Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Very Shocking
This true story is as shocking as it gets because it is as scary as the movie I Spit On Your Grave. This is a good one to watch.
Published 12 months ago by Kevin Barton

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars YOU'VE GOT TO BE KIDDING
I just wanna know how anyone can think this was good or scary. It was boring, ugly, terribly acted,cheesy, and the list goes on. I am very open minded and a HUGE fan of Wes Craven but c'mon people this is so amateurish it looks like some kid made it as a joke.Sorry but i just dont understand how anyone would think this slop is worth 12 bucks.
Published on July 2 2002 by VIN SCOTT


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars YOU'VE GOT TO BE KIDDING, July 2 2002
By 
VIN SCOTT "smky777" (staten island, ny USA) - See all my reviews
I just wanna know how anyone can think this was good or scary. It was boring, ugly, terribly acted,cheesy, and the list goes on. I am very open minded and a HUGE fan of Wes Craven but c'mon people this is so amateurish it looks like some kid made it as a joke.Sorry but i just dont understand how anyone would think this slop is worth 12 bucks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very Shocking, July 16 2013
By 
Kevin Barton (Whitby, ON Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This true story is as shocking as it gets because it is as scary as the movie I Spit On Your Grave. This is a good one to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "You sick mother...", June 1 2002
By A Customer
This film is gross. It's revolting. It's crude. It's one of the coolest flicks I've ever had the pleasure of viewing. Two lil girls go out to a concert and end up getting kidnapped by a gang of escaped convicts who take them into the woods and have a little over-the-top fun with them, taunting them, humiliating them, violating them, and finally killing them. It's too bad the parents find out about it, because they soon plot revenge. MGM finally will be releasing the most complete version of LHOTL on earth. ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Last House on the Left, May 8 2009
By 
The Critic (Vancouver, British Columbia Canada) - See all my reviews
The Last House on the Left

An original concept, but like many horror movies the delivery falls short. Tries to be disturbing, insightful and raw. In reality though full of bad acting, bad directing and especially bad plot holes/continuity and editing. That said there are still some redeeming horror scenes though sporadic. In the end I only recommend this purchase for people interested in completing their collection of Wes Craven's films. If you're interested in experiencing much better disturbing horror I recommend "the Audition or Irreversible"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars like watching someone's home movie, June 10 2010
this is one gritty and authentic looking horror movie.it's low budget,and it feels like you're watching someone's home movie.the acting is not exactly high calibre,but again that adds to the authenticity of things.the movie is certainly twisted and morbid,and i think original,certainly for 1972.i wouldn't say i liked it,but i didn't hate it either.i will say that it is slow,and most of the violence in it is not very graphic.the blood is very vivid looking,though.i caught it on premium cable,so i wasn't out anything,other than the monthly cable bill.anyway,i give Last House on The Left (1972) a 2/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars last house on the left, June 21 2009
By 
Manon Shokoff (To-Ca) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
i was kinda dissapointed because it was boring. i thought with wes craven in it that it would be good. I have all of his movies-freddy kruger, nightmare on elm st. oh well mshokoff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Un conte folklorique transposé aux États-Unis des 70s!, May 27 2009
By 
Jean-Pierre Malo (Kinnear's Mills, Québec, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
J'ai bien aimé ce premier long-métrage de Wes Craven. La cinématographie est par moment très belle lors des scènes tournées en extérieur (rappelle la scène de la robe orange de "Thriller" et le générique de "Cosa avete fatto a Solange" dans les couleurs). Le contraste entre le début Walt Disneyesque (où tout le monde il est beau, tout le monde il est gentil) et la descente dans l'univers tordu d'une gang de délinquants(de fond de ruelle typiquement américains pas de classe)est réussi. Si on prend le film au sérieux, on est assurément scandalisé( ou déçu ?). Si on prend le film pour ce qu'il est : un film (à sa sortie on a cru bon de le rappeler "It's only a movie") Ou mieux, comme un conte folklorique (jeunes innocentes tombant naïvement dans les griffes des gros méchants parce qu'elles n'ont pas écoutés leurs parents...) On peut même en rire! Et c'est là que ça devient intéressant... Bref, un film bien fait à peu de frais et un excellent moment passé dans le drive-in de votre salon avec vos amis et une bonne bière ou de la liqueur et des chips.(SI vous prévoyez y ajouter un joint...assurez-vous de choisir le bon dealer...) Franchement, chiâler sur ce film c'est se priver d'un divertissement simplement très excellent et étrangement... intelligent!?!
Mon préféré de Wes Craven et de loin!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Caught off guard, April 22 2009
This movie wasn't what I was expecting. Especially from director Wes Craven. It was very raw and disturbing. I assume the remake has been toned down. I think certain scenes could have been left to the imagination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The last movie you should ever let your kids see!, June 17 2003
Whoa! Whoa! Whoa! O.K. what kind of movie is this? It does not get any more disturbing then this movie, i just watched it last night. This movie is SICK!!! What really makes it bad is how realistic it is, those poor girls. These convicts are just the scum of the earth and in my opinion they got of easy at the end of the film. Great performances all the way around, their is not a weak performance in the movie. Krug, the convict leader is especially evil and vicious. His girl friend is also convincing as a disgusting, heartless, killer. The two teenaged girls also play their parts extreemly well, especially the daughter of the older couple. This movie gave me bad dreams and was way more unsetteling than Nightmare on Elm Street or Friday the 13th because the monsters in this movie were just human beings. These girls were so naive and foolish, (Message to everyone reading, when buying drugs from strangers never, NEVER, follow them anywhere to get it. Wait for them to come back with the drugs, stay in a public place. If anyone does try to convince you to go with them someplace to buy drugs, they are trying to set you up to be robbed or worse, immediatly break of communication with them and get away! Believe me I know about these things.) they were in over their heads, they were just kids even though they might have looked like women. The rape and pyschological torture scenes were beyond the beyond, espeically the one in the woods where the girls were made to have sex with each other. Both girls were brave in different ways, and the daughter of the older couple was even able to make these cold blooded, remorseless convicts feel guilty about what they had done, she shamed them with her purity in comparison to their filth. That scene is the best scene in the movie. The convicts get their just deserts I suppose but it does not make up for what the parents lost. The bumbling cops were the perfect compliament, tottaly inept, their foolish mishandling of the situation cost the girls their lives. I read a lot of reviews where people complained about these scense, claiming that they did not understand why these "comic" scenes were in the movie, Craven should not have tried to be "funny". Instead he should have concentrated more on the terror. Either these people are retarded or have no sense of irony. The scenes with the cops were in no way intended to be funny at all, they were meant to illustrate how stupid the police were and how badly they handled the situation. The happy, slapstick music and the banter between the Sherieff and the Deputy was meant to demonstrate the juvinille, country bumpkin, absurd mindstate of the police. They did not take the situation serioulsy and that is why the scenes with them are not serious. It is meant as a contrast to the horror of what is happening to the teenaged girl in the woods. While the cops are goofing of and teasing each other innocent lives are being lost. I also liked the happy music Craven used, it contrasted perfectly with the dead serious situation of the abuse of the girls in the woods and made it even more disturbing. The music hightened the tension of the film and made the viewer really feel the horror of the situation even more. This movie is BAD, BAD, BAD, BAD, BAD!!!! But not bad as in low quality, bad as in EVIL!!! The music during the credits was really distrubing. This movie seems like it was from hell or something, I dont know, this movie got to me and that is hard to do. I have seen "I Spit On Your Grave" but that was just basically well acted rape porn with a revenge twist. I dont know what this movie is, I do not know how to label or define it, it defies classification. It is not horror, drama, action, it is just EVIL. Some reviwers gave this movie bad reviews because they said it was badly acted and directed, to me that sounds like a pyschological defense mechanism to avoid the emotional truama this movie induces on the viwer. I can understand why someone would hate this move, espically women, and feel that it never should have been made. But I do not think anyone that is being honest with themselves can flippanlty disregard it and claim that it had no impact on them, that it was "funny". Only really, really, sick people would think this movie was funny. This movie is CRAZY! You cannot make movies like this anymore in America, only in the 1970s where directors truly free to really push the limits. This is by far Craven's best film, better than Scream or anything else he has ever made. This movie has an R rating, they must have bribed someone to get that. This movie was edited, I know their are scenes of violence and rape that were cut, especially the scene in the woods. Does anyone know if their is an unrated version of this film?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The last movie you should ever let your kids see!, June 17 2003
Whoa! Whoa! Whoa! O.K. what kind of movie is this? It does not get any more disturbing then this movie, i just watched it last night. This movie is SICK!!! What really makes it bad is how realistic it is, those poor girls. These convicts are just the scum of the earth and in my opinion they got of easy at the end of the film. Great performances all the way around, their is not a weak performance in the movie. Krug, the convict leader is especially evil and vicious. His girl friend is also convincing as a disgusting, heartless, killer. The two teenaged girls also play their parts extreemly well, especially the daughter of the older couple. This movie gave me bad dreams and was way more unsetteling than Nightmare on Elm Street or Friday the 13th because the monsters in this movie were just human beings. These girls were so naive and foolish, (Message to everyone reading, when buying drugs from strangers never, NEVER, follow them anywhere to get it. Wait for them to come back with the drugs, stay in a public place. If anyone does try to convince you to go with them someplace to buy drugs, they are trying to set you up to be robbed or worse, immediatly break of communication with them and get away! Believe me I know about these things.) they were in over their heads, they were just kids even though they might have looked like women. The rape and pyschological torture scenes were beyond the beyond, espeically the one in the woods where the girls were made to have sex with each other. Both girls were brave in different ways, and the daughter of the older couple was even able to make these cold blooded, remorseless convicts feel guilty about what they had done, she shamed them with her purity in comparison to their filth. That scene is the best scene in the movie. The convicts get their just deserts I suppose but it does not make up for what the parents lost. The bumbling cops were the perfect compliament, tottaly inept, their foolish mishandling of the situation cost the girls their lives. I read a lot of reviews where people complained about these scense, claiming that they did not understand why these "comic" scenes were in the movie, Craven should not have tried to be "funny". Instead he should have concentrated more on the terror. Either these people are retarded or have no sense of irony. The scenes with the cops were in no way intended to be funny at all, they were meant to illustrate how stupid the police were and how badly they handled the situation. The happy, slapstick music and the banter between the Sherieff and the Deputy was meant to demonstrate the juvinille, country bumpkin, absurd mindstate of the police. They did not take the situation serioulsy and that is why the scenes with them are not serious. It is meant as a contrast to the horror of what is happening to the teenaged girl in the woods. While the cops are goofing of and teasing each other innocent lives are being lost. I also liked the happy music Craven used, it contrasted perfectly with the dead serious situation of the abuse of the girls in the woods and made it even more disturbing. The music hightened the tension of the film and made the viewer really feel the horror of the situation even more. This movie is BAD, BAD, BAD, BAD, BAD!!!! But not bad as in low quality, bad as in EVIL!!! The music during the credits was really distrubing. This movie seems like it was from hell or something, I dont know, this movie got to me and that is hard to do. I have seen "I Spit On Your Grave" but that was just basically well acted rape porn with a revenge twist. I dont know what this movie is, I do not know how to label or define it, it defies classification. It is not horror, drama, action, it is just EVIL. Some reviwers gave this movie bad reviews because they said it was badly acted and directed, to me that sounds like a pyschological defense mechanism to avoid the emotional truama this movie induces on the viwer. I can understand why someone would hate this move, espically women, and feel that it never should have been made. But I do not think anyone that is being honest with themselves can flippanlty disregard it and claim that it had no impact on them, that it was "funny". Only really, really, sick people would think this movie was funny. This movie is CRAZY! You cannot make movies like this anymore in America, only in the 1970s where directors truly free to really push the limits. This is by far Craven's best film, better than Scream or anything else he has ever made. This movie has an R rating, they must have bribed someone to get that. This movie was edited, I know their are scenes of violence and rape that were cut, especially the scene in the woods. Does anyone know if their is an unrated version of this film?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Last House On Left [Blu-ray]
Last House On Left [Blu-ray] by Wes Craven (Blu-ray - 2011)
CDN$ 16.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews