Customer Reviews


192 Reviews
5 star:
 (133)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ten Commandments (blu ray)...Paramount's restoration is as miraculous as parting of the Red Sea
Video: The restoration by Paramount was a monumental task. Because of the length of the film, a truck was used just to transport all the reels of films. Ron Smith of Paramount was able to view the film using its only one remaining VistaVision projector to determine the original colour and density. Some of their difficulties included restoring the yellow colour that had...
Published on April 10 2011 by Dr. Joseph Lee

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Film STILL Short Changed
I wonder why this edition wasn't held for the C.B. DeMille bio that Turner just produced. Instead we get a lot of anecdotes from Orrison, whom made an inaccurate statement that Brenner and Heston were about the same age. This is wrong, Brenner was in fact 9 years older than Heston. Also, her commentary really spotlighted an actor named Clint Walker who was just an...
Published on May 17 2004


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ten Commandments (blu ray)...Paramount's restoration is as miraculous as parting of the Red Sea, April 10 2011
By 
Dr. Joseph Lee (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (#1 HALL OF FAME)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Ten Commandments (1956) [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
Video: The restoration by Paramount was a monumental task. Because of the length of the film, a truck was used just to transport all the reels of films. Ron Smith of Paramount was able to view the film using its only one remaining VistaVision projector to determine the original colour and density. Some of their difficulties included restoring the yellow colour that had faded out over the years. The final product (1080p 1.78:1 transfer) was simply amazing. Fine detail was simply unbelievable. Textures were immaculate. You could see individual stitches in Moses' mother's Hebrew robe. You could see each one of the tiny golden squares that make up Pharaoh's elaborate chest pieces. Colors were bright and bold. The ornate Egyptian costumes burst off the screen with rich gold, deep blue, and crimson red. Skin tones were always natural. Thank you to Paramount for putting this lengthy film on two BD-50 discs, reducing compression to the minimum. (4.5/5)

Audio: The DTS HD MA-5.1 was a tremendous improvement over earlier standard edition. Music and effects combined to create a bombastic, enveloping viewing experience. Elmer Bernstein's score was brassy and bold, and the movie's sound effects - lots of swirling wind and thunderclaps - were quite forceful. (4/5)

Paramount's famous outdoor water tank was constructed for 'The Ten Commandments' to create the parting of the Red Sea, which garnered the film its only Academy Award (for visual effects). The sparking granite tablets in the film were created using gun power. The water on both sides as well has the crashing wave approaching from the back were all filmed separately in the tank. The sea bed was two back-to-back sound stages at Paramount and RKO. And the sky was separate as well.

Did you know that after DeMille's on-set heart attack (which he had while climbing up to the top of those giant gates), he didn't tell the crew, cast, or studio, fearing a shutdown of the production. Instead, he said he had dysentery. His doctors warned finishing the movie could kill him, but he refused to stop. DeMille's wife went on to direct some of the film's scenes so her husband could stay still.

The video reproduction is simply astounding. The audio is well done and adds new life to the movie. Paramount has done an astonishing job in restoring this epic movie. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not great edition of a classic, June 17 2004
By 
Matt Deatherage (El Reno, OK USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I already had "The Ten Commandments" on DVD, but with almost no extras and no commentary, it wasn't all that satisfying. This new Collector's Edition is easily worth its low price, to me, even as a replacement. The colors are breathtaking, Elmer Bernstein's store is still luscious, and it's probably as close to what DeMille intended as you'll get on a screen smaller than twenty feet.
I enjoyed Katherine Orrison's commentary track quite a bit (and have put her book on the movie on my wish list), although much more about the movie than some of her amateur theological comments. After spending so much time with Henry Wilcoxon, DeMille's right-hand man on this and many other movies, she has anecdotes and understanding that help you understand how the film was made. I had no idea it took five full years to make, or how some of the seemingly-odd decisions were made or even how some of the effects were created.
The other extras are a bit disappointing. The six-part documentary (complete with titles in Paramount's "Star Trek" font because they can't recreate the hand-lettering of the movie's titles, over leather that shows up in richer color than I've ever seen it) doesn't offer nearly as much as AMC's "Cecil B. DeMIlle" biography from earlier in 2004. That special included pre-matte shots of the parting of the Red Sea - the actual water in the tank, including the sides of the parted Red Sea, and how it was created. Paramount may not own that documentary, but some of that footage should have been on this disc. Without it, there are still some good interviews, but not enough behind-the-scenes footage that we now know exists.
If you like "The Ten Commandments" and don't have it on DVD, this is for you. If you have the older version but like it a lot, this one's also for you - but get the Cecil B. DeMille biography when it comes out on DVD, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DeMille, Heston, Brenner at their campy best!, April 1 2004
By A Customer
OK, although I'm Catholic, I don't watch "The Ten Commandments" for the story - I watch it because it's a dose of pure, unadulterated camp! It's "big" movie - a breed of epic that Hollywood doesn't make anymore. The sets, costumes, swelling music, acting are all deliciously hammy, over-the-top, and wonderful. It's really, really FUN to watch. As a purist, I usually prefer to watch TTC in the traditional way - Easter or Palm Sunday, on TV, with the commercials and everything. However, this DVD is a fine substitute when you've got a craving for a little camp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Film STILL Short Changed, May 17 2004
By A Customer
I wonder why this edition wasn't held for the C.B. DeMille bio that Turner just produced. Instead we get a lot of anecdotes from Orrison, whom made an inaccurate statement that Brenner and Heston were about the same age. This is wrong, Brenner was in fact 9 years older than Heston. Also, her commentary really spotlighted an actor named Clint Walker who was just an extra. This was a definite who cares moment, like many within her commentary.
C.B. DeMille was the star along with Heston, Brenner and Baxter. There should have been more attention given to the 'stars'.
Why was I surprised that the packaging was 'downgraded'. You actually have to remove 'the first' disc to get to the second disc and no chapter card insert. It takes too much time to sum up this mess. Lets just hope that Warners will get the next edition right. This one needs work - except for the transfer that is which was fine the first time around without the ho hum 'extras'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ten Commandments, June 28 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Have seen this movie a number of times since it's first inception. One of the finest movies of it's genre that's ever been filmed.The scenery, the special effects, the acting are unparalleled. If you have never seen it, I believe you will love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars DeMille's masterpiece!, May 24 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The film itself is a classic that deserve more, in my opinion, analysis and respect among filmgoers and film theorist. The box set is outstanding. Along with Scott Eyman's biography, it's a must-have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Happy to have this for my collections., May 18 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I love this movie. I've seen this when I was in grade school.. since then Ive been watching this over and over again. This is one of the best movies I have seen. Screenplay, story twist etc. It is well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great movie, May 2 2014
By 
smokey - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This movie was described by the reviewer in our local paper as the best movie ever made. Don't know whether I would go that far, but it is a great movie and nobody has surpassed Cecil B De Mille in telling the Old Testament story. The casting, costumes and special effects combine to make it a classic and every time I watch I find something new.
Great movie at a great price! Thoroughly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Movie, April 6 2014
By 
Scooter_EDM (Edmonton, Alberta, Canada.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have had this in VHS, DVD and now this Blu-Ray version and this newly restored version in simply fantastic. The quality is much better than I expected. A Must see for lovers of this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great keepsake., Jan. 10 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Awesome picture and sound. Bought this for my inlaws and was impressed enough to buy another for us. Good deal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Ten Commandments (1956) [Blu-ray] (Bilingual)
Used & New from: CDN$ 19.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews