Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SILENCE IS GOLDEN IN THIS STUNNING BOX SET
Without a doubt, Charlie Chaplin is the reigning king of silent comedy. His impeccibly limber gesturing, sense of timing and evocative facial features have made him a landmark artist, a masterful film maker and one of the greatest talents to ever grace the silver screen. What more can be said; does it get any better than the little tramp?!? And now, Warner Home Video...
Published on Oct. 5 2003 by Nix Pix

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars works only part of the time
This film does contain flashes of Chaplin's confirmed comic genius, but often gets bogged down in overt political moralizing. OF COURSE the Nazis were deeply evil and OF COURSE they did some horrible horrible things to Jews (among others) but hey, we know that already.
The way that Chaplin abruptly switches from light-hearted comedy and parody into moral...
Published on Feb. 29 2004 by Eduardo Abdullah Nagasaki


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SILENCE IS GOLDEN IN THIS STUNNING BOX SET, Oct. 5 2003
By 
Nix Pix (Windsor, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
Without a doubt, Charlie Chaplin is the reigning king of silent comedy. His impeccibly limber gesturing, sense of timing and evocative facial features have made him a landmark artist, a masterful film maker and one of the greatest talents to ever grace the silver screen. What more can be said; does it get any better than the little tramp?!? And now, Warner Home Video proves that it does, indeed get better; a lot, lot better. Having had to contend with poorly transferred, badly worn VHS and primative bootlegged DVD copies for years, the home video audience at last gets to witness Charlie in his best video incarnation ever! This box set features four classics from the Chaplin legacy; Modern Times, The Gold Rush, The Great Dictator and Limelight. In each case, Chaplin illustrates the art of making movies as no one before or since. Great fun!
THE TRANSFER: No expense has been spared in making each film sparkle as never before. The gray scale is incredibly rich and beautifully balanced. Blacks are deep. Contrast levels show off Charlie's make up. Fine detail is gloriously realized. Minor edge enhancement and some pixelization do occur but nothing to distract or even hint that anything but absolute care has been taken to make these films look as good as they possibly can. Almost all age related artifacts are gone. Truly, I can't say enough to recommend these transfers. The audio is mono and nicely balanced.
EXTRAS: Each disc comes with a brief featurette on Chaplin's legacy and some interesting supplimental extras including outtakes in some cases and interviews in others.
BOTTOM LINE: No more to be said: don't walk - RUN to your nearest video retailer and make the Chaplin Collection a part of your home video library!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Tramp for a New Generation, July 17 2004
By 
Pabster (Bakersfield, CA USA) - See all my reviews
Most have heard of Chaplin. Though many have not seen an entire movie of Chaplin's. This collection is a great way to expose and introduce a younger generation to the visual comic genius of Chaplin. Kids who happen to have a short attention span forget that Chaplin is B&W and silent when they watch this. That's how good he is. This collection brings honor to Chaplin's greatest achievements by presenting the movies with superior picture quality. The extra featues are great! This is a "must-have" for any DVD enthusiast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Serio-comic masterpiece---Hitler saw this one twice!, June 28 2004
By 
Curt Surly (Bellingham, WA United States) - See all my reviews
This film is an excellent piece of anti-axis propaganda in the guise of a hilarious satire of totalitarianism. Chaplin portays two characters who's resemblance to one another is merely coincidental. One is a Adenoid Hynkel, dictator of Tomania with a jewish name, the other a Jewish barber with impeccable instincts for sussing out trouble. Overall, "The Great Dictator" attempts to demonstrate the idiocy of war. By turning the key players into buffoons, it portays the war machine as a circus. This film is much more than a lampoon of the Nazis, however. The silliest characature of all is of Benito Mussolini. Jack Oakie's portrayal of the Dictator of Bacteria, Benzino Napaloni, is the highlight of the film. He's like a stereotype of one of those "larger-than-life" tourists who bluster with absolute authority wherever he goes. It is really hard not to picture him in the loudest hawaiian shirt know to man. It is really obscenely funny. The interaction between the two dictators provides the most sustained lunacy in the film. Their attempts to one-up one another are just brilliant.
"The Great Dictator" does have an extremely serious side. There is an attempt to portray the plight of the displaced Jews with care and much pathos. It works, more or less. The Jewish Ghetto is given enough attention that the viewer develops a connection with them as they attempt to get on with their lives. Maurice Moscovitch as Mr. Jaeckel is particularly effective. Paulette Goddard plays Hannah as a rather dim, dreamy stumblebum. She's cute, but occasionally annoying. Sometimes, it feels like Chaplin has transported Hannah back to the Wizard of Oz--she speaks in that same half-whimpering, dreamy manner as Judy Garland's Dorothy.
Finally, this film certainly transcends any single political agenda. The only agenda one can associate with it is the aim to bring laughter to a world torn asunder by the vagaries of milatary posturings. It seems telling (to me, at least), that Adolf Hitler viewed this film twice. I have always been curious as to what his thoughts were on this total classic send-up of the great men of the Blood-Axis in their own time. Perhaps by the end of the first viewing, he perceived that Mussolini got the worst of it. Then he watched it again--this time with pleasure. If you can't laugh at yourself...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent films and magnificent man, April 12 2004
By 
Candace Scott (Lake Arrowhead, CA, USA) - See all my reviews
Charles Chaplin was the greatst cinematic genius of the 20th century. His brilliance was celebrated and recognized for decades, but then America brutally turned against him. How it grieved him that his adopted homeland, the country that had given him fame, riches and untold fortune, denounced him as a Communist and basically didn't allow him back into the country. What a singular disgrace. His story is told magnificently in these four films, spanning thirty years. We open up with the little tramp and conclude with the haunting, depressing, yet poignant "Limelight." This last film is my favorite of them all, with Charlie's unique, beautiful voice speaking so softly to a 19 year-old Claire Bloom. It was send chills down your spine to see his work (finally) restored to its original glory. The final scene, with Keaton standing behind, when they slowly draw the sheet over his face signifies the artistic death of Charlie Chaplin. No one went out with more grace and pathos.
If you're a long-time Chaplin fan or a Charlie newbie, this set has something for everyone, from the globe dance in "The Great Dictator" to the depressing scenes of Calvero unable to make his audience laugh anymore. It's all here and it will touch anyone with a love of film. There was only Chaplin and this set shows the entire spectrum. My highest recommendation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally, Chaplin done right!, July 14 2003
By 
Sand Flea Press (Los Angeles, CA United States) - See all my reviews
I've never seen any of these films look more beautiful, and the packaging and extras are excellent! "The Gold Rush" is especially desirable as, previously, we have had to choose between the official release of the "sound" version with Chaplin's distracting narration and very uneven releases of the PD silent version. Here we have both the sound version (interesting as Chaplin's last word on the piece) and the artistically superior silent version, restored by Brownlow! "Modern Times" is a gorgeous restoration of a universally accessible masterpiece (here Chaplin has his cake and eats it too, working his social satire in seamlessly with comedy and character), and includes many amusing extras, including a few cut scenes, a clip of Liberace performing "Smile" (!), and "Por Primera Vez," a 1960s documentary on a travelling theatre, which sets up in a remote Mexican village where most of the inhabitants have never seen a motion picture and screens, yes, "Modern Times" to an enthusiastic audience. "The Great Dictator" is often hilarious (especially the scenes with Jack Oakie) and if the message gets in the way of the art at times, this can be easily forgiven considering the importance of the message. "The Great Dictator" includes the excellent TCM documentary, "The Tramp and the Dictator," much superior to the documentaries on the other discs, as well as Sydney Chaplin's color home movies of the production. The best thing I can say about "Limelight" is that at least Buster Keaton appears (briefly) and at least Chaplin doesn't actually preach (even if he does weep, smirk, and philosophize to trying lengths; I have often thought that Chaplin put off speaking so long because he had a feeling that, if he once started, he would be unable to bring himself to shut up). Still, "Limelight" is (at a bare minimum) of great historic interest, and, if you buy the set, you can consider it as being thrown in for free, so there's no reason not to. This set is required viewing for human beings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yeeeeehaaaaaaaaaaa!, Oct. 2 2003
Hey, living in Belgium, Europe, I bought the complete box (10 movies plus extras: it equals this volume one plus volume two, plus a complete biography and the movies "A woman of Paris " and "A King in New York") at Amazon Uk, and you can find my complete review there. But THIS material cannnot be avoided by anyone loving Chaplin's work: it is the supreme collection!
And 5 stars is far to little a reward for the job those people did by putting together such collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Ultimate Of Chaplin's Creations, Jan. 31 2004
By 
Jacinda (CA United States) - See all my reviews
This box set is absolutely wonderful! Not only does it include bonus material that is fascinating, it also offers the original version of "The Gold Rush" as released in it's original form- the way our grandparents saw it in the theater. If you or someone you know is a Chaplin fan, this collection is a must, with his most famous and memerable films ever. Also included in the bonus material is an unseen [until now] look at many aspects of Chaplin and his films.
I recommend highly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The genius of Chaplin., April 4 2004
By 
D. Knouse (vancouver, washington United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Great Dictator, the (DVD)
One look at Charlie Chaplin's filmography leaves little doubt as to his genius. I have to say that I thoroughly enjoy all his films, even the more obscure ones that weren't necessarily box office hits. But of all his films I believe "The Great Dictator" to be his masterpiece. "The Gold Rush" may have been the film in which he wanted to be remembered, and it is certainly a great film, but this film is working on so many levels as to seem superior to me. Sufficed to say, I love satire. This film is loaded with satirical referrences and subtle and not-so-subtle wit and clever word-play as well as all the brilliant physical humor that initially made Chaplin famous. There is so much intelligence in this film that it is easy for me to praise and recommend. I could relate scenes that I absolutely loved, but there are too many to name; and I certainly don't want to ruin all the comedic surprises for those who have yet to see this film. Even after ten viewings I find myself laughing at Chaplin's antics: verbal and physical humor of the highest level. In fact, I guarrantee laughter. There is so much humor here, of so many varieties, that there is no doubt in my mind that anyone viewing this film for the first time with giggle, chuckle, then laugh heartily. Oh, how I envy those first-time viewers. What a magnificent film! Hail Chaplin!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding!!!! A Must Own Collection!, July 10 2003
By 
This collection on DVD is long overdue! For years Chaplin fans have been subjected to poor quality, public domain copies of his classic films on video/DVD that have diminished the impact of his work on the contemporary era of film. Finally, his films are being restored, and this collection demonstrates that they have never looked better!
I would rate Modern Times, The Gold Rush and the Great Dictator as the best of this first volume release. There are many detractors of Limelight, and its certainly not his best work, but it is a must have for fans and completists. The restoration work is outstanding and the extras are top notch. Do yourself a favour and purchase the collection, its cheaper than buying the single titles.
A must have for any serious DVD collector, cinemafile or Chaplin fan....we've waited a long time for this! Don't miss out on the opportunity to share this collection with a new generation of Chaplin fanatics! A top pick for classic re-release on DVD for 2003....enjoy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a Super Box Set!, July 9 2003
By 
E. Dolnack (Atlanta, GA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is an unbeliebaly good DVD box set. The image is the best I've seen on all four films. The sound quality is great. There's not much need be said, but the "Gold Rush" DVD in this set actually has the original 1925 silent version without the 1941 Chaplin overdubbing that is a real gem to fans.
Buy this collection. You won't be sorry! I highly recommend it. I only wish the set would have contained "City Lights" as opposed to "Limelight", and then it would been 100% perfect, but oh well. It's still pretty amazing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Great Dictator (Criterion Collection)
The Great Dictator (Criterion Collection) by Charlie Chaplin (DVD - 2011)
CDN$ 32.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews