Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Tribute to a Great City and a Fantastic Artist, Nov. 10 2011
By 
K.A.P (Mississauga, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Skyscraper Soul (Audio CD)
Jim's singing is only paralleled by his instrumental abilities, which are only outdone by his song writing. Skyscraper Soul is a great compilation, a tribute to the fantastically alive and often maligned city of Toronto; an amazing accomplishment as well, considering it was crafted during the wee break he takes from co-spearheading Blue Rodeo. The JC Band is tight and work together creatively on the Album. Brilliant additions include some unique trumpets and Jim's equally talented offspring Devon Cuddy on some piano pieces. There is a breaking from the norm that JC band has explored in this Album that was absent on "the light the guides you home" (2nd JC band CD). "Ready to Fall" is my favourite on the Album. Although I might be the only one who doesn't like the "Everyone watched the wedding" song, I loved the writing. All in all, Jim's song writing, playing and singing is right up there with the likes of Gordon Lightfoot, Leonard Cohen, and good ol' Ian Tyson..... Jim's just younger and still good looking.

Still waiting for the Autobiography Jim.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sweet tunes, Feb. 22 2012
By 
Ce commentaire est de: Skyscraper Soul (Audio CD)
wow , jim really hit all cords with this one, i dare you to put this in your car , lts wonderful, cruise on,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Review, Sept. 15 2013
By 
Zack S. (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Skyscraper Soul (Audio CD)
Like his other two albums, this is another good release by Jim Cuddy. I also own all of the Blue Rodeo cd's, and I really like the sound of Jim Cuddy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars sky scraper soul jim cuddy, June 27 2014
By 
Roger Nadeau "roger" (canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Skyscraper Soul (Audio CD)
love blue rodeo and jim cuddy, this album spends quite a bit of time in our cd player. had the opportunity to pick up a vinyl copy at their jubilee auditorium show but didn't, still kicking myself over that one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great CD, April 9 2013
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Skyscraper Soul (Audio CD)
Great songs from a great artist! Can never complain about any of Jim Cuddy's songs. Highly recommend this one to all his fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, Aug. 31 2014
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Skyscraper Soul (Audio CD)
Really love this CD. Has great sound and easy listening. This album is defineatly a keeper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another Cuddy Gem!, Dec 31 2011
By 
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Skyscraper Soul (Audio CD)
Jim Cuddy continues to prove he is as great a solo artist as he is a group artist. His voice is a clear winner with Blue Rodeo and continues on with his solo endeavors.

Skyscraper Soul is another winner for Cuddy. He has ventured musically where I did not expect, and he has again delivered a superb performance.

Watch Yourself Go Down is so catchy, you'll find yourself checking the CD cover...is this Cuddy??? Don't Know That Much is another one you'll be wondering, who the heck....

Jim Cuddy once again impresses with agreeable melodies, arrangements that flow, and some new sounds that he captures quite nicely. Well done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars JIM CUDDY BAND - SKYSCRAPER SOUL' - LOVE IT!, Nov. 26 2011
By 
Ce commentaire est de: Skyscraper Soul (Audio CD)
As with most Blue Rodeo and/or Jim Cuddy songs & CDs, I find that they grow on you very quickly...I like them more and more every time I play them. First play is 'Ya not bad' - next time 'Hmm I like this' and by the time I've listened 3 or 4 times, I'm singing along loudly and checking the internet for the next local concert! This CD has the familiar Blue Rodeo/Cuddy flavor, which is a GOOD thing - if I wanted something radically different, I'd buy a different artist's work. I like all the songs on this CD, some ballad style, some more 'peppy, and a little nice trumpet added to a couple....all classic Jim Cuddy style, good relatable stories & thoughts put to catchy music with nice background singing and Jim's smooth vocals....If you like Blue Rodeo (which face it - IS Jim Cuddy) ....then this CD is definitely recommended!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Skyscraper Soul
Skyscraper Soul by Jim Cuddy (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews