Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sing An American Tune
I bought this album in LP form back in 1975, and dug it out and listened to it today for probably the first time in 20 years. Although the record hasn't held up well, the music still astounds with its freshness and originality. Paul's collaboration here with the Incan group Urubamba shows he was playing "World Music" decades before it became the cool thing to...
Published on Dec 1 2001 by Margaret L. McQuaid

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not Enough Bang for Your Buck Here --- For Serious Fans Only
First off, I love Paul Simon's music and already own many CD's (with and without Garfunkel). I bought this because was hoping to get the live versions of "Duncan" and "American Tune" that used to be on the discontinued Greatest Hits, etc. lp (that has never made it to CD), and thought they were taken from here. The version of "Duncan" IS from here, but "American Tune" is...
Published on Feb. 20 2012 by From the Musician's Pen


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sing An American Tune, Dec 1 2001
By 
Margaret L. McQuaid "magmcq" (Anchorage, Alaska United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live Rhymin' (Audio CD)
I bought this album in LP form back in 1975, and dug it out and listened to it today for probably the first time in 20 years. Although the record hasn't held up well, the music still astounds with its freshness and originality. Paul's collaboration here with the Incan group Urubamba shows he was playing "World Music" decades before it became the cool thing to do. His songs with the Jessy Dixon group similarly show him pioneering so-called "American Roots". And when he takes the stage alone with just his guitar, his presence and musicianship are breathtaking. "American Tune", written on the wreckage of Watergate, takes on a shattering new meaning in the wake of September 11th. I am amazed at how prescient these songs are. He recorded this album live in 1974, and by some strange trick of imagination and talent, the songs are still live and rhymin' today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simon At His Very Best, Nov. 9 2000
By 
"marleyscott" (Long Island, NY) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Live Rhymin' (Audio CD)
Paul Simon takes you on a musical journey through his S&G perenials, Bridge Over Troubled Water, Sounds Of Silence, Homeward Bound and America. As breathtakingly beautiful as Art Garfunkle's harmonies are, never once did I take notice of their absence. The solo material, Mother And Child Reunion, Loves Me Like A Rock, Duncan, American Tune and Me And Juilio all sound fresh vibrant and infinitly appealing. Most of all Simon has the artistic good sense of not trying to cookie-cut the sound of the orginally recordings, nor does he go out of his way to reinvent and rearrange them. The only exceptions being the beautiful vocal accompaniment and choral arrangement on Sounds Of Silence and Bridge Over Troubled Water.
As perhaps one of the greatest living American songwriters, (Dylan and Willie Nelson readily come to mind) Simon always delivers the goods. His studio albums have consistently been chuck full of wonderfully crafted, orginal and introspective compositions. This album offers the listener the delightful experience of hearing him at his playful and whimsical best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not Enough Bang for Your Buck Here --- For Serious Fans Only, Feb. 20 2012
By 
From the Musician's Pen (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Paul Simon In Concert: Live Rhymin' (Audio CD)
First off, I love Paul Simon's music and already own many CD's (with and without Garfunkel). I bought this because was hoping to get the live versions of "Duncan" and "American Tune" that used to be on the discontinued Greatest Hits, etc. lp (that has never made it to CD), and thought they were taken from here. The version of "Duncan" IS from here, but "American Tune" is not... anyone know where that can be found?

In itself, that's not enough to justify my low rating. My complaints are as follows:
1) It's supposed to be a live Paul Simon concert but half the songs are from Simon & Garfunkel, done acoustically (but obviously without Garfunkel)... he already had other solo hits that could have been on here instead.
2) I'm sure the concert was at least twice as long as this CD... only 10 songs, plus a couple "bonus" songs... where are all the other songs from the concert? Even if the actual album that came out in the 1970's only had 10 songs, surely a complete and remastered concert could be put to CD by now?
3) Booklet is also very weak, just some pictures... does not even list the members of the band!

The performances are very good and the sound quality is also good. I got this CD at a rather cheap price so I'm glad about that. I just think that overall, as far as Paul Simon's output goes, this album/CD does not offer enough for most people to justify buying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Paul Simon, Dec 23 2003
This review is from: Live Rhymin' (Audio CD)
What can I say? I am a huge Paul Simon fan. This is a must have along with any live concert albums that he has done. You can almost feel the audience's enthusiasm for some of the tracks. This CD has all the greats on it including Homeward Bound, The Boxer, America, Bridge Over Troubled Water and Paul's guitar and voice are flawless. If you weren't able to get a ticket to this year's Simon / Garfunkel reunion then you can have the second best thing here. Perfect for a Friday night at home with a fire and a nice bottle of wine. BUY IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Paul Simon and Jesse Dixon Singers, Aug. 1 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Live Rhymin' (Audio CD)
I have always loved Paul Simon's and friends'live rendition of some of his classics on this album. He's really "on" and the way he performs An American Tune is really great. I have the old tape of this album and will buy the CD because it has always been one of my favorites. Only Paul Simon can get away with mixing Peruvian natives and African American Gospel singers with his folky music and turn out something wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Simon Live, May 31 2001
This review is from: Live Rhymin' (Audio CD)
Live Rhymin' is a very good live record from Paul Simon. He perfectly mixes songs from his first two solo album with songs from his Simon & Garfunkel days. The songs are done in mostly the folk-rock vein, but he does sprinkle in some nice instrumentation on the sweeping "El Condor Pasa (If I Could)" and the touching "Duncan" as well as gospel singers on "Love Me Like A Rock" & "Bridge Over Troubled Water". The latter song is quite interesting to hear as the original is a showcase for Art Garfunkel, but Mr. Simon's interpretation is strong. Other strong songs include "The Boxer", "America", "Mother & Child Reunion" & "American Tune".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent live recording, Oct. 1 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Live Rhymin' (Audio CD)
This is vintage 1970's folk-rock. Paul is accompanied on a couple of the cuts by an South American Indian band on hand-made pipes. They lend a distinctive touch to El Condor Pasa, and Lincoln Duncan. Paul also does a couple of gospel songs accompanied by a choir, this too comes off very well. The quality of the recording is excellent, although his narrative between the songs is sometimes a little faint. There is that "real life" feel you get from a live recording, but the quality is so good, you forget everything but the music once the songs begin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Paul Simon In Concert: Live Rhymin'
Paul Simon In Concert: Live Rhymin' by Paul Simon (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews