Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece
Jeff Bridges as Rooster Cogburn does have grit, but the movie's title is really a reference to the fortitude of a teenage girl, expertly portrayed by first-time actress Hailee Steinfeld. Bathed in the stunning cinematography of long-time Coen brothers collaborator Roger Deakins and a beautiful score by Carter Burwell, the film is a phenomenal and perfectly cast character...
Published on Feb. 2 2011 by Jordan Jesso

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as boring as I thought
you know i was expecting to fall asleep watching this one but decided to watch it because it recieved some award nominations and came from the same vein as no country for old me. Like that movie tghis one is a bit of a slow burner but also manages to somehow keep my attention. Not a whole hell of a lot happens but i liked the three main characters. They were all unique...
Published on March 13 2012 by Sorpse


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece, Feb. 2 2011
By 
Jordan Jesso "Jordan Jesso" (Corner Brook, NL CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Jeff Bridges as Rooster Cogburn does have grit, but the movie's title is really a reference to the fortitude of a teenage girl, expertly portrayed by first-time actress Hailee Steinfeld. Bathed in the stunning cinematography of long-time Coen brothers collaborator Roger Deakins and a beautiful score by Carter Burwell, the film is a phenomenal and perfectly cast character piece. True grit means a lot of things, but in the hands of filmmakers like Joel and Ethan Coen it means one of the best movies of the year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A remake worth seeing, June 3 2011
By 
Steven Aldersley (Oshawa, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
True Grit (western, drama, adventure)
Directed by Ethan Coen and Joel Coen
Starring Jeff Bridges, Matt Damon, Hailee Steinfeld and Josh Brolin

Paramount Pictures | 2010 | 110 min | Rated PG-13 | Released Jun 07, 2011

Video:
Video codec: MPEG-4 AVC
Video resolution: 1080p
Aspect ratio: 2.35:1

Audio:
English: DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1
French: Dolby Digital 5.1
Portuguese: Dolby Digital 5.1
Spanish: Dolby Digital 5.1

Subtitles:
English, English SDH, French, Spanish, Portuguese

Discs:
50GB Blu-ray Disc
Digital copy
DVD copy

The Film 4.5/5

True Grit was nominated for 10 Oscars, but failed to win any. Jeff Bridges was unlikely to win after finally being recognized a year ago, but Roger Deakins (cinematography) and Hailee Steinfeld (supporting actress) were particularly unlucky to lose.

I'm generally not in favor of watching remakes, or Westerns, but this one is worth it. The Coens don't make bad films. The acting is superb and there's just the right balance between action, drama and humor.

The story is narrated and told from the viewpoint of Mattie Ross (Steinfeld), a 14-year-old girl who wants to hire someone to catch the man who killed her father. After hearing the qualities of the potential candidates, she approaches Rooster Cogburn (Bridges). He's a one-eyed drunk with a reputation for getting the job done. Perhaps she wanted someone with the same strength of character as her own?

One of the best scenes in the movie comes early. Mattie argues with a horse trader, wanting compensation for a horse of her father's stolen while under the trader's care, as well as a refund for four ponies her father bought. This is where we see that Mattie, although young, is intelligent and capable of looking after her interests. The trader meets most of her demands and is relieved to see her leave.

Cogburn's character is revealed when he gives evidence in court. It's clear that he'll kill if necessary, and that he thinks it's often necessary. After another negotiation, Mattie secures his services to search for Tom Chaney (Brolin), her father's killer.

The other main character is LaBoeuf (Damon), a Texas Ranger who has been tracking Chaney for another crime. He wants to team up with Cogburn as both have the same goal, but they are unable to convince Mattie to stay behind and the trio end up together.

The dialogue doesn't follow that of traditional Westerns. The characters are generally well-spoken and intelligent and don't use contractions. This has the effect of making the dialogue sound formal and more important. Some of the accents are thick, but you'll soon get used to it.

After an argument with Cogburn, LaBoeuf departs and leaves Cogburn and Mattie to fend for themselves. They look for shelter and find a shack occupied by two men. Cogburn finds out some valuable information to aid the search and learns that Chaney has joined a gang which is due to arrive at the shack. Cogburn and Mattie hide and wait for them to show up.

LaBoeuf later rejoins the pair and the main action occurs when the trio meets the gang. Mattie proves her worth and both Cogburn and LaBoeuf have important parts to play in the conflict. Cogburn is not always drunk and proves very capable when the situation calls for it.

While not as quirky as other Coen films, True Grit contains plenty of humor. The dialogue is fast and the wits of the main characters are sharp. Each has some memorable lines. There isn't a huge amount of action. It's more about the setup and the dynamic between the trio. We see more of the journey than the eventual confrontation. It has the effect of making the story well-rounded and there's enough background information for us to feel like we know the characters by the end of the movie.

The conclusion jumps forward 25 years and we are shown what happens to the characters. It's a good way to end the story.

Video Quality 5/5
The Texas and New Mexico locations look stunning in this presentation and colors are bright and well-defined. Fine detail is exceptional and you can clearly pick out patterns in the dirt and see individual pieces of straw. Grain is barely visible in the majority of scenes, but there's no loss of detail. Paramount has delivered a wonderful transfer and I can't think of a better-looking live action movie.

Audio Quality 5/5
The DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1 track also shines. Whether it's horses galloping, insects, wind or gunfire, everything sounds the way it should. What really impresses me is the depth of sound in quieter scenes. There is so much detail. The excellent dialogue is well-defined and there's nothing to fault in the audio presentation.

Special Features 3/5

There are just over an hour of additional features on the release and all are in full HD:

Mattie's True Grit (5:13) - Telling the story of Steinfeld's audition, her preparation for the role and working with the Coen brothers.

From Bustles to Buckskin - Dressing for the 1880s (8:02) - Interviews with the costume designer and some of the cast.

Colts, Winchesters & Remingtons: The Guns of a Post-Civil War Western (4:41) - Explaining the choice of guns used by the main trio.

Re-Creating Fort Smith (11:20) - Showing how the set was put together.

The Cast (5:25) - Interviews with Bridges, Damon, Steinfeld, Brolin and Barry Pepper.

Charles Portis - The Greatest Writer You've Never Heard Of (30:54) - An extensive look at the career of writer Charles Portis.

Cinematography (2:57) - Roger Deakins talks about some of the shots in the movie.

Trailer (2:33)

There should be an Oscar for best Blu-ray presentation. True Grit would certainly be nominated. If you're a fan of the film, you'll be delighted with the whole package. The crew researched the time period thoroughly and the result feels authentic. I would recommend this even if you're not a fan of the genre.

Overall score 4.5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of Wayne's Best - still !, March 31 2009
By 
Amazon Customer (Calgary, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: True Grit (1969) (DVD)
This quirky movie is a favourite of mine and has been since I first saw it when released. Wayne has never been better - you believe the character of Cogburn even knowing it's Wayne. It's not a typical Wayne - and it's not untypical either. The story is wonderful, the acting is very strong - cinematography is stunning. Glen Campbell is the weakest link, but this was his screen debut and proved that singing was his strong point.
This wonderful flick is worth watching again and again. It makes you nostalgic for the movies they used to make, with actors of this calibre rather than the high tech gawd-awful crap put out these days with todays acting flavour-of-the-week-right-out-of-rehab. Makes you wish time travel was possible.
This is a gem - a heartwarming gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as boring as I thought, March 13 2012
This review is from: True Grit / Le Vrai courage (Bilingual) (2010) (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
you know i was expecting to fall asleep watching this one but decided to watch it because it recieved some award nominations and came from the same vein as no country for old me. Like that movie tghis one is a bit of a slow burner but also manages to somehow keep my attention. Not a whole hell of a lot happens but i liked the three main characters. They were all unique and interesting and interacted in dramatic fashion. For some reason i felt what it would be like in those days more so than i have with other westerns. They really captured a unique feeling. Still however since it is so slow and doesnt really go anywhere i cant give it better than 3 stars i just likke to state that i was pleasently surprised by this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars true grit, Nov. 18 2007
By 
David S. Macintyre "customfloor" (SSMarie Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: True Grit (1969) (DVD)
Originally when it came out I watched it at a drive in theatre. At that time I did not care for it . Over the years I've come to really like it . The scenery, the music, and especially the characters. I've watched it many times over and every time I see something I missed.A really great western . One of John Wayne's best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, Feb. 3 2011
True Grit is an incredible movie with outstanding performances, and deserves all of its ten academy award nominations! An especially stellar performance from newcomer Hailee Steinfeld, who ultimately steals the show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true western, July 24 2011
This review is from: True Grit / Le Vrai courage (Bilingual) (2010) (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
True grit is considered to be the coen brothers first real western. i must say i love the characters. All the characters have a depth to them that makes them seem human. They can be amusing or frightening, and the character of Mattie ross should go down in history as one of cinema's true great female heroes. It took the coen brothers their own true grit to cast a first time actress in such an important role, but it does pay off excellently. Hailee steinfeld did not pay mattie ross, she is mattie ross. I am astounded her performance failed to win an oscar. Other veteran actors such as Bridges, Brolin, and Damon also deliver with expert direction from the Coens. You want to hear all that's going on even in scenes where it is a simple chat over business. If the original true grit is a classic, this new and improved film is a bigger classic. One of the greatest american westerns period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars i liked it, Feb. 5 2011
By 
falcon "disdressed12" (canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
for me,this was a pretty decent movie,although overall,i liked the original 1969 version a bit more.i found this one dragged a little bit for my taste.it could have been a bit shorter.the acting was good though,especially by Hailee Steinfeld who played young Mattie Ross.i felt she has a lot of screen presence.the scenery was also very nice,and the action scenes were well done.i also liked the dialogue.if you liked the original,there are some things about this version you may like as well.it's all about personal taste.it;s directed by Joel and Ethan Coen,who always put put their own spin on things.if you're a fan of the Coen Brothers,you might want to check this one out.for me, True Grit (2010) is a 4/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great!, July 31 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: True Grit (1969) (DVD)
I love this DVD. Saw this in the movie theatre when I was a kid. The first John Wayne movie that I ever saw. Still love it. The remake is good, but I still like this one better. Give it a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great re-Make, Nov. 30 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: True Grit / Le Vrai courage (Bilingual) (2010) (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
Loved the original and also this take on the classic !!
It's not john Wayne … but still real watch-worthy !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

True Grit / Le Vrai courage (Bilingual) (2010) (Sous-titres français)
CDN$ 13.99 CDN$ 9.97
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews