Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant production
After seeing The Kings Speech in the theatre, I cannot wait to own it.
A remarkable piece of work...from script, to director, to photography and music,
this film is not to be missed. One doesn't have to be a Royalist, nor indeed,
a history buff, to appreciate the production.
Headed by the inimitable Colin Firth, as King George VI, (Bertie)...one is...
Published on Feb. 8 2011 by Gwenneth N. Steward

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The King's Speech
We think this movie was a good movie to watch as you began to realize how difficult their lives actually were. This, to my husband and I, is just more proof that they were just as 'normal' as the rest of us, and that they were not the 'infalable' type of people that we and the media like to portray them as. Bertie having a difficult time dealing with his stuttering and...
Published on Jan. 5 2012 by Duchess


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant production, Feb. 8 2011
By 
Gwenneth N. Steward "wideopenwords" (Wallacetown, ON, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The King's Speech (DVD)
After seeing The Kings Speech in the theatre, I cannot wait to own it.
A remarkable piece of work...from script, to director, to photography and music,
this film is not to be missed. One doesn't have to be a Royalist, nor indeed,
a history buff, to appreciate the production.
Headed by the inimitable Colin Firth, as King George VI, (Bertie)...one is drawn into
the deep frustration of a solidly good man, adored by his wife and daughters,
who suffers from a debilitating speech impediment, which worsens as he finds
himself faced with the unexpected weight of becoming King, thrust onto his
shoulders. As an actor, Colin Firth keeps getting better and better, from Mr. Darcy
in 1999's Pride and Prejudice, to varying roles across the years, to last year's heart
wrenching, Oscar nominated role, as The Single Man.
Again,the tight facial close-ups, convey a myriad of palpable emotions, which the director
can rely on from Firth, who delivers in spades.
With a fine, talented supporting cast...The brilliant, Geoffrey Rush as King George's
dependable, speech therapist, who becomes his friend...The always amazing Helena
Bonham Carter, as Bertie's loving and supportive wife and Queen...Guy Pearce, excellent
as the self-absorbed, spoiled Edward, who changes history by tossing over the throne for
"the woman I love" and the always solid Derek Jacobi, as the Archbishop.
This is a beautifully crafted film, from the first scene to the closing credits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A sea of troubles, Feb. 26 2011
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: The King's Speech (DVD)
Stammering is a pretty common speech defect, and for most people it doesn't have earthshattering consequences. But for one man, it might have. "The King's Speech" chronicles the true-life story of King George VI's struggle to gain the confidence to lead his nation -- a powerful, tensely-written movie, with some truly brilliant performances.

For many years, Prince Albert (Colin Firth) dreaded any kind of public speaking because of his crippling stammer. So his wife Elizabeth (Helena Bonham-Carter) drags him to a speech therapist named Lionel Logue (Geoffrey Rush), who gives him vocal and physical exercises. Logue also learns more about "Bertie's" psyche -- his sensitivity, his low self-esteem, and his fears that he will let down his country.

And Bertie has never needed help so badly -- his father is dying, his older brother David is too obsessed with his married lover to care about "kinging," and World War II is fast approaching. And when the throne is handed to Bertie, Logue must help him get through his coronation, and a vital speech announcing the beginning of the war.

"The King's Speech" takes place on two very different levels. On one hand, it's about an underappreciated prince's rise to become king just before World War II, and the events that led to it. On the other, it's about one man slowly learning to overcome his fear with the help of a friend.

Director Tom Hooper really knows to create powerful drama even from seemingly small things, and to evoke strong emotions from the simplest scenes. There are some lighter moments (the hysterical scene where Bertie runs around shouting four-letter words) and some glimpses of Bertie and Lionel's lives with their families.

But the strength of this movie lies in the gut-wrenching scenes where Bertie's therapy is put to the test. We see him struggling to speak to his own brother, and it's genuinely saddening when he crumbles into tongue-tied misery... just as it's uplifting when he manages to speak clearly and with earnestness.

And since the movie is all about the king, a brilliant lead actor is absolutely essential. Firth is absolutely perfect -- nervous, fearful, stiff, quick-tempered, and always choking on his own words. And you can see how desperate he is to help his nation. And he has a sort of prickly chemistry with Rush, whose energetic, earnest therapist helps Bertie break out of his shell.

Bonham-Carter gives a lovely smaller performance as the future Queen Mum, a lady with a steel spine who seems to be propping up her husband until he can stand on his own. And there are great smaller performances by Derek Jacobi, Michael Gambon, Jennifer Ehle, and Guy Pearce (as spoiled man-child David).

"The King's Speech" is all about one man helping another overcome his fear, and the world-changing consequences. It's powerful, vivid and beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Really good movie!, April 18 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The King's Speech [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Based on a true story, this is an enchanting view of the relationship between the king and his speech therapist. Great story!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good story, April 12 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The King's Speech [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I wonder how much of it was solid fact, and how much artistic liberty was taken. But it was a good story, I enjoyed it and the characters and the peek into the life of royalty back in the day. Movie arrived in good time and in good condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Personal pick, March 27 2014
By 
J. Hodder (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The King's Speech (DVD)
I like the story line and would watch it again. It kept my interest through the whole movie. Recommend it to others
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Acting, July 6 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The King's Speech [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I loved this movie and the acting was great! It's a nice glimpse into a bit of British history too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The King's Speech, June 13 2013
By 
Flexi (Ottawa, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The King's Speech (DVD)
This movie was a lot funnier than I thought it would be! Gives a good idea of what Queen Elizabeth II's father was like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good film and interesting historical information, March 16 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The King's Speech (DVD)
Colin Firth did a great job. While I vaguely knew the story it was really interesting to have it come to life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good movie, March 1 2012
By 
This review is from: The King's Speech (DVD)
this is a good movie i reccomend you watch it you will enjoy it. its kind of what you expect. more thought provoking. will keep you engaged and intellectual stimulated
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great film, Feb. 26 2012
This review is from: The King's Speech (DVD)
We really enjoyed this film, well worth the time to watch it. Colin Firth is great at this role and I always enjoy his acting. Defineately recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xab7bad2c)

This product

The King's Speech [Blu-ray]
The King's Speech [Blu-ray] by Tom Hooper (Blu-ray - 2011)
CDN$ 20.99 CDN$ 9.98
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews