film, from the first scene to the closing credits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A sea of troubles, Feb. 26 2011
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The King's Speech (DVD)
Stammering is a pretty common speech defect, and for most people it doesn't have earthshattering consequences. But for one man, it might have. "The King's Speech" chronicles the true-life story of King George VI's struggle to gain the confidence to lead his nation -- a powerful, tensely-written movie, with some truly brilliant performances.

For many years, Prince Albert (Colin Firth) dreaded any kind of public speaking because of his crippling stammer. So his wife Elizabeth (Helena Bonham-Carter) drags him to a speech therapist named Lionel Logue (Geoffrey Rush), who gives him vocal and physical exercises. Logue also learns more about "Bertie's" psyche -- his sensitivity, his low self-esteem, and his fears that he will let down his country.

And Bertie has never needed help so badly -- his father is dying, his older brother David is too obsessed with his married lover to care about "kinging," and World War II is fast approaching. And when the throne is handed to Bertie, Logue must help him get through his coronation, and a vital speech announcing the beginning of the war.

"The King's Speech" takes place on two very different levels. On one hand, it's about an underappreciated prince's rise to become king just before World War II, and the events that led to it. On the other, it's about one man slowly learning to overcome his fear with the help of a friend.

Director Tom Hooper really knows to create powerful drama even from seemingly small things, and to evoke strong emotions from the simplest scenes. There are some lighter moments (the hysterical scene where Bertie runs around shouting four-letter words) and some glimpses of Bertie and Lionel's lives with their families.

But the strength of this movie lies in the gut-wrenching scenes where Bertie's therapy is put to the test. We see him struggling to speak to his own brother, and it's genuinely saddening when he crumbles into tongue-tied misery... just as it's uplifting when he manages to speak clearly and with earnestness.

And since the movie is all about the king, a brilliant lead actor is absolutely essential. Firth is absolutely perfect -- nervous, fearful, stiff, quick-tempered, and always choking on his own words. And you can see how desperate he is to help his nation. And he has a sort of prickly chemistry with Rush, whose energetic, earnest therapist helps Bertie break out of his shell.

Bonham-Carter gives a lovely smaller performance as the future Queen Mum, a lady with a steel spine who seems to be propping up her husband until he can stand on his own. And there are great smaller performances by Derek Jacobi, Michael Gambon, Jennifer Ehle, and Guy Pearce (as spoiled man-child David).

"The King's Speech" is all about one man helping another overcome his fear, and the world-changing consequences. It's powerful, vivid and beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A sea of troubles, Jan. 24 2011
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Stammering is a pretty common speech defect, and for most people it doesn't have earthshattering consequences. But for one man, it might have. "The King's Speech" chronicles the true-life story of King George VI's struggle to gain the confidence to lead his nation -- a powerful, tensely-written movie, with some truly brilliant performances.

For many years, Prince Albert (Colin Firth) dreaded any kind of public speaking because of his crippling stammer. So his wife Elizabeth (Helena Bonham-Carter) drags him to a speech therapist named Lionel Logue (Geoffrey Rush), who gives him vocal and physical exercises. Logue also learns more about "Bertie's" psyche -- his sensitivity, his low self-esteem, and his fears that he will let down his country.

And Bertie has never needed help so badly -- his father is dying, his older brother David is too obsessed with his married lover to care about "kinging," and World War II is fast approaching. And when the throne is handed to Bertie, Logue must help him get through his coronation, and a vital speech announcing the beginning of the war.

"The King's Speech" takes place on two very different levels. On one hand, it's about an underappreciated prince's rise to become king just before World War II, and the events that led to it. On the other, it's about one man slowly learning to overcome his fear with the help of a friend.

Director Tom Hooper really knows to create powerful drama even from seemingly small things, and to evoke strong emotions from the simplest scenes. There are some lighter moments (the hysterical scene where Bertie runs around shouting four-letter words) and some glimpses of Bertie and Lionel's lives with their families.

But the strength of this movie lies in the gut-wrenching scenes where Bertie's therapy is put to the test. We see him struggling to speak to his own brother, and it's genuinely saddening when he crumbles into tongue-tied misery... just as it's uplifting when he manages to speak clearly and with earnestness.

And since the movie is all about the king, a brilliant lead actor is absolutely essential. Firth is absolutely perfect -- nervous, fearful, stiff, quick-tempered, and always choking on his own words. And you can see how desperate he is to help his nation. And he has a sort of prickly chemistry with Rush, whose energetic, earnest therapist helps Bertie break out of his shell.

Bonham-Carter gives a lovely smaller performance as the future Queen Mum, a lady with a steel spine who seems to be propping up her husband until he can stand on his own. And there are great smaller performances by Derek Jacobi, Michael Gambon, Jennifer Ehle, and Guy Pearce (as spoiled man-child David).

"The King's Speech" is all about one man helping another overcome his fear, and the world-changing consequences. It's powerful, vivid and beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Historical Drama, Feb. 23 2011
I can't wait to own this DVD and I hope there are many interesting extras. When I first read about King's Speech, I cynically thought that it would be yet another polished British drama, tailor made for award season. On seeing the film, I was surprised how much I was drawn into the story. It is the best kind of historical drama, one in which the historical facts themselves are interesting enough with embellishing the story. The fact that George VI struggled with a stammer is very well known. I was very pleased that someone finally made him the focus of a historical drama. Usually, movies about this generation of the British royal family are concerned with the drama surrounding abdication crisis and it was interesting to see Edward VIII and Mrs. Simpson as supporting characters in the drama. Guy Pearce makes a wonderfully weak Edward.

The centerpiece of the movie is Colin Firth's performance as Albert, The Duke of York, known to his family as Bertie and, then with the abdication of Edward VIII, King George VI. The performance lives up to the critical acclaim that Firth has received. Firth's George VI is a vulnerable man driven by a sense of duty but struggling with responsibilities that he, as in his former position as the Duke of York, never expected to have. It is also the story of man struggling with a debilitating stutter and with the painful memories of a strict Victorian upbringing.

Luckily for George VI his married life is much happier. Helena Bonham Carter's stout and brilliantly dressed and marcelled Queen Elizabeth is a warm hearted and kind wife, concerned for her husband, but at ease with all she meets. Riding with Bertie in the back of a car, upset by Mrs. Simpson's snide comments about her plump figure, her husband gently teases her, playfully restoring her good humor - the confirmation of a happy marriage. This too is rooted in reality. The real Elizabeth (later known as the Queen Mother) was very supportive of her husband and the animosity between Mrs. Simpson and Elizabeth is very well known.

I have to mention that I once saw the Queen Mother in person. She was visiting the Ontario Legislature in Ontario and that summer I was working as a library page in the legislature's law library. I remember that she was wearing a beautiful bright turquoise georgette dress and that she had the loveliest complexion and a very warm smile. She seemed to me to be e veryone's ideal grandmother, but also one who also liked her gin. As soon as I saw a publicity still in which Boham Carter tilted her head to one side as the Queen Mother did, I knew she would be wonderful in the role.

The king was also fortunate in his choice of speech therapists. Geoffrey Rush's Lionel Logue, an unorthodox therapist and much worse, as an Australian in England, he is an outsider in the medical community. He is tough his royal patient, demanding to put aside Bertie's social sation, but his methods prove effective enough to help his royal client. This isn't the first speech therapist that the Duke has seen and in a montage, it is fascinating to see how primitive speech therapy was in the thirties. Over time the two men eventually become friends. I liked Rush's performance. I have never seemed him so relaxed and comfortable in a role. In another year he would be guaranteed all the major awards, but unfortunately this year he has to compete with Christian Bale's showier role as a drug addicted ex-boxer in the Boxer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Even Kings have obstacles to overcome, Feb. 4 2011
By 
Kona (Emerald City) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
The story opens in 1925, as the Duke of York (aka "Bertie" to his family), played by Colin Firth, is about to give a speech. It's torture for him, as he is shy and is nearly unable to speak because he stammers so badly. Still, he takes some comfort in the fact that he'll never have to be King since he has an older brother, the playboy prince known as "David." Bertie's beloved wife Elizabeth (Helena Bonham Carter) engages the services of an elocution therapist and Bertie grudgingly starts classes, but the teacher (Geoffrey Rush) has some unorthodox techniques.

This is mostly a very good movie with sympathetic characters and historical significance. Bertie's older brother did become King, but he abdicated, forcing shy Bertie into the job. The film leads up to Bertie's (now King George VI) very important first radio address to the nation after WWII is declared. The era is recreated well and one feels the weight on the King's shoulders as he prepares to address his countrymen, to guide and strengthen them. It's a moving scene as the King manages to deliver the speech nearly flawlessly with the help of his teacher. Rush is bubbly and funny and kind, Carter is loving and supportive, and Firth is every inch a King.

The pace was a bit slow at times and I nearly dozed off in the middle. Also, the lighting was a problem; most indoor scenes appeared to be lit by small lamps, leaving half of the faces too pale and the other half in darkness. There are many familiar faces in the cast and all are excellent. Recommended, especially from an historic standpoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must see this!, July 10 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The King's Speech (DVD)
This is a tour de force movie. It has a lot for everyone. There's comedy, (mild) tragedy, family relationships, and more. It shows a time that is long forgotten, but which is easy to relate to. Excellent performances by all actors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth it., July 4 2014
By 
Moonstruck "jazz lover" (Toronto, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The King's Speech (DVD)
Wonderful acting, riveting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars he spoke and we listen, June 30 2014
great movie kept us on the edge of our seats
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous!, June 6 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Can't say enough good about this movie. Very enjoyable and we just loved the extras on the disc....Queen Elizabeth's father giving the real speech. Colin Firth did an excellent job as usual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worthy of a standing O in the theatre!, June 5 2014
This review is from: The King's Speech (DVD)
I have only clapped and stood for a ovation twice at a theater for a movie. This is one of them. Witty, funny as hell and so well acted one thinks they are the real life historical figures! Truly a classic...will watch it over and over and love it more every time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The King's Speech
The King's Speech by Tom Hooper (DVD - 2011)
CDN$ 14.99 CDN$ 5.88
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews