Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flawless results with careful installation
These live up to the hype of being easy to install and flawless once on, but it's not as easy as they maybe make it sound and you do need to take your time and follow the instructions carefully for flawless results.

Tips
Have a dry and wet micro fibre cloth and compressed air to clean the screen and keep the screen as lint free as possible during...
Published on Dec 21 2011 by ReeG

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great protection, easy to put on but...
The screen protector is great and it is really easy to put on but the one thing that really bugged me is that if you do get one little spec of dust or dirt on the screen protector or under it once you have it on your 3DS, consider yourself screwed.
You will have no chance of getting it off nor being able to take the little spec off without adding more dirt to...
Published on Feb. 7 2012 by Zlyphor


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flawless results with careful installation, Dec 21 2011
This review is from: Nintendo 3DS Screen Protective Filter - Standard Edition (Accessory)
These live up to the hype of being easy to install and flawless once on, but it's not as easy as they maybe make it sound and you do need to take your time and follow the instructions carefully for flawless results.

Tips
Have a dry and wet micro fibre cloth and compressed air to clean the screen and keep the screen as lint free as possible during install
Watch the YouTube install video a few times before you start so you know what you're doing and don't work too slow allowing lint to accumulate during install
Bubbles will happen but can easily be removed with GENTLE application of the card and stylus along the edges. I did have bubbles around the edges and 1 small one on the top screen but they were easily removed.

PROS
Easy enough to install. You still need to take your time, understand the instructions fully before and be careful though.
Flawless end results.

CONS
- Not as entirely easy as they're billed to be. The application system definitely makes things easier, but you still need to be careful and precise with cleaning and applying the filters.
- Purple tint AROUND upper screen.This does not effect display color at all and thus doesn't bother me at all but I could see someone picky about aesthetics not liking it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great protection, easy to put on but..., Feb. 7 2012
Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Nintendo 3DS Screen Protective Filter - Standard Edition (Accessory)
The screen protector is great and it is really easy to put on but the one thing that really bugged me is that if you do get one little spec of dust or dirt on the screen protector or under it once you have it on your 3DS, consider yourself screwed.
You will have no chance of getting it off nor being able to take the little spec off without adding more dirt to it.

Shipping was really fast and delivery was great. I got the top screen on perfect and looks great but had major problems with the bottom and ended up scratches a lot of the screen and ruining the overall screen protector.

I would recommend this product to anyone who needs a great screen protector but be careful. You only have one chance so don't blow it. Might be a good idea to buy two just to be safe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Could be better..., July 8 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nintendo 3DS Screen Protective Filter - Standard Edition (Accessory)
I normally buy all my screen protectors from a Hong Kong company called Brando. They make awesome screen protectors for every device you can imagine. The 3DS screen is so glossy, however, that I am staring into a perfect reflection of my face every time I use it. Brando didn't have an anti-glare version for the 3DS because their anti-glare film distorts the flow of light which means 3D doesn't work.

After some research, I decided to go with Hori since they had a tinted screen protector which reduced glare.
The quality of the screen protector is great, however, there are a long list of negatives which is why I am giving it a 3 star rating.

1) The top screen protector is tinted purple.
Initially, I thought I wouldn't have a problem with this because my 3DS was purple. But, because of the issue below, it becomes an eyesore because...

2) The top screen protector has a 2mm gap from the edges, and the bottom screen protector has a 1mm gap. Unlike most quality screen protectors that go from edge to edge (almost invisible to the naked eye), this product leaves a gap so big that you cannot help but notice. Dust gets stuck in the gaps of the buttom screen, which is difficult to clean.

3) The bottom screen protector has some issues sticking on the left and right sides, leaving a 1mm air bubble along the edge. As someone who applies screen protectors on every product I own, this is completely unacceptable. I've tried ripping it off and reapplying it several times, but no dice.

3) The application system is very user friendly, and allows for easy application for screen protector newbies, but...
Because of the way the pull tab is designed, it is too easy to get dust under the screen. The plastic used for the pull tab is a dust magnet. Watch a video on Youtube to see how this unique application process works. If you don't believe me, buy the screen protector and just lightly touch the backside to your screen and lift it back up. The screen is littered with dust just from contact.
Also, due to the large gaps between the edge and the screen protector, using their stickers to align it will most likely result in the screen protector being off center or crooked.

After being unsatisfied with the results from using the "easy" application system, I removed the screen protector and re-applied it the old fashioned way to get it centered. Sadly, I had to spend over 10 minutes removing all the dust stuck to the screen protector.

So, if you're not nitpicky like me, you'd think this was a good product if you:
1) Apply the screen protector without using their stickers and tabs.
2) Don't mind large gaps from the edges
3) Don't mind air bubbles along the edges of the bottom screen protector.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Functions as advertised., April 29 2014
By 
Lucas - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nintendo 3DS Screen Protective Filter - Standard Edition (Accessory)
It's a screen protector. It does what it says it does. Can't get much more basic than that, really. It's a little expensive, but it seems there's no such thing as 'cheap' screen protectors now day. Mine lasted a couple of months before I needed to change it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Crystal!, March 17 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nintendo 3DS Screen Protective Filter - Standard Edition (Accessory)
this really wasn't that hard to install (FOLLOW THE INSTRUCTIONS) and it's crystal clear! you can't even tell it's there other then around the speakers on the screen because it doesn't cover those.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great quality, but attracts a lot of fingerprints, Dec 1 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nintendo 3DS Screen Protective Filter - Standard Edition (Accessory)
The quality of the screen protector is very nice, and I like how application of the product is very simple. However, it attracts even more fingerprints than if there was no screen protector in the first place. On top of that, the prints seem pretty permanent, unless you use rubbing alcohol or something to remove it.

Conclusion:
Protects your screens, but makes the screens uglier
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Keep it steady., Nov. 17 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nintendo 3DS Screen Protective Filter - Standard Edition (Accessory)
Some bubbles formed, and some lint got under it. The bubbles are removed by pushing them out with a credit card, since the flat card they provide isn't really all that good, being extremely flimsy. The lint however, would have only gotten worse if I tried to undo it and get it off. So it's better to apply this in a well ventilated area, like a bathroom, preferably one with a vent that you can turn on to suck up some of the air, and bit of dust to go along with it. Keeping a steady hand would help as well, or it might end up being crooked, thus making you take it off and reapplying it, increasing the likelihood of bubbles and dust or lint. The kind of product that is hard to get right the first time, but well worth it if done right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect!, Aug. 30 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nintendo 3DS Screen Protective Filter - Standard Edition (Accessory)
Application of the screen protector was easy and absolutely flawless. As long as you follow the instructions carefully, this product will last a long time. Quality product!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It does the job, March 29 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nintendo 3DS Screen Protective Filter - Standard Edition (Accessory)
My son got it for his 3DS about a year ago and his device screen is protected and he is very much happy with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Could be the easiest to apply screen filter ever created, Feb. 6 2013
By 
Richard.H (Toronto, Ontario) - See all my reviews
Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nintendo 3DS Screen Protective Filter - Standard Edition (Accessory)
I bought this in advance for the Fire Emblem Awakening 3DS bundle coming out on Feb 4 2013 and now that I have applied it and spent some time with it I can say now that this is an amazing filter. The way it applies isn't like your standard "line it up and slap it on" filters. Hori methodically created a process that is simply superior to other filters and also extremely easy to both apply and remove in the event of an error. The instructions manual was clear and had pictures to accompany it. For those who were still confused, they could simply go on Youtube and look up "HORI 3DS screen protector" and they'll get a official video by horiusa. If you can't find it, it's also on their website.

The top filter has an additional anti-reflective coating on it, similar to the ones used in prescription glasses and while it doesn't remove reflections completely, it does help. Which is a good thing given that Nintendo themselves had to tackle the issue of reflections and fix it in the 3DSXL.

The bottom filter simply has the hard coating to protect from scratches and there's nothing special to note about it other than Hori's extremely easy process applies to both filters.

It came with a small cleaning cloth and a cardboard card as well, the cloth is obviously to clean things before and after applying and the card is used to squeeze out those little stubborn air bubbles that often show up on any screen filter.

Now this doesn't apply to everyone but while my bottom screen filter applied itself perfectly, the top filter had a single speck of dirt caught underneath and it created a very ugly air bubble that was just an eyesore for me. Thankfully these screen filters aren't like other filters that are cheap and use one-time glue. I was able to follow the instructions in the manual on how to remove the top filter and I managed to peel it back just enough for me to remove the speck of dirt with another piece of tape rolled around my finger. Then reapplied it and it was perfect. No sticky or flaky white mess and it stuck back onto the screen like nothing ever happened.

Overall, I'm pleased and would easily recommend this to my friends and if I ever needed a replacement, this is the only option. Also feels good knowing that these aren't even the most expensive filters you can buy for the 3DS yet does such a good job during install and during use.

Now if there was any flaw in this package, I have to say its the font size used in the manual. I understand that they need it small to cut on paper and fit it in the package but that size font along with multiple languages on a single page makes things a bit overwhelming at times. Once you sort it out though, you should have no problems since the instructions are quite clear. If the instructions fail, use the video.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nintendo 3DS Screen Protective Filter - Standard Edition
CDN$ 9.00 CDN$ 8.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews