Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars terrible quality product, May 25 2011
By 
D. Larsen (BC CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: HIC Brands 1261 Bread Slicer (Kitchen)
This item is of terrible quality, the worst I've seen in a long time. The wood is unfinished, you have to assemble it yourself, and the included screws are too small for the holes in which they go into. Both of the cutting guides were warped, but one was warped so bad it would hamper bread slicing, which is the entire reason I purchased this. Save yourself the hassle of a return and buy something else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor construction, Dec 16 2011
This review is from: HIC Brands 1261 Bread Slicer (Kitchen)
I thought this bread slicer would be an ideal companion with my breadmaker. I find the wood flimsy and after slicing my (1.5lb)whole wheat bread a few times, the slotted sidewall guides came tumbling down. The tiny wood screws that came with it are too small and the wood is too soft to keep the wooden guides on. However, after using the proper woodscrews and bonding the the wooden guides with Gorrilla Glue(any wood glue will work), that thing is almost indestructible. I also find the bread slices are too thick( considering it's made of wood, the guide would break like matchsticks if they were any thinner). For the price I paid for it, you get what you pay for.

Pros: Price is reasonable, entry level. It does the job of a 1.5lb breadloaf
Cons: Somewhat flimsy construction
Breadloaf larger than 1.5lbs can be a tight squeeze(made from a Breadman breadmaker). Otherwise if you use a regular oven
breadpan, it's ok.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible, Oct. 27 2012
By 
S. Coe (Edmonton, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: HIC Brands 1261 Bread Slicer (Kitchen)
Fell apart the day we got it. So poorly constructed the side parts just snapped along the wood grain at the slightest pressure. Absolutely pathetic. AVOID.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great concept, June 10 2011
This review is from: HIC Brands 1261 Bread Slicer (Kitchen)
And though I would much prefer a wooden product like this to some sort of plastic, I do find this product to be a bit "flimsy". So be sure to use extra care when cutting so as not to break this delicate product! Aside from that, cuts bread into nicely portioned thickish slices. I love my bread slicer, just have to be very careful when using it. I bought this to slice my homemade bread from my new Zojirushi BB-CEC20BA Home Bakery Supreme, Black/Stainless, which by the way works absolutely wonderfully.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Awkward, April 12 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: HIC Brands 1261 Bread Slicer (Kitchen)
Good construction, all wood. I found this product very awkward to cut bread with. Used it twice, sitting in my cupboard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars flimsy and falls apart easily, Feb. 11 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: HIC Brands 1261 Bread Slicer (Kitchen)
screws don't stay in place and isn't sturdy at all. When trying to put screws back in they just fell out right away
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars it was ok, Oct. 3 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: HIC Brands 1261 Bread Slicer (Kitchen)
I've decided a bread slicer is just a waste of time and money. A person will do better just cutting the bread freehand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars cheaply made & wood splinters in the bread!!, Aug. 23 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: HIC Brands 1261 Bread Slicer (Kitchen)
Thought it seemed to be a good price & good concept.
But poorly made and didn't like slivers in the bread!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars bread slicer, June 25 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: HIC Brands 1261 Bread Slicer (Kitchen)
the slots are too wide - you get very thick pieces of bread
not very sturdy or durable - one side fell off within a week due to the small size of the screws holding it on and the thinness of the wood
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars HORRIBLE!, April 8 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: HIC Brands 1261 Bread Slicer (Kitchen)
Just like the other mentioned.. the screws don't reach and it is a very poor quality item! I wish I had of read the reviews before I bought it! Never would have! DON"T waste your money!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

HIC Brands 1261 Bread Slicer
Out of stock
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews