Customer Reviews


88 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (42)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars FATAILY
SUB ZERO WAS IN IT AND IT MADE THE WHOLE MOVIE BETTER AND IS WORTH A WATCH FOR NEW CUMMERS
Published 12 months ago by Tim Myer

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Is this THE worst movie of all time?????
It doesnt matter how many times anyone says it to them, these filmmakers dont realise seaqulls dont work without the original cast..Christopher Lambert was missed in this badly made seaqull! Least he would have added somthing to it for a bit of improvement!
I dont care if this film was the first to have a completly CGI charactor. The acting is terrible, the effects...
Published on March 17 2004 by Micheal Hunt


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Is this THE worst movie of all time?????, March 17 2004
By 
This review is from: Mortal Kombat - Annihilation (DVD)
It doesnt matter how many times anyone says it to them, these filmmakers dont realise seaqulls dont work without the original cast..Christopher Lambert was missed in this badly made seaqull! Least he would have added somthing to it for a bit of improvement!
I dont care if this film was the first to have a completly CGI charactor. The acting is terrible, the effects are bad, the plot sucks , and i wish i had remembered that before i bought it on DVD because it had been a while since id seen it! and even tho it was a cheapie, it was still the worst mistake i had made with a DVD!
If theres a top 10 worst movies of all time list, i'll put money on this movie making the top 5! And every top 100 worst films of all time, I always see this one make the top 50. Only die hard fans of the video game would love this dumb movie and be blinded by how bad it is. It might contain decent enough resemblences to charactors from the game, but the acting and plot ..oh I dont wanna waste my time going any further into it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An ok sequel, Jan. 3 2004
By 
This review is from: Mortal Kombat - Annihilation (DVD)
I had first seen this movie when it was in theaters in 1997. I was 9 years old I thought this was the best movie ever. I even thought it was so much better then the first Mortal Kombat, which is a really awesome movie and one of the greatest video game adaptions ever made. But now I have a better understanding of movies and realize this movie isn't that great, but it isn't crap, it's just plain ok. But if I had directed this movie, I could tink of so many other ways to make this a great movie, it probobly wouldn't be as good as the first, bit t wuld still be good. Enough about that, here is the lot.
We pick up right where the first one left off. Liu had defeated Shang Tsung, and had won the the tournament. The rules were that the portals from Outworld were to close for atleat until another generation, leaving a brief period of peace on Earth. But someone from outworld has a different point of view. That person is Shao Khan, the emperor of outworld, along w/ some of his generals such as Motaro, Shiva, Sindel, Ermac, and Rain. The tournament is over, now a war has begun. He has broken the sacred rules and plans to have outworld and the earth merge into one realm. This will kill all mankind and this also affects Rayden because in outworld he has no powers, so as the realms merge, he slowly loses his powers. Rayden and others; Lui Kang, Sonya, and Kitana must stop this before the two realms have merged into on. In order to do so, they must enlist help of other warriors from earth. Such as Jax and Nitecrawler. And along their journey, they will be hunted by Shoa Khan's extermination squads such as Smoke (I thought he was a good guy), Scorpion, Cyrax, Mileena, and scorpion. And along the way, they are met by Sub-Zero (not the same one from the first movie) and are joined by Jade (who is much hotter then I thought she was), but what they don't know is that jade is will later turn against them. While the humans go on their journey, Rayden goes on a quest to ask the elder gods why they allowed this to happen. They have six days till the realms are fully merged, if they haven't stopped Shao Khan by the 6th day, then all hope is lost.
That is basically the plot of the movie, now its time to state why this movie isn't that great. The fight scenes are, although lots of them are too short, but they're still fun to watch. One big reason is the fact that alot of characters are barely on the screen. Sub zero, smoke, cyrax, and Scorpion were only in the movie for like 2 minutes, 3 minutes at most. And not only that, they have very stupid dialogues. Plus I didn't like the fact they killed Johhny Cage in the beggining. One very big reason are the extremely cheezy special effects. There are so many computer generated images in the movie. You cn clearly tell so much of it is fake. Its so cheezy, its practically made for little kids. Anyway, that is basically it. If you do see this movie, then I suggest you rent it first. It's not that bad, but its not worth owning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars FATAILY, March 29 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mortal Kombat - Annihilation (DVD)
SUB ZERO WAS IN IT AND IT MADE THE WHOLE MOVIE BETTER AND IS WORTH A WATCH FOR NEW CUMMERS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars WOW WHYYYYYY, Nov. 18 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mortal Kombat - Annihilation (DVD)
THIS MOVIE SUCKED SO HARD. IM HAPPY THAT THE FITST ONE WAS BETTER. DONT BUY THIS I SUCKS. WHYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY did they make it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the first one, June 26 2004
This review is from: Mortal Kombat - Annihilation (DVD)
INTRODUCTION:
In the early-mid nineties, the Mortal Kombat series of video games became one of the most popular and well-loved, as well as one of the most controversial. With all this popularity, it's not surprising that the game makers wanted to make a movie based on their widely-loved (and hated) series. And in 1995, the Mortal Kombat movie arrived in theaters. A sequel arrived in theaters two years later. Read on for my review.
BASIC PLOT:
This movie picks up right where the previous film left off. Shao Kahn has taken steps in creating a plot in which the world will fuse with his own realm, the Outworld. Following the death of Johnny Cage at Kahn's hands, the world's finest warriors must find a way to save the world from certain doom.
FILM OPINIONS:
Overall this was a good film, but the film makers made a critical mistake in the first five minutes of the movie. They killed of Johnny Cage. WHY!? Linden Ashby's acting was, by far, the true attraction of the first film - combining a sense of action with a sense of humor. Killing him off immediately puts this film at a disadvantage. Another problem with the film is the awkward plot. If you didn't see the first movie, and even if you DID see it, you're going to be confused once or twice, maybe more. There are also too many characters introduced in too little time - a problem that a TON of movies suffer from. Still, it's a worthwhile film if you saw the first one.
DVD:
When you find a DVD for this low of a price, it's only natural to assume it doesn't have any extras. If you made that assumption, you are correct. Other than the very basic DVD stuff, you're not going to find any special features.
OVERALL:
Overall this is a good film, and it's worth checking out if you're a fan of the games, and you've seen the first film - just be warned, no "movie to game" film adaptation is perfect, and this one is no exception. Still, it's a good film, and I think you'll be pleasantly surprised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars In which stuff happens, Aug. 25 2011
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: Mortal Kombat - Annihilation (DVD)
Mortal Kombat wasn't exactly a movie that was heavy on plot, but at least it had one. Too bad "Mortal Kombat: Annihilation" didn't manage to cobble together a bare-bones plot either -- it's big soggy mess of bad acting, wretched special effects, and a hilariously over-the-top Evil Army.

Earth is suddenly invaded by Shao Khan (Brian Thompson), who plans to merge Earth with the Outworld despite Liu Kang's triumph in Mortal Kombat. So Raiden (James Remar) and his friends set out to various parts of Earth to... really, I'm not sure WHAT they're trying to do. They're trying to defeat Shao Khan, but I'm not clear on the "how."

So Sonya Blade (Sandra Hess) goes off to find her partner Jax (Lynn "Red" Williams), who has somehow gotten back to the USA and acquired Arms of Steel in just two days. And after a clash with some familiar foes, Liu Kang (Robin Shou) loses his beloved Princess Kitana (Talisa Soto) and ends up on a new quest to become strong enough to save the Earth.

There's no real plot in "Mortal Kombat Annihilation" -- people just sort of wander around, fight, and hope that eventually they'll end up being able to defeat the Big Bad Guys. And the script is a total disaster -- the dialogue is simply atrocious ("Mother, you're alive!" "Too bad YOU... will DIE!") and the story is riddled with plot holes (how did Scorpion come back to life?).

Even worse, the entire thing is ridiculously goofy: bouncing ninjas, bad CGI monsters, giant vaguely-erotic balls that transport you to anywhere in the world, and Sonya fighting with a Kitana-lookalike who is NEVER EVEN IDENTIFIED. She just appears and mud-wrestles with Sonya! Oh, and the mother of all predictable plot twists smacks us in the face halfway through, and is more likely to elicit eyerolls than shocked gasps.

It's also kind of disorienting to have all but two actors replaced from the original movie -- most of the actors are pretty wooden, although Remar does a pretty good job as Raiden. Shou looks like he's confused about what he's doing most of the time; Hess's Sonya Blade is repulsively whiny and selfish, and usually gets upstaged by Lynn "Red" Williams and his metal muscles.

As for the megahammy Thompson ("On the seventh day, mankind will rest... IN PEACE!") and the constantly smirking Musetta Vander (and her Run Lola Run shriek), the less said about them the better. It just gives me flashbacks.

"Mortal Kombat: Annihilation" leaves you wanting annihilation - specifically, wanting this stupid movie to be annihilated. A reeking, low-rent disaster.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Kombat Kontinues, April 26 2010
By 
Amazon Customer (Harrisburg, PA USA) - See all my reviews
Though the film itself is not the finest, it probably tries to stay truest to the game in terms of the characters.

The storyline takes more from the MK3/UMK3 storyline.

The characters use more of their special abilities than they did in the first one. One of the most obvious, is the eventual usage of Animalities by Nightwolf, Liu Kang, and Shao Khan.

The fights are as good as ever. Though some could feel a bit stiff, they try to go with a varried array of fights, from one on one, to even two on one in one case.

The video is improved greatly in this case, and also, unlike the case, supports a 1080p transfer.

The audio has 2 english tracks, one a DTS MA track and both sound really good.

For those who are fans of this film, it is a definite buy. At least until a proper US release comes. But for me, this and the first MK are perminant fixtures in my BLU-RAY collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars a complete mess,with no point., Nov. 1 2007
This review is from: Mortal Kombat - Annihilation (DVD)
(this review is my own personal opinion)wow.what a piece of
garbage.this movie was not good,at all.i didn't think the first the
first Mortal Kombat was a classic,but i guess it depends on what you're
comparing it too.if you compare it against this sequel,then yeah,it
might be a classic.i didn't see any merit to this movie.there is so
much wrong with it,it is hard to know where to begin.and i wouldn't
have enough time or space.but basically anything that can be wrong with
a movie-is wrong here.i didn't buy the fight scenes.i felt they were
way too over the top and way too long.i also didn't find the acting
convincing,and very few of the actors from the first Mortal Combat
returned.i think that was a mistake.the filmmakers are asking the
viewer to accept someone completely new in a role that was defined by
someone else.i don't think that's fair to the viewer or to the new
actors. as a result,i felt no sense of jeopardy or urgency to the
film.the whole movie plays more like a comedy than a serious movie.the
good guys have no depth,so you really don't care what happens to them.I
also have to mention the stilted dialogue and the wooden delivery of
almost every line.the music was also distracting and grating,especially
during the fight scenes.i could not watch this movie all the way
through,because it is so awful.this is a completely incoherent mess.a
definitely inferior remake,which in my opinion,should never have been
made.at least the original has some heart to it.this sequel has some OK
special effects,but not enough to recommend it.1*/5 which is being
liberal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The Grrls Step Up, July 14 2004
By 
Stanley L. Walker (Arlington, VA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mortal Kombat - Annihilation (DVD)
Well, since they mucked up the plot from the game in the first MK, I was not surprised that this one, plotwise, is confusing. They tried to stuff 3 & 4 into one movie (the previous one squishes 1 & 2 of the games together).
What's GREAT:
A Sonya that can physically do the part. While Brigette Wilson is hot hot HOT, she was not physically suitable for the physically demanding part of Sonya Blade. I appreciate the heart and toughness she exuded though--and her hard work. But thank the Gods for Sandra Hess. No more "falling down not from being hit but from kicking your opponent" moments. And no more rigged fights (how insulting was that bit?). Sonya Blade got off in this movie and it was convincing (as convincing as these things go anyway). And she actually does Sonya's trademark move!
Kitana: You know, she only gets one really good fight and it's great! (The very last one wasn't so great) Best part--the nod to Bruce Lee and her trademark FAN BLADES!
Mileena: The fight with fan fave Mileena is probably the most brutal HTH I've seen in American films. It was fantastic and she does all of her signature moves (save for the Sai Toss--no chi stuff is in these movies). It's worth renting just for this fight.
The fights are amazing (save for Liu vs Baraka) and the music is great! There are nods to the fans of the arcade series all around.
BAD:
When you've squished the plots of 4 games into two movies, there's bound to be problems. And when the last two chapters have waaaaaaaaay more characters and twists than the first two but the lengths are about the same, well, you get a jarbled mess.
This movie really should have picked one thread to follow and just had a tournament going on in the backdrop. And rather than spending money (and screen time) on the CGI for the Animalities it would have been much better to use that precious time fleshing out some of the 50,000 characters used.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Oh My God, June 15 2004
By 
Junette Oscar (Cherry Point, NC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mortal Kombat - Annihilation (DVD)
You know, this movie would not be so bad if its characters had a point. Yes, there are a load of characters from the MK3 game, but they don't explain where they come from, their significance in the plot, why the heck they're there! The dialog is as choppy as the plot, and I don't even know where the whole animality thing came from without reference to the games!!! The coolest characters in the movie were Jax, NightWolf, and that's just about it. AND JOHNNY!!! =(
You know how sometimes you could just watch a movie and go "ugh... this is so bad"... this is one of them. I was very disappointed, considering how good the first one was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb8548900)

This product

Mortal Kombat 2: Annihilation [Blu-ray]
Mortal Kombat 2: Annihilation [Blu-ray] by John R. Leonetti (Blu-ray - 2013)
CDN$ 14.98 CDN$ 9.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews