Customer Reviews


236 Reviews
5 star:
 (176)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Taxi Driver - A disturbing experience
After watching the classic 1976 film "Taxi Driver," viewers may be interested in their reaction. It can be depressing. Martin Scorsese directed this open-sore of a film and of his many classic works, this is the one most obsessively analyzed. "Taxi Driver" is such a raw, visceral experience that after viewing its nightmarish terrain one must decompress.
Seedy does...
Published on July 13 2004 by Chris K. Wilson

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Region 2
This is the second time I have accidentally ordered a DVD I can not use in this country. Why is amazon selling dvd's in Canada that are for region 2. Unfortunately we didn't realize this until we were ready to watch it. Very disappointing!
Published 8 months ago by Janice


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Taxi Driver - A disturbing experience, July 13 2004
By 
Chris K. Wilson "Chris Kent" (Dallas, TX United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
After watching the classic 1976 film "Taxi Driver," viewers may be interested in their reaction. It can be depressing. Martin Scorsese directed this open-sore of a film and of his many classic works, this is the one most obsessively analyzed. "Taxi Driver" is such a raw, visceral experience that after viewing its nightmarish terrain one must decompress.
Seedy does not begin to describe the horror of "Taxi Driver," which details a world of pimps, prostitutes, drug addicts and a loner psycho brilliantly portrayed by Robert De Niro. This film established some of the great talents in motion picture history including De Niro, Scorsese, Albert Brooks and Jodie Foster. I wonder about disturbing epics like "Taxi Driver," "A Clockwork Orange," "Straw Dogs" and "Natural Born Killers." Whenever I visit the video store, I notice these films are usually checked out, empty boxes leaning against the shelf. Who's watching these films, and why so often? The films share a common thread in that they have likable actors (De Niro, Malcolm McDowell, Dustin Hoffman, Woody Harrelson) playing despicable men prone to violent rages. Alienated one and all, these characters have become anti-heroes for a world severely lacking in heroes. There are so many ways to view this film, with multiple levels serving as proof to its complicated brilliance. Urban alienation, cultural emptiness, veiled racism, Watergate analogy and Oswald repression are just a few of the metaphorical doors one can open in this nightmare.
De Niro's Bickle is a Vietnam veteran suffering from insomnia. He takes a job as a cab driver to work nights, driving through the most dangerous New York neighborhoods for fares. He becomes infatuated with a beautiful woman (Cybill Shepherd) who works at the campaign office of Palantine. Bickle takes the woman to a porno theater on their first date, and she dumps him immediately. To no one's surprise, Bickle soon begins to stalk her. He purchases a deadly arsenal of hand guns and intensely works out in preparation for his assassination of Palantine (and most likely the woman too). Along the way, Bickle stumbles across a 12-year old prostitute (Foster) whom he befriends. His attempted assassination fails and he walks over to the prostitute's home and kills her pimp (Harvey Keitel), landlord and an unlucky gangster. "Taxi Driver" unbelievably ends with the prostitute having been returned to her parents and Bickle becoming an inner-city folk hero. Shepherd's character tries to make a date with Bickle, but he's now at peace with the inferno around him and drives on disinterested.
This ending has been debated for years. It is so controversial that when the film first ran on television, stations posted warnings stating they did not consider Bickle a hero. They're right. Bickle's a whacked-out cultural icon, granted, but he's no hero. He wants to be a hero, and perhaps the final scene is Bickle at the moment of death dreaming of a happy ending. He's essentially saved the day and rescued a damsel in distress. Bickle was seriously wounded after the shootout, having been shot in the neck. So it could have been a dream sequence, though Scorsese purposefully made it too vague to be entirely sure.
It's clear Bickle wishes to be a cowboy hero in "Taxi Driver," as seen by the boots he wears and the guns he straps on like an inner-city John Wayne. His famously improvised "You talkin' to me?" speech is in fact a line of dialog lifted from the classic 1953 western "Shane." And the final showdown has Bickle taking on three men (outnumbered a la Cooper in "High Noon") in a bloody, ferocious battle that to this day is one of the most violent scenes in history. Bickle, adorned in Mohawk and Army jacket, fires at random. The violence is so sloppy one gets the feeling they are viewing an actual crime scene. There is no music, only the jagged noises of constant screaming and guns blasting within closed-in spaces. While we love the balletic violence of the final shootout in "The Wild Bunch," we turn away from the gore in "Taxi Driver." It's as repellant as reality.
Scorsese's masterpiece is not intended for the young or emotionally disturbed. Bickle is not a hero in a film populated by an army of non-heroes. Still, viewers just might get confused. I know Bickle is crazy, but I feel sorry for him. At times, I even identify with him. And that can be depressing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Region 2, Nov. 23 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Taxi Driver [Region 2] (DVD)
This is the second time I have accidentally ordered a DVD I can not use in this country. Why is amazon selling dvd's in Canada that are for region 2. Unfortunately we didn't realize this until we were ready to watch it. Very disappointing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST, April 22 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Taxi Driver / Chauffer de taxi (Bilingual) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
BLU-RAY version of taxi driver is impecable. the picture is so clean its like it was shot last month. A trully masterpiece of one of the cinemas best american director
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best films of all time is now also one of the best Blu-rays ever released, Nov. 8 2012
By 
Jamie MacDougall "Film/TV Addict" (Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Taxi Driver / Chauffer de taxi (Bilingual) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Robert De Niro not only gives the performance of his career but quite simply one of the all time great performances in the history of film in Martin Scorsese’s thriller about a mentally unstable Vietnam War veteran who obsessively cruises the mean streets of New York City as a nightshift cab driver.

Based on Paul Schrader’s gritty screenplay, one of the most fascinating things about the film is how open to interpretation everything is. Especially the main character. Is Travis Bickle a victim? A hero? A psychopath? A bit of all three? The loneliness, decadence and sleaze that surrounds him night after night leads him down a deadly path of violent urges, but at the same time, consumes him with the desire to not only reach out to the stunningly beautiful Betsy (Cybill Shepherd), but to also be a savior to a 12-year-old runaway prostitute (Jodie Foster).

Scorsese’s direction is flawless as is the film’s score and cinematography. Shot after shot of the nightmarish neon-lit city landscape is perfectly captured in a way that leads viewers to feel as lost in it all as De Niro’s tortured character.

Taxi Driver arrives on Blu-ray with truly reference video & audio quality and comes in beautiful packaging featuring 12 lobby card reprints and an amazing assortment of well-produced extras. Special features include three audio commentaries, an interactive script to screen feature, a making-of documentary (71 min), seven featurettes (totaling over 100 min), storyboard to film comparisons with optional introduction by Martin Scorsese, photo galleries and a trailer. It’s an impressive collection of interesting items that take viewers deeper into the film like never before.

Martin Scorsese’s cinematic masterpiece is now also one of the best overall Blu-rays I’ve ever seen. It’s a top quality presentation all around with hours of fascinating extras and is truly a must-own release. HIGHEST RECOMMENDATION!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Taxi Driver, July 19 2004
To start this off, I'll just say this: Do yourself a favor and buy this fantastic film. If for nothing else, buy it for DeNiro's INCREDIBLE performance! I'm a movie buff myself, and I have never seen such amazing acting. It's a crime he didn't win the oscar. Secondly, it's directed by Martin Scorsese, one of the more brilliant filmmakers of our time, and written by Paul Schrader. This is the team that brought you Raging Bull. When these two geniuses get together, they make pure movie magic. And finally, Jodie Foster. She's only fourteen years old, and beautifully brings to life the child prostitute who is secretly hating the horrible city she lives in. One of the most brilliant touches of filmmaking was made here when Scorsese portrays NYC as hell, such as focusing on the smoke spewing out of the sewers, and making Betsy, Travis Bickle's love, seem like an angel among all the demons.
The story goes something like this: Travis Bickle (Robert DeNiro) Is a taxi driver who can't seem to sleep. He works at night, and the city around him fills him with paranoia, for the gangsters and the slime on the streets at night every day seem to be everywhere. Among all of these demons and devils, Travis sees an angel, a gorgeous woman named Betsy. He immediately falls in love with her, but his anti-social tendencies scare her off when he brings her to a pornographic movie on their second date, thinking it was just like all of the other movies. When she leaves him and won't return any of his phone calls, his depression rises until he meets a child prostitue named Iris (Jodie Foster) and her pimp named Sport (Harvey Keitel). Feeling the deepest sympathy for her, he tries to help her leave that terrible lifestyle, not believing her pleas that she loves her being a prostitute and loves her pimp.
To sum this whole review up, do yourself a favor and watch this great piece of work. See Scorsese's nightmarish vision of NYC, and Travis Bickle's slow descent into insanity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Picture cropped (aspect ratio 1.78:1 instead of 1.85:1 orig.), July 30 2011
By 
mickey_one - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Taxi Driver / Chauffer de taxi (Bilingual) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
BLU-RAY review / COLLECTOR'S EDITION

NB: Despite information given on BD-cover or by e.g. amazon or [...], this otherwise very fine BD edition presents the film in a cropped version (aspect ratio 1.78:1 = 16:9 full frame)

Film: 8/10
Picture Quality: 9/10
Aspect ratio: 1.78:1 (orig.: 1.85:1)
Run time 24 fps: 1 53'48"
Audio: GB; F; E; POR
ST: GB; F; E; POR; Chin.; Korean; Thai
Chpt.: 16
RC A;B;C
Bonus:
- Trailer
- Interactive Script to Screen
Audio commentaries by:
-- Martin Scorcese (Criterion Ed., 1986)
-- Robert Kolker ("Cinema of Loneliness")
-- Paul Schrader, writer
- Martin Scorcese on TAXI DRIVER, 16' HD
- Producing TAXI DRIVER, 10' HD
- God's Lonely Man, 21' HD
- Influence and Appreciation - A Tribute to M. Scorcese, 18' HD
- Taxi driver stories, 22' HD
- Making TAXI DRIVER, 71', SD
- Travis' New York, 6' HD
- Travis' New York Locations (9 comparisons 1975/2006)
- Introduction to storyboard by M. Scorcese
- Storyboard/Film comparison
- Galleries
- Lobby cards
ASIN: B004IFYMYI
Studio: Sony
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, classic Scorcese film..., Dec 19 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Taxi Driver / Chauffer de taxi (Bilingual) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Much has been said about this film and I cannot but concur with the positive reviews. It is not my favorite of Scorcese's films (Raging Bull and Goodfellas are better in my opinion) but this is one of his "grittiest" in many senses of the term. A nice edition if you want this in your film library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of a Kind, Dec 14 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Taxi Driver establishes atmosphere unlike any movie I've ever seen. I've tried to find other movies that have the same feel and depth from a first person perspective, but none come close. It's by far the best movie of its kind. The Hermann score evokes memories of Hitchcock at his best, De Niro gives what is arguably his best (and likely his most iconic) performance, and the editing and direction are perfect. Shraeder's story hits home for anyone watching. There have been times in all our lives when we've felt like Travis Bickle, and I remember when I watched this for the first time I was in a bit of an isolated phase myself. Since then, it's earned itself a permanent position in my top 10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars one of these days i'm gonna get organiz-ized, April 12 2010
i can't believe i waited this long to finally watch this classic.this is one brilliant film.De Niro is excellent as the title character AKA Travis Bickel.Martin Scorsese directed this masterpiece.i don't wanna to oversell this film,but it's something else.i'm not gonna give any of the plot away,because i think any way who goes into this should view it without any preconceived notions.DE Niro is brilliant here,that much i'll say.i also loved the look of the film,the style,the colours.if you haven't seen it,i would highly recommend it.for me,Taxi Driver is a 5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Solitude et aliénation, March 9 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Taxi Driver
Ce petit coffret offre beaucoup de suppléments très intéressants et bien documentés. Vous y trouverez, entre autres, une analyse psychologique du personnage principal, de même qu'une longue entrevue avec l'auteur du scénario.
Taxi Driver ne vieillit pas et offre encore un portrait tragique et malgré tout réaliste d'un homme qui n'arrive pas à s'insérer dans la normalité de son époque et qui s'en trouve enragé et aliéné. Une étude brillante qui peut encore jeter un éclairage pertinent sur d'autres cas de tueries qui sont, malheureusement contemporains.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Taxi Driver / Chauffer de taxi (Bilingual) [Blu-ray]
Taxi Driver / Chauffer de taxi (Bilingual) [Blu-ray] by Martin Scorcese (Blu-ray - 2011)
CDN$ 19.99 CDN$ 11.99
Usually ships in 9 to 12 days
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews