Customer Reviews


74 Reviews
5 star:
 (64)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best contextual musical ever
Norman Jewison's "Fiddler On the Roof" is the story of a poor milkman living in tsarist Russia, which in the outskirts of Russia. This is one of the most original musicals, based on the stories of Sholom Aleichem. Played by Chaim Topol and Norma Crane as Tevye and Golde, the acting of this role of parents of five daughters in an orthodox Jewish family is done...
Published on June 10 2004 by Trial Critic

versus
8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely a rip off
Don't buy it folks, the sound and picture quality is exactly like the DVD version , there is nothing BLUE about it except the price tag, greatly disappointed
Published on April 25 2011 by A. H. Tehrani


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful disc, June 19 2011
By 
John Chandler (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fiddler on the Roof [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) [Import] (Blu-ray)
I am at a loss to understand the two negative reviews. My blu-ray disc is very much better than the DVD and a worthwhile upgrade all round. The subtitles are not however complete as the songs are excluded. If you like this film the Blu-ray is definately the way to go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best contextual musical ever, June 10 2004
By 
Norman Jewison's "Fiddler On the Roof" is the story of a poor milkman living in tsarist Russia, which in the outskirts of Russia. This is one of the most original musicals, based on the stories of Sholom Aleichem. Played by Chaim Topol and Norma Crane as Tevye and Golde, the acting of this role of parents of five daughters in an orthodox Jewish family is done brilliantly. Tevye's misquotings of the bible is hilarious. The songs in the movie are outstanding and poignant. Starting from the beginning with "Tradition", with violinist Isaac Stern doing his magic, every song has its uniqueness.
Each of his three older daughters choose a different path. The first one refuses to marry the person chosen by the father as she in love with the tailer Motel. The way Tevye cons his wife into agreeing for this wedding is one of the funniest pieces of the movie. The characters chosen are unique and beautifully portrayed. The song before this, "Matchmaker, matchmaker" is beautiful. The way Yente, the matchmaker looks at the youngest daughters as though they were caravans wares is extremely funny. The second daughter Tseitel chooses the revolutionary who is against the Tsar and wishes communism. The song in the bar "To life, Le Chaim" is unusual and shows the way the Jews and the Christians can get along in a limited manner. The third daughter chooses a gentile.
Though this is a musical, the acting, story and the character portrayal is deep. Songs range from comic like "If I were a rich man", to haunting, "Sunrise, sunset", to sad and lonely, "Little bird". Though being Jewish will help one understand this movie better, it is not a necessity. The screenplay is wonderful. The particular one that I like is when Avraham comes and tells that there are bad things going on in the world. Another person says, "Why should I break my head about the outside world, let the outside world break its own head". Here Tevye says, "He is right, if you spit in the air, it lands in your face." Then the revolutionary says, "Nonsense, you cannot be blind to what happens outside." Then Tevye says, "You know, he is also right." At this time Avraham points to the revolutionary and the other person and says, "He is right and he is right, they can't both be right." Now Tevye looks at Avraham and says, "You know, you are also right."
When the Jews are evicted, it is extremely sad. They console themselves saying that their village Anatevka was not exactly the garden of Eden. This song, "Anatevka", is sad and heartbreaking. They have so little but still love it. It reminds one that happiness is something of the inside and has nothing to do with material possessions. This movie is a classic and a timeless masterpiece. It might be difficult for some people to understand due to the history of Tsarist Russia and its pogroms and the context, otherwise, to date it is my favorite musical.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A classic cultural tale of the jewish faith, March 25 2009
By 
Paul D. Leney "Paul" (Calgary, Alta Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fiddler on the Roof (DVD)
O.K. is it accurate all the time? Definitely not. Are there alot of moments to remember and enjoy; no question. The tunes are very hummable and Topol does a great job. Enjoy it for what it is, a musical. Don't look for a historical drama or anything. It does have its scenes that make you think. I think most people would watch it over and over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From a master film maker, March 25 2004
By 
Whiteseagull (British Columbia) - See all my reviews
Like a great conductor conveys the essence of a composers emotions through interpretation and conducting, this film was created, much like a symphony coming to life, in the hands of a master film maker.
Tevye the milkman has three daughters who, one-by-one find the man of their dreams. The story is about Tevye's inner turmoil as he prepares himself to let each daughter go off into the world of marriage. Faith and tradition are everything in Tevye's life and thinking, and they surface in little chats he has with his God. His God is the sounding board for his thinking but his tradition offsets everything else. It is about the tradition of the Jewish culture and how everything must have a law and a faith to keep them together.
Norman Jewison has made some great films over his career, but for me, Fiddler is the pinnacle of his artistic achievement in musicals. It is stylishly with the flair of an artist who knows.
Music is so much of the story and Jewison has edited to the music. Unlike many previous musicals (i.e. Rogers & Hammerstein or most filmed Operas) which hold a shot for the singers and actors to move about the frame, Jewison has cut and intercut the film on the meaning of the story and the beat of the music so that the performers and the music bring the audience intimately into the lives of the characters. Fiddler shows how a creative director can construct a film to be a spectacle of congeniality of all the elements, because he knows how to tell a story visually.
This is a great film from a master filmmaker with a twinkle in his eye.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Touching Musical...that you will never forget, Dec 6 2003
By 
Theatre Fanatic (Dallas, TX United States) - See all my reviews
"Fiddler on the Roof" is one of the greatest works for the theater of all time. The story is one of extroidinary importance, and one that has entertained ever since opening on Broadway on September 22, 1964.
The story, based on the stories of Sholom Aleichem, centers around Tevye, a poor Jewish milkman who lives with his wife and five daughters in czarist Russia in 1905, on the eve of the revolutionary period. They live in their home in the small village of Anatevka. The story is so engrossing, so I will tell no more of the plot, as to not spoil for you the joys of first viewing it yourself.
Tevye, the deeple religious milkman, is played magnificently by Chaim Topol (he is billed only as "Topol"). Before I saw this movie for the first time, I thought it was a mistake for the filmmakers to not have Tevye portrayed by Zero Mostel, who played him in the original Broadway production. I must say, however, that Topol is a marvel as the lovable Tevye. He is a perfect match to the character...his performance is both funny and touching. I laugh every time I see him dance while singing the famous "If I Were A Rich Man". His performance is one for the ages.
The supporting performances are all extroidinary! Norma Crane is very sincere and fabulous as Golde, Tevye's wife. Rosalind Harris (Tzeitel), Michele Marsh (Hodel) and Neva Small (Cheva) are all magnificent as Tevye's three main daughter's. Their performances are all sentimental and heartfelt. Their rendition of "Matchmaker" is priceless. Leonard Frey is also great as Motel, the tailor and one of the girl's love interests. Only, the way he walks and moves can be quite annoying at times. Nevertheless, he sings a great rendition of "Miracles of Miracles".
The songs are all composed by Jerry Bock with lyrics by Sheldon Harnick. Every one of the songs in "Fiddler on the Roof" is incredible. The hysterical "If I Were A Rich Man", one of the sweetest duets of all time "Do You Love Me?" and the haunting, beautifully written "Sunrise, Sunset".
"Fiddler on the Roof" is an incredible story with incredible music. Th estory is very happy at times, but also very sad. I usually never cry at movies, yet several scenes made me teary eyed. Believe me, you will love this American Masterpiece. It is not just one of the greatest musicals ever written, it is one of the best movies of all-time. If you were a rich man, you couldn't buy a better show. (The DVD extras are great, also).
To qoute the New York Post, "'Fiddler on the Roof' is like your grandmother's house: a place to renew old values and get your soul scrubbed out. If you're lucky enough to have it still, be wise enough to visit it often." You'll be glad you did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great movie, only adequate video quality, July 16 2003
When I saw this DVD on sale at a local store I snapped it up - happy to add this classic film to my collection. While the story, music, characters and dialog are as enjoyable as ever, I was disapointed by the flaws in the video. The anamorphic widescreen transfer is a welcome plus, but it seems that no attempt was made to restore the film on DVD by removing the obvious and numerous flaws in the original film print. I'm not a video perfectionist by any stretch, but even across the living room on my small-screen (27") TV I could easily spot the flecks, spots and other flaws in the film - and this was during the FIRST viewing! Think half-way to dollar movie image quality (or lack therefore). MGM had already OK'd a high quality, anamorphic transfer, why didn't they spend the extra money to restore this classic and beloved film? Hopefully MGM will do a restoration in the future and bring out an "extra special edition" (or something). For now this is all we have on DVD and I'll keep my copy - I just wish MGM would have gone the extra mile (restoration) with this film on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fiddler on the Roof, Feb. 24 2012
This review is from: Fiddler on the Roof (DVD)
Nothing to share more, I received it on time.I watched Fiddler on the Roof on the TV and wanted it.
rating excellent!
assia
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, Dec 29 2011
This review is from: Fiddler on the Roof (DVD)
This purchase was one of the best I've made. For a great evening's entertainment...get one for yourself! All aspects of the production are the best and this story has endured for years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fiddler on the Roof, July 16 2004
By A Customer
IT was absolutely amazing. Everything about it! The backround and effects were amaxing and it was a very touching story with absolutely wonderful actors and unforgetable songs. SPECTACULAR!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent film, except for the cover art, June 20 2004
I love this movie, but was highly dissaponted with the ugly cover art design. They should have stuck to the original poster art. Anyways, the music is great, and it is good to see such movies being restored on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb150f3e4)

This product

Fiddler on the Roof [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) [Import]
CDN$ 28.08 CDN$ 21.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews