Customer Reviews


88 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (42)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Mortal Kombat: Annihilation
After saving Earthrealm in Mortal Kombat, Liu Kang and his friends must now fight the all-powerful Shao Kahn and his super-tough minions.
Once more, not much in plot, but I like it just as much as the first. Robin Shou and Talisa Soto are the only actors reprising their roles from the first film. Keith Cooke, who played Reptile in MK, plays Sub-Zero in this one and...
Published on Jan. 1 2003 by LifeMi

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Is this THE worst movie of all time?????
It doesnt matter how many times anyone says it to them, these filmmakers dont realise seaqulls dont work without the original cast..Christopher Lambert was missed in this badly made seaqull! Least he would have added somthing to it for a bit of improvement!
I dont care if this film was the first to have a completly CGI charactor. The acting is terrible, the effects...
Published on March 17 2004 by Micheal Hunt


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Is this THE worst movie of all time?????, March 17 2004
By 
This review is from: Mortal Kombat - Annihilation (DVD)
It doesnt matter how many times anyone says it to them, these filmmakers dont realise seaqulls dont work without the original cast..Christopher Lambert was missed in this badly made seaqull! Least he would have added somthing to it for a bit of improvement!
I dont care if this film was the first to have a completly CGI charactor. The acting is terrible, the effects are bad, the plot sucks , and i wish i had remembered that before i bought it on DVD because it had been a while since id seen it! and even tho it was a cheapie, it was still the worst mistake i had made with a DVD!
If theres a top 10 worst movies of all time list, i'll put money on this movie making the top 5! And every top 100 worst films of all time, I always see this one make the top 50. Only die hard fans of the video game would love this dumb movie and be blinded by how bad it is. It might contain decent enough resemblences to charactors from the game, but the acting and plot ..oh I dont wanna waste my time going any further into it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the first one, June 26 2004
This review is from: Mortal Kombat - Annihilation (DVD)
INTRODUCTION:
In the early-mid nineties, the Mortal Kombat series of video games became one of the most popular and well-loved, as well as one of the most controversial. With all this popularity, it's not surprising that the game makers wanted to make a movie based on their widely-loved (and hated) series. And in 1995, the Mortal Kombat movie arrived in theaters. A sequel arrived in theaters two years later. Read on for my review.
BASIC PLOT:
This movie picks up right where the previous film left off. Shao Kahn has taken steps in creating a plot in which the world will fuse with his own realm, the Outworld. Following the death of Johnny Cage at Kahn's hands, the world's finest warriors must find a way to save the world from certain doom.
FILM OPINIONS:
Overall this was a good film, but the film makers made a critical mistake in the first five minutes of the movie. They killed of Johnny Cage. WHY!? Linden Ashby's acting was, by far, the true attraction of the first film - combining a sense of action with a sense of humor. Killing him off immediately puts this film at a disadvantage. Another problem with the film is the awkward plot. If you didn't see the first movie, and even if you DID see it, you're going to be confused once or twice, maybe more. There are also too many characters introduced in too little time - a problem that a TON of movies suffer from. Still, it's a worthwhile film if you saw the first one.
DVD:
When you find a DVD for this low of a price, it's only natural to assume it doesn't have any extras. If you made that assumption, you are correct. Other than the very basic DVD stuff, you're not going to find any special features.
OVERALL:
Overall this is a good film, and it's worth checking out if you're a fan of the games, and you've seen the first film - just be warned, no "movie to game" film adaptation is perfect, and this one is no exception. Still, it's a good film, and I think you'll be pleasantly surprised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An ok sequel, Jan. 3 2004
By 
This review is from: Mortal Kombat - Annihilation (DVD)
I had first seen this movie when it was in theaters in 1997. I was 9 years old I thought this was the best movie ever. I even thought it was so much better then the first Mortal Kombat, which is a really awesome movie and one of the greatest video game adaptions ever made. But now I have a better understanding of movies and realize this movie isn't that great, but it isn't crap, it's just plain ok. But if I had directed this movie, I could tink of so many other ways to make this a great movie, it probobly wouldn't be as good as the first, bit t wuld still be good. Enough about that, here is the lot.
We pick up right where the first one left off. Liu had defeated Shang Tsung, and had won the the tournament. The rules were that the portals from Outworld were to close for atleat until another generation, leaving a brief period of peace on Earth. But someone from outworld has a different point of view. That person is Shao Khan, the emperor of outworld, along w/ some of his generals such as Motaro, Shiva, Sindel, Ermac, and Rain. The tournament is over, now a war has begun. He has broken the sacred rules and plans to have outworld and the earth merge into one realm. This will kill all mankind and this also affects Rayden because in outworld he has no powers, so as the realms merge, he slowly loses his powers. Rayden and others; Lui Kang, Sonya, and Kitana must stop this before the two realms have merged into on. In order to do so, they must enlist help of other warriors from earth. Such as Jax and Nitecrawler. And along their journey, they will be hunted by Shoa Khan's extermination squads such as Smoke (I thought he was a good guy), Scorpion, Cyrax, Mileena, and scorpion. And along the way, they are met by Sub-Zero (not the same one from the first movie) and are joined by Jade (who is much hotter then I thought she was), but what they don't know is that jade is will later turn against them. While the humans go on their journey, Rayden goes on a quest to ask the elder gods why they allowed this to happen. They have six days till the realms are fully merged, if they haven't stopped Shao Khan by the 6th day, then all hope is lost.
That is basically the plot of the movie, now its time to state why this movie isn't that great. The fight scenes are, although lots of them are too short, but they're still fun to watch. One big reason is the fact that alot of characters are barely on the screen. Sub zero, smoke, cyrax, and Scorpion were only in the movie for like 2 minutes, 3 minutes at most. And not only that, they have very stupid dialogues. Plus I didn't like the fact they killed Johhny Cage in the beggining. One very big reason are the extremely cheezy special effects. There are so many computer generated images in the movie. You cn clearly tell so much of it is fake. Its so cheezy, its practically made for little kids. Anyway, that is basically it. If you do see this movie, then I suggest you rent it first. It's not that bad, but its not worth owning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The Grrls Step Up, July 14 2004
By 
Stanley L. Walker (Arlington, VA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mortal Kombat - Annihilation (DVD)
Well, since they mucked up the plot from the game in the first MK, I was not surprised that this one, plotwise, is confusing. They tried to stuff 3 & 4 into one movie (the previous one squishes 1 & 2 of the games together).
What's GREAT:
A Sonya that can physically do the part. While Brigette Wilson is hot hot HOT, she was not physically suitable for the physically demanding part of Sonya Blade. I appreciate the heart and toughness she exuded though--and her hard work. But thank the Gods for Sandra Hess. No more "falling down not from being hit but from kicking your opponent" moments. And no more rigged fights (how insulting was that bit?). Sonya Blade got off in this movie and it was convincing (as convincing as these things go anyway). And she actually does Sonya's trademark move!
Kitana: You know, she only gets one really good fight and it's great! (The very last one wasn't so great) Best part--the nod to Bruce Lee and her trademark FAN BLADES!
Mileena: The fight with fan fave Mileena is probably the most brutal HTH I've seen in American films. It was fantastic and she does all of her signature moves (save for the Sai Toss--no chi stuff is in these movies). It's worth renting just for this fight.
The fights are amazing (save for Liu vs Baraka) and the music is great! There are nods to the fans of the arcade series all around.
BAD:
When you've squished the plots of 4 games into two movies, there's bound to be problems. And when the last two chapters have waaaaaaaaay more characters and twists than the first two but the lengths are about the same, well, you get a jarbled mess.
This movie really should have picked one thread to follow and just had a tournament going on in the backdrop. And rather than spending money (and screen time) on the CGI for the Animalities it would have been much better to use that precious time fleshing out some of the 50,000 characters used.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Annihilation destroys the Kombat legacy, Aug. 10 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Mortal Kombat - Annihilation (DVD)
As a fan of Mortal Kombat, I would have definitely expected more from the sequel. Honestly, I wish that they would've waited a while longer to make this movie worthwhile. Even a hardcore action fan would've never think to ever see this garbage again. The only good thing I have to say about this movie (for those of you who saw the first movie or are familiar with the story) is the fight between Scorpion and Sub-Zero. Now its time to move onto the bad stuff.
The cast of characters were okay. The real problem is that the actors relied too heavily on the reputation of the video game and expect everything to fall in place. There was seriously too much overacting on everybody's part and a lot of the dialogue was forced. I'm a big fan of action and martial arts, but their acting skills distracted me almost entirely from the overall action of the film.
The plot was no better. Instead of having a recess from the latest Kombat tournament, the story moves to the evil Shao Kahn to take over the world. That would've been cool, but Mortal Kombat was built on an elaborate plot that included a variety of kombatants who were supposed to be in the movie before the climatic battle in the end. The movie tries to shove in way too many characters at one time within the breath of one and a half hour. The Mortal Kombat movies would've been better off as a trilogy.
What's even worse is that the fights kept on being finished too quickly, and even important kombatants were getting killed off too easily. There was simply not enough time to squeeze in as many fights as they squeezed in. The average victory time for each fight in the movie was 2 MINUTES LONG!!! The rest is just pure junk. I urge all movie fans, action fans, even MK fans to stay away from this waste of space before it sucks you in and annihilates you!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Hmm....A Bit Overrated...., May 21 2003
By 
This review is from: Mortal Kombat - Annihilation (DVD)
Hmm....what can I say? After the success of the first film, Time Warner screws up with the sequel. The movie is short, storyline is lame and dry, acting is horrendous(Paul Anderson the director of the first film was not not involved with the sequel) and the battles are way too comical. The hugest ubset would have to be the villain "Shao Khan," a character to whom was once feared in the video game, is now considered a laughable punk. Shao Khan in black tights?!! Give me a break! By the way. How on Earth did the developers get Shao Khan looking the way he did in the first movie (the way he looked in the game) to looking like a puny punk in the sequel, hm? .....um..got to think of something nice to say...Oh! Well the effects are a nice touch, and Nightwolf is an intriguing character (though he is only in the film for about 5 minutes, maybe less). Ending is pretty boring as well. Another MK movie is being developed now, but if Paul Anderson is not the director behind the film, and if the storyline is tired and lame like "Annihilation," you can be expecting more of the same to arise in that installment as well. sigh...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Bumbling Sequel to a Surprisingly Successful Game Adaptation, March 12 2003
By 
John Nolley II (Fairfax, VA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mortal Kombat - Annihilation (DVD)
Most video game adaptations to the big screen leave much to be desired. The original Mortal Kombat film turned out to be a pleasant surprise and went on to great commercial success, with hordes of theater goers chanting, "Fatality!" and "Finish him!" Yet the producers of this sequel apparently ignored the reasons for the first film's success in crafting this bumbling follow-up film.
What's wrong? Chiefly that the film is entirely targeted at an audience of less than nine years of age. One reason the first film brought in so much money was that it became a cult success amongst high school and college students who had played the games, yet MK: Annihilation simply disregards that audience. Another problem is that the film tries to do too much by trying to show or at least mention every single character from the game, which ends up leaving many plot threads dangling (what ever happened to the good Sub-Zero, who promises his aide to the heroes only to never be seen again?)
The film picks up right where the last one left off, but immediately Johnny Cage is killed (OK, it happened in the game, too), Raiden is stripped of his immortal powers, and the Earth is being overrun by the invading hordes of bad guys (most of the latter occurs off-screen). Characters seem to come and go as the heroes fight to save the Earth, many seemingly inserted only because they appear in the game and only bloating the cast with no real impact on the plotline.
The film concludes with some seriously poor claymation of "animalities," a concept plucked from the game where the fighters become their symbollic animal. Finally the film draws to a conclusion!
There are many things the producers could have done to improve the film, from diverging slightly from the game's storyline while keeping the concepts ("Fatality!", etc.) intact to examining the interesting plots of the MK television series. In many ways the movie is just like a video game, only you as the viewer don't get to control one of the characters.
That aside, the DVD does include some nice features such as the "skip to a battle" navigation, and the movie does give a lot of good martial arts action. Maybe you'll enjoy it more than I or any of my friends did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad.....but not exactly great, March 7 2003
This review is from: Mortal Kombat - Annihilation (DVD)
"Mortal Kombat: Annihilation" picks up minutes after the original. From the opening scene, there is fighting, which is not a great way to start a movie. All of the actors and actresses changed except for Liu Kang and Kitana, and even more characters were added. Not nearly as good as the original, but still fun at times.
MKA is about the 5 heroes of the first MK tournament, Liu Kang, Johnny Cage, Sonya Blade, Kitana, and Raiden. They won the tournament, but now the emperor, Shao Kahn, has opened a portal to earth and is planning to annihilate everything and take over.
Here is the opening 10 minutes: Ninjas falling from the sky and surrounding everyone, Raiden gets into a fight with Shao Kahn, they stop for a moment, fight again, Kahn kills Johnny Cage, and the first scene is over with. All of this happened within 10 minutes. Not a good start--way to fast.
But the movie does maintain a somewhat fun story. The movie has many more characters like Shao Kahn, Sindel, Sheeva, Motoro, Rain, Ermac, Smoke, Cyrax, Baraka, Mileena, Jax, Jade, Nightwolf, and some others. All-in-all this was a fair movie. Not for hardcore movie fans at all.
"Mortal Kombat: Anniilation" runs for about 90 minutes. It is rated PG-13 for non-stop martial-arts violence from begining to end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great for a laugh, Jan. 16 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Mortal Kombat - Annihilation (DVD)
Alot of people put this movie down. I thought it was great, because it was so bad! I put it in the Plan 9 From Outer Space realm...without the wobbling tombstones. I didnt mind the lack of plot... I mean how much can you expect from a fighting game targeted to 13 year olds? Bad guys want to take over the world, good guys fight back. Sure, why not. The lame special effects added to the campy appeal of this cheesy flick. What better way to cover a bad plot then to try and cover with special "effects?" The horrific, wooden, robotic acting? Didnt mind it one bit. Again, if it's going to be a failure, might as well make it complete. The funniest thing is the character development and portrayals...they offend just about every ethnic group imaginable. We see Sonya and another female fighter (forget the name) fighting in MUD...geez. I'm sure female rights activists loved that one. (Oh, did I mention bad editing and continuity? After Sonya's mud fight her shirt and hair are immediately clean.) Jax is nothing more than a stereo-typed oversexed African-American male ("whoa, You got great legs...for kicking" said he!) who cant construct many sentences involving poly-syllabic words, and who speaks solely in bad, no, HORRIBLE cliches. That is, when he's not saying "A'ight" and callng everyone "dude." I could go on but you get the point. This movie is in the clearance bin at most stores for a reason, because it is VERY bad. But, you can either take that and complain about it, or you can relish in the filmaker's incompetence and turn it into a fun filled mock-fest for the whole family. If you dont take it seriously you'll have in its failures! I did! MOR-TAL-KOM-BAT!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mortal Kombat: Annihilation, Jan. 1 2003
This review is from: Mortal Kombat - Annihilation (DVD)
After saving Earthrealm in Mortal Kombat, Liu Kang and his friends must now fight the all-powerful Shao Kahn and his super-tough minions.
Once more, not much in plot, but I like it just as much as the first. Robin Shou and Talisa Soto are the only actors reprising their roles from the first film. Keith Cooke, who played Reptile in MK, plays Sub-Zero in this one and Co-Creator Ed Boon does the voice of Scorpion again.
Here are the fights:
Fight 1
Raiden vs. Shao Kahn
Finally, we get to see Raiden strut his stuff and see how dangerous Shao Kahn is.
Fight 2
Liu Kang vs. Smoke/Kitana vs. Minions
2 for price of 1! It's cool to shoot from Kitana giving serious whoopings and Liu Kang getting a serious whooping. Smoke is pretty good.
Fight 3
Scorpion vs. Sub-Zero
Finally! Fun-filled fight. Definetly one of the best!
Fight 4
Jax vs. Cyrax/Sonya Blade vs. Minions
Again we have a hero kicking .... and another getting a whooping. Cyrax is tough and Jax is funny trying to reason with a robot or cyborg or whatever the heck he is!
Fight 5
Liu Kang vs. Jade
Not really a fight, but one of Nightwolf's 3 tests to see if Liu Kang is ready to fight Shao Kahn.
Fight 6
Sonya vs. Mileena
Okay. Mileena's pretty fast and you guys who like seeing girls getting down and muddy will enjoy this.
Fight 7
Raiden vs. Minions
Raiden kicks major .... in this fight. I don't know if the minions are Noob Saibot(Same costume) or Reptiles(Same growling)
Fight 8
Liu Kang vs. Baraka
Baraka is a fast son of a gun and quite a challenge for Liu.
Fight 9
Jax vs. Motaro/Kitana vs. Sindel/Sonya vs. Ermac
3 in 1. Jax discovers his inner strength, Kitana overcomes the demons that drove her mother insane and Sonya snaps Ermac's neck like a twig.
Fight 10
Liu Kang vs. Shao Kahn
Now I really feel sorry for Liu Kang in the first part of this the longest match. Animalities and great music heighten the fight.
Characters:
Liu Kang
Sonya
Raiden
Jax
Johnny Cage
Kitana
Nightwolf
Shao Kahn
Sindel
Rain
Ermac
Motaro
Sheeva
Shinnok
Smoke
Scorpion
Sub-Zero
Cyrax
Noob Saibot
Jade
Baraka
Mileena
Kabal(Mentioned)
Stryker(Mentioned)
The costumes are better, the music is pretty good. Not nearly as bad as what everyone says it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mortal Kombat 2: Annihilation [Blu-ray]
Mortal Kombat 2: Annihilation [Blu-ray] by John R. Leonetti (Blu-ray - 2013)
CDN$ 14.98 CDN$ 9.97
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews